Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow

4.2

516 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 5/20/2013 12:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I hate eyeshadow--the tedious application, the inevitable fallout/fading/creasing, etc. Maybelline's Color Tattoo eyeshadows are like the answer to a prayer. Seriously. I've tried five colors--Barely Banded (shimmer champagne), Bad to the Bronze (metallic brown), Inked in Pink (medium light pink), Bold Gold (brownish gold) and Gold Shimmer (glittery bright gold). All have good wear time, and all can be applied either sheer for a more natural look or heavily built up for a more in-your-face look. Both Barely Branded and Bad to the Bronze take less than a minute to warm up with my finger and apply as a sheer wash over my entire lid, but last all day. Branded brightens my entire eye area and Bronze gives it a bit more definition. The other three are fun, but I don't use them nearly as often--pink manages to impart a rosiness without making me look ill or weepy, and Gold Shimmer looks great applied in the outer corner or along the lash line for a little punch of glamour. Bold Gold is a little lackluster.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/14/2013 12:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really wanted to like this product. I had heard such good things that I felt like I needed to run right out and buy it. I got three colors, all of which were promptly returned. The color payoff is really poor - streaky and thin, even after applying several layers. It does stay, I'll give it that, but the formula felt really heavy and sticky on my eyelids. The colors are beautiful in the package but, sadly, that just didn't translate into a nice finish on my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2013 5:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

These are by far my favorite cream eyeshadows; I have 10 of them! For their low price point, nearly all of them are incredibly well-pigmented and have great staying power, and are great as a tinted base for powder eyeshadows or even as sheer wash of color. I don't feel that they hold up to their "24HR" promise on their own, especially since I have oily eyelids which sometimes causes colors to crease if I don't wear powder eyeshadow over it. But it it's still an easy fix to just blend it into itself again. The pigmentation is quite intense for most of the colors, with minimal fading throughout the day and into the evening.

These come in sturdy glass jars no different than most gel eyeliners (in fact the product melts like one too). I personally do not like jar packaging as I find it not so hygienic, and the longer the jars are opened and exposed, the more prone the product is to drying out. But this kind of packaging allows for the eyeshadow to be versatile as I can apply this as an eyeshadow with my fingers or an eyeshadow brush, or I can apply it as a smudge-proof colored eyeliner using an eyeliner brush.

Something to note about these eyeshadows is that nearly all of them come in a shimmery finish; the only three that come in matte finishes are Fierce & Tangy, Painted Purple, and Tough as Taupe. The color selection for the permanent catalog is also very basic as opposed to L'Oreal's permanent Infallibles, but Maybelline does offer more sophisticated Color Tattoos as seasonal limited edition shades.

Lastly, not all of the colors are equally pigmented; I have nearly all of the Color Tattoos in the permanent catalog, and I have found that Painted Purple takes a little more work to build up its intensity than any of the other shades (in fact, it looks like a watercolor wash when applied), and Bold Gold is not so bold as one might think, since it sheers out quite a bit and the gold flecks in it are more noticeable. But I suppose that's why they released Gold Rush in their Metallic Color Tattoos.

Overall I find that these make quite durable bases for amping up my irreplaceable powder eyeshadows, and haven't really had a need to purchase any other eyeshadow primers or bases since.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2013 3:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I finally caved in after reading all of these amazing reviews and I am so impressed. The pigmentation and texture of these shadows are BEAUTIFUL. And the best part is that they are long lasting, even on my oily eyelids they last better than my regular eyeshadows. Only thing is that they are kinda expensive( about 10$ CAD for one little pot), but I say worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2013 12:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot stop buying these things! First I had to try Tough as Taupe to use as a base for smoky eye looks, and since then I purchased 3 more and impatiently waiting for the new limited edition collection to arrive at my local Walgreens.
These are very versatile and easy to work with. I never use them alone, since I enjoy blending different shades together for a seemless look, these are a bit tricky to blend if you only use color tattoo (in my opinion). But as bases they work great and make even a cheap, poorly pigmented eyeshadow pop.


on 4/17/2013 9:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Amazing product with an affordable price! Texture is so smooth and creamy. It's very pigmented and long wearing. But it can be dry after using for 5-6 months.


on 4/15/2013 11:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved this product! It surely lives up to its name ... The eyeshadow stays on for a long time. I purchased this in Bad To The Bronze. Really compliments my skin tone, easy application and just the right amount of shimmer. Definitely going to get more of these!


on 4/15/2013 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first colour tattoo was Bad To The Bronze. It wasn't bad quality-wise but I didn't really like how the colour looked on my skin. As a result, I barely use it. Then I came across another one which is Inked In Pink and I fell in love with it! It's the perfect colour to wear for an everyday look as it brightens up your eyes. I usually use this for my lids then blend it out with a brown eyeshadow on my crease.

As far as quality goes, I haven't really had the chance to try it without a primer because I'm so used to using primer on my lid first before anything but as far as I can tell this thing lasts for hours on end. I'm not a fan of shimmers though so I didn't really like how they don't have anything that's completely shimmer-free/matte. However, if they had a collection of matte colour tattoos, I will surely buy more of these bad boys.


on 4/14/2013 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

One word: AMAZING. I used to be obsessed with the MAC paint pots but they're hard for me to get a hold of and also a bit pricey, I was stoked when these Maybelline ones came out. Honestly, I like these A LOT more than the MAC paint pots. They're soooo much smoother and creamier. A lot easier to apply. I have the one in Barely Branded which is a beautiful beige champagne color, kind of like MAC's Bare Study. The Maybelline Color Tattoos definitely stay true to their name. At first I thought because it was so creamy that it would crease and be gone in like an hour but once they dry on your eye lid these things aren't going anywhere! You can use them as bases for other eyeshadows or just wear them on their own cause the colors are beautiful. The packaging is just a little glass container with a screw on top. The price was about 7 dollars at my Walgreens but you can get them literally anywhere like Walmart, Target, CVS ect. I am so in love with these products. Definitely worth buying!


on 4/7/2013 7:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I never thought I would like a cream eyeshadow, but I really like color tattoo! It dries quickly, doesn't crease at all, and lasts all day. It's a little difficult to apply if you're not used to cream. You really have to pack a lot on if you want the color to look like it does in the package. Otherwise, it's not nearly as opaque. Some of the lighter colors, like Icy Mint, make a great primer for powder shadows. When wearing color tattoo under my powder shadow, the powder shadow lasts all day and doesn't crease. This is great for me because I have oily skin. Normally, my eyeshadow doesn't last more than a few hours. With color tattoo as a primer, my shadow looks as good at the end of the day as it did when I first put it on in the morning. A miracle! After using color tattoo, I won't buy an expensive primer! Alone, I don't love color tattoo, but they make a great color booster or primer for powder shadows.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Maybelline 24 Hour Color Tattoo Review and Mini Haul by PrettyPRChick TV



Back to Top