Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(423 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 6/13/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily/combo skin and I'm also a contact wearer. This has never irritated my skin nor my eyes. Other oil cleansers seem to cling to my contacts when I remove my eye m/u, but not this one.

I feel like my skin is well cleansed and moisturized after use. I tend to use another light cleanser because I don't care for the greasy feeling, but you probably don't even need to go that extra step.

I know this is a balm, but I wish the packaging was more user friendly. The container is quite large and bulky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bemyanchor on 6/9/2011 5:34:00 AM more reviews by bemyanchor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have very dry, sensitive skin, so it really isn't all that surprising when it doesn't tolerate a product well. And unfortunately, my skin dried out a lot from using this, so it isn't a cleanser I could use every day.

As a makeup remover, it takes everything off easily. I do like that it washes off clean without leaving a film on my face, and it definitely makes my skin feel cleaner than my regular cleanser (Pond's cold cream). So I'll probably use up the rest of this jar by using this occasionally to get my skin extra clean before a mask or peel, but I won't be repurchasing. My skin just can't take the drying effect.

EDIT: Changed to 4 lippies and will repurchase. I've found that mixing a few drops of jojoba oil in with this minimizes the dryness for me while still allowing my skin to get nice and clean, so I'm switching between Pond's and this balm depending on how my skin feels. I still use Pond's as my primary makeup remover since it's just cheaper, but I'm learning to like this as a cleanser.

EDIT #2: Changed back to 3 lippies because while it doesn't dry my skin out as much with the jojoba oil, my skin has been breaking out horribly ever since I started using this regularly. I know it isn't the jojoba oil since I've been using that for years, so it can only be the TTDOB. :( Going back to Pond's, don't know why I ever switched in the first place.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nagasakisteph on 5/31/2011 5:14:00 AM more reviews by nagasakisteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this product. It feels good going onto my skin, gets rid of pretty much everything on it, and comes off nicely. I normally use this before moving on to the Clinique 3-step system, and my skin has never been better. The price is a bit steep (here in Japan at least), but it's so good that I will definitely buy more when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cheekygirlgirl on 5/14/2011 7:07:00 AM more reviews by cheekygirlgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have bought my second one... It does its job and it feels fantastic! The good thing is I no longer need to buy a separate remover for my eye make up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blondie2cute on 4/26/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by blondie2cute

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Really strange that I've repurchased this. I am not sure if they have reformulated but it now gives me horrible cystic acne all over my chin and cheek area.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MUACat on 4/3/2011 3:48:00 PM more reviews by MUACat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First let me say that I don't wear foundation (so I can't tell you how this works to remove it) but I DO wear physical only sunscreen and this stuff takes that off easily and completely! I used to have to wash my face multiple times with my usual cleanser to remove sunscreen and even that didn't get all of it off. Now, I use a little Take The Day Off, rinse, and then wash my face as usual and wha-laa: all gone! And the best part...my sensitive skin has never broken out or had a bad reaction from this.

I do wish this came in a tube -- although it's so thick t would be difficult to get it out. I just don't like digging into the jar but I can live with that.

I would definitely purchase this again but I'm still on my first one -- it has lasted a long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lashjunkie on 4/3/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by lashjunkie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this make-up remover! At first I was hesitant to apply an oily product to my skin because I am prone to break-outs, but I have been using this for 3 months and my skin condition has improved. Previously, I was using just a creamy cleanser to wash my face but in retrospect I can see that wasn't adequate for removing make-up and sunscreen.

The texture of this product is a solid balm (convenient for travel), but it literally melts into an oil when rubbed onto dry skin. After rinsing, my skin is probably clean enough to dry and moisturize, but I l prefer to follow up with a glycolic acid cleanser to address other skin issues.

I have not used other oil-based make-up removers for comparison, but this product is so fabulous I can't see ever trying any others!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlossyGirlox on 4/2/2011 9:18:00 AM more reviews by GlossyGirlox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

HG! When I was younger, I wore make up everyday and a lot of it was dark and/or water proof, so needless to say I needed a heavy duty remover. I love the fact that this is a solid so you can scoop some up, and put it directly on the spot you need to have makeup removed--ideal for removing pesky eyeshadow on your eyelids. It takes off everything (the name Take The Day Off is perfect!) from mascara to sunscreen to lipstick; both waterproof and non waterproof. I wear contacts so my eyes can be sensitive and even when I rub some of this stuff near my waterline, there is no stinging or burning. However, if you get this in your eye, you will have blurry vision for a few seconds. While it is not painful, avoid that if you can! I will admit that it is expensive ($27.50-ouch!) but the jar is huge and the product is concentrated--a little goes a long way. I think my jar lasted about 5 months and that was with almost daily use.
If you have normal to dry skin, you can definitely use this as an all inclusive make up remover/ cleanser because it does that good of a job at cleaning your skin. However I tend to have oily skin, so I prefer to follow it up with another cleanser just in case.
This product has also saved me time and effort. Before I bought the balm, I used to have to use eye makeup remover to get rid of eye makeup, then a creamy cleanser to get rid of my face makeup, and then an anti oil/anti acne cleanser to get rid of any residue the creamy cleanser left and to help keep my skin breakout free.But with this, I can just use the balm and then my oil free cleanser. Sometimes, depending on how my skin feels, I don't even need to follow up with that cleanser! So it's safe to say, this is my favorite make up remover of all time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littleshelly on 3/20/2011 1:46:00 AM more reviews by littleshelly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very good stuff, but only for the eye area in my case. Expensive, but the jar will last a really long time and there is no tugging, pulling, or dryness while using this. As I age and become more concerned about wrinkles around my eyes, this remover is excellent for removing stubborn eyeliners and mascaras gently. Will repurchase when I finally run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 millenniumhand on 2/21/2011 6:14:00 PM more reviews by millenniumhand

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely my HG face wash. the instructions made me uncomfortable, i have to admit: put the balm on a dry face, rub in it, rinse it off, pat dry. I thought there was no way my face, waterproof makeup and all, could get clean from that. BUT IT DOES! if i use toner afterwards, there is never any residue. leaves my face soft, clean, and is super gentle. LOVE IT.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products