Cover Girl • Lash Perfection Volumizing Mascara [DISCONTINUED] • Mascara

rated 4.2(178 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 Sharon51 on 6/29/2011 3:31:00 PM more reviews by Sharon51

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best mascara that I have tried. It doesn't flake nor smear like the other ones I have tried-even the high end ones. I have this in non-waterproof as I don't like to have a cleanser so close to my eyes to wash off the mascara. This does add some volume to my lashes, which is what I need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginar419 on 6/24/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by ginar419

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have been searching forever for a mascara to replace my HG, Max Factor Lash Perfection. I may have found it!! The brush seems very similar as does the application. I have thin, short lashes and this gave me long, full lashes without looking like spiderwebs. I'll update later about how it hold up, but right now I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 6/24/2011 10:27:00 AM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product for two reasons: Drew Barrymore looked absolutely gorgeous in the ad and I wondered if this product was a dupe for MF Volume Couture. Alas, it is not but it is a good mascara for lengthening and definition. This product doesn't excel at volumizing lashes. But it did manage to impressively lift, separate, lengthen, and define my lashes. I liked that the rubber bristle brush wasn't too flexible (like Maybelline's Define A Lash). The wand allowed me to really grip and lift my lashes. It's smaller than the Lash Blast brush so application is much more precise and clean. I like this mascara. It's probably my favorite CG Mascara and it's comparable to my other favorites: Maybelline One by One and Tarte LCLs. All excell at lengthening and definition. Still hunting for a good volumizing mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 6/22/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Some people may or may not remember this, but Max Factor Lash Perfection is no longer sold in the USA. Both M.F. and Cover Girl are sister brands owned by the same company- which is Proctor & Gamble. When Lash Blast came out from CG, Max Factor came out with False Lash Effect. Fingers crossed that this is the same thing as the M.F. Lash Perfection that we lost! The tube for the CG version looks cheap. It's kind of a flashback to the 80's or early 90's. Maybe they were assuming we wouldn't catch on to it. I don't care if the tube is the ugliest thing I've ever seen as long as it's fantastic. Look for a gray plastic tube with silver lettering. I'll upload the first pic. In the ad display they have mentioned that Drew is wearing "lash inserts", which are probably individual lashes. The shade Very Black is one of the blackest mascara's that I have ever seen. It could be a gel formulation making the pigment so vibrant black. This gives long lashes with good volume, and the black pigment is outstanding. I have a lot of mascara's... and this is probably the most black of the drugstore options. It's worth the $6. Someone below said it was like Volume Couture, and it is a separate mascara from the Lash Perfection mascara. Volume Couture had a yellow rubber wand and the original Lash Perfection version was just a black wand like this one. Someone updated their review and claimed this information.



CG Lash Perfection ingredients list-

Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Copernicia Cerifera Wax, Triethanolamine, Synthetic Wax, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Oleic Acid, Polyethylene, Alcohol Denatured, Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), Tocopherol, Glycerin, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Xanthan Gum, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Methylcellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Glyceryl Oleate, Simethicone, Trisodium EDTA, Propylparaben, Iron
Oxides

Max Factor Lash Perfection ingredients list-
Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Triethanolamine, Acrylates Copolymer, Synthetic Wax, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Glycerin, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Propylparaben, Trisodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Simethicone, Iron Oxides.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 6/20/2011 10:49:00 AM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in the Very Black color. I have pretty light lashes, and have that weirdo second-row toward the outer edges of my lashes. This mascara is nice and dark, but not super black - inky black. The brush reminds me a bit of the Max Factor Volume Couture that I loved and used for years until MF pulled out of the US. However, the formula definitely isn't the same. This does a good job of separating lashes and just being a decent mascara. However, in terms of volumizing and holding curl - not so much. I think I have heavy lashes due to that weird second row, so I may have different outcomes as opposed to most people when it comes to volumizing and curling. This is a good general mascara, but nothing special. I'm still on the hunt for my HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sserena on 6/19/2011 1:44:00 AM more reviews by sserena

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have average lashes, but when I put on CG Lash Perfection, I look like I have super long and full supermodel lashes. I was given a tube of CG LP to test for a week. At the end of the week, I had to fill out a survey and return the tube. I did not want to return the tube. I currently use Estee Lauder Double wear or L'Oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black. In the past, I was a multi decade user of Lancome Definicils. These three work very well but the CG LP is a big step up from all of them. The biggest difference is that the brush coats the entire lash, both sides, with one coat. With my current mascaras, I always have to do more than one coat just to get both sides of my lashes covered.
CG LP does not clump at all with one coat. It clumps a little with 2 coats and a bit more with 3. With 2-3 coats, I looked like I had false lashes on.
It stayed on all day in the hot Arizona weather with no smudging. It came off fairly easily with non oily eye make-up remover.
I have been looking for it in my stores to buy it. I highly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* binkari on 6/8/2011 2:47:00 PM more reviews by binkari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Things I look for in a mascara:


