Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow

4.2

511 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


on 4/17/2013 9:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Amazing product with an affordable price! Texture is so smooth and creamy. It's very pigmented and long wearing. But it can be dry after using for 5-6 months.



on 4/15/2013 11:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved this product! It surely lives up to its name ... The eyeshadow stays on for a long time. I purchased this in Bad To The Bronze. Really compliments my skin tone, easy application and just the right amount of shimmer. Definitely going to get more of these!


on 4/15/2013 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first colour tattoo was Bad To The Bronze. It wasn't bad quality-wise but I didn't really like how the colour looked on my skin. As a result, I barely use it. Then I came across another one which is Inked In Pink and I fell in love with it! It's the perfect colour to wear for an everyday look as it brightens up your eyes. I usually use this for my lids then blend it out with a brown eyeshadow on my crease.

As far as quality goes, I haven't really had the chance to try it without a primer because I'm so used to using primer on my lid first before anything but as far as I can tell this thing lasts for hours on end. I'm not a fan of shimmers though so I didn't really like how they don't have anything that's completely shimmer-free/matte. However, if they had a collection of matte colour tattoos, I will surely buy more of these bad boys.


on 4/14/2013 1:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

One word: AMAZING. I used to be obsessed with the MAC paint pots but they're hard for me to get a hold of and also a bit pricey, I was stoked when these Maybelline ones came out. Honestly, I like these A LOT more than the MAC paint pots. They're soooo much smoother and creamier. A lot easier to apply. I have the one in Barely Branded which is a beautiful beige champagne color, kind of like MAC's Bare Study. The Maybelline Color Tattoos definitely stay true to their name. At first I thought because it was so creamy that it would crease and be gone in like an hour but once they dry on your eye lid these things aren't going anywhere! You can use them as bases for other eyeshadows or just wear them on their own cause the colors are beautiful. The packaging is just a little glass container with a screw on top. The price was about 7 dollars at my Walgreens but you can get them literally anywhere like Walmart, Target, CVS ect. I am so in love with these products. Definitely worth buying!


on 4/7/2013 7:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I never thought I would like a cream eyeshadow, but I really like color tattoo! It dries quickly, doesn't crease at all, and lasts all day. It's a little difficult to apply if you're not used to cream. You really have to pack a lot on if you want the color to look like it does in the package. Otherwise, it's not nearly as opaque. Some of the lighter colors, like Icy Mint, make a great primer for powder shadows. When wearing color tattoo under my powder shadow, the powder shadow lasts all day and doesn't crease. This is great for me because I have oily skin. Normally, my eyeshadow doesn't last more than a few hours. With color tattoo as a primer, my shadow looks as good at the end of the day as it did when I first put it on in the morning. A miracle! After using color tattoo, I won't buy an expensive primer! Alone, I don't love color tattoo, but they make a great color booster or primer for powder shadows.


on 3/31/2013 1:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been suckered before by cream e/s (creasy, greasy, poor colour pay-off) and so was pretty skeptical about these. These are actually pretty good especially for the price. My one remaining bit of niggle about these is the inconsistency of colour pay-off and texture in the range, and that the full range isn't available in New Zealand.

I have:
Bold Gold - Sheerish light gold with shimmer rather than glitter. Most traditional 'cream' texture. Reasonable pay-off, but sheerer than I was expecting.

Tough as Taupe - Matte greyish-brown. Work-friendly, dryish texture but easy to smear on and go.

Audacious Asphalt - Medium silver grey with silver sparkles. Hard to work, goes on unevenly, really hard to blend, too much work.

Painted Purple - Metallic purple with a hint of pink iridescence. Poor pay-off, but is useful as a base under purple e/s.

I find a sponge-tip applicator works really well for applying these (except Asphalt for which I don't know WHAT would work) as brushes get gunky and my fingertip doesn't do a good blending job.

I have found that these need to be stored upside down to prevent them drying out. I've had the four above for at least a year and they haven't dried out yet.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2013 7:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love these eyeshadows! I don't use them for straight eyeshadows though, unless I'm in a hurry. I usually wear them as a base to make my eyeshadows I put on top of them pop more. I want to get every color! So far I have 7. They are very pigmented, super inexpensive and worth every single lipstick I gave them! If you don't own one, run out and get one now!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this amazing product in four shades (bad to the bronze, pomegranate punk, too cool, and bare beige) and I definitely plan on getting more! My eyelids are the traditional Asian eyes, so there is no crease and the eyelid sort of folds in on itself, giving my virtually no room to do any cool makeup looks :( . Anyways; my eyelids are also naturally oily so it's just a recipe for disaster. I used to NEVER wear eyeshadow because evrytime I closed my eyes, you would see the eyeshadow gathered in the would-be crease of my eye. That is definitely not a pretty look. Thanks to Maybelline, I can now wear eyeshadow without it creasing! I usually have to touch up my makeup midday during lunch, but that's only because my lids are extremely oily and I just find joy in doing my makeup xD. Aside from that, these go great by themselves, or topped with eyeshadow! I tend to top them with eyeshadow ebcause it lasts much longer on my lids, and shadow also intensify the base a bit more which I need since you don't see my eye makeup unless I blink. These cream shadows also help my eyeliner stay in place which also used to run into my crease. These are my HG in eyeshadow bases, and no other primer or base has ever worked for me, including UDPP, MAC paint pots, or any other pirmers. Overall, I will keep repuchasing these shadows over and over again and I hope Maybellin enver discontinues them; they found a repeated buyer in me!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2013 11:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in "Bold Gold" and I really like this product!

It is a small package but a little of this hard-cream shadow goes a long way. For a cream based shadow this product does not crease during the day, even when I applied it without a primer first. I was very impressed because I find cream shadows are usually so disappointing in how fast they crease.

The color was pretty bold, maybe not quite as bold as I had hoped it would be, but very pretty when layered for a night out or with one application for day. I'd like to try this in other colors.


on 3/23/2013 7:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous, and gourgeous.... this is a beautiful line of eyeshadows My fave is the bad to the bronze! the only thing is it creases so you have to put a primer underneath but I do it in every shadow anyways!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Maybelline 24 Hour Color Tattoo Review and Mini Haul by B. Haynes PrettyPRChick



Back to Top