Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(451 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MrsKat on 2/11/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by MrsKat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

HG make-up remover. I've used this for years. It's gentle, thorough, and rinses cleanly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kkelly98 on 1/31/2012 10:21:00 PM more reviews by kkelly98

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I like this a lot, it is gentle and effective! It is lasting me forever. I even use it on my eyes and it doesn't burn. I never have a complaint about Clinique's packaging and consider their prices moderate and fair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scruffmuffin8u on 1/31/2012 12:35:00 PM more reviews by scruffmuffin8u

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased my third jar of this makeup remover yesterday. I have used this product twice before but ended up either getting bored with it and trying something new, or left it in the bathroom where my sister would quickly snatch it up. I decided to purchase it again even though itís expensive because I love Clinique and all their products are fragrance free which is important to me. I wear a lot of makeup daily, especially around the eyes and was using Pondís Make-up Remover with Cucumber Extract to remove everything at night. The Pondís is great and affordable, BUT it has a scent that always irritates my eyes, sometimes to the point where I would wake up with cysts developing on my bottom lash line. I have combination/oily skin that is breakout prone and I can say from previous usage that this product has never broken me out, however the oil can be quite awkward to use. Even though this product is expensive, well to me, $27.50 for 3.8 oz of product, it will last a long time if you are careful with each use. I scoop out maybe a dime sized worth of product with a q-tip and rub it between my handsí which quickly turns the balm into an oil. Then I gently rub the oil onto my face for maybe a minute. I save the eye area for last, and this is when it gets a little awkward, well at least for me. I then just take my hands and gently swipe them over my eyes, coating them in the makeup remover. Then I Just carefully rub it in, paying close attention to my lashes ( I am so used to using a cotton ball with the ponds on it that it feels odd to just use my hands!). By the time I am done, I resemble a raccoon, so I get a warm washcloth and gently remove the oil from my face and eyes. When I am finished, there isnít any trace of makeup left, not even the slightest bit of mascara or eyeliner is left anywhere on my lash line! Finally, because Iím acne prone, I use my regular cleanser to cleanse my face and neck. This product is truly outstanding! It removes makeup without much rubbing and doesnít dry or irritate the skin! It also won"t sting the eyes but can cause eye blurr. One last thing that I would like to mention is that if you are acne prone, or have oily skin you can still use this as long as you use your regular cleanser afterwards, otherwise this WILL break you out! I will never stray away from this product again!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 1/17/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I admit, I was skeptical that what looks like a big jar of Vaseline could be such a godsend because this is wonderful stuff; wish I'd tried it sooner! I have dry skin year-round (the worst occuring in winter, naturally), and I wear makeup daily which can consist of all or any combination of SS, moisturizer and/or primer, foundation or TM, blush, concealer, setting powder, brow powder or pencil, brow setting gel or wax, lip stuff (including stains), topped off with waterproof eye makeup - the bane of most removers and cleansers! My hope was to find one product that will cleanse AND remove all of this every night without a lot of effort- much like DHC's Cleansing Oil I used until they raised the price and the mall kiosk I used to buy it from closed. Shiseido's cleansing oil is too pricey, Lancome as well (plus the sample I tried wasn't all that to begin with), MAC's didn't wow me, Lumene doesn't make theirs anymore I can find; jojoba and olive oils were sticky, ineffective and made me feel less cleansed than before I started. Other cleansers, such as Philosophy Purity and Mary Kay Timewise 3-in-1 are still some of my favorites but donít do so well in the makeup-removing part which means an added step with a separate product for just that. My last attempt was good 'ole Ponds Deep Cleansing Cold Cream which worked but had issues. Despite being affordable, it was so strongly scented my husband asked when I started wearing "icky floral perfume" plus it left a filmy residue behind despite my rinsing like Lady Macbeth, requiring an astringent toner to fully remove- something my dry skin definitely doesn't need. After I ran out of ideas, I tried this based on recommendations from the lovely ladies on the makeup board. I'm happy to report that once again, they were spot-on (thanks!)


I know this isn't necessarily cheaper than the others I mentioned but it's a lot easier for me to get IRL or online, via their site or somewhere else (aka whomever is having the best sale and/or GWP at the time!). I already use quite a few Clinique items I consider staples (if not outright HGs: Superbalm moisture gloss, Different & Almost lipsticks, CreamShaper liners, brush spray cleaner, Bottom Lash Mascara) so adding something new to the ďList o' Clinique Stuff I LikeĒ didn't faze me in the least. If anything, it makes me even happier that I can one-stop shop for many of my favs despite that I've never been terribly brand-loyal to begin with.


To use, I scoop out a little with my (clean) fingers, rub between my hands to emulsify into a thinner (but not entirely liquid) consistency, apply to a dry face (important!), work it in a bit to get all the waterproof stuff, then rinse using a soft washcloth or cleansing sponges. No scrubbing needed, no leftover residue (makeup or otherwise); NO scent (Ďickyí or otherwise), no irritation or breakouts, and my skin feels so soft and smooth that I don't need to moisturize afterwards as much as I used to. I still do, but now for more specific purposes rather than just slapping on something to add moisture back to my skin that cleansing just removed, since that's no longer an issue. With this, my skin doesn't feel dry and there isn't a trace of makeup hanging around -no more sad-panda eyes in the morning despite that I thought I got it all the night before (ugh!). I don't have to tug at my lashes to get my mascara off, either. Nor does TTDOB sting or burn my eyes, even when I donít remove my contacts beforehand, whether on purpose or not.


