L'Oreal • HIP Jelly Balm [DISCONTINUED] • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(353 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 cdiorlipglossgirl on 6/4/2009 12:06:00 AM more reviews by cdiorlipglossgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have these in Savory and Plush and love the way they make my lips feel. My lips are prone to chapping so I always need a moisturizing balm. I love these because they give you a hint of color while moisturizing your lips. They are a bit pricey for a ds product so get them when they are BOGO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 immevu on 6/3/2009 1:14:00 PM more reviews by immevu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Really it's just the pretty packaging that everyone is buying this... Including me, lol. Really it's nothing spacial. The color is super sheer. For some reason i''v found some pictures of these on the internet (I was the one that uploaded them on here) that makes it look like they show up on the lips but they really don't. They do make your lips look very shinny, but so do much cheaper stuff, and it does make them stay shinny a little longer, but again I've found some Sally Hansen things that does that too... but for $1. And they give you so little product just the bit that the cap covers when you put it back on the jar. The base of the jar is completely productless. Hold it side ways and you can look straight through the base. Yeah it has an Awesomely cute packaging but it's nothing spacial.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jamiesusie on 6/1/2009 1:19:00 AM more reviews by jamiesusie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love these jelly balms. I swapped for the succulent one and I think the berry color is fabulous. Its a bit sticky but conditions my lips and makes them feel nice and smooth. I look forward to getting more of these jellies. ♥

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fleet on 5/31/2009 1:45:00 AM more reviews by Fleet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

These are my favorite lip balms at the moment. I purchased Savory, Ripe and Luscious and I'm pretty pleased with each, and plan on buying more. Savory is my go-to everyday lip product, and I use it on its own or to condition my lips before applying lipstick. They have great color payoff for being a balm. With a little lip primer they stay on a long time. They are not sticky (like my C.O. Bigelow lip conditioners) and have a very subtle caramel flavor, not overwhelming as if I just ate a messy pastry and didn't clean my face. I prefer a balm with no menthol, as it burns chapped lips and makes them feel colder in the winter when lips are driest, so these are perfect. Another plus is the lack of shimmer/glitter. Glitter is my pet peeve. Many people have been comparing these to MAC Tendertones, which I don't own, so I can't say if they're a dupe.


Ripe was the first I bought and I was a bit surprised by the color. I was expecting more of a coral pink, but it's quite red. Oh well. It's still pretty. Luscious is a grape jelly color, and I like it quite a bit. It's definetly darker than the others, but not vampy, just a nice berry tone. Savory is a perfect nude peach. I ditched my MAC Tinted Lip Conditioner in Soothing Beige, and my Rosebud Salve (my recent go-to lip balm) for Savory.


I hope they come out with more colors. I'd grab a light lilac shade or a more browny nude tone in a heartbeat. The packaging is very sturdy, and I like it, although I use my finger to apply it and then have to find a place to clean my hand. Usually I rub my finger on the back of my hand and it disappears. Squeeze tubes are easier to use, but then the consistency would have to be runnier, not so soft and, well, jelly-like. I definitely recommend this product and will be buying more.


Edit: I just purchased Plush, the clean pastel pink shade, and Succulent, the medium berry pink. They're both lovely. I'm usually more of a nude lip person than a pink type, but these are quite nice for a girlier look. I like wearing lipstick, so when I reach for something like a balm I'm usually wanting a more natural, no makeup look, or I'm not wearing any makeup. I apply these lightly and get a nice pink stain. You can use it thicker and get more of a gloss effect and more color payoff as well, but that looks bizarre on me if I don't have the rest of my face made up. The only shade I lack now is the bright red, but I don't need it. So, again, I like these products a lot, and recommend them.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShaYinYin on 5/29/2009 10:49:00 PM more reviews by ShaYinYin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product because it smells delicious and is a dupe for MAC tendertones. I have it in savory and plush and they're amazing. I love the smell of these. The only downside is I wish they had SPF in them like the MAC tendertones does but other than that this jelly balms can go a long way. I use it almost everyday and I'm not even halfway done with one of them. Personally I would spend the extra $2.50 to get the MAC tendertone at the CCO however. Just my personal preference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PolinaPorcupine on 5/29/2009 6:10:00 PM more reviews by PolinaPorcupine

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Fantastic if applied with a lip brush i would compare this to a mac lip conditioner

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkbrush on 5/29/2009 6:08:00 PM more reviews by pinkbrush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think we only have two flavours of this product in Canada for now, Plush and one other one. I got Plush, which is the bubblegum pink. It is pretty expensive for a drugstore lip product. I got it for $8.99 CAD (with a $2 off coupon). I am not a fan of the packaging, having to put your finger in it to scoop it out, but I can live with it.

It smells like cotton candy! It doesn't provide much colour payoff, it feels nice on the lips, not sticky.

I would like to try the other flavours, hopefully it will get cheaper and us poor Canadians will get the other types!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kidando16 on 5/27/2009 5:22:00 PM more reviews by kidando16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love these on top of lipsticks or alone. I like the smell, sort of like a vanilla cupcake! The color payoff is not so much, but i use these like a lip balm, not like a lip gloss.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* genica on 5/26/2009 8:48:00 PM more reviews by genica

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The two colors I have, Delectable and Succulent, have no shimmer and good pigmentation for a lipbalm. Delectable is juicy red and Succulent is mauve/berry. What I like most is that they're very moisturizing; on par with Clinque Superbalms. The main drawback is the consistency - it's fairly sticky so it's nothing I would reapply throughout the day with my finger, I carry a separate lipbrush with me. Other than that minor inconvenience I think these are great. I wish they would come out with more colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Spurklie on 5/23/2009 9:05:00 AM more reviews by Spurklie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in Delectable, made my sister buy it for me when she was in Florida. And it's gorgeous. Slightly sticky consistancy, but not overly so. Lovely candy floss scent. Pretty sheer red colour on the lips. Nice medium between a gloss and a balm. Not very long-lasting, I need to reapply often. I have to stop myself from using it every day because you can't get them in the UK :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lip Gloss products