Liz Earle Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish

3.9

425 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, capric/caprylic triglyceride, cocoa seed butter, cetearyl alcohol, cetyl esthers, sorbitan stearate, polysorbate 60, glycerin, beeswax, propylene glycol, hops extract, panthenol, rosemary extract, chamomile extract, sweet almond extract, eucalyptus extract, limonene, citric acid, sodium hydroxide, phenoxyethanol, benzoic acid, ethylhexylglycerin, dehydroacetic acid, polyaminopropyl biguanide


on 8/28/2011 2:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I watch a lot of UK beauty bloggers who always rave about this. It is a wonderful product that totally deserves the hype surrounding it. It's a lovely, creamy, thick consistency with a great herbal smell. This product is the cornerstone of my skincare and has really helped me to achieve a great luminosity and smoothness to my skin. I have no complaints whatsoever. I just wish that I could buy this locally instead of ordering from the UK.

I also totally appreciate and dig the ethos as well as social and environmental responsibility of the Liz Earle company. Hope they don't eventually get bought by a larger parent corporation as happened with Aveda.



on 8/18/2011 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love it! Have used this for about 7 years and would hate to be without it. My skin is not naturally that great, but thanks to C&P it looks better than it did ten years ago. If I stray from this for too long, my skin starts breaking out and looking dull, but a few days of using this twice a day and my skin looks good again. I find it removes any makeup apart from really waterproof liners and mascara.


on 8/2/2011 3:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is def the best cleanser i have ever tried! its so gentle, u can even rub it over your eyes does not sting in the slightest, but it removes all traces of make up and leaves your skin feeling lovely, clean and soft!
the way it works is you rub it all over your face while the make up is still on, and over your eyes. then u use the cloth that comes with it, you wet the cloth and wipe it over your face repeating the process till all the make up is gone. the product has a lovely creamy consistency and the cloth gently exfoliates your skin without being too abrasive as some exfoliators can be. the cloths are high quality as well , u can use them time and time again and they even go in the washing machine without being ruined!
whereas other cleansers can be too oily and never seem to remove all my make up, and when i tone my skin afterwards, the cotton pad still has traces of make up on it, this product really removes everything, leaving you with soft, clean and healthy skin!


on 7/24/2011 3:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I've been using this product for about a month or so. So far, so good. I like the texture - soft and creamy. Doesn't dry me up at all which is great because my skin has been SO dry lately. I have somewhat sensitive combo skin and all seems to be going well, although I am still getting some spots (not sure what from), but my skin is better than before I used this product. Seems to help with redness too.
I like that I can use it to take off eye make-up - very gentle around the eyes. I think this is my new HG :-) ends up being a bit expensive inc. shipping to Australia, but I'm yet to find something else like it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is my HG cleanser and is unique to any other I've tried. I love the smell and the fact it removes your mascara at the same time with no irritation. Doesn't break out my skin at all, I've tried E'spa, Elemis, Clarins, Clinique, Dior, Chanel, Eve Lom and would recommend this over any of them and I'm pretty sure it would be suitable for all skin types.


on 7/18/2011 1:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

LOVE and i mean it ! i have very oily skin and my mistake was that i was always buying foaming cleansers that were not really doing anything for my oily skin. But this is for all skin types, it is a cream consistency and so naturally you need that little bit more than if you were using a foaming cleanser ( i use about 1 pump) you apply this to dry skin, which i thought was a bit weird as i had never wached my face like this before. But now after 3 weeks of use i can say i dont think i will be changing cleanser any time soon ! this dissolves make up as if it was never on your face in the first place and cleanses thoroughly whthout that dry or tight feeling. Insted it leaves the skin super soft and comfortable. The muslin cloth is another part of it i love it provedes gentle exfoliation but not hard enough to make my raw ( i not only use a granular exfoliator 2 times every 2 weeks and my face has never looked so good !

