Maybelline • Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(442 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 FairytaleEndings on 9/27/2012 1:30:00 PM more reviews by FairytaleEndings

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have two of these eyeshadows: in bad to the bronze and tough as taupe. These are great eyeshadows! Super easy to apply (with either a brush or your finger). They have great staying power, and only need a primer if I'm being super active (which is why I gave it a 4 instead of a 5, because it'd be nice if they stayed without primer). I wish they had more neutrals, actually more shades in general. But these are definitely my favorite eyeshadows ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amyfarrow on 9/27/2012 1:13:00 PM more reviews by amyfarrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this shadow in tough as taupe, pomegranate punk, and bold gold. The colour is very pigmented and lasts and lasts. The shimmery ones go on super easy and smooth, though the matte taupe is a little difficult to work with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SamanthaJo19 on 9/19/2012 9:25:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaJo19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really love these eye shadows. They have such great colors, but definitely need more shades. I'd really like to see some soft nudes, corals, etc. The packaging is great, and really couldn't get any better. They blend very easy, buildable, highly pigmented and are nicely textured. I can't wait until more shades come out, which I hope they do, and plan on buying more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cassiecate on 9/19/2012 8:49:00 PM more reviews by cassiecate

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have...6 of these. I have 4 from the core (Tough as Taupe, Too Cool, [purple] and Audacious Asphalt) and 2 from Fall Runway (Mossy Green, Gold Shimmer). I only own one MAC paint pot (Morning Frost from 2011 Glitter and Ice) but the quality is amazing.

There is nothing to dislike about these. They have a multitude of uses. I have used them alone (no powder, just two colors--lid and crease), as a base for other similar tones (the white is great under almost any color, Tough as Taupe is great under Satin Taupe). I never use a brush to apply (not a professional) and have always had great, smooth results with no creasing. I don't use any other primer on my eye when I use these cuz I know they're good to go.

If you can find a deal, it's even better, but even at full retail ($6.69 at Rite Aid in Oregon), they're a tremendous bargain and worth checking out.

I also dislike Maybelline for animal testing but I do make an exception for this one product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkIcing1 on 9/18/2012 5:44:00 PM more reviews by PinkIcing1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE this eyeshadow. It lasts SO long, even throughout a beach day while swimming in the ocean! It does not fade or crease and has great pigmentation. This is seriously the most amazing eye shadow I have ever used. The one of the only things I don't like about it is the application. Since it is cream based, it is more difficult to get it evenly spread across your eyelid. I also don't like how the product starts to dry out after it is opened, which makes it harder to apply. Anyways, if you haven't bought this yet, it's a must!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MelissaKay88 on 9/14/2012 6:36:00 AM more reviews by MelissaKay88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I initially tried the 'Pomegranate Punk' which is a shimmery cranberry color that can appear light or dark depending on how many layers of the color is applied or what other shadows are used in tandem. I also purchased the 'Bad to the Bronze' shade of the product at the same time. I can best discribe 'Bad to the Bronze' as again a product that can be worn various ways a brown based bronze warmed up with hints of gold aswell. To me it's almost a cream version of MAC's 'WoodWinked' shadow that I absolutely adore just slightly lighter.

I was slightly sceptical of the product at first having tried other drug store cream based shadows and being fairly dissapointed. This was not the case with Color Tattoo! I love using the bronze for neutral pin up inspired make up looks and the pomegranate for smokier looks. My skin tone is close to MAC's NW40 foundation shade and I've gotten a fairly good tan this Summer so for me to a) have these colors appear vividly on my skin and b) LAST in said vividness is beyond awesome for me. If you have skin in a similar tone range you know the dissapointment in finding a beautiful color only to take it home and see that it's not that bright when applied.

I picked up 'Audacious Asphalt,' 'Painted Purple,' 'Too Cool,' and 'Fuschia Fever' earlier last week and have been able to try them all now as well in that time period. Got to LOVE B.O.G.O sales!


'Audacious Asphalt' which is best described as a gun metal grey/silver color, I find to be a slightly more shimmery version of Urban Decay's 'Gunmetal' shadow found in my 'Naked' palette. Actually it's really pretty when worn under the U.D. shadow.

