Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

4.3

476 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol


on 10/7/2012 2:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is such a great product. It's a fragrance-free balm that liquifies into an oil upon skin contact and rinses clean away. A second cleansing isn't necessary. Just tone and moisturize and you're good to go. This is a great product if you're wearing sunscreen or a full face of makeup. I can also see it as more of a cold cream style cleanser for those with very dry or irritated skin. A really unique product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/30/2012 9:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am impressed but I do find it drying. I like that it seems to take off 75% of my eye makeup (and I wear waterproof mascara) and all of my face makeup, but I've noticed that I have some flakes on my nose and around my eyebrows that I didn't have before I started to use this remover. Most times I do not follow up with another cleanser after using this because it appears to leave my skin a little dry already. I've been using it a week now and it doesn't appear to cause any breakouts or other problems. My face feels very clean after using this.

EDIT: I used up the entire tub but I then switched to Clarins Pure Melt because it is much more moisturizing. This Clinique product is very effective but it caused flaky skin with daily use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2012 8:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Update May 2014: Since my last update I started wearing face makeup again. I've tried this as my whole-face mu remover and while it removes everything very well, I do feel like it can potentially clog my forehead and that it definitely is drying on my skin. However, my skin cannot tolerate any type of emulsifier (even micelle or milk cleansers) because they will dry and dehydrate me, so for less sensitive skin I would still recommend trying it out.
Update April 2013: Just a quick edit on how I use this now. I take some on my finger, rub over the eye area until the mascara feels dissolved, then get my fingers wet and massage that into the eye area to help emulsify the product more. Then I blot the product and makeup off with a wet cloth. Wiping it off was too irritating and drying, and rinsing it off was messy and sometimes drying as well. This method works very well, I just make sure to press the towel over my skin a few times and it picks up all product.

Claims - True or False?
1) Lightweight: True
2) Quickly dissolves makeup: True
3) Transforms from balm to oil upon application: True
4) Rinses off completely: Mostly true
5) Non-greasy: True
6) Non-drying: False

Packaging:
The balm comes in a purple-tinted glass jar/tub with a metallic plastic screw-on lid. Top and bottom are completely flat which makes for easy storage. The lid comes off and goes back on with ease. Ingredients are placed on the bottom, and instructions/use are printed on the side of the tub; both are very legible. Did not come with extra unnecessary packaging. Based on its formulation a tub design is really the most ideal for the product. Q-tips or spatulas can be used in lieu of clean fingers if hygiene is of that big a concern to you.

Formula:
A white and fragrance-free, thick balm. It feels quite silky and without any tackiness or heaviness. It's not so hard as to make it difficult to take what amount you need. When massaged into skin it becomes a thinner, oilier substance that rinses off fairly well with just water. When wetting the balm over the skin and massaging it becomes more of a milky substance.

Performance:
I do not wear facial makeup and only use this for eye makeup removal, so I cannot attest to its abilities in removal of those forms of cosmetics. However for the eye area it really is a fantastic remover. I had previously tried the bi-phase version of the same line and while it also removed makeup well it was irritating, drying, and the packaging posed some issues for me. This balm removes makeup very quickly and without any additional irritation that a cotton round can cause for more sensitive eyes/skin. It is designed to rinse off completely in water, but I'm not sure if it does. After rinsing I don't feel like I get any residue transfer onto my fingers so it might just be that the skin is far more moist after use as opposed to actual residue. Either way it doesn't concern me enough to deter its use. The only difficulty I had with this remover was when removing waterproof mascara. I normally don't use waterproof but had been testing a new mascara out and while the balm removed it it definitely took more time and massaging, and I'd sometimes be required to use the balm a 2nd time after rinsing. So keep in mind that with waterproof mascara you may need to either double cleanse or simply use a larger quantity of remover. A double cleanse usually does dry out the area a bit, and removing it with a cotton round seems to also lead to dryness; it is best removed by simply rinsing for me. Otherwise it really does remove my makeup entirely with absolutely no residual makeup showing up in the morning. To use I take a small amount onto my finger, massage it right onto my eye area for a while until the makeup seems to be entirely dissolved, and then wipe off with a wet cotton pad. You can proceed to massaging the skin with wet fingers before rinsing but for me this seems to be more likely to dry my skin out. I have also used it for clean up when applying makeup by swiping a q-tip over the top, wiping onto the area, and then wiping with a wet q-tip. As far as breakouts are concerned, I'm not yet sure if it bothers my skin or not. I am very careful to not get it too far away from the eye area but so far my undereye area is still looking good.

