Coastal Scents • 88 eyeshadow palette • Palettes

rated 3.9(357 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sayoko on 10/31/2009 9:26:00 PM more reviews by Sayoko

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

After recieving all three palettes the 88 palette, warm and ultra shimmer palettes as birthday presents, I have to say after trying them all I'm extremely impressed! both 88 and 88 ultra shimmer palettes has a wide range of colors that are extremely pigmented although there were some chalky shadows they were very few..when I used an eyeshadow primer, it worked like a charm. Many of the colours in the palette are comparable to some of MAC eye shadow colours..all in all, a great bang for your buck! I would recomend these palettes to perople new to make up, definately a bang for your buck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heathercadlaon on 10/31/2009 8:44:00 PM more reviews by heathercadlaon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My palette was quickly shipped to me after I ordered it, I got the 88 shimmer one. I like how some of them are shimmer and some are matte. The dime-sized amount of color is at first overlooked. However, the pigment makes up for it. You need a good primer to keep the shadows on the whole day and the packaging isn't as efficient as I wanted it to be. I didn't even drop it and the little part that closes the lid fell off. It's good for those who aren't as serious with makeup or a starter kit for beginners!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rd239 on 10/28/2009 6:56:00 PM more reviews by rd239

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am reviewing the 88 shimmer palette. I dislike this product. The colors are very shimmery and highly pigmented when I swatch them on the back of my hand, however they do not last very long on my eyelids. They start creasing almost instantly. I don't know if it has to do with the amount of shimmer in them or what. I have tried them with UDPP, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, and MAC paint pots. I never have this problem with any other eyeshadow I use with a base. The packaging is also horrible. They are glued into the palette and when I move the palette I can hear/feel all the shadows moving out of their place. At first glance the price is cheap considering the array of colors you receive but the quality of the product does not match up. The eyeshadows themselves are quite small in size (smaller than a MAC eyeshadow.) My palette also has a very strange scent to it... The eyeshadow themselves... It is hard to describe. Almost like a nail salon or something. I do not understand what the hype is over these palettes and will not purchase again. I prefer paying a couple of extra dollars for something that is good quality, has more product, and will keep me satisfied.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Serenelove on 10/28/2009 2:10:00 AM more reviews by Serenelove

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great eyeshadows! Does anyone knows who manufactures these? Coastal Scents does not make them, but who does?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cookayhaikoo on 10/27/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by cookayhaikoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am in LOVE with this palatte. I had the 120 palatte you can get off eBay, but my cat knocked it off the counter while I was using it (horrible day). Instead of getting that one again I decided to get the 88 palatte. I have both the original one and the shimmer. There are lots of pretty blues. The black in both is SUPER pigmented. Some are harder to pick up then others with a brush at first, but once you get it going it's all good. I only have one con. The first day I got them I kept opening and closing them because they were so pretty to look at, then I'd put them up, then I'd get them down to play, then put them back, etc. I was being super careful with them, and probably the 5th time I opened the original one, the little thing to open it popped off (sorry I'm drawing a blank with the word I'm wanting to us). I put it back on, and it works ok. It is a little hard to open it though. I also realy like how they put the names of the palattes on there. I definately recommend these!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizznk on 10/14/2009 2:08:00 AM more reviews by mizznk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! I ended up giving this to my mom because she loved it so much. she likes it because there is a color to go with every outfit she has haha. and there really is every color in here! the shades are matte but not chalky, SUPER pigmented and easy to work with. I love the big mirror that it comes with as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chelley32 on 10/13/2009 8:39:00 PM more reviews by chelley32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

my 88 matte eyeshadow palette is really good quality eye color and cheap!!!! really love it, soon to order the other palettes!! the warm palette and the shimmer palette and the blush/ contour palettes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* facebylace on 10/12/2009 11:51:00 AM more reviews by facebylace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had debated buying this palette for so long because there are so many mixed reviews. I have to say after finally buying this palette, I'm extremely impressed! This palette has a wide range of colors that are extremely pigmented which is a great bang for your buck. I have only encountered a few chalky shadows, but even those are great to tone down your brighter shadows. When used with an eyeshadow primer like Too Faced or UDPP, you just can't go wrong. A lot of the brighter colors are definitely comparable to MAC's eyeshadows. I would definitely recommend this palette. I feel that it is a must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hajeansonne on 10/6/2009 10:35:00 PM more reviews by hajeansonne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got the 88 palette in warm. I just love it, theres a great combo of matte satin and shimmer and highlight crease and mid tone colors. shadows are very soft and silky. how can you go wrong with 88 colors for $25? I also have the matte color and ultra shimmer color palettes. I have to say the texture is not consistent between the three. The warm is by far my favorite in terms of quality, although I really love color. The shimmer palette is very soft as well but a bit of fall out. the matte palette is not as soft but almost no fall out. If i were ever to use up most of the palette, id buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tokyomimi21 on 10/4/2009 10:02:00 AM more reviews by tokyomimi21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this eyeshadow palette is really good if you are just starting to get into playing with more colors. but there are sooo many colors you will never use and people are so mesmerized with all the color ranges and never stop to think that they will never use a lot of the colors.... but if you DO use em, good for you.
many colors are nicely pigmented. many of the colors are chalky and dusty. it's definitely not QUALITY shadows.
i'm definitely investing in better eyeshadows that i will actually use more often!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coastal Scents products

More Palettes products