'Fuschia Fever' reminds me SO much of MAC's 'Hepcat' eyeshadow shade I could again say that I found the main differences only the opacity ('Fuschia Fever' was much more opaque after one layer than 'Hepcat' has been for me personally), shimmer level and of course the brand.

'Painted Purple' looks really great when paired with 'Fuschia Fever,' or even when blended with 'Pomegranate Punk' I've found. It's a vibrant medium toned purple similar to a lavendar purple, but when applied it's more irridescent. I found of all the Color Tattoo shadows this is the one (for myself personally) was always the most sheer even if multiple layers were applied but that's fine with me.

Lastly 'Too Cool' which is a pure white shadow, but with a little more of a pearl finish than the others I tried. I'm not a fan of wearing white shadows because with my skin tone I typically find it too striking a combination. However, that being said it makes a WONDERFUL base for bold eyeshadow looks as an alternative to using a white eyeliner pencil as a base. I am going as 'Poison Ivy' from Batman for Halloween this year and decided to test this out with the dramatic, smokey makeup (using alot of green, gold/yellow, red and orange shadows and pigments) I plan on wearing. Up until now I was using a white 'nano' eyeliner from the Sephora collection as a base and I have to say 'Too Cool' beats that by FAR. It's now a definite must for me for looks like the one accompanying my costume.

Overall I really love these shadows and they are really nicely pigmented I've found so I'd reccomend them!


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupphd on 9/3/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by makeupphd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in tough as taupe, bad to the bronze and also the white shade and I like the first 2 the most. I like neutrals so no surprise there. I don't use these as shadows on their own, but as bases although they can be worn alone. My lids are very oily and I've tried the mac paint pots before which only gave me about 30 minutes before creasing, but these actually last about 4 hours before creasing on me - and even when they do, they still last all day without creasing as terribly as paint pots or other bases (i.e NYX jumbo pencils). I prefer to set a base (TFSI), apply the color tattoo as a wash on my lid, and then apply a similar colored shadow overtop. This makes the shadows pop more, for example, I wear mac's woodwinked over bad to the bronze, and chanel's safari over tough as taupe, and I love how they intensify and give depth to the colors. The only thing I don't love about these is their texture- it can be kind of thick once its on if you don't blend it out well and then shadows don't look smoothly applied, rather they look a bit gritty. I like this textured look sometimes, but most of the time I'm just careful to apply a thinly smoothed out layer before shadow. I'm also not as crazy about the white shade bc I don't gravitate to it as much since I use it as a base for colored shadows (which I don't wear often), and I notice the uneven texture on it most. Despite this note, I really like these a lot and think they are an amazing product, especially for the price. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LindseyAnne on 9/3/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by LindseyAnne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The only color I've tried in these is Bad To the Bronze. And for a drugstore creme shadow, it's pretty great. It doesn't tend to crease, at least not for hours. But I do find once this has been open and used a few times it does start to get a fair bit drier. And when it did get drier, I found the color to look a lot less bronze and more just brown. Using it alone on my eyes makes them look kind of muddy. But this looks beautiful as a subtle eyeliner, or it looks absolutely fabulous as a base for MAC's eye shadow in Woodwinked.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NthsyNgie on 9/2/2012 4:09:00 AM more reviews by NthsyNgie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in tough as taupe, I love the product and the consistency..
Its cheap , easy to apply and the packaging are great..
The only con for me are the color turns out too grayish than brownish..
I would also like to try another color..
Overall its a great product and I'd totally want to buy this again..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 9/2/2012 3:33:00 AM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOOOVE these so much. When they first came out, I loved the concept and the idea of a creaseless cream eyeshadow. I have almost every color, I have Bad to the Bronze, The gold color, White, Tenacious Teal, the green color, Taupe color, and a couple other ones. I normally don't like or use cream eyeshadow. That's proof of how much I love these. I can use them all together for depth and highlight and I can use them alone without any shadow and any problem with creasing, or I can pair them with eyeshadow for a more intensified look that is budge proof. Maybelline, I love you for making these eye-shadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products