Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

4.3

471 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, Peg-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol


on 8/30/2012 4:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am using this balm for couple of years now and can't not find any better substitute. I hope that they won't discontinue this great product. I apply it every evening on my entire face. On my eyes i first apply a bit of water before the balm as it helps to dissolve my mascara faster. I massage it for 20 seconds all ove rmy face and rinse off with water and then remove all residues with a cleansing gel. I don't know how I would remove all the makeup layers without this product. I don't like lotions because you can't apply them with your fingers right to your skin. I love this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/5/2012 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this makeup remover. I was looking for a replacement for my MAC cleanse off oil and needed something to remove tenacious makeup without irritating fragrance or that would leave a greasy film after being rinsed off. This one rinses clean and doesn't irritate. I can use it around my eyes unlike the MAC oil which would often leave my vision cloudy. It thoroughly removes my makeup with easy, unlike makeup wipes that irritate with multiple swipes. Not the biggest fan of the open jar packaging but I'm sure it's too thick to be packaged otherwise. Price is comparable to the MAC, so I'm only loosing out on extra back2mac. I will definately rebuy though I am tempted to try out the Take the day off cleansing lotion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2012 8:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

When wearing makeup, I normally remove as much as I can with either a makeup remover wipe or a warm face towel. And, then I would follow this up with my normal cleanser.

Normally, I don't wear waterproof makeup. However, I have started using products from the It Cosmetics line (such as their Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer and Matte Bronzer) that are actually waterproof. So, this is why, I decided to actually give this product a try.

This product is AMAZING! It quickly dissolves both waterproof and non-waterproof makeup off of the face. It rinses easily away. It is completely fragrance free. And, it doesn't clog my pores at all.

To remove my makeup, this has become my go to product. It truly is one of the best products that Clinique makes!


on 7/22/2012 10:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the best oil makeup remover I've ever used.
It removes every trace of makeup very well, and it has never, ever caused irritation or broken me out (and I've been through 7-8 tubs already).
It has no scent, it emulsifies easily and it doesn't take too much to clean your whole face.
One tub lasts me about 2 months.
The only thing I'm not too fond of is the tub container, I'd rather have a pump bottle, but I'm afraid to stray for only this petty reason, as I don't want to buy something else that wouldn't perform as well.
I also wish it was cheaper, but what can we do...

EDIT - after YEARS of using this, I am finally moving on. Not because of anything bad It does, but strictly because of the price. Taxes and everything included, I have to pay $45, which is just not worth it, considering it doesn't last that long. No cleanser is worth that kind of money, especially when there are many great products out there these days, which perform the same way at a much more affordable price. Clinique has become way overpriced, and for us Canadians, it's just ridiculous.
I already found a great replacement, and I'm sure if I look harder, I'll find a ton :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2012 10:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this product! it removes perfectly make up! i like the feel when you use it, putting my fingers in this paste and then massaging my face with it!
I find it a little bit expensive for a cleanser but it is so good that i repurchase it all the time. Please Clinique, do a take the day off cleansing OIL!!!!


on 7/5/2012 5:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like the texture, and the fact that it does take off my make up (especially eye make up) without any effort, but this breaks me out very very badly, and clogs my pores so bad that I have so many closed white heads on my face, would not use it again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2012 9:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

yes !
i would buy this product over and over again !
i just love how it melts and glides on my skin , it also a big help with some flakes caused by my retin-a , leaves my pores clean which gives the impression that they have shrink-ed and best of all removes make-up , sunscreen and waterproof mascara like a charm , all you need is to massage lightly for a minute to break-down everything , but i usually continue massaging for another 2 minutes or so , splash some water to emulsify , massage 30 secs more
package is perfect , and although might seem small for the price you paying , trust me you do need less thank you think
i was using way too much when i first got my jar
i used in the past Liz Earle's hot cloth cleanser which basically works on same principles , just it never left my skin quite so "clear" , Mac's cleanse off also did not impressed me as much
i've also had a problematic experience with jojoba oil which clogged me like crazy
in all cases i have used and still do , a muslim cloth for mild exfoliation purposes ( i have not used physical exfoliants in years ) , and i follow with a foaming cleanser of choice - at the moment its Clinique foaming mousse
i have been using this for over a month now , with no issues and will definitely repurchase when i finish this jar although to my surprise i can say it does last quite a while

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2012 10:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is the best cleanser i have ever used, and my god i have used so many over the years always searching for a better one, always waiting patiently for the present one to finish so that i can try another. finally i have found the one!! i does everything i need from a make-up cleanser, it takes my make up off, it leaves my skin soft and clean and doesnt need too much effort.

some people have commented on the packaging because it comes in a jar, but that doesnt bother me cos i never put my fingers in jars as i always use mini spoons or spatualas to scoop out what i need so my product remains bacteria free. i love how this product comes as a balm and i only need a small pinky fingernail amount for my face and neck, it turns into an oil when it is spread into the skin. rub into the skin for half a second and rinse and it takes every thing off in one go including foundation, concealor eye shadow and waterproof mascara and lipstick.

im a big believer in the the double cleanse so i always repeat twice but to be honest its not necessary cos the product does such a great job the first time. i love love this balm. i have tried the cheapest to the most expensive cleansers but none have worked so well. i have tried from olay to la prairie and creme de la mer so i have tried the low end to the high end but not one holds a candle to this. you have to try this, its brilliant and at last makes me feel that i am not harming my skin when taking my make-up off at the end of a long day.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2012 7:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really love love love this product, and I agree with all of the great reviews, but I do want to draw your attention to a packaging flaw (or something like that!)

I have gone through 3 of these tubs in 2 years, and each of them has had the same issue.
About 2/3 of the way in, the tub suddenly gets really oily. Not the product, but the tub. As if the product around the edge of where you've used has melted (as it does in your hands). It's not an issue, except it leaves a big, greasy mark on anywhere you put the tub.
I've tried wiping the tub all over and it STILL happens - as of yet I haven't found a cure haha!
It's only a minor issue, but still - DO NOT put the tub on any fabric, or leave it on a nice wooden surface - in the bathroom it's fine :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is definitely my Holy Grail makeup remover. I love how it's a solid balm at first, and then turns into an oil! You get so much product for your purchase, and it lasts forever. I've had the same jar for around 6 months now and I still have plenty of product left. I didn't really know it was a total cleansing balm, I've been applying this to a cotton pad and using it as a simple eye makeup remover, which it works great as. It doesn't burn my eyes. I apply it generously, rub off the makeup, and then rinse with a gentle cleanser and the remover turns nice and creamy and washes off everything. I also really love this product because while still being oil-based, it isn't overly greasy and doesn't make my skin feel disgusting. I will definitely be repurchasing this makeup remover once I run out, and will be trying it as a cleansing product also! Good work, Clinique.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top