Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(445 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 papaliti on 1/10/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by papaliti

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A really good product. Cleans really nicely and pretty quickly- in addition it doesn't make the skin dry. I always use a toner afterwards just to make sure that any residue is gone. Definately a HG for winter and fall. For warmer weather I always use foaming cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Diverjox on 1/1/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by Diverjox

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely the best make-up remover for me. I have been using this product for many years and haven't found anything to replace it. I use it to remove all make-up, including waterproof eye make-up and sun screen. It just works! I rub a little amount over my face and eyes, massage in for a few seconds, then rinse and with warm water. I sometimes use a damp cotton pad held onto my eyes for a second or two and gently swipe away heavy eye make-up. Does not leave a residue or film after. Does not dry out skin. I then follow with my Clarins cleanser in my Clarisonic Mia.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amruta on 12/27/2011 1:28:00 AM more reviews by Amruta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My HG make-up remover. On my 3rd jar now.

Lovely fragrance free balm that feels soothing and calming to massage on your skin for as long as you want. Whether you use it for a few seconds or a few minutes, it takes all make-up off instantly. Some kinds of lipstick may need wiping off with a cotton ball/ pad, but for the rest of the face just a quick massage with your fingers and rinsing with water gets everything off.

Does not leave a residue or film after. Does not dry out skin.

I would suggest follow up for a second cleanse with a gentle cleanser like Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser (see my review of this).

Definitely not cheap - in fact, it's very expensive. But it's the only make-up remover that is good for my dry/ combination skin. It lasts a while. It goes against my previous advice in other reviews of using a cheap cleanser so you can splurge on other skin products. However, as I said, it's the only make-up remover than gentle and thorough on my skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashton on 12/26/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by ashton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Definitely the best makeup remover that I have used as far as removing foundation goes. I use a tissue to wipe my makeup off. When you put it on a tissue or your hands, it warms up and turns to more of a liquid. With this stuff you don't really nice makeup wipes or eye makeup remover. However, I believe this has caused my to have some breakouts because it does contain pore clogging ingredients. I recommend following immediately with a cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssallin on 12/23/2011 3:18:00 PM more reviews by ssallin

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

What a great makeup cleanser. It goes on like Alboline but it is not greasy. It washes off in the shower and completely removes my makeup. I'm thrilled with it It removes most of my eye make up which nothing else has been able to do. I just love the way you can rub it in and the ease of washing it off with water. I'd buy again in a minute!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 trautman on 12/14/2011 12:03:00 PM more reviews by trautman

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for a few weeks. I have dry, sensitive skin. I wear a full face of makeup daily, and this is a wonderful makeup remover. I was going through a ton of pads and wipes to remove eye & face makeup. No need for either with this product. With a warm wash cloth everything melts right off. No tugging @ the eye either! Will mention the first ingredient is ethylhexyl palmitate, which is a pore clogging ingredient. So I follow with the Aveeno moisturizing bar to remove all traces of the balm, and have had no breakouts.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gontel on 12/4/2011 9:42:00 AM more reviews by gontel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

girls, this is meant to be used as double cleansing and you need to use it with dry hands on dry face (full of makeup/sunscreen/sunblock..yes!)...rinse with water THOROUGHLY and use your own cleanser afterwards...i realised some people break out from this as they did not properly rinse this off..it emulsifies into milk with water ..if you dont, it might block your pores...so to those of you who had break outs after using this..try rinsing properly...see if it works better this time :)) good luck..

Update: Already on my 7th tub..still love it, much as ever!

Update 15 Sept 2014: On to my 9th tub, and this is the BEST EVER make up remover. Beats anything else hands down! I will break down if this gets discontinued. The trick is always to rinse it properly until all the 'milky' thingy goes away, and follow with your own cleanser (gel/foam/cream). Works on EVERY waterproof make up out there.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LuvsMakeup82 on 11/24/2011 9:46:00 AM more reviews by LuvsMakeup82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff takes all my makeup off well. probably the one makeup remover I've used where nothing is left behind on my eyes... Not a trace of anything! The one thing I'm not sure about is that the balm gets kinda dirty since you keep dipping your hand into it and it also leaves my eyes with an oily film after I rinse. It goes away but it can be annoying. I don't use this all the time, just when traveling, and I do my regular face cleansing routine afterwards. It def works well and is easy to tote around, but maybe a more hygienic delivery would be better( which I don't know is possible with it being a balm) and a way to lessen the oily film in my eyes after rinsing would be great. I like it but it's not as convenient for me as a my hygienic squeeze tube. the look of the balm can be a little bit of a turn off when it starts to get gross. And it can be drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kwhilge on 11/23/2011 6:17:00 PM more reviews by kwhilge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was hesitant to purchase since it is a balm but the reviews were fantastic. A little goes a long way. Feels weird at first, but takes every bit of makeup off. Definetely a keeper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sirenswin on 11/18/2011 7:08:00 AM more reviews by sirenswin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I bought this product because I sometimes use very resisting makeup like the Estee lauder Double Wear line and all cleansers take it off but not completely. I use a spatula to get product out of the bottle. In the beginning I dag a little hole because I considered I need as much quantity as in for a face cream to cover my face but no - just lightly "scratching" the surface would get you enough for face, eyes and neck as this product turns into a very fine oil on the skin that is easily spread. Massage for wait after spreading for like a minute or so and then rinse with water followed by your daily cleanser.My face has oily zones but those loved this oil cleanser too, At the end my face was so smooth and calmed down from dusk till dawn, no exaggeration. I will definitely repurchase this on winter I do need a lasting foundation if I wear one since the water and the cold ruin any other type of foundation at least around my nose and this takes it off without dehydrating my skin (P.S. first use I did use a toner but just to check if it really cleansed well enough - and the cotton pad was sparkling white. But you don't need a toner with this one, it does all the work).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products