Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer


228 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$


Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, VP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Cetyl Alcohol, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Microcrystalline Wax/Microcristallina Cera/Cire Microcristalline, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499).

on 12/17/2012 6:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. It gives me really nice coverage and matches my winter skintone perfectly. I consider this to be a medium to full coverage. I have pretty dry skin and especially during the winter time, I need a hydrating concealer that doesn't travel down my face and this is the one. I use my Urban Decay setting spray after concealing and it lasts very long! I wish they had a little bit more product inside the packaging for the price that it is, but overall, a great concealer.

on 12/14/2012 11:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Great formula and coverage. THE ONLY under-eye concealer that sets much less into the lines and actually smooths it out.

Poor color selection. Probably have to buy 2 different colors to mix it and get the right tone.

on 12/10/2012 9:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had dark undereye circles since I was 17 and have a hard time finding something that will properly cover them. I like the coverage of creamy concealers but they fade too fast, get in my eye creases, and look fake or cakey. This concealer looks a lot like Amazing cosmetics concealer (high coverage, glowy skin-like finish), but has way better staying power. I pair it with a luminizing foundation (Shu Uemura face architect) and it makes my skin look fantastic and healthy.

The best way to apply this is to pat it lightly on your undereye area. Smearing it on or using a brush doesn't work well because of the consistency, and the coverage would not be as good.

This is good for someone who likes heavy concealers (EL doublewear, for example) but wants them to look skin-like. Here's why I give it five stars:

Tarte concealer (high coverage, natural, long lasting) >
EL Doublewear (high coverage, long lasting, a little cakey), Cinema Secrets (med coverage, natural and don't need to use much) >
Amazing concealer, Bobbi Brown corrector (need to be paired with something else to cover everything and last all day) >
other concealers

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 11/29/2012 11:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

TIP: for those with very dark circles, the lady at Sephora applied some orange lipstick on her hand (must be a true orange color), dabbed some of this on, mixed the 2 together and used it on my friend's dark under eye circles. I couldn't believe how well that covered everything up! You can try it with another concealer too.

Now more about this:

Until recently, I've been using bare minerals so my concealer was always in powder form. I recently switched to liquid foundation and went on a search for the perfect concealer. I tried a few at Sephora on multiple occasions, and this is the one I liked the best.

I don't have extremely dark under eye circles... but they're definitely there, along with a few very fine lines. I start out with eye cream, let it absorb, then I apply some cover girl and olay corrector, and finish off with a TINY amount of this! For those who say it creases... you are using too much.

It's sticky but very highly pigmented. I squeeze out a tiny bit on the tip of my middle finger, dab it on my other middle finger a few times and then I dab it on under my eyes. Notice I said DAB... do not drag this across, it will not budge. Start in the very inner corner of each eye (most important part), and work your way out and down. Lastly, I set everything with a tiny bit of MUFE HD powder.

It's a bit shiny looking at first, but I personally like that. I feel like it highlights and brightens the area and keeps it moisturized throughout the day. Try it! Just don't forget to dab it on rather than trying to smear it, and remember a little goes a long way!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 11/17/2012 12:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the best concealer I have owned. It's kinda thick but other than that its amazing. It conceals underneath the eyes perfect. And if you have a zit it covers that we'll to. It's a little pricy

on 11/6/2012 12:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like Tarte and it's products for so many of the natural ingredients it uses.

Was very excited to finally see the Maracuja line in Canada. Personally, I quite liked the sample of the Amazonian Clay concealer, but waited until this came out, and bought it in "light".

After a few uses, I end up mixing this with another concealer I recently bought (I'm a bit of a product whore...and who on this forum isn't??!!), Armani's Maestro concealer in "3", to achieve my perfect blend.

Like many in the same age range of 30 - 35, I see that concealer often sits in our fine lines, and this, sadly, is not an exception...not for me, at least. But I would say it's better than most I've tried, so I will say it still does do it's job.

A little does go a long way, so dont' use too much or it will look cakey.
Now having used it for about 3 months, I'm increasing it a lippie to 4 lippies.

MY SECRET with this concealer to PREVENT CREASING? I don't use powder on top of my undereyes. I brush mineral powder everywhere else, BUT my undereyes, and surprisingly, I don't see as much creasing at the end of the day. The colour and coverage stays for most of the day. Perhaps the mineral powder doesn't absorb my oils and dry it up? I'm not sure. But it works. Hope it works for you, too.