Bang for your Buck:
The tub cost $34CAD for 3.8oz. For only eye makeup removal I'd assume that it will last at least 6 months but likely longer as I do not use that much of the product nor do I wear makeup every day. for much heavier makeup it may be used up faster - I'd recommend using as little as possible first and then picking up more product as needed as opposed to starting off with a large glob in order to preserve the product.

Final Consensus:
This really is a great remover, although very sensitive skins and those prone to eczema or acne should use the product with caution. I find it to be more convenient than my previous bi-phase removers and it removes makeup both better and with what seems like less product. I'd definitely recommend this to those seeking a makeup remover, be it for face or just eyes.
* Overall Rating: 4.5/5
* Price: 3/5
* Packaging Quality: 4/5
* Repurchase: Yes.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2012 8:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I will never stray from this product again! It's by far the best makeup remover for me. It's a one-step process. I don't have to use wipes prior to remover - this gets it ALL off.


on 8/31/2012 10:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great product for removing makeup. I have oily skin and have no problems with this causing breakouts, etc. It glides on very nicely and risnes off nicely. I start with this and then follow with my Acnce Solutions 3 steps.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2012 4:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am using this balm for couple of years now and can't not find any better substitute. I hope that they won't discontinue this great product. I apply it every evening on my entire face. On my eyes i first apply a bit of water before the balm as it helps to dissolve my mascara faster. I massage it for 20 seconds all ove rmy face and rinse off with water and then remove all residues with a cleansing gel. I don't know how I would remove all the makeup layers without this product. I don't like lotions because you can't apply them with your fingers right to your skin. I love this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2012 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this makeup remover. I was looking for a replacement for my MAC cleanse off oil and needed something to remove tenacious makeup without irritating fragrance or that would leave a greasy film after being rinsed off. This one rinses clean and doesn't irritate. I can use it around my eyes unlike the MAC oil which would often leave my vision cloudy. It thoroughly removes my makeup with easy, unlike makeup wipes that irritate with multiple swipes. Not the biggest fan of the open jar packaging but I'm sure it's too thick to be packaged otherwise. Price is comparable to the MAC, so I'm only loosing out on extra back2mac. I will definately rebuy though I am tempted to try out the Take the day off cleansing lotion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2012 8:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

When wearing makeup, I normally remove as much as I can with either a makeup remover wipe or a warm face towel. And, then I would follow this up with my normal cleanser.

Normally, I don't wear waterproof makeup. However, I have started using products from the It Cosmetics line (such as their Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer and Matte Bronzer) that are actually waterproof. So, this is why, I decided to actually give this product a try.

This product is AMAZING! It quickly dissolves both waterproof and non-waterproof makeup off of the face. It rinses easily away. It is completely fragrance free. And, it doesn't clog my pores at all.

To remove my makeup, this has become my go to product. It truly is one of the best products that Clinique makes!


on 7/22/2012 10:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best oil makeup remover I've ever used.
It removes every trace of makeup very well, and it has never, ever caused irritation or broken me out (and I've been through 7-8 tubs already).
It has no scent, it emulsifies easily and it doesn't take too much to clean your whole face.
One tub lasts me about 2 months.
The only thing I'm not too fond of is the tub container, I'd rather have a pump bottle, but I'm afraid to stray for only this petty reason, as I don't want to buy something else that wouldn't perform as well.
I also wish it was cheaper, but what can we do...

EDIT - after YEARS of using this, I am finally moving on. Not because of anything bad It does, but strictly because of the price. Taxes and everything included, I have to pay $45, which is just not worth it, considering it doesn't last that long. No cleanser is worth that kind of money, especially when there are many great products out there these days, which perform the same way at a much more affordable price. Clinique has become way overpriced, and for us Canadians, it's just ridiculous.
I already found a great replacement, and I'm sure if I look harder, I'll find a ton :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2012 10:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this product! it removes perfectly make up! i like the feel when you use it, putting my fingers in this paste and then massaging my face with it!
I find it a little bit expensive for a cleanser but it is so good that i repurchase it all the time. Please Clinique, do a take the day off cleansing OIL!!!!


Back to Top