Liz Earle • Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish • Skincare - Face

rated 3.9(404 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 gabbangirl on 5/22/2011 7:06:00 AM more reviews by gabbangirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Due to all the hype around this product I really really wanted to like it but this has to be one of the worst cleansers I have ever used!
Initially it made my skin oily and greasier than usual but I was prepared to put up with that due to the price I paid for this product. However within a month I started to develop several large CYSTIC pimples (that refused to go away) which I had NEVER had in my life until now. I changed my diet, started taking anti acne pills and stopped using other skincare products to see if that would help but nothing worked until one week when I ran out of clean muslin cloths and out of sheer laziness decided to try a sample of another cleanser to clean my face. This trial lasted 3 weeks and all the cystic pimples/black and whiteheads have gone which can only mean that just like some other people, Liz Earle made me breakout terribly!!! It actually hurts me to say this because their customer service is just excellent and their packaging is superb however I will NEVER purchase this cleanser again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Salari on 5/22/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Salari

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I will admit to being a liz Earle junkie, but this was the first product from their range which I used. I never really had a skincare routine, as my skin is very fussy, and either breaks out or dries out very easily! I was bought this by my mum, who diapered of her daughter's teenage skin at the age of 28.
The product is a creamy formula, with a fairly strong eucalyptus smell, which I find refreshing, but I know others can find a bit strong. I massage this all over my face, leaving my eyes til last, before wiping away with the wet muslin cloth. It removes most, if not all of m make up (my double wear mascara defeats it, I have found). After rinsing my skin feels soft and clean, but does need a little moisturiser. I still exfoliate with a scrub once a week, so the cloth isn't quite exfoliating enough for me.
I will admit to not using a clean cloth every time - too much laundry! I make them last a couple of days.
I've never had a breakout when using this, my skin will misbehave if I stop using it, or get lazy and only use I once a day. I know some people don't get along with this - my mum had a terrible break out using it. I thin it's a bit of a " marmots" product in that respect! Personally I wouldn't be without it.
Price-wise it's ok, if not brilliant, but then if you use something every day the cost will add up!
Now that it's available in my local John Lewis I'm a happy girl....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kristeli10 on 5/20/2011 9:34:00 PM more reviews by kristeli10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have combination/oily skin. I bought this product because I was following a blog and i heard so many great and positive feedbacks from Youtube ladies who used this and i feel like 'wow, i must have this!' Plus all the ingredients are NATURAL. And so i bought the Trial kit online because im in the US. It came just a week after! Its so fast shipping! Im so excited to try this. At first i was surprised because of the packaing very well loved! And the smell soooooo DIVINE I LOVEEE IT! (sadly the only reason why i loved it!), I also love the muslin cloth, more exofliation =). But after cleaning my face with it, i noticed some red spots coming out, like small pimples starting out. I ignored it and thought my face is just reacting on it. Then after a week, my face was like a bomb of PIMPES!! :o like realllyyy. I never had this so many pimples! I freaked out and called the customer service to return the product,( I like how approachable they are) and she said that it is normal and that my skin is just adjusting to it, and adviced me to continue using it. So i did for another weeks or so, but still OMGG i really cant take it anymore. So i stopped using it. It was a horrible experience. My face becomes oily and pimples all over. :( And, it's really not my type of cleaning the muslin cloth EVERY SINGLE DAY just to make sure its clean before i put it in my face. It doesnt remove all of my make up either.

I wanted to love it but my skin wont :( , not to mention the high PRICE :(...sorry liz earle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rtay on 5/19/2011 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Rtay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Now i said "no" to buying this cleanser again and I have been having a love/hate relationship with it for years! I have bought it a few times and it does last super long.

Does it remover your make up? Hell yes it does! Its non irritating and smells lovely and still is a natural product. What I do dislike it the fact when you rub it into your skin is adsorbs so you can't really massage your make up off . But it is a wonder on eyeliner and mascara and foundation.

But why is it a love/hate relationship? Well where as it is a miracle for your make up, its not so much for a problem skin. I was using it for like a year and i realised my skin is clean but its not clear. So why am I paying £20 odd for a make up remover only? So at the moment im using olive oil as a make up remover (check my review :) ) and liz earle as face wash/general cleanser - well its going ok but not great my skin is kind of radiant but still not super clear.

So alas the hunt continues! But where to turn I don't know as there is a product I haven't tried : (

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Starla83 on 5/18/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by Starla83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So after being sucked into all the hype about Liz Earle products I decided to give this a go. At first I initially liked it, it removed my makeup nicely and didn't leave me with this "tight" feeling on my face. I use the muslin cloth quite gently on my face, and granted it does leave my skin very soft and smooth.....but also in some areas quite red and a bit sore (and no i wasnt scrubbing the life out of my skin!). It didn't really do much for problematic areas of my skin either. Also, I didnt think constantly washing the muslin cloth would be a problem.....but after a while constantly washing the cloth really does begin to annoy you. Although, I'm not one to use a facial cloth when using cleansers so this is just a personal preference.

In summary, after using it for a month or so....it is now sitting in my bathroom drawer. Sadly, I bought this because it was being hyped up everywhere as this amazing product, however I think its ok at best nothing amazing and I definately won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xJessix on 5/15/2011 11:32:00 AM more reviews by xJessix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff, to me, is a godsend. :)

It leaves my skin so soft and clean. And it's so gentle. I love the fact that it sucks out dirt. My boyfriend always notices how fresh my face looks after I've used it.

Can't live without it. Take it everywhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lailamox on 5/13/2011 10:57:00 AM more reviews by lailamox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use cheap face wipes to remove my face make-up and add a bit of lancome cleanser ( a one i got in a free gift, think it is this ---Galatéis Douceur gentle softening cleansing fluid ).
I will never return to that form or make-up removing again.

After hearing so many youtube reviews on this I decided to buy the 100ml starter kit. It easily and gently removes every trace of make-up leaving my skin feeling cleansed and refreshed. The product smells lovely.
I will re-buy this forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellylouise80 on 5/10/2011 8:32:00 AM more reviews by kellylouise80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was a complete shock to me. After reading rave reviews, i was somewhat of a disbeliever. I ordered a bottle of this product and now well it is a staple in my cleansing regime. I could not believe the glow it brought back to my skin. I use it twice daily, just one pump so as you can imagine you get quite a lot of product for around £14. I will never use face wipes again to remove make up!! I believe this is the best cleanser on the market. I have just put an order in for a few other of the products from the range, so I will let you know how I get on with them. I also like the fact that it is all natural ingredients, therefore we are not pumping chemicals onto our skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilasbaby on 5/9/2011 10:42:00 AM more reviews by lilasbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

there are just too many steps just to wash my face. first you need to massage the cream onto your skin, then you need to wipe it off with the cloth..and then you have to rinse your face again with warm water..then you need to dry your face..then you have to rinse the cloth..then every once in a while you need to wash the cloth to keep it clean..

its just too much for me. i'd rather use a simple one step cleanser.

however, i do like the texture and smell of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kmwinn7 on 5/8/2011 4:43:00 PM more reviews by Kmwinn7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an awesome product! It is very good for my sensitive skin; it doesn't break me out or make my skin red/irritated. It is a little strange because you put it on your face completely dry and then get the towelette wet and wipe it off. The smell isn't that great (smells like a breath mint) but the product works amazingly. When the product is all wiped off, my face feels super soft. My pores are noticeably smaller, and my makeup goes on much better. Love this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Liz Earle products

More Skincare - Face products