BeneFit Cosmetics • Bella Bamba • Blush

rated 4.0(184 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 TrippyPixie on 1/26/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by TrippyPixie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I find this to be okay. This is coming from the girl who didn't really like NARS Orgasm blush, and pretty much hates any shimmery blush in general. Because I'm very cool-toned, I felt that Orgasm was way too warm for me since it had a lot of gold shimmer, and ended up turning my cheeks a weird orangey-rust sort of color. I usually use Benefit's Thrrrob as my regular blush, which is a light pink and not very shimmery, as well as the fact that I prefer pink blushes on me. However, I saw this and couldn't resist.


I knew full well ahead of time that this would be chock-full of shimmer. I looked at a bunch of reviews and photos, but still decided to get it anyways. It's quite a nice color; very vibrant. It has shimmer to it like NARS Orgasm does, and not glitter like NARS Angelika does (though Angelika's glitter does shed).


When wearing this, I have to blend it out quite a bit, though, since in the daytime, the shimmer can go into overdose-zone. This much cooler than Orgasm, which I think has to do with the fact that Orgasm is a peach (which tends to be warmer) blush with gold shimmer, while this blush is a watermelon (which tends to be cooler) blush with gold shimmer. However, if I apply too much of this, the gold shimmer takes over, making my cheeks look muddy.


This is quite the statement blush (on my skin tone, at least), so don't let your eyes or lips compete too much with it. What makes me happy is that this doesn't make my cheeks look as warm/weird as Orgasm does. That's hard to do, since most golds tend to make my cool-toned skin look muddy or sickly.


When wearing this, I have to be careful, though, since I have medium-sized pores on my cheeks, as well as red acne scars. They get accentuated a bit by the shimmer. I think that older women should stay away from this blush. The shimmer would make them look childish and ridiculous, as well as draw attention to their signs of aging. Since I'm in my teens, though, I believe that I can get away with the shimmer in this blush more easily.


This doesn't do any sort of 3D/sculpting business, but I'm fine without it. I expected that claim to be a bunch of malarkey anyways.



While I see darker skin tones receiving some decent color-payoff from this blush, however, I see fair and fair-medium skin tones having the best payoff from it. This is way more pigmented than most of their other boxed blushes, though (like Dandelion, Georgia Peach, and Thrrrob).


I knew that the package was going to be smaller, but I'm surprised by how much. At least knock down the price by $4 or $5! (In U.S. dollars, that is, which is my currency.) The magnetic lid I'm not that crazy about, since I'm so used to the pull-off type from my Thrrrob box. However, this would be decent for travel. The mirror's okay, but I've never found myself using it. The blush does smell a bit fruity, but the scent isn't really potent. Unless you put your nose right on top of the blush and sniff it, you can't smell it. On the cheeks, I would imagine that the scent fades quite quickly.



The brush is very nice and soft, and hasn't shed yet. Nowhere near as scratchy as my Thrrrob brush. It also picks up color well. (A bit too well, so blow it off a bit before applying, otherwise your cheeks will be shimmer-city.) However, I dislike that the brush is pure white in color, because the blush ends up staining it easily.



If you're a fan of NARS Orgasm, I would recommend trying before buying, because I think Benefit's Coralista would suit you better. If you found Orgasm to be too warm (or if you like really shimmery blushes), then this might just work for you.



I don't love this. It's a stage of "like" at this point, because I don't like shimmer in my blushes (though I knew beforehand that this would have shimmer in it), and it can be too dramatic for daytime, so I don't see myself ever hitting pan on this (like I have with Thrrrob, which is much more sheer and less shimmery). It's not a "love-hate" relationship, or even a "hate" relationship. It's just a "meh" relationship.