Also, now that they have more colours, I can mix it for the perfect shade, and customize for the different seasons.

I've come back and now given it a full 5. They now have more colours, and I find that it is very long-lasting. I can cry (from allergies, or course, and not full-blown sobbing), and it stays put. It seems to keep my undereyes well-moisturized as by the end of the day, my foundation has faded much more, and my concealer seems to still be there. HG Concealer :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 11/2/2012 12:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Makeup disaster. Stiff, pasty, doesn't cover completely, hard to spread, impossible to get off, stays sticky (don't even think of trying to powder it). Long story short: Why is a $25 concealer coming off of my face in little rolls?! Ugh!

(The 2 is because it comes in a great skin-like color, which is oddly rare for a concealer.)

Why do makeup companies hate me?

on 10/26/2012 4:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

The concealer itself is iffy, it creased and looked shiny, even if I powdered it. What's worse- the packaging is awful. The tube is the exact same size as a HC glamouflage tube but instead of getting .71 oz like with the glamouflage, you get .28 oz.
You can't even see how much is in the tube and you may get a tube that has almost nothing in it. I purchased this at ULTA about a week ago and after using it probably 6 times it is empty. WTH? I can't say it happens very often, but I have read of other cases of this happening on Amazon. Not happy and I feel ripped off by this product.

on 10/23/2012 7:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is amazing concealer only a little bit is needed to cover. Its amazing for dry under eyes.
However the packaging is just terrible! Its full of mostly air which makes the product hard to squeeze out. I know only a little bit is required but feeling like your going to pop your tube while squeezing it out is annoying.
Another the point end where you screw on the lid broke! Now i have to squeeze most of concealer in a jar so it doesn't dry out. Ive only used the concealer a few times. For an expensive product, I expect better packaging
Amazing product. But definitely wont buy again due to the packaging

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 10/23/2012 10:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have waffled on trying this stuff out, and now I am glad didn't end up buying it, opting instead for a little sample jar of it after playing with it in the Ulta store. I got the sample in the LIGHT, which is fairly pinkish in the jar and on my hand, but when I put it under my eyes looks way less pink, and really I could've probably use fair or light easily, but for the whole shade range it is not a big range at all. Just 5 shades, and I suppose it would be easy to get a decent working shade with, though darker skinned women are going to really have a hard time tonally.

I am on the fence with this one texturally. The texture was similar to IT cosmetics, sticky, kind of and oily goo. When I touched it, I wasn't sure if I was getting the oil or the pigment. When I squirted it out on my hand at the store, I warmed on my hand and felt like I lost a lot of product, but a little went a long way or would for most. For me I felt like I'd need a lot to get what I needed coverage wise. It's a hard one to layer, in part due to its greasy, warpaint-like texture. It doesn't like to stick to itself. It didn't want to stay on my skin much either. I did one eye with my fingers and a damp beauty blender, and the other with a brush and fingers, and got better coverage and results with the finger/sponge method. The brush seemed to pull the product back off the skin.

It was absolutely NOT full coverage, esp not in one coat. My circles were still plainly visible with it on and side by side with the naked eye next to it didn't look like I had anything on... It also doesn't really dry down, and is hard to get it to set well.

It creased pretty badly through the day, and within about 4 hours was essentially gone from my face. But I did try to get as much powder and setting going on as possible to try to prevent that.

It comes in a tube, which normally I would love, but I have to really give this a huge, nasty negative here because these tubes (I actually opened packages here because I had read many negative reviews on this) feel like they're totally filled with air, and have almost no product in them. And if I am spending $24 or so on a tube, it better not be empty when I buy it. I felt like that's part of why it's a dark purple tube, so they could conceal the fact that it's practically empty from the start.

As to the waterproof claims: on my hand, it was. My eyes watered horribly after a sneezing fit this morning and even dabbing them it came right off, so not on the face.

Bottom line:
-Not totally sure about coverage, mostly because it's not easily layerable, one coat was not ideal for me. Probably doable on a "good undereye day" when I have time to deal with it, like on a weekend.
-Texture is not ideal, wouldn't dry down, probably great for super dry skin, esp on eyes, but not for mine
-creases easily til set with lots of powder (I used mineral veil)
-not all-day wear, not waterproof

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer - detailed user review (4.5 /5) product rating!!! by BeautyAndBrainsLA

Back to Top