Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(357 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 abs0lutelyfab on 10/15/2008 1:46:00 AM more reviews by abs0lutelyfab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is soooo horrible. Not only is the brush poorly designed, but the mascara formula is watery and gives clumpy, spider-leg lashes. Sure, it will lengthen, but who wants that at the cost of tacky, stuck together lashes that resemble a bout of pink eye?

The worst aspect is that this product pulls your lashes out. I had to use several passes and cotton pads soaked of Neutrogena's Oil Free Makeup remover, which is fantastic btw, to make a dent in getting this stuff off. And even after I thought I had gotten it all off, it STILL was there, ready to give me raccoon eyes in the morning.

If I could give this product a zero, I would. It smells noxious; it performs horribly; and it will cement itself on your lashes. Beware!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 judeandam on 10/7/2008 10:27:00 PM more reviews by judeandam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this mascara because of all the hype surrounding it but was really disappointed. i felt that not enough formula is left on the brush when you take it out of the container, so it doesn't deposit enough product on my lashes. since there's not a lot of formula on the wand, there's not much clumping.

in short, this mascara doesn't give me the thick, long lashes i desire. if you're looking for more of a natural look, then this may be the product for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Corky1 on 9/26/2008 8:54:00 AM more reviews by Corky1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG mascara, I've been using it on and off since I was 13 years old! Throughout the years I've tried other mascaras but always go back to Great Lash. It gives a beautiful natural finish that is never clumpy. The wand is easy to use and gets every lash every time. Needless to say, I will continue to repurchase this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GinSengTea on 9/22/2008 6:54:00 PM more reviews by GinSengTea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

They need to change the name to Not So Great Lash. I got this for free from Ulta for their club member rewards program. I wanted to try it and see what the fuss was all about. It takes longer than normal to put it on because the formula is kind of dry and the brush is small. Then, it smeared on the bottom my of eyes within 30 minutes. Even if you get it for free to try, I suggest you pass and try something else worth while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 randibeth28 on 9/15/2008 9:38:00 AM more reviews by randibeth28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

as everyone said before - terrible. i was traveling and forgot my mascara at home so i went to this (thought) go-to mascara. ugh. i am STILL trying to wash the stickiness off my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Venividibitchy on 9/13/2008 8:29:00 PM more reviews by Venividibitchy

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I find this product to be so dry.

That said, it is a fair product for the price. I've certainly used worse, and better. It doesn't do anything impressive for length, volume, curl, nor thickness, but it will get a basic job done.

I have seen the ever-popular pink/green, pink/black bottle in pictures from famous fashion shows, oddly enough...

I had difficulties choosing, "Would you buy this product again?" -- it depends on what my financial options were, and what else is on the market at the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purtypimpin on 9/12/2008 5:02:00 PM more reviews by purtypimpin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have this is very black and I don't get the horrible reviews. This (nor the normal one) has never clumped on me and although it irritated me at first, the fact that the wand isn't curved makes it easy to apply to all of my lashes. My lashes a pretty thick & long, so all I need is one coat & I'm good to go. This probably isn't the best mascara but imo, it's pretty good for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dhuma on 9/7/2008 6:37:00 PM more reviews by dhuma

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Holy shit, did this suck. It didn't add a lot of volume or length but it still clumped my lashes. It made my lashes disgustingly hard and crunch, and flaked and smudged like crazy. Considering how much it smudged, you'd think it would wash off really easily, but it took forever and a day to get all this crap off my lashes....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Msgdfx1 on 9/7/2008 12:33:00 AM more reviews by Msgdfx1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is pretty awful. I have purchased it from time to time and have always been disapointed. I need a waterproof mascara because my eyelids are so oily and I end up with smudges if I use a regular formula. So, I decided to try this again in Soft Black. Well, it is pretty awful. It is pretty dark, but, I get no lengthening from this product at all. My eyelashes are as stubby as when I started out. And, I still get smudges and clumps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xcakexfacex on 8/26/2008 11:05:00 PM more reviews by xcakexfacex

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have the Great Lash from Maybelline in the regular (non-waterproof) and it works really nice. I wanted a waterproof one, so I just picked this up, thinking it would be the same as the regular. This stuff is terrible! It really is. When I applied it, I got black chunks of mascara on my lashes, and yes I do wipe off the brush before I apply to avoid chunks and clumps. I took off the chunks after I finished applying and near the end of the day, my lashes seemed to be stuck together. And it is also really hard to get off: I have some makeup remover sheets, and it would not work. I had to use baby oil.

Maybe I just got a bad tube, but what I have is really awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products