Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant

4.2

189 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Diatomaceous Earth, Butylene Glycol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Papain, Bromelain, Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Cetearyl Alcohol, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Magnesium Silicate, Lactic Acid, Sulfur, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract, Citrus Medica Limonium (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Flower Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Polysorbate 80, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl PCA, Phenoxyethanol, Linalool, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).


on 4/26/2004 9:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! Let's just say I initially used the sample packet and I just bought the full size from ebay! At first, I was a little skeptical about this product and noticed my face "peeling" during application. Little did I know that it was my dead skin! Upon washing, my skin was glowing. Really! I have somewhat sensitive/acne prone skin and this product lives up to its name. Give it a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/25/2004 8:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a very effective exfoliant! I agree with the other reviewers that the word "gentle" in the name is a little strange because it doesn't feel very gentle when you use it. That does not make the product bad though - it does a great job getting rid of the dead skin. For me the exfoliation happens 24-48 hours after I use this. I will be washing my face, and I can feel the dead skin coming off.


on 4/16/2004 2:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love it! I use this first & then follow up with the mulivitamin Power recovery mask(per dermalogica rep)it is used like a mask, does a great job & really helps clear breakouts too!


on 3/17/2004 9:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown



From this product, I learnt that I should always read the instruction carefully before I start using a new product. *blush* I actually used it as a normal facial scrub when I read the name being 'exfoliant'. I was wondering why wasn't it doing the exfoliation job properly, and thought it was a nice cream cleanser *blush again* Then when I decided to write a review on this product, after reading all other reviews about it, I realised it should be used as a mask!!! I've almost gone through 1/4 of the tube before I noticed I've been using it in the wrong way, what a waste!!

Back to the product, it is quite similar to Clarins Gentle Facial Peeling, apply to face, dried up then rinse off. Is it useful and effective in exfoliation at all? well, I don't think so. Not as effective as any exfoliators that I have used, my skin wasn't brightened at all after the treatment. I might just stick to Clarins' one or use an ordinary facial scrub. I don't find it helping my skin much but drying out my skin a bit. I'd probably continue to use it as a cleansing cream, which I think is a better way to finish up the tube :)


on 1/26/2004 2:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this stuff! It's my facelift in a tube paired with the Multivitamin power mask, I'm set!
If you are sensitive just avoid eye and nasal fold area - but I'm sensitive form years of Retin-A and this doesn't bother me.
It tightens my skin greatly. Those who experience peeling/flaking from any exfoliant, like the girl below - just tells you how much of a thick dermal layer you have that needs to be removed - not a bad thing - just part of the process and it does stop after a few times, when you have nice smooth baby skin!
Note on the comment below about using Baking soda (Paula Begoun what have you done!) It is a salt derived compound i.e Alkaline and it WILL destroy your acid mantle that protects your skin from infection, irritation and other nasty things - Just DON'T use it!
Also manual exfoliation via it's action - breaks down collagen fibres in the skin - aren't we trying to increase our collagen?
O.K done with the rant - try this - it works!
PS> Seen it all - I used to do pre/post op care for cosmetic laser surgery patients at our spa.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2003 11:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this as a sample and I applied it at night after I washed my face. When I woke up my skin was clear, soft and smooth. I loved this product but I didn't think it was worth the cost. I can use manual exfoliators and get a similar result. However I think I am going to give Paula's Choice BHA a try, see if it yields similar results.


on 9/7/2003 10:35:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The lactic acid in this cream works much better than glycolic-acid formulas on the drier parts of my face, but I still would not call this a "gentle" exfoliant (I would not even call this a scrub because you really don't want to work this into your skin any more than you need to - I just apply a thin layer) and you definitely want to wash this off your hands immediately after applying it!


on 8/24/2003 6:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This makes a visible difference in my skin. It glows even the day after using it, is soft and smooth, less prone to acne and retains moisture better. I can really tell when I stop using it.


on 5/29/2003 5:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. It is not gentle though. It tingles- and almost burns. But it works. It seems to get rid of all my flakies and make my skin really smooth. I would suggest to get a sample first.


on 4/27/2003 5:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this through a sample from my local beautician. I found that this irritated my skin when I put it on. Worse that that though the next day my face gelt like it was on fire. If you have sensitive skin I would not recommend this at all. I will stick to Clarins Gentle Facial Peel instead.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
144 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top