The Body Shop Coconut Body Butter

4.1

391 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Cyclomethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycerin, Theobroma cacao (Cocoa) Butter, Clyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Lanolin Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Xanthan Gum, Benzyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide, Caramel.


on 8/1/2008 10:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This one is good. Not as greasy as the Almond one, but still too heavy as a hand cream. This is wonderful on your legs - it really makes them smooth and silky :)



on 7/19/2008 8:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love Coconut Body Butter. It smells great and moisturizes really well. I'm always sure to put this on my legs when I'm showing them off - it puts a nice sheen on them that makes my pale legs look so much better! At $20 a pop it is really expensive, but it does last a while. I've also recently tried the new shimmer version of this which is nice, but it has WAY too much shimmer. I'm going to stick with the original.


on 7/11/2008 4:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best Body Shop Body Butters-awesome moisturisation and the scent reminds me of summer. Like all Body Shop Body Butters the scent lasts all day.


on 6/25/2008 12:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of my favourite BS body butters - it smells great and mosturises really well. I prefer to apply it before I go to bed as it can take a while to soak into some areas of my skin and I sometimes use TBS coconut milk body lotion during the day for a lighter option. It can be quite expensive, if you don't manage to get it on offer, but it does last really well. During the summer TBS tend to have smaller (and cheaper) tubs available which is a good way to try the butters out.


on 6/13/2008 10:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My goodness, I think this is one of the most moisturizing products I've ever tried! Seriously, this is some good stuff. It is a heavy cream but it sinks in, doesn't feel gunky on my skin. The smell is amazing. I wasn't a huge coconut fan before this, but this particular smell is just intoxicating to me. It smells like a combo of coconut, suntan lotion.. maybe the tiniest bit of vanilla? It's very refreshing. And the smell lingers (more so than any other lotion I've tried, and I've tried many). This is expensive, but it is absolutely worth it.


on 6/12/2008 6:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I received a free 50ml tub of this with Marie Claire magazine last month and fell in love. The texture is great and makes my skin look dewy and glowing (though I wouldn't apply this before putting on a silk fabric as I think it would leave a stain). The scent is beautiful - I always receive compliments on it (more than on my 50 Chanel perfume!) My only quibble is on the price of the body butters, they keep going up, and I don't think 12 is good value for the 200ml tub when it lasts me a short time, and isn't even what I consider a premium brand!


on 6/4/2008 7:03:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Everybody knows what their body butters are like, and they're pretty consistent with texture throughout the line. The only difference lies in the fragrance. This was a little strong for me--I liked Olive better, but my favorite now is the limited Moringa one (perfect scent for summer!)


on 5/17/2008 6:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Finally, a Body Butter that lives up to all the hype!! I have tried three. I tried Mango, which I found greasy and the smell was cloying and pungent. The Shea Butter moisturized well enough, but it just sat on my skin and didn't sink in at all. The Coconut Body Butter is for Very Dry Skin, and I was worried I would have the same problem with its not sinking in. However, it is of a light enough texture that it simply melts into your skin, leaving behind softness, sheen, and a wonderfully authentic coconut scent. The scent brings me back to long days spent on Virgin Island beaches with turquoise waters and palm trees overhead and sun-warmed skin :) A definite re-buy; I love it!

EDIT: I have found that I have begun to have the same problem with this BB as with the others: IT DOESNT SINK IN! It sits on top of my dry skin. It's so strange. Won't buy again. A shame, because it smells heavenly.


on 5/12/2008 2:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A word of warning for coconut body butter virgins - this isn't your ordinary sickly coconut milk scent. Instead, this is divinely sexy, dark and warm -> somehow the Body Shop have managed to capture the essence of sexy summer nights at the beach and put it into this unassuming brown tub.


Compared to the perfume oil, the body butter scent is much deeper and more 'foody', and lasts all day on me. The texture is quite rich, so I mostly use this on my legs and elbows during the day, and then slather some more all over at night, especially in winter.


IMO this is the best scent out of all the Body Shop body butters (trust me I've bought nearly all of them! Mango comes in at 2nd place, with Brazil Nut a close 3rd) and this is the only one I have repurchased again and again. Serious HG. For reference the most recent Australian rrp is $27.95 AUD for 200ml size.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2008 11:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This body butter doesn't smell exactly like coconut but it has a nice texture. A bit too heavy for the summer. A tip to those posting about the smaller container: keep your old small containers and refill from the 200ml size : twice the price for four times the amount of product.


Top Rated The Body Shop Products

image

Facial Buffer

31 reviews
Back to Top