Liz Earle • Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish • Skincare - Face

rated 3.9(418 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 beautyxgeek on 7/5/2011 7:48:00 PM more reviews by beautyxgeek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this cleanser, everyone should try it! Brilliant eye make up remover, nothing annoy's me more than having to use a seperate eye makeup remover. Doesnt irritate the skin or leave it feeling dry like most cleansers tend to do [even some premium brands] the shea leaves your skin feeling comfortable, never screaming for moisture. Leave's you with a bright complexion and does a brilliant job of keeping flakey skin at bay. Really can't fault this, even the packaging is tops. Just noticed a few people have mentioned the residue/film it can leave over the skin.. as long as the cleanser is thoroughly removed with the muslin cloth and warm water there shouldnt be any left on the skin but if you find it's still the same then just use toner on a cotton pad to remove whatevers left, I use the apricot toner from Elemis which is great. A toner should always be used after cleansing with water anyway to restore the PH balance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vaselinequeen on 7/2/2011 6:09:00 AM more reviews by vaselinequeen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had high hopes for this product after reading all of the reviews...and I am happy to report that these hopes were met! I use C+P at night to remove all my make up and cleanse my face, simply slathering on 1-1.5 pumps of product over my face, eyes and neck, then soak the muslin cloth in hot water, rinse, and take everything off until the skin is completely clean. This does not remove waterproof eye make, for that I use grapeseed or olive oil.

Before starting use of C+P, I had break outs across my forehead, cheek and chin area after a 2 week girly holiday. I also do get very small bumps across my face at times, probably because my foundation has quite a lot of silicon in it. After 1 week's use, I can see a noticeable difference in my skin. It looks healthier, less clogged and more refined, and I have had no new breakouts.

I have to say I generally do not follow with a splash of cold water, because to me it makes no sense to close my pores prior to applying a toner; if there is any make up, dirt or grease left on the skin and I then close the pores, I am trapping these particles in the pores before my toner has a chance to remove them.

The muslin cloths I think are C+P's magical ingredient. The cleanser is nice, very gentle and smells lovely but I think what you are paying for is the muslin cloth technology. I only got 2 with my starter pack (I have only washed them both once in the week, I don't see the need to wash after every single use if you rinse thoroughly after washing your face) but I think I will buy another pack of 3 to give me more flexibility.

I use this in conjunction with The Sanctuary's Pore refining toner (which I got on offer in Boots for 1.25!) with Sudocrem (which is fantastic and again I have just started using, will also write a review on that) and Dermalogica's Gentle Cream Exfoliant (which again is new but the jury is still out on). I would say value for money for this product is excellent, Liz Earle could easily charge 25+ and people would still snap it up because of all the beauty awards.

I will also try Soap and Glory's and The Sanctuary's versions of this when this runs out, but so far, so happy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gingery on 7/1/2011 5:34:00 PM more reviews by gingery

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is an HG for me. I've always had a problem with flaking around my nose, even with exfoliation and this cleanser with the cloth has completely gotten rid of that. My face always feels really smooth after using this and there's no need for extra exfoliation. I only use it in the morning, as I don't like it to take off makeup. I find even using a separate eye make-up remover, it takes a lot of work and product to feel like my skin is completely make-up free, so I use another cleanser at night for that. It lasts quite a long time (usually half a pump is enough product for me) and isn't really more expensive than a lot of drug store cleansers - L'oreal etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luvlost03 on 6/29/2011 2:26:00 PM more reviews by luvlost03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff! I ordered the 1.7 oz starter kit that came with one muslin cloth. I got my package in 4 days and to my surprise I got a free gift! They gave me and extra muslin cloth and a 1.0 oz tube, now I have other sample size 1.0 oz tubes and I have to say that the Liz Earle one was packed to the Max unlike other sample sizes I've gotten, so that was a plus. I use this at night to take off my make up at night and it works great it cleanses wonderfully. And it has a light minty smell that's refreshing. This is gonna be a staple for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lissiesdarkside on 6/21/2011 7:26:00 AM more reviews by lissiesdarkside

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product and its' regime has almost completely cleared my skin, I think it's absolutely brilliant. It's gentle and leaves my face feeling fresh and not tight at all.

