Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(409 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 LAWools on 1/18/2011 11:16:00 PM more reviews by LAWools

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is GREAT! If you have drier skin and prefer to clean your face with something other than soap and water (I can feel my face cracking just mentioning soap and water) this REALLY cleans and leaves my face feeling soft. I even tried using a toner afterwards just to see if there was any residue left-none. My usual cleanser is Ponds cold cream but this balm does a better job of taking of the makeup and any dirt and grime. It doesn't take much of this balmy butter stuff, smooth it around and I wipe it off with a warm wash cloth. HEAVEN! No skin tightness afterwards - no oily feel either. Just soft and smooth. It's worth the $27 to me to have clean, smooth soft skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrz329 on 1/14/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by starrz329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this due to the reviews here on MUA. I was using Revlon CS foundation religiously, and my cleanser at night wasn't enough to remove it. $27 is a bit pricey for a makeup remover, but there is alot of product so it lasts a long time. I am extremely oily naturally and I was scared a product like this would make me even oilier. For me it was the exact opposite. This makes my skin baby soft like butter. The key for me is using this first to break down any makeup and then using my cleaner to wash it away. This way I ensure that my skin gets super clean, and there isnt any makeup residue left to break me out later since I have sensitive skin. Its my fav makeup remover that Ive tried. I def will buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KaiteKins on 12/21/2010 11:10:00 PM more reviews by KaiteKins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing. It gets off even the hardest waterproof mascara with ease and is moisturizing to boot. It is sooooo much better then the take off the day eye makeup remover which is just overpriced babyoil. This stuff is a bit pricey but totally worht it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pixietrixie on 12/20/2010 2:49:00 PM more reviews by pixietrixie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the best makeup removers I've ever used, hands down. It's especially wonderful if you're going to be traveling, because it's a balm and not a liquid so there's no need to worry about it spilling all over everything and making a huge mess. The only drawback is that it's in a jar form, so it can be unsanitary to stick your fingers in the jar every time you use it. I get around this by using a wooden stick (for wax) and dipping it into the jar. Much cleaner too! I don't know why cosmetics companies haven't wised up to the fact that using a jar is so gross and messy. But other than that, this stuff is super amazing and fun to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ebonyamberjade on 12/8/2010 10:51:00 PM more reviews by ebonyamberjade

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love this!! This is my holy grail makeup remover. I have SUCH a hard time removing my makeup its ridiculous, to the point where I am sometimes discouraged from wearing makeup at all, due to the ordeal I am going to have taking it off later!!

This really makes the job easier. It is a balm, as the name implies, only it is water soluble and rinses away! It is like a cleansing oil, only in balm form. I don't like having to dip my fingers into the pot, but I don't think there is much alternative for packaging a balm product.

I do my eyes first. Use some of the balm on each eye and smear it around until the mascara dissolves and I've got big black raccoon eyes. Then rinse that off. Then I do the rest of my face. It is important to make sure your fingers are clean and dry before dipping into the jar. You don't want to be putting makeup in the balm. Or getting it wet, and causing the product to liquefy.

It gets my makeup off about 98%. I still do have to follow with my regular cleanser (Spectro Jel for blemish prone skin) and a Q tip with eye makeup remover to get rid of last traces of mascara. This is definitely a makeup remover, rather than a cleanser.

I have oily acne prone sensitive skin, and this has caused me no problems with irritation or breakouts. I tried many cleansing oils prior to this and all of them were simply too expensive, or barely did what they claimed. This product is well worth the money and I thank Paula Begoun for recommending it in her book "Don't Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tricho on 12/4/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Tricho

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product cost me 19 - that may seem expensive but I paid 16 for Clarins oil cleanser and that lasted me a couple of months before I used it all up. I can imagine this will last me a lot longer. I really adore this cleanser, it takes everything off and it leaves my skin feeling amazing. I don't mind the fact it's in a jar because I wash my hands before I go near the product with my fingers, you really don't need much at all and it turns into an oil when you rub it over your face which is perfect for me as I really hate greasy heavy cleansers (boots own brand - time delay, lush, eve lom).
I would recommend this if you're looking for a gentle and kind cleanser that will take all your make up off, I quite like the jar packaging in my bathroom too. I definitely will buy this again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 currypuffu on 11/26/2010 6:46:00 AM more reviews by currypuffu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Having never been a fan of Clinique products (as they tend to be very drying), it took a while for a friend to convince me that this balm was the HG of makeup removers. Sadly for me, although it does take off makeup quite effectively, it wreaks havoc on my skin and I tend to break out terribly after use (more so than if I were to have left the make up on).
In terms of packaging, it'd be nice if it came with a spatula or something as the tub would tend to get a tad waterlogged if used in the shower (not that I'll be getting to the bottom of this one)... but the mirror(ish) lid is a nice touch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tatt2thruandthru on 11/24/2010 9:52:00 AM more reviews by tatt2thruandthru

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not do well with the majority of Clinique products. However this is the product to a get a perfect skin balance while at the same time using as a pre makeup wash. It is geared for dryer skins but I have combo/oily rosacean skin. This is super silky and very gentle to my often flarred by touch rosacean skin. After using this MOISTURIZING makeup cleaner balm, I use Cetaphil cleanser to get any remaining residue off my skin and I then use a very lightweight moisturizer and my skin is like a baby's bum. It's just perfect.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lpiao on 11/17/2010 4:24:00 AM more reviews by lpiao

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have had this product for about 6 months now, it cleans off all traces of makeup. It also last a very long time, I am not even half way through my jar yet, and I use a generous amount each time. I massage this stuff onto my skin, and rinse off with water. I usually use a cleanser after using this. It did not dry out my skin or break me out. At first I thought it feels really greasy when applying onto the skin, but while rinsing it off my face, the product turns into a milky consistency. My only problem with it is the packaging, I do not like digging my finger into the jar. Over all, it is a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alishaedwards on 10/5/2010 3:31:00 PM more reviews by alishaedwards

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This really is a great make up remover. It is the only Clinique product I use but have recommended it to everyone in my family (now all converts) and will definitely continue to buy it. The balm is so gentle, I easily rub it into my eyelids and eyelashes to dissolve the mascara and other makeup. My cousin who is 24 years old said until she started using this product she had never woken up without 'panda eyes'. I cant recommend this gentle yet effective balm enough. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products