Update - this is the only new thing i have been using and it has broke me out horribly ! and it was such a shame i loved this cleanser !


on 7/18/2011 7:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am in love with a cleanser. I didn't have extremely high hopes, honestly. I mean...it's a cleanser; how much of a difference could it make?
Well, the difference is HUGE!! In combination with the amazing muslin cloths, my skin is in the best condition it has ever been!! I have no, and I mean absolutely no clogged pores any longer. In spite of fastidious cleansing in the past, I would get clogged pores on my nose and down along the sides. Now...nothing.
I'll admit that I was extremely hesitant when I first pumped it onto my fingertips-it has a fairly strong menthol/eucalyptus fragrance, and the thought of putting that on my eyes really worried me. I re-read the directions, checked the reviews here again, checked the website...yep, it's ok for the eyes! Absolutely no irritation, and it removes every trace of makeup.
One pump easily cleanses my whole face. I squirt 3/4 of a pump onto the lid of the cleanser, then the other 1/4 pump onto my fingertips. I clean my eyes first, wipe it away, then cleanse my whole face with the remainder. So far, this is working well. I plan to stock up before I head home to the US.


on 7/5/2011 7:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser, everyone should try it! Brilliant eye make up remover, nothing annoy's me more than having to use a seperate eye makeup remover. Doesnt irritate the skin or leave it feeling dry like most cleansers tend to do [even some premium brands] the shea leaves your skin feeling comfortable, never screaming for moisture. Leave's you with a bright complexion and does a brilliant job of keeping flakey skin at bay. Really can't fault this, even the packaging is tops. Just noticed a few people have mentioned the residue/film it can leave over the skin.. as long as the cleanser is thoroughly removed with the muslin cloth and warm water there shouldnt be any left on the skin but if you find it's still the same then just use toner on a cotton pad to remove whatevers left, I use the apricot toner from Elemis which is great. A toner should always be used after cleansing with water anyway to restore the PH balance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I had high hopes for this product after reading all of the reviews...and I am happy to report that these hopes were met! I use C+P at night to remove all my make up and cleanse my face, simply slathering on 1-1.5 pumps of product over my face, eyes and neck, then soak the muslin cloth in hot water, rinse, and take everything off until the skin is completely clean. This does not remove waterproof eye make, for that I use grapeseed or olive oil.

Before starting use of C+P, I had break outs across my forehead, cheek and chin area after a 2 week girly holiday. I also do get very small bumps across my face at times, probably because my foundation has quite a lot of silicon in it. After 1 week's use, I can see a noticeable difference in my skin. It looks healthier, less clogged and more refined, and I have had no new breakouts.

I have to say I generally do not follow with a splash of cold water, because to me it makes no sense to close my pores prior to applying a toner; if there is any make up, dirt or grease left on the skin and I then close the pores, I am trapping these particles in the pores before my toner has a chance to remove them.

The muslin cloths I think are C+P's magical ingredient. The cleanser is nice, very gentle and smells lovely but I think what you are paying for is the muslin cloth technology. I only got 2 with my starter pack (I have only washed them both once in the week, I don't see the need to wash after every single use if you rinse thoroughly after washing your face) but I think I will buy another pack of 3 to give me more flexibility.

I use this in conjunction with The Sanctuary's Pore refining toner (which I got on offer in Boots for 1.25!) with Sudocrem (which is fantastic and again I have just started using, will also write a review on that) and Dermalogica's Gentle Cream Exfoliant (which again is new but the jury is still out on). I would say value for money for this product is excellent, Liz Earle could easily charge 25+ and people would still snap it up because of all the beauty awards.

I will also try Soap and Glory's and The Sanctuary's versions of this when this runs out, but so far, so happy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2011 5:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is an HG for me. I've always had a problem with flaking around my nose, even with exfoliation and this cleanser with the cloth has completely gotten rid of that. My face always feels really smooth after using this and there's no need for extra exfoliation. I only use it in the morning, as I don't like it to take off makeup. I find even using a separate eye make-up remover, it takes a lot of work and product to feel like my skin is completely make-up free, so I use another cleanser at night for that. It lasts quite a long time (usually half a pump is enough product for me) and isn't really more expensive than a lot of drug store cleansers - L'oreal etc.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
177 Reviews
Fix+
1271 Reviews
Unblemish
37 Reviews
Grapeseed Oil
141 Reviews
Back to Top