Yves Saint Laurent Teint Touche Eclat Foundation

4.0

302 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-10, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Polglycerin-3 Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride,, Phenoxyethanol, Caprytyl Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylgycerin, Fragrance, Aluminum Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Isotridecyl Isononanoate. May contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride.


on 6/6/2013 1:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got a very generous sample after being colour matched at the YSL counter. Like many other reviewers, my T-zone looked very oily within a few hours. This was a real shame, as it looks very nice when first applied: quite natural and healthy-looking. Unfortunately, it made me appear oily (and I don't have oily skin; though I have combination skin, my T-zone does not get very oily) and disappeared well before the end of the day. This was better if I used a primer first (NARS oil-free ProPrime) and used a powder to finish- when both were used in addition to the foundation, it lasted better and I didn't look so shiny. Primer alone or powder alone didn't work. However, using both products in addition to the foundation made it look rather too matte, and I think defeated the purpose of the foundation. I don't have that kind of time on a regular basis, so, unfortunately, I would not bother purchasing this. By comparison, I find the Touche Eclat pen (highlighter/concealer product) a bit dry. I am glad I got such a generous sample, which I will finish, but will mix with another product or reserve for days when I can be bothered to use a primer and powder! Interestingly, I used to think Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation would make me look a bit shiny, but, that actually looks far better on my skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 5/31/2013 6:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is absolutely gorgeous! Being male I tend to get spots and small break outs on the chin from shaving Etc and this covers them beautifully! I have an oily t-zone with the rest of my face normal and it works super well! The finish is gorgeous and glowy and when doubled with the touché éclat it looks astounding! A lot of people have said its only a light coverage for everyday but this is my going out foundation! 2 pumps gives you a good medium coverage and I'd imagine another half pump or a whole one would give you nearly full coverage! Whilst you may say being male I can't comment for female skin well actually I'm afraid I can! My cousin and my friend are both the same skin tone as me all with different skin types; my friend has normal to dry whilst my cousin is all over oily. When we tried it we all used our fingers and got astounding results!! I'm on my 2nd bottle already!! Slight con is it doesn't last superbly well on oily skin but then again it isn't a foundation that is supposed to. I've found using the new garnier 5sec perfect blur as a primer with it looks flawless and perhaps a tiny bit of powder on the super oily areas and that's all you need! One of my favourite foundations and believe me when I tell you, I own a lot!! Would recommend to anyone whatever the skin type or tone as the shade range is astonishing! Shall have to repurchase soon again and the price is quite good I think for how good it is!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2013 6:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

About my skin: Combination with a very oily T-Zone and dry cheeks. In my 30's, so skin is not as luminous as when I was younger. I have hereditary dark underye circles and a few acne discolorations left over from when I was pregnant.


I have light skin with neutral undertones, and finding something that is not too yellow or too pink is nearly impossible. For reference, I've been matched to MAC NC20 and NW20 (neither are perfect), Bobbi Brown Warm Ivory (a tad light) and Sand (a tad dark); NARS Deaville (slightly too light) and Fiji (slightly too golden). You get my drift...


I purchased this foundation in B30 which is a perfect match to my skintone. This foundation feels a little watery and has a decent amount of "slip." It blends right in and gives a beautiful, perfected look that is very natural. The finish is luminous and radiant without any sort of shine or glitter. It just looks like my skin is naturally dewy.


I typically use La Mer's Oil Absorbing Lotion and The Reparative Sun Lotion SPF 30 (two other favorites!) underneath, and have had no problem with the foundation slipping off or balling up.


I typically use 1.5-2 pumps, applied with clean fingers, and that gives the light-medium coverage YSL advertises. I have also used this with the BeautyBlender, and 2 pumps makes my skin look amazing. I usually use the Touch clat in 3.5 on my undereyes, and if I have a spot or any other discoloration that isn't covered, I follow with the La Mer concealer SPF25. I finish by setting with NARS loose powder in Eden. This combo yields a full workday of wear. I do blot once after lunch, but that's it.


The pump is sanitary, and though the glass bottle is heavy, it is attractive and functional as well.


Some other foundations that I like are Chanel Vitalimiere Aqua (the color match and luminosity do not compare to YSL however); Armani Luminous Silk (again, the color match issue); Cle de Peau Refining Fluid (again, YSL yields a better color match, and is also cheaper!), and La Mer fluid foundation (YSL gives lighter, "breathier" coverage.)


Love this foundation, and will definitely repurchase when I finish it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2013 3:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this foundation. I have oily/combination skin, so I have to be careful when I buy foundation because something that's dewy will emphasis my oily T zone, but something that's matte will emphasis my dry patches.
This foundation is very moisturising - it gives a lovely natural glow at first, but I find after a few hours wear it just looks oily and shiny on my T zone, even when I use a primer and powder. This is such a shame because I cannot fault anything else! It blends beautifully onto the skin, it smells divine, and the packaging is to die for. The price is very good as well for a high end foundation, and the colour range is fantastic; it's catergorised into cool tones, warm tones, and neutrals, and with 22 shades to pick from you'll most likely find your shade. My shade is BR10 as I'm very pale and have a pink undertone.