Before, I wrote that I might buy this again if I had a coupon. However, this seems very unlikely, seeing as how I don't reach for this blush that often. I don't completely regret my purchase of this, but I wouldn't buy it again. It's a nice product, don't get me wrong, but it's just not for me.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kavitacaviezel on 1/19/2011 9:24:00 PM more reviews by Kavitacaviezel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous Watermelon shade. I would only use a skunk/dual fiber brush. MAC 131 would be perfect. It gives a mirror-like finish to my skin. The same finish as MAC's Veluxe Pearl line, but in a blush. I feel the mirror-like shimmer is too much for my over 40 skin. I pass on this, however, the color is really beautiful. Use a light hand to avoid adding too much shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 westcoastgrl04 on 1/14/2011 11:37:00 AM more reviews by westcoastgrl04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I kept getting numerous emails about this new blush and read all the good reviews so i had to try it. once i sampled it at sephora i was sold! i absolutely love the perfect pink rosy tint it leaves on my cheeks. it makes my face look fresh and not overdone. i love how it can be used on any skin tone considering i already have a slight pinkish tint to my cheeks as it is but this blush takes it to a whole 'nother level. it might be a tad smaller than benefits others blushes but its not a big deal considering their blushes last forever. i have found my soulmate in blush!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miamisparkle on 1/14/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by miamisparkle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very pretty blush and lucky for me I got it as a gift. The packaging is kinda annoying because the handle of the brush included inside left a dent not a big deal but wasted product irks me. I wouldn't buy this for myself if I ran out because you dont get much product at all! Its gorgeous though and I will enjoy it till its gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whoiskelley on 1/11/2011 1:06:00 PM more reviews by whoiskelley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been a huge fan of Benefit products for years now, and Bella Bamba is another great product to add to my collection.
The good news? I truly haven't found a color like this before. Just like their boxed powders of the past, Benefit has managed to come up wtih a color that's flattering to all skin tones and yet is completely unique. It's extremely pigmented - a little bit will go a long way, and I do think that this will make up for the fact that it weighs in as the Box 'O' Powder with the least amount of product (Bella Bamba is 0.28oz, the powders vary but go up to 0.42oz, I believe - not terribly significant but when they're all equally priced at $28USD...). I get the 3D thing that it's trying to promote... lightly dusting a bit right at the hairline really does warm up and contour the face, but keep in mind that any blush, bronzer, etc. will do the exact same thing. The glitter thing that everyone is complaining about is strange to me, because I really would consider it shimmery, not glittery. The comparison to Nars Orgasm is definitely valid - keep in mind that Orgasm has won every award out there for blush... if you're turning into a glittery fairy with Bella Bamba, there's probably user error going on.
Now for the qualms I have with it. Number one, the packaging. I don't care about the product amount difference, but one of the things that I thought was so genius about the boxed powders in the first place was the packaging that Benefit placed them in. Strong, sturdy boxes - no plastic to break - that also allows you to tap off excess in the cap and save it for next time. I have every boxed powder that Benefit has come out with for this very reason. The new hinged and mirrored packaging simply annoys me. There's nowhere to remove the excess product easily - an important thing considering the pigment of Bella Bamba - and it's a bit difficult to open the blush when it's new, then a bit difficult to close the blush when you've had it for a while. It's like the hinge shifts or something. I know that Benefit is changing all of its boxed powders into this packaging, but I feel that it's a mistake! If it weren't for the packaging, I would give this product a 5 - it's worth a try for just about anyone.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sweeterindawn on 1/9/2011 2:04:00 PM more reviews by sweeterindawn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I think it's okay. I'm very pale and the fine glitter in this really sits on top of my face and makes me look like I blasted my face with glitter. I like the color but the glitter factor on me is too much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* audmac on 1/8/2011 5:47:00 PM more reviews by audmac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Im very happy with this blush- love the pink flush like a watermelon color as described. I dont notice any sort of 3D effect and I dont notice the glitter on me at all and I really pay attention to stuff like that so maybe its coming off with the brush I use- MAC 187. I would not wear it if it made my face look glittery! I love the new packaging, not too happy that the size is smaller but i can deal with it cuz its a pretty color. I love coralista even though it is sheer and I apply it with a different brush. This is not as sheer, better color payoff so Im ok using the 187 since I tend to have a heavy hand and dont want to look like a clown with too much blush on. So for me this is a keeper and Id probably repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Brachanam on 1/7/2011 5:41:00 PM more reviews by Brachanam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to love this, I really did. However, for me it was just too glittery. Perhaps if you are under 30 years old, it's "shimmer", but over 40 and it looks ridiculous, even though I have great skin. For night time, it may be nice, but in the sunlight? NO WAY. Gold sparkles everywhere. Not worth it if I'm just going to use it when going out in the evening. I'll either take it back or give it to my teenage daughter. Gorgeous on young women, but a bit much for anyone over 40. I use the NARS Orgasm Face Illuminator and that is much less sparkly. That just adds a beautiful, dewy highlight and sheen. I'll stick to that.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IvanaHaute on 1/4/2011 8:06:00 PM more reviews by IvanaHaute

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really love this color on my skin. I was hesitant at first bc when swatched on my hand, I saw some serious glittery chunks. But when I apply it to my face there is no noticeable glitter, just a beautiful color that lights up my face! The downside is the price, especially since you're getting less product than with previous powders. The price sucks but the color is gorgeous, so I think I would repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarah1nicole on 1/1/2011 12:29:00 PM more reviews by sarah1nicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, big thumbs up to Benefit for changing the packaging on their powder boxes. Sure the old packing is so darn cute, but so annoying, especially for someone like me who's always on the run. I took off a lippie because there's wayyy less product in here than the other boxed powders I have from Benefit, and it was still the same price!

As far as the actual product goes, I LOVE IT. Bella Bamba is a unique watermelon shade accented with a sparkly finish. I don't usually wear blushes because I feel like it accentuates my extremely sensitive skin which can get red / pink very easily. So the few blushes I do own are very unique, and I'm glad I was able to add Bella Bamba to my collection. I have light olive toned skin, which gets extremely dark in the summer. Being winter right now, I feel that it gives me a nice fresh glow almost like I was just out in the cold for a bit. The glimmery effect it gives off definitely works with my skin as well. I would think anyone who is in an older age bracket might not like this as it would probably accentuate their wrinkles, but I think it gives me a youthful glow. The sparkles just look like your skin is luminous from far away, and close up it is glittery, but there is some fall out so not to worry.

All in all I think Benefit hit another one out of the park with Bella Bamba. Their best products are definitely the box o'powders and this product is no different.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Blush products