Coastal Scents • 88 eyeshadow palette • Palettes

rated 3.9(353 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 cookayhaikoo on 10/27/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by cookayhaikoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am in LOVE with this palatte. I had the 120 palatte you can get off eBay, but my cat knocked it off the counter while I was using it (horrible day). Instead of getting that one again I decided to get the 88 palatte. I have both the original one and the shimmer. There are lots of pretty blues. The black in both is SUPER pigmented. Some are harder to pick up then others with a brush at first, but once you get it going it's all good. I only have one con. The first day I got them I kept opening and closing them because they were so pretty to look at, then I'd put them up, then I'd get them down to play, then put them back, etc. I was being super careful with them, and probably the 5th time I opened the original one, the little thing to open it popped off (sorry I'm drawing a blank with the word I'm wanting to us). I put it back on, and it works ok. It is a little hard to open it though. I also realy like how they put the names of the palattes on there. I definately recommend these!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizznk on 10/14/2009 2:08:00 AM more reviews by mizznk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! I ended up giving this to my mom because she loved it so much. she likes it because there is a color to go with every outfit she has haha. and there really is every color in here! the shades are matte but not chalky, SUPER pigmented and easy to work with. I love the big mirror that it comes with as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chelley32 on 10/13/2009 8:39:00 PM more reviews by chelley32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

my 88 matte eyeshadow palette is really good quality eye color and cheap!!!! really love it, soon to order the other palettes!! the warm palette and the shimmer palette and the blush/ contour palettes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* facebylace on 10/12/2009 11:51:00 AM more reviews by facebylace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had debated buying this palette for so long because there are so many mixed reviews. I have to say after finally buying this palette, I'm extremely impressed! This palette has a wide range of colors that are extremely pigmented which is a great bang for your buck. I have only encountered a few chalky shadows, but even those are great to tone down your brighter shadows. When used with an eyeshadow primer like Too Faced or UDPP, you just can't go wrong. A lot of the brighter colors are definitely comparable to MAC's eyeshadows. I would definitely recommend this palette. I feel that it is a must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hajeansonne on 10/6/2009 10:35:00 PM more reviews by hajeansonne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got the 88 palette in warm. I just love it, theres a great combo of matte satin and shimmer and highlight crease and mid tone colors. shadows are very soft and silky. how can you go wrong with 88 colors for $25? I also have the matte color and ultra shimmer color palettes. I have to say the texture is not consistent between the three. The warm is by far my favorite in terms of quality, although I really love color. The shimmer palette is very soft as well but a bit of fall out. the matte palette is not as soft but almost no fall out. If i were ever to use up most of the palette, id buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tokyomimi21 on 10/4/2009 10:02:00 AM more reviews by tokyomimi21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this eyeshadow palette is really good if you are just starting to get into playing with more colors. but there are sooo many colors you will never use and people are so mesmerized with all the color ranges and never stop to think that they will never use a lot of the colors.... but if you DO use em, good for you.
many colors are nicely pigmented. many of the colors are chalky and dusty. it's definitely not QUALITY shadows.
i'm definitely investing in better eyeshadows that i will actually use more often!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jaerfe on 10/3/2009 8:34:00 PM more reviews by jaerfe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this a couple of months ago after seeing so many good reviews on youtube. Honestly, some of the colors are good. After a couple of months of using this palette, I've come to the realization that I only like the neutral (browns, tans, blacks) side (right) of the palette. Most are pigmented and some are just plain chalky. They're not very vibrant so I wouldn't give this palette a 5. Also, when I received this palette, an eyeshadow pan completely came off and many of my eyeshadows were cracked/broken. I emailed Kathy (the owner of coastal scents) about this and she did something about it right away. I wrote a bad review on coastalscents.com after receiving this palette and they never published it. Don't be fooled by the coastalscents website and read reviews on makeupalley first! Packaging was alright, comes in a matte black case but now i heard the embellished it with their logo? I like the matte black case though. Comes with two sponge applicators which I threw away and a mirror which is handy. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ladybubblepop on 10/2/2009 10:18:00 AM more reviews by ladybubblepop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the price, I liked the packaging quality, but the colors are a bit so-so.
The colors are a bit pail so when I use a primer/base the color gets a bit stronger, but again I was no satisfied with the colors themselves nor the texture.
but still this is a very OK- GOOD palette set to buy if ur not a makeup artist or if ur just playing around with makeup
:D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mayarc87 on 9/28/2009 5:23:00 PM more reviews by mayarc87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm reviewing the 88 warm palette.

The colors are really pretty in the palette but I was disappointed. It's very crumbly. My MAC brush touch the e/s and it became sand, ok not so much but you get the picture.

I'm used with high end e/s like MAC, urban decay and this china palette does not come close. I tried the shimmer purple e/s today and by the end of the day where was it? I didn't have any e/s anymore.

I use paint pots as base and when I use mac it is just like when I applied in the morning.

I did not know that these were made in China and I was devastated, I like to know where my makeup comes from and the actual manufacturer.

To get a good color pay off I had to wet the brush a bit and pack on the color and it wasn't what I expect from MAC.

I'm not a makeup expert I just started and buying mac e/s was becoming expensive and I didn't have that much array of colors to vary.

I don't understand why these palettes are so hyped and even worse compared with MAC. What a joke.

They are not even coastal scents but some generic thing that comes from china.

With the $32.45 I've spend on these ($24.95 palette and $7.50 shipping) I could have bought 3 pro e/s.

The packaging is terrible and will break if you look at it different.

I'll probably end up using it to go to the supermarket or giving it to my daughter to play.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jnfls on 9/23/2009 10:45:00 AM more reviews by jnfls

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The palette I am reviewing is the warm palette. Overall, I find the colors are ok. Some of them are shimmer, some are matte. They are quite pigmented but doesnt last all day. It look kinda ashy when I put it on. It can get confusing because there are so many colors. I personally prefer a trio or quad. To sum up, I will not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Coastal Scents products

More Palettes products