The Body Shop • Coconut Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(378 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* footballqueen07 on 3/27/2008 12:47:00 PM more reviews by footballqueen07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my absolute favourite summer body butter !! I have combination skin, so the t-zone in my face tends to get quite oily in the summer, so I immediately switch from my winter moisturizers to a shine control lotion and toner !! My BODY however, still needs the attention, and this is fabulous. The scent is delicious and refreshing at the same time, perfect for those hot summer days when you want your skin to be GLOWING !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlylaura on 3/24/2008 1:01:00 PM more reviews by curlylaura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It's good for the dry skin I get on my legs and down the sides of my body but the scent can make me gag at times. I don't think it smells of coconut at all, more like banana. It can feel a bit greasy at times, at others it soaks right in. My little tub had lasted ages though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NaNa17 on 3/23/2008 3:24:00 PM more reviews by NaNa17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's a good body lotion, and it smells like heaven :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caroline_a on 3/10/2008 11:04:00 AM more reviews by caroline_a

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! It's really great for dry legs! I use it all the time, in the winter and summer. I love the smell, too. Even though it's a bit pricier than a lot of drugstore brands ($18), the tub lasts me a looong time and TBS doesn't test on animals!
Def. a HG product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cazs on 3/8/2008 5:24:00 PM more reviews by cazs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i love the body shop body butters. they smell great and are very good at moisturising ur skin so it ticks both boxes. i have two, this one and the brazil nut. it does have a lovely coconut smell, quite sweet. they call it the 'yummy one' in the store. sums it up. i would not get this one again as i want to try other ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hp11989 on 2/5/2008 5:52:00 PM more reviews by hp11989

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall rating: I really like this body butter, even though I agree with some of the others that it does not have a "true" coconut scent. No mind to me because I like the scent nevertheless. I especially like the texture: exactly what you would imagine if you dug into a stick of real butter to apply it to your skin. It is *very* rich and somewhat greasy when applied, but this sinks in well overnight. I use it on my feet, legs, and knees when the dry January air hits. Nothing else works as well or feels as good IME. This is my HG foot and leg cream for January and February, when my skin on those areas gets dry and flakey.
Price: Slightly higher than average price (at a drugstore or Wal-Mart–type store), i.e., $10 for a mini-tub (1.75 oz.), of which I have 4 for the winter months. I used up 1 mini-tub in the past 3 weeks, but I really slather it on! YMMV.
Packaging: Nothing unusual or clever; just your standard cute little plastic tub with a photo of the product "flavor" on the label.
Would I buy again: Yes, if I couldn't swap for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cargrey on 1/30/2008 3:01:00 PM more reviews by cargrey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

olive butter is my first favorite and coconut is my second! very creamy and emollient and great for drier skin. have a tendency to slather my feet with this. when i use this it gives me that tropical scent (pick me up) which reminds me of being on a hawaiian vacation (oh so corny but true).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genabobena on 1/24/2008 3:45:00 PM more reviews by genabobena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG body care, esp in the dry winter months. I love that it doesn't make me feel greasy & slimy after putting it on & I love the scent- it smells like real coconut oil instead of that fake, synthetic coconut scent more other body care companies use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kennedy83 on 1/23/2008 4:34:00 PM more reviews by kennedy83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty moisturizing but I really didn't like the scent. It didn't smell yummy and coconutty to me, it smelled almost... stale or something. I found the Body Shop's coconut body wash to smell weird as well. I got it as a gift and used it all because I did enjoy how it made my skin feel, but I wouldn't buy it for myself or anyone else.

I'm still searching for the ultimate coconut smell :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RubyMalibu on 1/20/2008 11:41:00 PM more reviews by RubyMalibu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

YUM..makes me think of lying on a beach sipping pineapple juice, very thick which is good for my dry skin..i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products