The Body Shop • Coconut Body Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(374 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 cazs on 3/8/2008 5:24:00 PM more reviews by cazs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i love the body shop body butters. they smell great and are very good at moisturising ur skin so it ticks both boxes. i have two, this one and the brazil nut. it does have a lovely coconut smell, quite sweet. they call it the 'yummy one' in the store. sums it up. i would not get this one again as i want to try other ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hp11989 on 2/5/2008 5:52:00 PM more reviews by hp11989

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Overall rating: I really like this body butter, even though I agree with some of the others that it does not have a "true" coconut scent. No mind to me because I like the scent nevertheless. I especially like the texture: exactly what you would imagine if you dug into a stick of real butter to apply it to your skin. It is *very* rich and somewhat greasy when applied, but this sinks in well overnight. I use it on my feet, legs, and knees when the dry January air hits. Nothing else works as well or feels as good IME. This is my HG foot and leg cream for January and February, when my skin on those areas gets dry and flakey.
Price: Slightly higher than average price (at a drugstore or Wal-Mart–type store), i.e., $10 for a mini-tub (1.75 oz.), of which I have 4 for the winter months. I used up 1 mini-tub in the past 3 weeks, but I really slather it on! YMMV.
Packaging: Nothing unusual or clever; just your standard cute little plastic tub with a photo of the product "flavor" on the label.
Would I buy again: Yes, if I couldn't swap for it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cargrey on 1/30/2008 3:01:00 PM more reviews by cargrey

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

olive butter is my first favorite and coconut is my second! very creamy and emollient and great for drier skin. have a tendency to slather my feet with this. when i use this it gives me that tropical scent (pick me up) which reminds me of being on a hawaiian vacation (oh so corny but true).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genabobena on 1/24/2008 3:45:00 PM more reviews by genabobena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG body care, esp in the dry winter months. I love that it doesn't make me feel greasy & slimy after putting it on & I love the scent- it smells like real coconut oil instead of that fake, synthetic coconut scent more other body care companies use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kennedy83 on 1/23/2008 4:34:00 PM more reviews by kennedy83

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty moisturizing but I really didn't like the scent. It didn't smell yummy and coconutty to me, it smelled almost... stale or something. I found the Body Shop's coconut body wash to smell weird as well. I got it as a gift and used it all because I did enjoy how it made my skin feel, but I wouldn't buy it for myself or anyone else.

I'm still searching for the ultimate coconut smell :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RubyMalibu on 1/20/2008 11:41:00 PM more reviews by RubyMalibu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

YUM..makes me think of lying on a beach sipping pineapple juice, very thick which is good for my dry skin..i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zilfbambi on 1/4/2008 2:16:00 PM more reviews by zilfbambi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is the 3rd Body Butter that i've used from TBS. The main reason why i love body butters so much is due to the scrumptious scents! This one literally made me and my boyfriend drool. The smell is so good, i have to stop myself from tasting it. However, the texture of the Butter is pretty different from other Body Butter, it is not as smooth as others. It looks as if it is not well mixed. The smell tend to be quite heavy sometimes, although it smells absolutely delicious it is a tad too strong for my liking. It moisturizes well, but i would not recommend people with normal skin to use it all over their body because it can be quite sticky. If your skin is dry, it's gonna be great for you because this is made expecially for Normal/ Dry skin. I also have TBS Body Butter in Mango, Pink Grapefruit. My favourite among these is the Pink Grapefruit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 littlelady87 on 12/10/2007 11:24:00 AM more reviews by littlelady87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I do love the smell- I'm drawn to great-smelling products so this one really attracted me. However, I don't think it actually works brilliantly. While it makes my normal skin quite soft, it doesn't do much to the very dry patch halfway down each arm. I know that it is not touted as being for exceptionally dry skin, but you would think that it would have at least some effect, being for normal to dry. Also, it's quite thick and doesn't always 'soak' into the skin that well.


I am going to try this on my hair (after re-reading the ingredients!), as coconut is supposed to be good for the hair and the moisture may work well on my dry ends. I'll report back on my Findings...


Update: I have tried using this on the ends of my hair and it works quite well as a temporary fix when you don't have time to use moisturising conditioner or whatever you use in your normal regime. What I did was put a tiny bit on my hands, rub it in until it was almost all absorbed and then comb it through the ends of my hair. It smoothed down all the rough ends and did make it less dry. But I have stopped using it now, as I recently got my hair cut and changed shampoo and my hair is no longer dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gingerrama on 11/22/2007 6:11:00 AM more reviews by gingerrama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The Body Shop Body Butters are lovely thick creams for drier skin, luscious texture, and a very good deal compared to market peers. I've used the Body Butters in Brazil Nut, Cocoa, Coconut, Olive, and Shea. All are excellent; they are slightly scented, but not enough to produce allergic reactions. Other versions are available, but are more heavily scented or include some ingredients my skin isn't overly happy with, so I've not used them. The Butters also work well as winter hand- and foot-creams. How to choose amongst them?

The Coconut version is intended for normal to dry skin. It's not bad, but not as good either as others in the range (my favourites, Shea and Brazil Nut), nor as other coconut products out there. It can be used for the other coconut oil product use, i.e. on curlier hair (according to family and friends with strongly curly and/or African-American hair). But not as good as straight-up coconut oil, such as the Palmer's and JASON solid versions.

Contains mainly coconut-derived caprylic/capric triglyceride, cyclomethicone (the "less heavy" silicone), and shea and cocoa butters.

INGREDIENTS: Aqua (Water) (Solvent/Diluent), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (Emollient), Cyclomethicone (Emollient), Butyrospermum parkii (Shea Butter) (Emollient), Glycerin (Humectant), Theobroma cacao (Cocoa Butter) (Emollient), Glyceryl Stearate (Emulsifier), PEG-100 Stearate (Surfactant), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Lanolin Alcohol (Stabiliser/Emollient), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Parfum (Fragrance), Methylparaben (Preservative), Propylparaben (Preservative), Xanthan Gum (Viscosity Modifier), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Disodium EDTA (Chelating Agent), Benzyl Benzoate (Solvent), Coumarin (Fragrance Ingredient), Butylphenyl Methylpropional (Fragrance Ingredient), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Caramel (Colour).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheekypig on 11/16/2007 7:17:00 PM more reviews by cheekypig

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is extremely moisturising, so I only use it in extremely cold weather when my skin is really dry and on my rough patches of skin. A really tiny bit goes a long way and the smell is absolutely heavenly; sweet and not overpowering. The consistency is nice and thick and smooths and rubs in easily on dry spots, leaving the skin baby soft and real smooth. Although I use my HG Body Shop Brazil Nut butter all year long; (more in winter and less in summer), the coconut body butter is a very nice treat to indulge in when I feel like pampering myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products