I can see this purple jar of goodness lasting a long time and getting more than my money's worth at the rate I use it; I don't need much to get the job done. I found my all-in-one product which is easy to find, easy to use, and works like a charm. I put some into a little travel size jar so I don't have to take the big jar every time I go on a trip. This definitely lives up to its name and claim :) it does indeed "take the day off" so in the end it's not quite as hokey as it sounds.


... my apologies for another of my overly wordy reviews! Although I think more info is generally better than less, I strive be at least somewhat useful, not just a PITA to wade through :)

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pecantan on 1/16/2012 10:07:00 AM more reviews by pecantan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

after realizing that my cleanser which is also supposed to be a makeup remover was not getting all of my foundation off, i started searching for a makeup remover. i spent a few hours reading reviews and searching on youtube and this cleansing balm was something that was well loved by many. it was also just what i was looking for because i hate having to wipe my face with towelettes,wash cloths etc. i was looking for something that i could rinse off. so off i went to the clinique counter and i pruchased this for around $30.00. the tub is pretty big so i can see it lasting me for a long time. so that made the price worth it to me. i wear cream foundation and this balm removed it quickly and with ease and with no scrubbing or wiping. i just took out a small amount of the balm and gently massaged my face in circular motions and then rinsed with warm water. not only was the foundation gone but my complexion looked better too! i will definitely keep using this and i will up this to 5 lippies once i determine that it doesnt break me out. will update in a few weeks.

UPDATE: 1/18/12
woke up the next morning with clogged pores all over..this is going back to the store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittySkyfish on 1/13/2012 11:56:00 AM more reviews by KittySkyfish

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If, each morning, you are the type to layer sunscreen, primer, foundation, concealer, powder...and so on...you need *this* to take it all off. Clinique's Take the Day Off Balm is a gentle, fragrance-free white balm that breaks down even the heaviest makeup and sunscreens and rinses away without the need for wipes. I've used this for several years and it's a HG Hall of Fame product in my cleansing routine. I will use it as long as Clinique makes it!
How you use it: The balm is designed to be applied dry, so scoop a small amount out and gently massage into dry skin. It will transform from a white balm into a clear fluid oil as you massage it in. You may use bare fingers or a scrublet pad (Sephora's Precision Pore Cleansing Pad) to help the balm break down all those layers of beauty products. (This cleanser needs some sort of friction to lift and break down makeup - it won't do it completely on its own - so make sure all areas of your skin get at least a few passes with your fingers before you remove it.) I found it takes me about 20 seconds of light massage to get a thorough cleanse.
The best way to remove the balm is to rinse it off. It breaks down easily with water and "almost" all of it removes with a thorough rinsing, the "almost" part is why I do follow up with a gentle cleanser afterward. I find this rinses away cleaner than comparable liquid oil-cleansing products like DHC or Shu Uemura - those I noticed leave a bit more residue after rinsing.
One tub should last you at least 4 months of regular use if you use a generous amount with cleansing (about 1/4 tsp). I don't find the balm to be particularly drying, but it's not hydrating either. Finish your skin care routine with your moisturizer of choice.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 papaliti on 1/10/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by papaliti

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A really good product. Cleans really nicely and pretty quickly- in addition it doesn't make the skin dry. I always use a toner afterwards just to make sure that any residue is gone. Definately a HG for winter and fall. For warmer weather I always use foaming cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Diverjox on 1/1/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by Diverjox

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely the best make-up remover for me. I have been using this product for many years and haven't found anything to replace it. I use it to remove all make-up, including waterproof eye make-up and sun screen. It just works! I rub a little amount over my face and eyes, massage in for a few seconds, then rinse and with warm water. I sometimes use a damp cotton pad held onto my eyes for a second or two and gently swipe away heavy eye make-up. Does not leave a residue or film after. Does not dry out skin. I then follow with my Clarins cleanser in my Clarisonic Mia.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amruta on 12/27/2011 1:28:00 AM more reviews by Amruta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My HG make-up remover. On my 3rd jar now.

Lovely fragrance free balm that feels soothing and calming to massage on your skin for as long as you want. Whether you use it for a few seconds or a few minutes, it takes all make-up off instantly. Some kinds of lipstick may need wiping off with a cotton ball/ pad, but for the rest of the face just a quick massage with your fingers and rinsing with water gets everything off.

Does not leave a residue or film after. Does not dry out skin.

I would suggest follow up for a second cleanse with a gentle cleanser like Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser (see my review of this).

Definitely not cheap - in fact, it's very expensive. But it's the only make-up remover that is good for my dry/ combination skin. It lasts a while. It goes against my previous advice in other reviews of using a cheap cleanser so you can splurge on other skin products. However, as I said, it's the only make-up remover than gentle and thorough on my skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashton on 12/26/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by ashton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely the best makeup remover that I have used as far as removing foundation goes. I use a tissue to wipe my makeup off. When you put it on a tissue or your hands, it warms up and turns to more of a liquid. With this stuff you don't really nice makeup wipes or eye makeup remover. However, I believe this has caused my to have some breakouts because it does contain pore clogging ingredients. I recommend following immediately with a cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products