The Body Shop • Coconut Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(388 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 gwenhwyfar on 6/25/2008 12:24:00 PM more reviews by gwenhwyfar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my favourite BS body butters - it smells great and mosturises really well. I prefer to apply it before I go to bed as it can take a while to soak into some areas of my skin and I sometimes use TBS coconut milk body lotion during the day for a lighter option. It can be quite expensive, if you don't manage to get it on offer, but it does last really well. During the summer TBS tend to have smaller (and cheaper) tubs available which is a good way to try the butters out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diggity on 6/13/2008 10:20:00 PM more reviews by diggity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My goodness, I think this is one of the most moisturizing products I've ever tried! Seriously, this is some good stuff. It is a heavy cream but it sinks in, doesn't feel gunky on my skin. The smell is amazing. I wasn't a huge coconut fan before this, but this particular smell is just intoxicating to me. It smells like a combo of coconut, suntan lotion.. maybe the tiniest bit of vanilla? It's very refreshing. And the smell lingers (more so than any other lotion I've tried, and I've tried many). This is expensive, but it is absolutely worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cara_M on 6/12/2008 6:25:00 AM more reviews by Cara_M

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I received a free 50ml tub of this with Marie Claire magazine last month and fell in love. The texture is great and makes my skin look dewy and glowing (though I wouldn't apply this before putting on a silk fabric as I think it would leave a stain). The scent is beautiful - I always receive compliments on it (more than on my 50 Chanel perfume!) My only quibble is on the price of the body butters, they keep going up, and I don't think 12 is good value for the 200ml tub when it lasts me a short time, and isn't even what I consider a premium brand!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 verasilyn on 6/4/2008 7:03:00 PM more reviews by verasilyn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Everybody knows what their body butters are like, and they're pretty consistent with texture throughout the line. The only difference lies in the fragrance. This was a little strong for me--I liked Olive better, but my favorite now is the limited Moringa one (perfect scent for summer!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 acc929 on 5/17/2008 6:40:00 PM more reviews by acc929

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Finally, a Body Butter that lives up to all the hype!! I have tried three. I tried Mango, which I found greasy and the smell was cloying and pungent. The Shea Butter moisturized well enough, but it just sat on my skin and didn't sink in at all. The Coconut Body Butter is for Very Dry Skin, and I was worried I would have the same problem with its not sinking in. However, it is of a light enough texture that it simply melts into your skin, leaving behind softness, sheen, and a wonderfully authentic coconut scent. The scent brings me back to long days spent on Virgin Island beaches with turquoise waters and palm trees overhead and sun-warmed skin :) A definite re-buy; I love it!

EDIT: I have found that I have begun to have the same problem with this BB as with the others: IT DOESNT SINK IN! It sits on top of my dry skin. It's so strange. Won't buy again. A shame, because it smells heavenly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jazzy87 on 5/12/2008 2:11:00 AM more reviews by jazzy87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

A word of warning for coconut body butter virgins - this isn't your ordinary sickly coconut milk scent. Instead, this is divinely sexy, dark and warm -> somehow the Body Shop have managed to capture the essence of sexy summer nights at the beach and put it into this unassuming brown tub.


Compared to the perfume oil, the body butter scent is much deeper and more 'foody', and lasts all day on me. The texture is quite rich, so I mostly use this on my legs and elbows during the day, and then slather some more all over at night, especially in winter.


IMO this is the best scent out of all the Body Shop body butters (trust me I've bought nearly all of them! Mango comes in at 2nd place, with Brazil Nut a close 3rd) and this is the only one I have repurchased again and again. Serious HG. For reference the most recent Australian rrp is $27.95 AUD for 200ml size.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 popmbj on 5/4/2008 11:22:00 AM more reviews by popmbj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This body butter doesn't smell exactly like coconut but it has a nice texture. A bit too heavy for the summer. A tip to those posting about the smaller container: keep your old small containers and refill from the 200ml size : twice the price for four times the amount of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leahuang225 on 4/28/2008 9:37:00 AM more reviews by leahuang225

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This body butter smells heavenly, however, it doesn't sink into my skin at all. When i first applied it, it seemed mouisturizing enough, but after a while, it just felt greasy, cause it was just sitting on top of my skin. I would not repurchase this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 4/17/2008 5:47:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am glad I found this! I really adore the smell of coconut, especially in summer. I got the minis and I can throw them in my purse for a quick pick-me-up. They are deeply moisturizing, slightly greasy at first but they blend well. Not too expensive as I don't use alot, $10 each - may find it cheaper on Ebay. I wouldn't use this on my whole body as it is heavy and the weather is getting warmer, but the scent is just like suntan lotion but more crisp - almost a relaxing scent. I love it - definite repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 4/8/2008 9:26:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I like this body butter (to be honest, I love quite a few of the body butters from TBS) because it smells delicious, is extremely moisturizing, and believe it or not but I think it helps me tan better (not that I tan intentionally but when when i'm outside wearing this, I seem to get tanned alot faster and evenly/beautifully). The only thing I dislike is that it's quite greasy and hence use it on a once per week/two weeks basis. Regardless, in all, I love this one and will continue to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products