E.L.F. • Cream Eyeliner - All Colors • Eyeliner

rated 3.9(444 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Bamababy99 on 5/16/2012 1:47:00 PM more reviews by Bamababy99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! Before, I used the L'Oreal intense carbon black liquid pencil liner. It was super creamy, and extra black. But, doesn't last long between me and my mom. I wasn't fond of paying 8 bucks every 2 weeks. Lol. Cheap, right? WELL, I stumbled across this for 3 bucks! I was immediately hooked. It was black, intense, creamy, and everything more! I was just in love. One pot has lasted me months, and months, but as I've used it, I've started missing my old HG. This is ALMOST the perfect eyeliner, only complaint is, after you use it for a while, the color seems to be not as black. I guess due to dipping the brush back and forth, and it picks up eyeshadow. But, I love it, and will continue to buy it. ONE amazing thing I can say about this that no other liner does, is that it does NOT EVER smudge. I normally do a subtle cat eye, or a soft smokey eye with lined waterlines, and I never have goopy tear ducts, or smudgy liner. I love that! I think I'll go back to my L'Oreal for a while. But, I will always keep this near and dear to my heart, and my eyes. <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cocolovescocopuffs on 5/14/2012 9:41:00 PM more reviews by cocolovescocopuffs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A big waste of $3....completely dried out in a couple months. Its shrunk into a little hockey puck and now it falls out of the pot. I don't know if its just a crap product or crap packaging the doesn't keep air out. I did store it upside down as recommended for this type of product. I'm more than happy to pay $22 for Bobbi Brown seeing as its lasted me years.

I will say I liked the gun metal color while it lasted. I wore it maybe 5 times before it became useless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 noelletan on 5/14/2012 5:06:00 PM more reviews by noelletan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When it gets dry, put it in a sandwich bag and let it sit in hot water for a few minutes. It'll soften up to a nice consistency, and you'll get back the intensity you lost when it went dry.

Definitely use a reliable primer underneath, and some sort of setting powder on top to prevent creasing.

Those who gave 1 lippie: try this!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Xococo on 5/10/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by Xococo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Smooth
Cute size
Cheap
Lots of colors
Goes on easy
Stays put!

Cons:
The only con I have is that I notice when I apply another coat done on the color comes off


If it wasn't for that this would've been my HG! Still like it though

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bambooflower on 5/9/2012 5:47:00 PM more reviews by bambooflower

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great cream eyeliner. It stays put, is easy to apply, and comes in a variety of colors. I have tried 3 or 4 different ones and they are all good!

The only problem is, this product dries out very fast. I've gotten longer than a month and a half of use - I used my purple and olive ones consistently for maybe 6-8 months before they dried out. My olive one is the first to go - it's gotten to the point where it's super flakey and is a pain to apply. It is also my favorite one, so I have used that one the most. My purple one is still okay, though it is getting a bit dry in texture. I have one in midnight that is still in good condition though - this is because I rarely use this one. All 3 were purchased at the same time, and I would say I used the olive one maybe 3 times a week, the purple 2x a week, and the midnight maybe 3x a month.

I would still buy this because I can get almost a year's worth of use out of one. If only they would find a better way of storing the product!

I stored mine upside-down, inside ziploc bags for awhile. I don't know if this helped the product last a bit longer. I also store them inside my makeup drawer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimmeekat72 on 5/9/2012 5:40:00 PM more reviews by kimmeekat72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Metallic Olive,,I love it. I use Bobbie Brown gel and I have a stila one lurking around somewhere too...HOWEVER now that I have used the elf liner I do not see myself buying the others anytime soon! I got mine on clearence for 1.00 :) The olive color is perfect for day or night!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dominosugah on 5/9/2012 5:33:00 PM more reviews by dominosugah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I started using MACs gel liner in black track 5 years ago. Even with daily use (I do thick winged out liner everyday).. it would dry out before i finished the pot (took about a year to dry out). It's such a waste of money!! Anyway so I tried this ELF liner for a fraction of the cost for a MAC and it's just as great! The consistency is a little more creamy (duh cream vs gel lol) but I love it. It's jet black and when I use it over my HG UDPP it lasts all day. Even if it dries out next year, at least I didn't spend too much on it!

Oh and the packaging is really cute :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ruskapunkkari on 4/29/2012 1:37:00 PM more reviews by ruskapunkkari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this product in the following colors: Punk Purple, Teal Tease, Golden and Black. As a side note, I purchased the black one long time ago and seeing all these comments about it smearing makes me think that they may have changed something in the product.


I bought the black one year and a half ago. It was my very first cream eyeliner and I found it to be good while it was still fresh. Nice black color that was easy to apply. Quite good for a beginner. I liked it a lot although after trying out several other cream/gel liners I became less impressed with it.


The biggest problem I had with it was that it dried out quickly and every once in awhile I had to stir it up with a toothpick. In the end I found it to be a bit too much hassle, especially as the consistency changed to a worse every time I had to mix the dried out parts with the rest of it.


So the very first weeks the liner was excellent, didn't smear and stayed put. But after month and a half of use I had to throw it away. It just became terrible. It became flaky and it lost its staying power.


Comparing to other liners I just can't recommend this liner at all. I bought my HG liner which is the Makeup Atelier Paris' Gel Liner in black seven months ago. My MAP liner was 13 while Elf's was 3,50. The Makeup Atelier Paris' liner is still in good condition although I once forgot to put a lid back on it. During the past seven months I would have needed to purchase the ELF's liner 3 times already. Actually I might have needed to buy it more times than that as elf has a habit to send duds. And I have even better comparison. I've had the Maybelline's Gel Liner over a year now and it's still nearly as good as it was when I first got it and that cost me about 5.


So, against my earlier experience I bought the other colors just a month ago. The colors looked just so good I couldn't help myself. Well, they aren't that good although they haven't gone funky on me yet. Well, I haven't been using them that much either. The color payoff in these isn't that stellar compared to the black. Also they are dryer or less creamier and it's difficult to apply them. I've found the Punk Purple to being the most sheer, or less vibrant, out of these. The Golden is next in line of poor payoff. The Golden's staying power isn't that good compared to the rest either. The Teal Tease looks awesome but I haven't used it as much as it isn't that creamy and when applied the color gets erased if I try to put more than one layer of it.


In the end, cheap products have a tendency to become costly and their poor quality will be more apparent through the length of the product's life rather than how it functions within couple of weeks of use. So what I'm getting with this is that the poor just doesn't have the money to buy cheap shit because cheap shit doesn't last and you end up buying the damn thing several times.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 4/24/2012 3:41:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

**Edit 7/10/2012 I have found that if it dries out, spray some Fix+ in the container, let it sit for 24 hours, and BOOM, its back to life!!

Have these in black, coffee, copper, and purple.


You would think with a screw top it wouldnt dry out as fast as it does. I didnt realise how dry it was, until i bought a new one and was like holy smokes, this stuff is practically liquid!! Even though its a bit dry, it gets the job done quite nicely. Would not recommend using the brush that comes with it, use your own!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roseofthedevilsgarden on 4/20/2012 more reviews by roseofthedevilsgarden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic liner. I got this liner in black and it works great. I like to use this on my water line because regular pencil eyeliners just never stay put there, they easily smudge off at least for me. I do like to apply just a little bit of black eyeshadow on top so it will set better. Not only that it lasts for hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eyeliner products