1) Good application - Little to no clumps, don't need to pass the brush over my lashes a million times to get an effect.
2) Good color - The blacker the better!
3) Longevity - Lasts all day without flaking or smudging
4) Easy to remove - Because I hate scrubbing at my eyes all day and still winding up with raccoon eyes


Covergirl has done it again and LP wins on all four counts! I used to always use LashBlast Fusion (which I still love, but not as much as LP), but now I've made the switch! I love the case and the brush, which are both far slimmer and more elegant-looking than LB's packaging. The brush still has rubber bristles, but its slimmer form and pointed tip lets me get to the outer lashes a lot easier.


Formula-wise, I'd say this is definitely volumizing, but it still does add a noticeable amount of length in a a coat or two. The formula feels "wetter" than either LB Volume or Fusion, and the Very Black version has this delicious inkiness to it that I didn't find with LB (which I always thought dried kind of grayish). It dries light and soft to the touch, and I haven't had any flaking problems with it so far.


My final thumbs-up goes to how easy it is to remove: you can wash it off with plain old water and it'll slip off your lashes in a pinch without leaving a gross, lingering, black stain along your under eye area. I still wash it off with a facial cleanser and make-up remover, but I love how I don't need to nurse my eyes trying to lift the smudges out.


AND it's $2 less than LashBlast? Consider me a convert! I think Covergirl makes excellent mascaras and would highly recommend this to all my friends looking for an affordable alternative that can still compete with the best of the best.


EDIT: 2/17/2012
I'm on my third tube of this stuff and still in love! If you use it daily, I recommend replacing the tube once every 3-4 months because it doesn't perform nearly as well when it starts drying out.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 6/6/2011 8:32:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: Ok, even my cosmetician went crazy over my lashes when she was doing my brows. She warned me those long lashes of mine might get stuck in the brow wax and asked me what I changed cuz they were bangin'! (she's my regular girl and a fellow MU junkie). I think this may have just replaced LashBlast (orange) as my HG. And the wand is so much easier to deal with than the LB brush. This also gives more instant gratification. In just a couple swoops you get a bit more length/oomph than you'll get from 2 swipes of LB. That said, I almost prefer the look I get better with LB (when i am patient with it). I find with the Lash Perfection, if I work at it too much (like I need to with LB), it gets sloppy.

As for how it compares to Volume Exact (I did a side by side comparison on each eye), Volume Exact gives a stronger heavier lash where as LE gives a more fluttery/ lighter lash - length is about equal between the two. If you like fluttery dark lashes, Lash Perfection is for you-great day mascara. If you like more drama, I would stick with Volume Exact or Lash Blast Volume.

ORIGINAL POST: This is a new mascara (as of 6/6/11) in a slate grey tube with white stripes. The brush looks a lot like the CG Volume Exact brush, but black instead of red & more spikes on the brush. I think the Lash Perfection brush (or formula) delivers a more softer lash look and less spikey than the Exact line of CG Mascaras. I am a fan of CG mascaras & MF mascaras. And like all those mascaras, this is a drier formula than your Maybelline or L'Oreal mascaras.

Lash Perfection Volume gives a gorgeous dark, dark lash line (using very black). My eyes look big, bright and my lashes look amazing. Since the brush is smaller than LashBlast, this works much better on the outer edges of the eyes than LB. That said, I have gotten similar effects with CG Lash Blast (but this brush is much easier to control and creates more feathery looking lashes) and Volume Exact. Actually...this is kind of a happy medium between those two mascaras. Lash Perfection Volume...reminds me very much of the perfect lashes I got from (the no longer sold in U.S.) Max Factor Volume Couture (that was the same brush used in the CG Volume Exact w/ red brush, the waterproof version used a black brush-see MUA reviews). And an interesting FYI - MF is owed by P&G who own CG. The U.S. MF line of mascaras was called "Lash Perfection" & "Lash Perfection Volume Couture". I can't say anything for sure. But if you loved MF mascaras...you may want to check this out.

FYI-This is not wp and it was 106 here today, . It didn't budge even though I sat out on a soccer field watching the kids play! This could be HG. And it is about $2 cheaper than Lash Blast!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products