Maybelline Unstoppable Eyeliner

2.9

384 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/5/2010 10:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by how poorly reviewed this is.

I have had several and I like it because it doesn't give me racoon eyes (like, ever) and has decent staying power.

It is not going to give you that creamy, soft dark dark black you can get with more HE liners, but it is more of an everyday waterline type of thing. I will probably move onto something new now for I have been using this for years and really it is totally decent and cheap!



on 3/31/2010 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ugh! I was disappointed. If they say it is unstoppable, it should be! I loved it right after I applied it (on my bottom waterline), but at the end of the day there was nothing really left, just some specks on my bottom lashes. If this doesn't last through the day, I don't see how it can be very waterproof.


on 3/24/2010 8:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Unstoppable as it smears all over your eyes!

I think this was one of the first eyeliners I ever purchased. And I still have it. And it still sucks.

I like the little twisty pen that it comes in, but I don't like that you can't actually sharpen it. It just stays round. Hope you like thick lines! Well, sometimes I do, and those are the only times I use this, so I can be rid of it (can't ever throw stuff out!). But on my upper lash line, it likes to creep into my crease, primer or not. It isn't very creamy, drags on the lids a bit. Also, not very pigmented I find, I have to go over it a few times to get a true black colour. But even, then because you can't really get a hard line it kind of has a grey 'halo' look towards the very outside of your lines.

On the lower lashes, it is usually a smudgy mess an hour or two after applying. Don't even try it on the waterline. It will be grey and not black no matter how hard you try. And then leak everywhere (note: I do not have watery eyes, and waterline with other eyeliners all the time with success).

Just...don't buy it.


on 3/22/2010 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this eyeliner in onyx and espresso. I think this eyeliner works great! I prefer the espresso more because it's more of an everyday natural look. I put it on in the morning and I don't do any touch-ups throughout the day and it doesn't budge! It's an affordable price too. This product is a hit or miss thing for most people and for me it's great.


on 3/16/2010 1:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Since these are not available in NZ, I was rather excited to find them at a huge make up clearance for $12 for a double pack. After trying out the tester, I figured it was quite long lasting and since I was really needing new eyeliners I happily took home 2 double packs....until I read the reviews on MUA that is. Panic kind of sank in as I thought this liner might be really crap in accordance to the majority of reviews on here and was extremely gutted that I might have just wasted 24bucks!!!!! However after I started wearing it, it seemed to be okay, actually pretty long lasting with awesome color pay-off and minimum fading and pretty much no smudging or bleeding! I must say that the weather hasn't been all that humid as it usually would this time of the year but I am pretty happy at this liner and am really hoping that it will perform just as well in more humid times. Overall, a repurchase for me if I could get them again, kind of gutted that I didn't get another 2 double packs lol!!!!!!!


on 3/12/2010 2:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Pros:
- Glides on smoothly
- mechanical; no need to sharpen!
- low cost
- creamy
- great for waterline!!

Cons:
- smears/smudges easily (Which is a good thing if you like to smudge out your liner)
- the black wasn't as dark as I had hoped it to be.
- once the pointed tip is gone, there really is no getting it back! (not that I know of), and this makes it hard to get a clean, thin line.

I'd repurchase this. Its a great cost for general wear.


on 3/12/2010 1:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I rediscovered this in my stash after running out of my MAC smolder eye kohl. I use this on my waterline only, and it works great for that purpose. I like that its automatic so I don't have to sharpen it. It comes off as a true black but it fades slightly blue. It's creamy and easy to apply but it will not stay on my top lid. I wear contacts and it does not irritate my eyes when I put it on my waterline. It's very comparable to my MAC kohl on my waterline, and I think I will continue to repurchase this instead of my MAC liner because rite aid is much closer to me.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this eyeliner because I waterline and I was looking for a nice eyeliner that doesn't smudge or run off my face during the day.
It self sharpens so the tip always stays round which is a little annoying but not impossible to deal with. It does a good job of staying put and it doesn't run on the sides of my eyes throughout the day which is nice. It comes off easily at the end of the day which is also nice. This eyeliner is good but I'm not completely blown away. Actually, I don't understand all of the super bad reviews because its not that terrible, its just not that great.


on 3/5/2010 12:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Unstoppable my eyelid. This eyeliner did apply smoothly and the espresso had a nice brown black shade. But every time I used this it smeared everywhere after an hour and I had to reapply. It also broke a few times when trying to apply it. The last time I applied it broke in half and I had to buy another eyeliner. Pfft! Won't buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2010 3:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this eyeliner. It's not exactly a pencil, so you can't sharpen it.

My initial experience:
This eyeliner would smudge and I had to check the mirror constantly to wipe it away. As some of the other reviews have said it doesn't stay/last for very long. But I have so much of it left...and hate to waste products. So what do I do?

How to work with it:
Note: I don't like to wear heavy make up, I just like the natural look.

-First, I bought a eyeshadow primer (Urban Decay). I dab on the primer on my lids and right below my eyes.
-Then I get an eyeshadow that matches the color of my skin, so a natural nude tone of some sort. I first dab that on my lids. I make sure I powder right below my eyes well. The primer picks up both, and the reason I do this is to repel any smudged make up. If you're protected with a nude shadow/powder, it helps to lessen the smudging!
-Next, I get a dark brown eye shadow, and use that as an "eye liner." It's much more natural looking, and it will stay because of the primer! I make the outter edges of my lids thicker of course.
-FInally, I use this eyeliner to make the lines a little more clean, since the eyeshadow isn't as precise as the liner. The eyeshadow helps me avoid using too much of the eyeliner, which means less smudging.

Now, I don't have to check the mirror constantly, and I am confident that my eye make up hasn't smudged.
Also note: before each use, I get a bit of toilet paper and draw quick short lines on it to clean the eyeliner.

After using it up...buy a new eyeliner!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top