Maybelline • Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(472 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 AllieKat20 on 12/30/2012 4:51:00 AM more reviews by AllieKat20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I'm shocked to see the negative reviews. I personally love this product and cream shadows all together. Maybelline has never disappointed me. I personally can't use powdery eye shadows because I always end up itching my eye while wearing it which in turn messes everything up. I love the shades that Color Tattoo comes in. I have Painted Purple, Pomegranate Punk, and Audacious Asphalt. I also love that these can be used as an eyeliner (or at least I've used them as that a couple few times). I find that they do have a longer lasting power when used as a liner. The price isn't the best though. I believe I paid close to 6 dollars for just one. However that sort of outrageous price is expected due to the fact its Maybelline. Other than that I would recommend this product to anyone! I can't wait to get some of the other shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mellymoomar on 12/29/2012 2:46:00 PM more reviews by Mellymoomar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I do like these cream eyeshadows, but I cannot say that I'm totally obsessed. They make a very great base if your using glitter pots or anything like that on top, but I wouldn't wear these alone without something going over it. They don't have much pigmentation, which I was expecting them to with the words 'colour tattoo'. I have them in 'Immortal Charcoal' & 'On and on bronze', and use them with gold/black eye shadow going over the top usually. Quite a nice product but not outstanding, there is better out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sleuthcity on 12/29/2012 12:45:00 AM more reviews by Sleuthcity

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Even with a primer these are not good value especially in Australia where we pay double the price than everywhere else it seems. Creases even with a primer. Forget 24 hours. Creases in half a hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetvictory23 on 12/29/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by sweetvictory23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have used the taupe which is more of a grey than a taupe. Nevertheless, I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. I use this as an everyday crease color for a smokey eye. I apply it with my finger and can use more or less depending on how dark I want it to be. You have to act quick though because it is difficult to blend the longer it sits on your eyelid. I always use primer, so I'm not sure about it staying 24 hours, but in all honesty, who wants it to last that long anyway? It is definitely still on and noticeable when I take my makeup off at night after a long workday. I love this so much I want to purchase in another color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMerryMakeup on 12/23/2012 9:29:00 PM more reviews by MissMerryMakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all time favorite products! Awesome pigmentation, easy application and it lasts a pretty long time for me. I have never had a creasing issue with these, although I have seen some people say they had some creasing problems, so just in case I would wear these with a primer.

My favorite one is "Bold Gold", which I've also purchased for a friend. I've used these multiple times for different looks and I've very rarely been unhappy with the outcome! Although, I wouldn't try using the color "Too Cool" as a shadow base, I tried and it was one of the only times I wasn't pleased with the outcome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elara99 on 12/23/2012 7:16:00 PM more reviews by Elara99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. I use it everyday. I've used only the bronze color and I've heard the other ones are chalky but this one is really good. I go to a lot of over night events and it actually last for 24 hours!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 steefjeuh on 12/23/2012 4:34:00 PM more reviews by steefjeuh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I find it very difficult to review this product. I have to of them, the white one ( if forgot the name) and on and on bronze.
The white one sucks, it is a very shimmery one and not very pigmented, i never use it.
Bad to the bronze is a shimmery dark brown eyeshadow. I sometimes wear it all over my eyes but it is very dark, so I don't really wear it when I am at school. I am not sure if this is the same colour as the american bad to the bronze.

Now .. for the product in general.. it lasts a long time, though not 24 hours. I lasts about a school day. And it ain't waterproof. I tried swimming with it, and i was wearing snorkling glasses, but it still didn't last. it can be a bit dry sometimes and doesn't always evenly apply. The product is okay.. but it is not like I am jumping in the air for enthusiasm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Donnz on 12/15/2012 2:03:00 PM more reviews by Donnz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I believe I am in the minority here as I just do not like the texture of these cream eye shadows. Even when warming them up and applying them with my fingers it feels like I am smearing paste on my eyelids. It definately lives up to its claim of stickability as I cannot remove it without using oil. Also the blend ability is near non exist ant if you hesitate for a fraction too long as it sets and won't budge without doing some serious damage to the skin. The colours are lovely so I'm using them on my daughters as dress up make up and they love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* duncan123 on 12/15/2012 1:39:00 PM more reviews by duncan123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Am pleased to say I would buy again and actually already have. This is the one and only creme eye shadow that has ever lasted more than a few hours on my eyelids. I don't think I have overly oily eyelids but creme shadows react to your body heat and before you know it you've got color in the creases and it looks like crap. Not this. I purchased this in the Bronze and Gold colors to begin with (can't remember the names). LOVE the gold...is a fine shine and doesn't make me look like a disco ball. Use that usually as a highlighter. You have to work rather quickly because this does dry making it harder to blend. Since that first purchase I have also bought the pomegranite color (again...cannot remember the name and I know I spelled that wrong, lol). I am really happy with that one because although it looks like a very bold reddish brown in the pot, it is a more muted version of that color on my lids and very pretty. I will say that the only reason I gave this eye shadow a 4 instead of a 5 rating is because there is a very limited color selection. That said, I went to Walmart today and there is a new "metallics" line of these shadows and I found myself purchasing a few more, lol. As for the claim of 24 hour wear -- not on me. I can still see that it's there after an 8 hour work day but it has faded. However, I really like this shadow and would buy more if they'd expand their color palette. I like creme shadows because the colors always seem a bit more vivid and so I'm happy that a company was able to create one that doesn't melt within 30 min. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Decobalgal on 12/2/2012 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Decobalgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am beside myself in love with these. I generally love cream eyeshadows with staying power, but it's hard to find matte ones. While I also love the shimmers that I have, the Taupe is by far my favorite. It is such a stunning, flattering, gorgeous color. Looks like underachieving dirt in the jar, but it's creamy, blendable, versatile heaven on the lids. I use the Too Cool to highlight my inner eyes/tear ducts.

Although they generally stay put, I still use my Nars primer underneath, as I've noticed some of the colors, especially the shimmers, crease after a few hours.

Great bang for the buck on these. I also love Benefit Creaseless (have an obscene number of those), Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof, and the MUFE Black Tango set, and these affordable Maybelline's hold their own against those.

LOVE LOVE LOVE these. My only complaint is that I can't ever find any of the gosh darn Fall 2012 limited edition colors. And I wish they had more color options in matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products