Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(353 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mikodoll on 7/3/2008 10:23:00 AM more reviews by mikodoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a really great mascara compared to other waterproof ones. It has a better staying power and it doesn't clump or pull on my lashes. It doesn't make a drastic change like XXL, but it makes a big enough difference with 2 coats for me to be satisfied. I only use waterproof mascara when I know I'll be in the water, so for the price and quality it really can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoKateee on 6/30/2008 1:15:00 PM more reviews by xoKateee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love it. So, when I looked on here and saw all the terrible reviews, I was completely in shock!

The first thing I noticed when I decided to buy this product was the packaging. It's bright pink and black if you get the waterproof version, otherwise it's bright pink and green. I think it's fantastic - it looks great in my makeup bag and I can never lose it looking like that!
Secondly, the price. I think this may well be the cheapest mascara I own, and I do realise that as a 15 year old girl, 13 is probably excessive. But this one is definitely my favourite, the fact that it is under a fiver is an added bonus! So although it doesn't last very long (this is what I took the lipstick off for, and the fact that it is quite a small bottle, even though it's probably my own fault it runs out so fast - admittedly I do use quite a lot), I can afford to buy them whenever I need.
When I got it home I was so excited to try it after reading all the fabulous reviews in magazines, and the 'America's no.1 mascara' adverts I kept seeing. And I wasn't disappointed. When I pulled the brush out the bottle I was quite surprised to see how small it was - I applied it not expecting any miracles - but I soon found out this is an advantage. It dispenses just the right amount of mascara onto the brush and then your lashes, and it's dinky size means you can get into all the little lashes around your eyes.
Now, most mascaras i've tried which claim to volumise your lashes are quite frankly rubbish. But this one, with its 'lash-doubling waterproof formula' does exactly what you want - it separates your lashes amazingly, they don't clump together and each one is prefectly defined and feathery, as well as a lot longer than they were before, making it a good all-rounder. You can also apply as much as you need, as it never clumps - I think the most i've used is 6 coats when I was going for a really dramatic look - this makes it incredibly versatile and suitable to any occasion, you can simple adapt the number of coats as to whether you're going for the 'natural look', or a false-lash effect. It does both, and everything in between.
And finally, the factor that's really made me fall in love with it. The fact that it can hold a curl no matter what. I have a slight crazy obsession with my heated eyelash curlers and I refuse to use mascaras which will re-straighten them, making this one perfect - my lashes stay perfectly curled all day :)

Okay seriously, don't listen to all the other reviews telling you it's rubbish and it doesn't work and it'll make your eyeballs drop out, etc. Buy it, you will never look back again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mo98103 on 6/7/2008 10:39:00 PM more reviews by mo98103

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

looks great, great price, and doesn't smudge (even at the gym).
i won't be using this on a regular basis, because it is too hard to take off-even with good eye makeup remover.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blingblingb8by on 4/10/2008 8:01:00 PM more reviews by blingblingb8by

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've heard so many great things about this mascara but not one of them turned out to be true. Sure, its probably the blackest mascara in the drugstores but how would you like it if half of it ended up on your lower lashline? That's what happened to me and let me tell you, its not very pretty. I ended up looking like those dreaded raccoons and I most definitely will discard this product right after I get a much better one! =/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TeriatClinique on 3/23/2008 5:59:00 AM more reviews by TeriatClinique

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this mascara because I was looking for an everyday cheap mascara that holds up well. This did the trick. What I like best about it is the brush. It's very stiff which seems to work best with my super-thick lashes. I could get into all the corners. It did add length and I was able to layer on four coats without getting so much as a clump. What really impressed me was how long it holds up without a single flake. Is this the greatest mascara known to man? oh no. But it is definitely the best mascara under $5 I've ever tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nonplussed on 3/18/2008 6:03:00 PM more reviews by nonplussed

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So disappointing! It holds a curl alright, but otherwise.. It clumps terribly and I had smudges under my eyes after wearing it for only a few hours! It's a good thing I didn't pay much for this product because I will not be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Iffath98 on 3/16/2008 1:18:00 PM more reviews by Iffath98

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is not "great" as it sounds. It is waterproof BUT It clumps if you put on too much, and it is soooooooo hard to take off even with waterproof eye makeup remover. I get undereye dark circles, and this continues for several days even after removing the product. It also made my eyelashes fall off sometimes when overused and the applicator is not very effective. It is one of the cheapest waterproof mascaras out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilsweetkaz on 2/18/2008 6:55:00 PM more reviews by lilsweetkaz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara does absolutely nothing... I've never used such a lacking mascara before! It doesnt lengthen, volumize or anything... totally dislike it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mickeyokc on 2/14/2008 11:28:00 AM more reviews by mickeyokc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only mascara that does the job for me. I have straight lashes that I have to curl, and this mascara holds the curl. I have tried all kinds of expensive mascaras and my curl always falls.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mulove on 2/12/2008 11:10:00 AM more reviews by mulove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I must say that the Great Lash Mascara Waterproof does the job. I hated regular Great Lash, but I kept hearing about the waterproof version so I tried it out. I have straight lashes which I must curl before I use mascara and this mascara kept my lashes curled all day long. It doesn't clump, smudge or flake. It's not for those who are looking for dramatic effect. It creates 'your eye lashes, but better' look and lasts all day without gettin messy. Personally, I haven't found any negatives that many of the other reviewers have found with this product. I'll buy them again without a doubt. It's one of the cheapest ones out ther and they often on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products