MAC Satin - Shale

4.2

334 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, coconut oil, beeswax, hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, vitamin E


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

MAC Shale is a staple/ everyday eyeshadow for me, a favorite of mine right up there with Clinique's Totally Neutral trio. It's a very soft, mid-tone mauved purple with a soft sheen (no shimmer or sparkles). There is just a hint of brown/ grey in this shade. It's a subtle, truly neutral purple, not overly cool or warm, that works with all eyecolors. It is paler, and a tinge warmer than Nars Barbuda eyeshadow. The shadow formula is long-lasting, nicely pigmented, silky, and blendable. Shale looks beautiful paired with Chanel's Violet Smoke eyeliner.



on 11/2/2008 5:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this eyeshadow and am now on my 3rd pot. I have hazel eyes and I find using this with Viola by Stila as a base is just so, so pretty. Really flattering, has enough shimmer to capture the light but isn't glittery and is certainly a lovely colour to wear during the daytime and for work. I use it in the evening too but I use more, build it up and add a darker purple too. I really do love this and will continue to buy it.


on 11/1/2008 8:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love a smoky look, but I also hate looking obviously made up, especially during the day. Shale is a really versatile shade and texture, so it covers all bases. For daytime I blend it into the crease and outer corner of my eye, with MAC Vanilla on the lid and browbone. I usually wear contacts, but not exclusively, and my extreme short-sightedness means that the lenses of my glasses make my eyes look smaller. Shale gives a pretty definition that counteracts this but doesn't compete with my glasses frames and thus make my eye area too busy, as some make-up can. For evening, I use it as a wash over my lid, with MAC Blackberry applied with a wet brush to the lash line and smudged. Since it has elements of grey, taupe and mauve it makes a good anchor shade for venturing into deeper purples or other strong shades. It complements my pale, cool skintone and green eyes nicely but, being a neutral colour, should suit plenty of different colourings. A glance at the list of previous reviewers testifies to that. It would be unlikely to show up as much more than sheer shimmer on anyone with dark skin, though. It's been a great make-up bag addition for me; I have trouble remembering what I wore before it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2008 8:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is such a beautiful color! It's so subtle but just adds enough color to add interest to the eye. A pale plum/taupe shade with just enough shimmer but not too much. I have sort of an olive/caramel complexion and while it doesn't show up as much on my skin as it may for someone fairer, it's still a perfect everyday eye shadow. I even find that it creates a really subtle smokey eye that looks really beautiful, and so easy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2008 11:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I agree with other reviewers that this makes a great neutral eye shadow. It is very similar to Satin Taupe to me, but this has plum in it. I use it on the outer lid with a lighter color on the inner lid. It brings out the green in my hazel eyes. I like how subtle it is. It is gorgeous. I would repurchase. For reference, I am an NC25.


on 8/3/2008 7:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my go-to shade for everyday. I use Shroom as a base all over my lid, then use Shale on the lid. I line my eyes with Prunella eye kohl, some black mascara, and I'm good to go. For me, this is a good neutral, but adds a bit more interest than just a brown-based neutral eye. This is definitely a staple color to have.


on 7/17/2008 6:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A wonderful colour! It sure does remind me of Satin Taupe but is better cause it's a satin and doesn't give you that frosty "going clubbing" type of look. (Shale is also not as dark as Satin Taupe but more of a medium grey/mauve on me.) I wear Shale often together with Shroom and black eyeliner. Perfect.


on 7/14/2008 12:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really love this color. It's muted enough to give you a neutral eye, but it still has enough plum to make your eye color pop. This color is the next best thing to my beloved, LE shade, Innuendo. When I e-mailed MAC to ask for a replacement color for Innuendo, they told me Satin Taupe, which is way too bronzy. Shale is awesome! Will repurchase!


on 6/17/2008 7:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I purchased this after reading in Carmindy's book that this is a great color for green eyes. I have to agree with her. I was looking for a color that I could quickly swipe on my lids and look great. I love makeup, but some mornings I don't want to blend together 3 or 4 different colors. I like how this color is purple but with enough brown to make it almost a neutral color. This will be a permanent staple in my makeup bag for years to come.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2008 9:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

A very nice, neutral plum color. This shade goes on very sheer, but the color can be built up to be more vibrant. I bought this to be put in a 4 shadow tray, which I like much better than having just the individual shadow! Additionally, it's $4 less expensive if you do so :P I have yet to wear this shade alone, but with Sushi Flower at the outer eye corner, Shale looks amazing! Will definitely purchase again as a base color to be worn with other shades.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top