E.L.F. • Cream Eyeliner - All Colors • Eyeliner

rated 3.9(438 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ruskapunkkari on 4/29/2012 1:37:00 PM more reviews by ruskapunkkari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this product in the following colors: Punk Purple, Teal Tease, Golden and Black. As a side note, I purchased the black one long time ago and seeing all these comments about it smearing makes me think that they may have changed something in the product.


I bought the black one year and a half ago. It was my very first cream eyeliner and I found it to be good while it was still fresh. Nice black color that was easy to apply. Quite good for a beginner. I liked it a lot although after trying out several other cream/gel liners I became less impressed with it.


The biggest problem I had with it was that it dried out quickly and every once in awhile I had to stir it up with a toothpick. In the end I found it to be a bit too much hassle, especially as the consistency changed to a worse every time I had to mix the dried out parts with the rest of it.


So the very first weeks the liner was excellent, didn't smear and stayed put. But after month and a half of use I had to throw it away. It just became terrible. It became flaky and it lost its staying power.


Comparing to other liners I just can't recommend this liner at all. I bought my HG liner which is the Makeup Atelier Paris' Gel Liner in black seven months ago. My MAP liner was 13 while Elf's was 3,50. The Makeup Atelier Paris' liner is still in good condition although I once forgot to put a lid back on it. During the past seven months I would have needed to purchase the ELF's liner 3 times already. Actually I might have needed to buy it more times than that as elf has a habit to send duds. And I have even better comparison. I've had the Maybelline's Gel Liner over a year now and it's still nearly as good as it was when I first got it and that cost me about 5.


So, against my earlier experience I bought the other colors just a month ago. The colors looked just so good I couldn't help myself. Well, they aren't that good although they haven't gone funky on me yet. Well, I haven't been using them that much either. The color payoff in these isn't that stellar compared to the black. Also they are dryer or less creamier and it's difficult to apply them. I've found the Punk Purple to being the most sheer, or less vibrant, out of these. The Golden is next in line of poor payoff. The Golden's staying power isn't that good compared to the rest either. The Teal Tease looks awesome but I haven't used it as much as it isn't that creamy and when applied the color gets erased if I try to put more than one layer of it.


In the end, cheap products have a tendency to become costly and their poor quality will be more apparent through the length of the product's life rather than how it functions within couple of weeks of use. So what I'm getting with this is that the poor just doesn't have the money to buy cheap shit because cheap shit doesn't last and you end up buying the damn thing several times.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 4/24/2012 3:41:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

**Edit 7/10/2012 I have found that if it dries out, spray some Fix+ in the container, let it sit for 24 hours, and BOOM, its back to life!!

Have these in black, coffee, copper, and purple.


You would think with a screw top it wouldnt dry out as fast as it does. I didnt realise how dry it was, until i bought a new one and was like holy smokes, this stuff is practically liquid!! Even though its a bit dry, it gets the job done quite nicely. Would not recommend using the brush that comes with it, use your own!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roseofthedevilsgarden on 4/20/2012 more reviews by roseofthedevilsgarden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic liner. I got this liner in black and it works great. I like to use this on my water line because regular pencil eyeliners just never stay put there, they easily smudge off at least for me. I do like to apply just a little bit of black eyeshadow on top so it will set better. Not only that it lasts for hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suchaclassylady on 4/16/2012 11:40:00 AM more reviews by suchaclassylady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the best eyeliner I've ever worn. It lasted through a teary-eyed wedding, a sweaty night of dancing, and rubbing my tired eyes in the car at the end of the night. I will keep this one in stock for sure.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kabukiKILLER on 4/15/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by kabukiKILLER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in black just to try it out and to be honest, it's a steal. The packaging is not lacking and the cream liner itself is very very black. It dries to an almost matte finish. The amount of product that you get is also not bad. It's enough that you wouldn't feel ripped off if you had paid more for it (assuming it was some other brand than ELF), but it's also not so much that it would dry out before you've used 1/3 or something. I use if several times a week.

The downside, as someone mentioned, is that it smears. I found this to be because the consistency is a little thicker than most gel-type liners, and thus, can go on thick and take longer to dry. My solution to it is to apply with a light hand, and add more if needed. Takes some practice.

My remedy for the problem of it drying out is to store them in the makeup drawer upside down, with the lid down. Works sometimes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DarkViolet001 on 4/5/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by DarkViolet001

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this product in black. I absolutely LOVE it. the only down side of this product is that if you don't set it with eyeshadow, it with crease very quickly. i put E.L.F eye primer on, then this product and then i set it with a black eyeshadow from E.L.F. i wear this eyeliner everyday and it normally lasts me nearly 2 months. it's only $3 at target and i highly recommend it. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 4/3/2012 7:03:00 AM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have this in Teal and Coffee.
I've had Coffee for 7 or 8 months and it's already pretty dry but I don't know if I should blame it on the quality of the product or the packaging. It's still usable but harder to apply because it's not as creamy anymore (although it was never that creamy to begin with).
I got Teal last week and although the color is beautiful (but less intense than I expected it to be) it's also a bit dry-ish.
I wouldn't say it's bad at all but I think Essence and PF eyeliners are both superior to e.l.f. ones and they are just as cheap.
I don't mind the packaging, it's a little bulky considering how little product it contains but it doesn't really bother me.
The staying power of these is good but I don't usually have problems with eyeliners smudging and flaking on me.
I would give it 3 and a half lippies but considering how many better products are out there it gets 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ketu86 on 4/3/2012 6:35:00 AM more reviews by ketu86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in black and brown. I flinch loads when I apply liquid liner so decided to try this gel eyeliner, it is so easy to apply and gives more control than pencil liners. It smudges a little bit on application but no big problem. Good pigmentation but I like to put a few layers on to make sure it lasts. I have very dark brown (almost black) oriental eyes and I prefer the brown to the black. Very good price for gel liner and you get a little brush which isn't bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 butterflyashes on 4/3/2012 6:09:00 AM more reviews by butterflyashes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm surprised more people don't like this. I went to Target and bought this in black along with the Sonia Kashuk angled eyeliner brush (another amazing product) and I have to say this stuff is impressive. I have monolids but my top eyeline doesn't budge for a good 10 hours, and this is without any primer or setting with shadow afterwards. Can't vouch for staying power on the bottom lashline since I don't properly set it but i still get 3 hours before major smudging. Only thing that may be a problem is the plastic container it's in; it already looks like it's drying on the outside a week after I opened it. At $3, though, I'm not complaining. I'll repurchase unless I try out and like Wet n Wild's cream eyeliner more (everyone swears by it but my local CVS only has opened ones in stock!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nedag on 4/2/2012 10:09:00 PM more reviews by nedag

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I first put on the eyeliner it comes out super black and dark but towards the end of the day it transfers to my crease and smuges, and I don't have really oily eyelids. However the only reason I would buy it again is because it is so cheap

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eyeliner products