Aphogee • Two-Step Protein Treatment (formerly Treatment for Damaged Hair) • Treatments

rated 4.5(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Sierro on 4/20/2008 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Sierro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This saved my hair! I had severely damaged hair from going to platinum, so much so that everyone thought I would end up bald. It was literally cotton candy. I did this treatment and rinsed it out, and then did a lot of moisture treatments. The next day my hair was STILL hard so I had to do another round of moisture and oil treatments. But after my hair softened up, the amount of breakage I had was DRAMATICALLY reduced, almost to nothing. I regained hair that looked and felt healthy and shiny.

I didn't use the two step, only the protein treatment. But I'm familiar enough with what my hair needs to know what I have to put in it. The hardness I felt let me know my hair wasn't so fragile any more. With another round of moisture and oil treatments, I'll be back to hair that looks untouched by chemicals.

If you're familiar with what ratio of protein and moisture your hair is lacking, you can combine this with the moisture treatment in the appropriate ratio with the same great results plus your hair won't turn to concrete and you'll have soft hair when you rinse it out.

I would only recommend this for people with severe damage. If you have less damage, go with Nexxus Emergencee. That one is wonderful for frequently abused hair with moderate wear and tear that needs restoration.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* owwlala on 4/10/2008 3:37:00 PM more reviews by owwlala

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Average results disappointed me since everyone else here at MUA seemed to love this stuff. I have dry, coarse, chemically processed hair that only looks good if I straighten, or curl it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missygeiger on 4/3/2008 2:29:00 AM more reviews by missygeiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for two years now and have got the routine down that works best for me. I nearly broke off every hair on my head down to an inch from my scalp three years ago over a summer of using SUN -IN !! It wasn't untill Fall that I realized the whole sneaky , slow attack that crap had on my hair. Shocking. I HAD no hair. My hairdresser drilled me on the use of Sun-IN and how danergerous it was ; but the product label doesn't warn you so beware-
I started using Aphogee Treatment and my hair stopped breaking immediatly. Now it's way past my shoulders and in great condition. I had my hair trimmed last month and my hairdresser commented on it's great condition and improvement so fast. My hair does not break as long as I keep up with treatment. If your hair is breaking daily you need to use this to stop it and keep up with it till ALL the damaged hair is CUT OFF. This is how I do it : Shampoo with a clarifying, towel dry. Apply Aphogee ( I've tried many different ways ) apply enough that your hair is totally saturated untill dripping. Wring out excess ( over a big bowl as to save it for next time. This stuff is expensive ) put towel around shoulders under hair to catch the dripping and keep it of your skin. ( It stings bad ) It will continue to drip even though you swear it's starting to harden. Remove towel while hair is still pliable but dripping has stopped. The directions say use a hair dryer, I do for about 15 minutes - then I find something to do for 4 hours while it sits and hardens. This is key. You must put in the time to see results. I've read some people don't use a dryer at all - you don't have to, just make sure it's totally dry and hard before rinsing. You can also water it down a little - mix it in a separate bottle - put it on and let dry. Now the rinse. Not exactly easy.. keep in mind, this is a salon job your doing yourself at home and one wrong move could snap it all off..hence the warning..like putting it on, I've tried many ways of getting it out without touching my head. There's only one way I have found. Draw a bath, get in and lay back till your head is totally under water. Wait. A while. After about 4 minutes your hair will start to soften. Gently rinse it out till it's all out...get under the shower to continue the rinse for about 5 more minutes. If it is not totally out of your hair it will turn out dry, frizzy and could even break; you won't be able to comb it. When it's all out, apply the second step. The directions say leave in 5 minutes, I leave it in an hour, rinse and apply your regular conditioner ( a moisturizing one, not a protein one) . If you can make it through all this mess and headache you WILL have long hair- but you must do it every 6-8 weeks, and use moisturing hair products in-between. This whole process takes about a day, but if your hair is so damaged you should be wearing a wig, this is the way to do it.
UPDATE:
Use this only 1 or 2 times over the course of your hair length. Routine usage will break your hair off. Eventually.

