MAC • Satin - Shale • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(331 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* toyarosie on 9/23/2008 8:58:00 PM more reviews by toyarosie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a beautiful color! It's so subtle but just adds enough color to add interest to the eye. A pale plum/taupe shade with just enough shimmer but not too much. I have sort of an olive/caramel complexion and while it doesn't show up as much on my skin as it may for someone fairer, it's still a perfect everyday eye shadow. I even find that it creates a really subtle smokey eye that looks really beautiful, and so easy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz91 on 9/12/2008 11:42:00 PM more reviews by liz91

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with other reviewers that this makes a great neutral eye shadow. It is very similar to Satin Taupe to me, but this has plum in it. I use it on the outer lid with a lighter color on the inner lid. It brings out the green in my hazel eyes. I like how subtle it is. It is gorgeous. I would repurchase. For reference, I am an NC25.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 creedmah on 8/3/2008 7:43:00 PM more reviews by creedmah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is my go-to shade for everyday. I use Shroom as a base all over my lid, then use Shale on the lid. I line my eyes with Prunella eye kohl, some black mascara, and I'm good to go. For me, this is a good neutral, but adds a bit more interest than just a brown-based neutral eye. This is definitely a staple color to have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 groda on 7/17/2008 6:37:00 AM more reviews by groda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

A wonderful colour! It sure does remind me of Satin Taupe but is better cause it's a satin and doesn't give you that frosty "going clubbing" type of look. (Shale is also not as dark as Satin Taupe but more of a medium grey/mauve on me.) I wear Shale often together with Shroom and black eyeliner. Perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexine on 7/14/2008 12:23:00 PM more reviews by Alexine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this color. It's muted enough to give you a neutral eye, but it still has enough plum to make your eye color pop. This color is the next best thing to my beloved, LE shade, Innuendo. When I e-mailed MAC to ask for a replacement color for Innuendo, they told me Satin Taupe, which is way too bronzy. Shale is awesome! Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ohiopirate on 6/17/2008 7:33:00 PM more reviews by ohiopirate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this after reading in Carmindy's book that this is a great color for green eyes. I have to agree with her. I was looking for a color that I could quickly swipe on my lids and look great. I love makeup, but some mornings I don't want to blend together 3 or 4 different colors. I like how this color is purple but with enough brown to make it almost a neutral color. This will be a permanent staple in my makeup bag for years to come.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wandabee on 6/14/2008 9:54:00 PM more reviews by wandabee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

A very nice, neutral plum color. This shade goes on very sheer, but the color can be built up to be more vibrant. I bought this to be put in a 4 shadow tray, which I like much better than having just the individual shadow! Additionally, it's $4 less expensive if you do so :P I have yet to wear this shade alone, but with Sushi Flower at the outer eye corner, Shale looks amazing! Will definitely purchase again as a base color to be worn with other shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* em1282 on 6/11/2008 9:54:00 AM more reviews by em1282

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I didn't think this would work on me just based on how it looked in the pot, but when the MAC MA suggested it, I decided to try it. I love it--even though I have olive/tan skin, it doesn't make me look bruised or washed out at all. It's described as a muted mauve-plum, and it shows up just like that...I don't really get a lavender tone to it at all when I wear it. This is my favorite MAC purple, along with Nocturnelle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceciliathegreat on 6/2/2008 11:08:00 PM more reviews by ceciliathegreat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

beautiful!!!
the boy says this is his favorite! LOL and I wasn't doing anything special either (no time to put on special fancy makeup for him lol), so I just did a simple wash of this colour all over my lids and then added some Naked pigment under my brows. I really like it too! Simple, wearable for everyday while still retaining that "sultry" smokey look! Oh, it's one of MAC's BEST purple e/s because it has NO red undertones (most do, that's why they don't have a good selection of puples imo...). Easy to blend, contains some slight shimmer, and is highly pigmented! very beautiful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntiPrep on 5/18/2008 1:30:00 AM more reviews by AntiPrep

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a greyed mauve with some brown in it, not an ugly color but I'm not blown away, and I wish it had some sheen to it.***UPDATE*** if you're looking for a less bruisey/dirty smokey mauvey/plum get Hard Candy's Moody quartet... the mauve in it is a bit similar but WAY prettier, and the pigmentation just blew me away and made shale look like cheap pigmentless crap. Which makes me think Mac's eyeshadows really aren't worth the price, it's just the name that people are drawn to.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products