Coastal Scents 88 eyeshadow palette

3.9

356 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Mica, Mineral Oil, Kaolin, Titanium Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, Isopropyl Palmitate, Lanolin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, BHT. May contain: Mica and Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue, Manganese Violet, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, Chrome Oxide Greens, Chrome Hydroxide Green, FD&C Red No.40 Al Lake, FD&C Yellow No.5 Al Lake, FD&C Blue No.1 Al Lake.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My palette was quickly shipped to me after I ordered it, I got the 88 shimmer one. I like how some of them are shimmer and some are matte. The dime-sized amount of color is at first overlooked. However, the pigment makes up for it. You need a good primer to keep the shadows on the whole day and the packaging isn't as efficient as I wanted it to be. I didn't even drop it and the little part that closes the lid fell off. It's good for those who aren't as serious with makeup or a starter kit for beginners!



on 10/28/2009 6:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am reviewing the 88 shimmer palette. I dislike this product. The colors are very shimmery and highly pigmented when I swatch them on the back of my hand, however they do not last very long on my eyelids. They start creasing almost instantly. I don't know if it has to do with the amount of shimmer in them or what. I have tried them with UDPP, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, and MAC paint pots. I never have this problem with any other eyeshadow I use with a base. The packaging is also horrible. They are glued into the palette and when I move the palette I can hear/feel all the shadows moving out of their place. At first glance the price is cheap considering the array of colors you receive but the quality of the product does not match up. The eyeshadows themselves are quite small in size (smaller than a MAC eyeshadow.) My palette also has a very strange scent to it... The eyeshadow themselves... It is hard to describe. Almost like a nail salon or something. I do not understand what the hype is over these palettes and will not purchase again. I prefer paying a couple of extra dollars for something that is good quality, has more product, and will keep me satisfied.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2009 2:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great eyeshadows! Does anyone knows who manufactures these? Coastal Scents does not make them, but who does?


on 10/27/2009 4:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am in LOVE with this palatte. I had the 120 palatte you can get off eBay, but my cat knocked it off the counter while I was using it (horrible day). Instead of getting that one again I decided to get the 88 palatte. I have both the original one and the shimmer. There are lots of pretty blues. The black in both is SUPER pigmented. Some are harder to pick up then others with a brush at first, but once you get it going it's all good. I only have one con. The first day I got them I kept opening and closing them because they were so pretty to look at, then I'd put them up, then I'd get them down to play, then put them back, etc. I was being super careful with them, and probably the 5th time I opened the original one, the little thing to open it popped off (sorry I'm drawing a blank with the word I'm wanting to us). I put it back on, and it works ok. It is a little hard to open it though. I also realy like how they put the names of the palattes on there. I definately recommend these!


on 10/14/2009 2:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great product! I ended up giving this to my mom because she loved it so much. she likes it because there is a color to go with every outfit she has haha. and there really is every color in here! the shades are matte but not chalky, SUPER pigmented and easy to work with. I love the big mirror that it comes with as well.


on 10/13/2009 8:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

my 88 matte eyeshadow palette is really good quality eye color and cheap!!!! really love it, soon to order the other palettes!! the warm palette and the shimmer palette and the blush/ contour palettes!


on 10/12/2009 11:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had debated buying this palette for so long because there are so many mixed reviews. I have to say after finally buying this palette, I'm extremely impressed! This palette has a wide range of colors that are extremely pigmented which is a great bang for your buck. I have only encountered a few chalky shadows, but even those are great to tone down your brighter shadows. When used with an eyeshadow primer like Too Faced or UDPP, you just can't go wrong. A lot of the brighter colors are definitely comparable to MAC's eyeshadows. I would definitely recommend this palette. I feel that it is a must have.


on 10/6/2009 10:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got the 88 palette in warm. I just love it, theres a great combo of matte satin and shimmer and highlight crease and mid tone colors. shadows are very soft and silky. how can you go wrong with 88 colors for $25? I also have the matte color and ultra shimmer color palettes. I have to say the texture is not consistent between the three. The warm is by far my favorite in terms of quality, although I really love color. The shimmer palette is very soft as well but a bit of fall out. the matte palette is not as soft but almost no fall out. If i were ever to use up most of the palette, id buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2009 10:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

this eyeshadow palette is really good if you are just starting to get into playing with more colors. but there are sooo many colors you will never use and people are so mesmerized with all the color ranges and never stop to think that they will never use a lot of the colors.... but if you DO use em, good for you.
many colors are nicely pigmented. many of the colors are chalky and dusty. it's definitely not QUALITY shadows.
i'm definitely investing in better eyeshadows that i will actually use more often!!


on 10/3/2009 8:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a couple of months ago after seeing so many good reviews on youtube. Honestly, some of the colors are good. After a couple of months of using this palette, I've come to the realization that I only like the neutral (browns, tans, blacks) side (right) of the palette. Most are pigmented and some are just plain chalky. They're not very vibrant so I wouldn't give this palette a 5. Also, when I received this palette, an eyeshadow pan completely came off and many of my eyeshadows were cracked/broken. I emailed Kathy (the owner of coastal scents) about this and she did something about it right away. I wrote a bad review on coastalscents.com after receiving this palette and they never published it. Don't be fooled by the coastalscents website and read reviews on makeupalley first! Packaging was alright, comes in a matte black case but now i heard the embellished it with their logo? I like the matte black case though. Comes with two sponge applicators which I threw away and a mirror which is handy. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
77 Reviews
The Nudes
81 Reviews
NAKED
2253 Reviews
NAKED3
379 Reviews


Top Rated Coastal Scents Products

Back to Top