Maybelline • Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(479 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 1/23/2013 12:57:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like the pot, love the colors, most are too bright for my tastes (I'm a paralegal in a kind of stuffy law firm). I have successfully used: (#25 Bad to the Bronze; #55 Inked in Pink (metal); #70 Barely Branded (metal) and in that order (lower lid to brow) = I get a nice, but subtle pop of color w/out looking like I'm heading out to a nightclub. When I use as a base for my powder shadows = much longer staying powder is afforded to my powder shadows. Alone and w/out setting w/ UD All Nighter, this stuff lasts approx 6 hours in full color and then starts to fade, but still looks OK. When set w/ UD (which I do almost every day - my whole face, not just my eyes) = on from 6 am until about 8 pm, then starts to fade, but still visible when I remove my MU around 10:30 pm.


I am not talented when it comes to applying eyeshadow (and I've only recently started wearing e/s), but even I can make this look good = I'm a happy girl!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Reitelle on 1/19/2013 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Reitelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this product in Audacious Asphalt, Too Cool, and Painted Purple. This is my first experience with a creme eye shadow and I definitely prefer it. I find it best to apply with a concealer brush due to the consistency; for anyone having issues with blending... this may help you out! I have allergies and subsequently rub my eyes throughout the day and this eye shadow definitely stands up! I usually use the Too Cool as a highlight in the corners of my eyelid then blend it outward into either the Painted Purple or sometimes the Audacious Asphalt. The purple is a gorgeous bright jewel tone though it can be blended out into a lighter more lilac-like shade. I love the versatility of the product! You can either apply it heavily for an intense night-time look or blend it out for a pigmented casual look.I highly recommend the Painted Purple for anyone with green eyes; they will make your eyes stand out beautifully!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cosmogall on 1/19/2013 1:12:00 AM more reviews by cosmogall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the Color Tattoo eyeshadow called "too cool". I really wanted to like this eyeshadow but it was just too dry. It really wasn't blendable; which was my biggest issue with this product. Overall the product is, in my opinon, just okay. I won't buy this again. But maybe the other colors in this line are better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ToriBiohazard on 1/18/2013 12:52:00 AM more reviews by ToriBiohazard

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

These shadows are definitely unique, but I do find some problems with them.
Application can be patchy and uneven at times. When I go to apply this, sometimes the top of the product will be hard, making it hard to get the creamy, gel consistency it's supposed to be. I always make sure to close them tightly too, but still find the same thing. Also, the product can kind of build up on my finger, and not transfer onto my lid evenly. It can be difficult to get the product from your finger onto your lid.
Despite these issues, these still make wonderful bases. Even with the uneven application, they're great for adding another dimension to the eyeshadow you apply over them. I have no problems with creasing either.
These are a so-so product. I like the ones I own, but I'm not running out to buy them all. I don't reach for them as often as I'd like to because they can take some times to work with

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 1/8/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried one in white (I can't remember the name of it) when the line first came out and was disappointed by the outcome on my lids. Fast forward today and I'm in love with the "tangy" orange and this pretty blue/green turquoise shade. The pigmentation is rich and on my lids it translates beautifully. Added bonus is when I pair it up with a coordinating powder eyeshadow....oh buddy! It makes me eyes just POP. I look forward to adding further colors to my collection. It definitely rivals my MAC paint pots. Will definitely snag more shades in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AshleyRivers on 1/1/2013 4:46:00 AM more reviews by AshleyRivers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this product in three shades; Bold Gold, Tough as Taupe & Pomegranate Punk. I have absolutely fallen in love with some of the LE shades, but unfortunately they are not available in Australia. These shadows are perfect as bases, paired with other shadows & on their own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cestsibon on 12/30/2012 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Cestsibon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The "shimmer particles" (I don't know the technical term for them) are too large for my taste. It lasted well through a work out and did not crease, but I was disappointed with the overall look which was undeniably glitter-like. I will experiment with it a little more but don't think you should have to work hard for eye shadow to look nice. I have a few other cream eye shadows I like (Benefit, Bobbi Brown, Rimmel, MAC); I doubt this will be added to the list

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AllieKat20 on 12/30/2012 4:51:00 AM more reviews by AllieKat20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I'm shocked to see the negative reviews. I personally love this product and cream shadows all together. Maybelline has never disappointed me. I personally can't use powdery eye shadows because I always end up itching my eye while wearing it which in turn messes everything up. I love the shades that Color Tattoo comes in. I have Painted Purple, Pomegranate Punk, and Audacious Asphalt. I also love that these can be used as an eyeliner (or at least I've used them as that a couple few times). I find that they do have a longer lasting power when used as a liner. The price isn't the best though. I believe I paid close to 6 dollars for just one. However that sort of outrageous price is expected due to the fact its Maybelline. Other than that I would recommend this product to anyone! I can't wait to get some of the other shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mellymoomar on 12/29/2012 2:46:00 PM more reviews by Mellymoomar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I do like these cream eyeshadows, but I cannot say that I'm totally obsessed. They make a very great base if your using glitter pots or anything like that on top, but I wouldn't wear these alone without something going over it. They don't have much pigmentation, which I was expecting them to with the words 'colour tattoo'. I have them in 'Immortal Charcoal' & 'On and on bronze', and use them with gold/black eye shadow going over the top usually. Quite a nice product but not outstanding, there is better out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sleuthcity on 12/29/2012 12:45:00 AM more reviews by Sleuthcity

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Even with a primer these are not good value especially in Australia where we pay double the price than everywhere else it seems. Creases even with a primer. Forget 24 hours. Creases in half a hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products