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tigerlily3040 on 3/24/2008 8:28:00 PM more reviews by tigerlily3040

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

what i want to know is why i haven't heard about this wonderful product in till now! this was such a great treatment for my fine thin hair. i have been trying to grow out my hair but its hard when i have to get an inch cut off each time b/c my hair has so much breakage, so i'm hoping this will really help with that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 2/22/2008 7:38:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

These came in packets. I had one with the added balancer to use after the treatment. The shampoo smelled really good - Grapefruit, but the conditioner stunk to high heaven. The balancer lightly moisturized my hair and left it bouncy and shiny.My hair felt and looked very healthy. It also helped bring out some of my curls. Protein can be very drying if you don't follow it up with something moisturizing. Plus, if you have a problem with proteins in general, than this would not be for you.There was not that much frizz either. If you have damaged or dry hair, I would give this a shot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlingoldboots on 1/24/2008 7:59:00 PM more reviews by girlingoldboots

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have long highlighted hair that is dry and in the process of growing out. I deep condition and yet nothing seems to help my hair look/feel better, so after reading the rave reviews on this I had to try it. I too followed the instructions from Katdan's notepad for this treatment. The whole process took about a half hour for me. Other reviewers did a great job explaining the process and smell so I won't go into more detail about it, however I do want to emphasize that you really need to set aside time and have the energy to sit with a hair dryer on until the treatment dries. I only used this once and although my hair feels stronger, I don't think it's a miracle in a bottle, although it is really hard to tell the difference for me. All in all, I will keep doing deep conditioning treatments and use this and see if I get better results. UPDATE: My hair is basically grown out from when I originally wrote this review. I still do this treatment once every few months or so, for maintenance. I think it is effective, however the SMELL has a tendency to linger the last few times I did the treatment, making it harder for me to set aside time to use this product. The price we pay for beauty!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mpm64 on 1/21/2008 9:48:00 PM more reviews by mpm64

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow...!

I bought a sample size of this at Sally's on a whim. The results were much better than I expected! I think that this has performed better than any conditioner/treatment that I've EVER used.

The sample included the shampoo as well as the conditioner to use afterwards. I did follow the directions and shampooed first, towel-dried, then applied the protein treatment...this stuff does smell bad, like rancid oil...and it's runny and messy...and I don't think that the 1 oz. package had quite enough product for my fine but thick shoulder-length hair. However, I worked it through as best I could, even though it was very sticky and hard to do. Combing it through was almost impossible. I then used my hand dryer for about 10-15 minutes, being careful not to "agitate" my hair as directed as it hardened and dried. Rinsing over the laundry tub was a PITA --next time I'll do it in the shower. I left the follow-up conditioner in only 10 minutes or so, but after I rinsed and blow-dried, my hair was noticeably smoother, more hydrated and healthier looking. Even a week later, the results are still noticeable. I will definitely try this again in a month or so, before my next color job.

EDIT: This is still a 5-lippie, even tho it's a PITA to use...
I've found and use Emergencee more often as a quicker fix, but Aphogee conditions my hair MUCH better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sammerz2388 on 12/28/2007 12:31:00 PM more reviews by sammerz2388

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have longgg long blonde hair that is extremely fine - but I have a *ton* of it, so my hair looks extremely thick. It damages extremely easily; I have breakage in the morning just from sleeping on it.

I followed the directions in Katdan's notepad on using Aphogee and read the other reviews here, and I felt adequately prepared. Application is definitely a little tricky, especially with the hair being so damp - it's hard to tell if you've missed any areas, because they're wet anyway! The smell is bad, but not life-threatening - kind of like rancid cocoa butter. The worst part for me was blow-drying my hair on low for about 25 minutes. I didn't want to agitate my hair, but when you have skinny sticks for arms like me, they get tired easily, hah.

After I rinsed I used a cholesterol/hot-oil treatment for about 25 minutes. The results: my hair FEELS much better, but my straw-like ends don't look much better. I think I'm going to have to cut them off. But I think the rest of my hair looks great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Look_I_Made_Muffins on 11/12/2007 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Look_I_Made_Muffins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the best for immediate improvement in my hair. This is the only treatment ive used that i know for a fact makes my hair stronger. I do hate the smell. I have to pair it with a heavily purfumed conditioner to mask it. I also dislike the packaging. I wish it came in a easy to pour bottle like the ones for hair color. Edit: knocking this down a few since it contains animal proteins that can build up on the hair. Not cool.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmariecrys on 10/23/2007 12:25:00 PM more reviews by mmariecrys

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Icky and god-awful stinky to apply. Do not manipulate hair in any way once applied, or you may suffer tangling and greater breakage. I applied this and sat under the hair drier for around 20 minutes. Rinse gently and thoroughly, then follow up with moisturizing conditioner for at least 10 minutes. The protein treatment irritated my skin (neck, shoulders, chest, and back), skin looked a little crepey and itchy. But this really works. My hair looked visibly stonger, healthier compared to the weepy, dried up birds nest it was before, and it feels great.Softer, and much fuller. I am double processed (relaxer and highlights), so I believe I will be using this product regularly every 6 weeks now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aphogee products

More Treatments products