I would recommend this for girls with drier skin as it really does make you look really healthy and glowing. I might give this another try in winter when my skin isn't so oily, so maybe it's just the time of year.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this foundation, before buying this foundation I was using Estee Lauder double wear which is quite heavy and doesn’t really suit hot weather. Since I have very light skin I have trouble finding foundation in my shade however this foundation is a PERFECT match to my skin. The foundation is comfortable to wear and blends in very nicely, I was worried the foundation would go melty in the sun but I was outside for about 4 hours the other day (keeping in mind its about 99F) and the foundation was still PERFECT when I got home. The foundation is quite light so I wouldn’t recommend this to acne prone skin but if your looking for a photogenic foundation that makes your skin look photoshopped this is what you’re looking for!


on 5/29/2013 7:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very dry skin usually, around my nose and forehead so find it difficult to find a foundation.

I said to the assistant that I was looking for a foundation for my wedding (good for photos, long lasting, not breakout etc etc) and she suggested this. I believe she only suggested this because its the newest product to promote though...

Came off within 2 hours, could see my redness and slight acne scarring coming through. Awful staying power, even with a primer and/or powder.

I usually never suffer from oily skin but I could feel my skin just glowing (in a bad way) with the oil producing after about 20 minutes. May suit VERY dry skin but produced a dewy look that could reflect the sun!

Also haven't had spots for about 6 years and I've totally broken out! Definitely down to this foundation and oil producing elements of it.

Would definitely not recommend to anyone with oily skin of any kind!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2013 12:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have been using a sample of this that the SA at Sephora gave me. I am fairly tenured when it comes to color matching. I have very fair skin with nuetral pink undertones. Even though I have pink undertones I prefer pink tone foundation. The girl matched me in B20 and sent me on my way. I have to say though, while this looked kind of scary dark for me, it applied wonderfully. I suggest getting color matched at the counter for this one. If I had chosen B10 I would have looked ghostly. (I'm nc15)

I have dry skin, it's sometimes terribly dry but with the season getting warmer it's controllable and I can wear anything. (Matte, satin, oil free, dewy etc). So as I expected it applied amazing. It's kind of like a bottle of photoshop. Some people complain of the coverage. It's great coverage if you have clear skin. I don't get many pimples or anything. If you have problem skin, eh it might work, but alternatively problem skin is usually sensitive and oil based foundations don't fare well.

I must say though, like a lot of you, this gets oily. After a couple hours without powder you could fry an egg on my face. With powder, I get about 4. Because of this it rubs off easy, doesn't really stay where it's supposed to and you can scratch it off. (Sounds gross I know). My problem is, I don't have oily skin, so this scares me. It's absolutely gorgeous, if you can get it to last. I applied it with a flat top kabuki. Very sparingly at first and then built it up. I didn't need concealer. Powder only the t zone. (Which I hardly do anymore) maybe I'm not doing it right, I'll keep working with it I guess! In the plus, it didn't irritate my skin or cause bumps or pimples. The only foundation that's happened from was Este Lauder Invisible! (YUCK)

Also, in my opinion this is very similar to Loreal true match Lumi on my skin. It looks much nicer at first and applies smoother, but at mid day same exact effect! Personally, at this point I would not pay $62CAD for this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2013 2:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with what most people are saying about this foundation, I have been using it now for about 2 weeks and have been loving it. I didn't get a sample at first because i heard such great things about it i felt i didn't need to get one so i bought it straight away i got it for £29 (its original price) even though it breaks into the bank a little its worth the extra money, Its a great foundation its light coverage so if you have acne prone skin maybe its not for you as you're not going to get a lot of coverage out of this foundation but i think it leaves a beautiful finish on the skin i instantly noticed the healthy radiant glow it gives and how light it feels when wearing it. I would say this might not be the right foundation for a oily skin type it may just be pushing it a little it is quite oil based itself i found which is why it gives such a beautiful healthy glow so with a oily skin type it might just slip off your face i have oily to combination skin and i find throughout the day it starts getting very shiny in my T Zone but a good setting powder or setting spray will sort that out straight away i find MAC Prep&Prime works wonders with this foundation. I honestly haven't got a bad word to say about it the packaging is great you get a lot of product so you do get your money worth and its super light weight on the skin i highly recommend this foundation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2013 6:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First I got a sample for this foundation because of it's steep price, the sample is very generous and could last a good 7 to 10 days. I have to admit I didn't like it at first, it was a lot more matte than expected, my skin was in a bad place with some dry patches. As my skin got a little better and it went on sale, I purchased it (24 GB pounds). I know love it! I apply with a brush and a little goes along way. I echo what previous reviewers said, your skin but better, way better! Pretty perfect. The make up blends in beautifully. I now have the lightest shade and despite being a little tanned it just blends in and is quite forgiving. It makes my skin look illuminated but not by the use of glitters but some magic thing. The formula is very light on my skin, not at all like wearing make up. It has a nice smell that goes away quickly. The instructions that come with it tell you to use a pump, but I find you need much less. You can layer it quite well if you want to go for round 2.

I have used it for about a week now and have not broken out or gotten clogged pores. Seems like I'll keep repurchasing should I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2013 9:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation looks absolutely beautiful on. That is, until after an hour or so and then your t-zone is crazy shine. Being on the dry skin side, I don't usually have a huge t-zone oil issue, but this definitely made me shiny. I also felt like I was wearing a mask - regardless of the application technique. Beauty blender sponge, brush, fingers -- I still felt like I was wearing a mask. Not a huge fan.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundations, Powders, and Tinted Moisturizers: MAC, YSL, Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercier, ETC by Crystal DivaLevy

Foundation Review: Laura Mercier, Dior, YSL by Cathies Ensemble

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation Review by Rocy Roque

Back to Top