I cannot recommend this highly enough!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mandibulo on 6/19/2011 8:42:00 AM more reviews by Mandibulo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Generally very happy with this cleanser. During the first few days it did break me out a little in areas I had never broken out before, but that quickly went away, leaving my skin incredibly smooth, like glass; supple, cool and pore-less. The wondrous property of this product lies in this very fact: How long do these effects normally last? Not very long. Soon after cleansing, dry-skinned people need to moisturize or the complexion starts to feel tight, and oily women's skin starts producing oil again. As I fit in the first category, I can only vouch for this: My skin felt comfortable, without any dryness, forever. And by "forever" I mean a whole 48 hours without any moisturizer or other hydrating creams on (i.e. sunscreen), so it basically remained like this the entire time until the next wash, which in this case was long overdue. I was so very surprised by this fact, but moreover, this has been going on for months now. Meaning, my skin has never felt dry or tight or flaky again. It just seems comfortable, smooth and "independent" of outter factors for its happiness. This is unbelievable. I've tried so much in the past to make my skin feel a little better without constant care, and a cleanser is what finally did it. I bought my usual "loaded" moisturizer a while ago, and I haven't had to open it yet. Instead, I got my hands on a few moisturizer samples for normal/oily skin, and they fit me just fine. My skin is still far from oily, but since the light gels I tried were hydrating enough for the first time ever, that must mean it's turned at least pretty normal. This is a big relief and a wonderful, unexpected bonus from this new purchase. The muslin cloths that come with it deliver just the right amount of roughness and allow you to gently polish your skin every day, so you don't have to rub on harsh exfoliants anymore. At least that's how it's worked for me. I tossed all my abrasive, grainy pastes, and replaced them with this. Overall, nice packaging, very annoying scent. 4 lippies instead of 5 because I still get blemishes like I used to before I got into this one - I expected it to keep them somewhat at bay, and it hasn't, but maybe that's too much of me to ask. So yes, very satisfied with it indeed. Highly recommended.
UPDATE: This winter, as opposed to last year, my skin does feel slightly drier again, probably because it's gotten used to this product now. But to make up for that, this cleanser has now cleared up all my mild acne - it is remarkable how I wake up every morning after I've cleansed with this the previous evening; it just seems like my skin takes huge leaps of recovery each night thanks to this. Let's hope it doesn't get used to that effect too! 5 lippies, wholeheartedly. Will keep purchasing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KathXx on 6/12/2011 5:17:00 PM more reviews by KathXx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this cleanser as using the muslin cloth makes me feel like my skin is so much cleaner. I take my makeup off with the lancome or dior cleanser (whichever is to hand) and then just wash my face with this as directed. I have not tried to take my makeup off with it so can not comment on that. I personally like the smell now, I didn't at first. Washing the muslin clothes can be a pain but I just hand wash mine with some handwash detergent I keep by the sink and leave them to try on the hand rail. It does take a little extra time to wash your face in the morning/night but its definately worth it. My skin has cleared up from blemishes since using it and my skin tone appears more even. I love this product and will be using it for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 imi22 on 5/30/2011 11:52:00 AM more reviews by imi22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This cleaner has completely saved my skin. After a bitter winter my skin was so dry and sore that none of my normal products were doing anything to help it. I switched back to this cleanser that I had used a couple of years before and the results were amazing. My skin was soft clean and clear. Even now the weather is much hotter my skin still stays calm and clear! The muslin cloth gently exfoliates and my skin has never been this good!
I have already repurchased (buying big 200ml tube) and will continue to do so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 23bottles on 5/30/2011 7:13:00 AM more reviews by 23bottles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination/oily skin and have been trying this product for 1 week.

PROS (so far):
- Beautiful packaging - Looks expensive and pump is useful
- Great for taking off makeup

CONS (so far):
- Leaves a residue on my skin - that for dry/normal skin would be perfect as it feels moisturising, but I am personally uncomfortable with it
- Very inconvenient for those on the go! - It takes a little longer to wash my face with this is the morning and night. It feels like its an extra step. I find having to wash and air dry this regularly is also a pain!
- I have developed a few red spots on my face.

I will continue to use this for a while longer and update this review soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 danimaria on 5/28/2011 8:22:00 PM more reviews by danimaria

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Pros: Liz Earle is just such a great company that cares about their costumers. Lovely packaging. Cons: Didnt like the smell or texture of the product. nothing special. I have tried much better cleansers. Dried out my skin slightly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Liz Earle products

More Skincare - Face products