Hard Candy • Sheer Envy Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(357 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sassenachtiff on 4/25/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by sassenachtiff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this primer, but unfortunately, it didn't work for my combination skin. It applies well--I really liked the texture, even though it's necessary to shake the tube since the formula tends to separate. However, once applied on my skin, it seemed to accentuate the dry patches on my cheeks. I thought maybe it was the face wash I'd been using, so I stopped using Sheer Envy temporarily and went back to using it after I had been using a different face wash for a while. But I got the same results--the primer made my dry areas more noticeable. I'm pretty bummed, since the price is great and it works well for others. Unfortunately, it just didn't work for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessibean on 4/23/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Jessibean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product does what it says it will, and is very cost effective. I bought it to hide the pores on my T-zone, and it does that just fine. I use revlon colourstay so I've never had issues with my foundation coming off, so I can't really say if this makes it last longer unfortunately. It does not make a noticeable different in oil control either, but It definitely does not creat grease problems on me like some other reviewer's have claimed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Piggie8 on 4/22/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Piggie8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The product itself is really good, my make up doesn't wear off and lasts all day and the texture is awesome. HOWEVER, it gave me horrible breakouts. I didn't just get a few whiteheads or something, I got the deep huge zits under the skin with no heads and a TON of them. I've never experienced ANYTHING like that with a product. Weeks after I took this back, I was still dealing with the remains of what it did to me. I'd like to give it more lippies because its a great primer, but the fact that it made me break out like that is pretty unacceptable to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snake_hips on 4/19/2011 7:36:00 PM more reviews by snake_hips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was buying Hard Candy a gazillion years ago when the prices were 3 times as much and I'm happy to say that the quality is still there. I wish like crazy it was sold somewhere besides Sprawlmart, however. I am hooked, so I guess they'll get me back in the store this way! The Sheer Envy primer is amazing on my combination skin. It makes my Colorstay foundation glide on and blend so easily, keeps me matte, and keeps me from having makeup meltdown. I'm going to be relying on this all summer. You cannot beat the price and the tube is cute and easy to use. I'm glad I got to try this in the cute kit I bought that had other nifty things to try like the plumping gloss and the baked blush. Great stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FairlyVanilla on 4/14/2011 7:45:00 AM more reviews by FairlyVanilla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Green    

The primer I use the most is probablt E.L.F.'s mineral primer -- it works great, and is a great price, especially when you use a coupon code on it. BUT -- it's inconvenient because I have to wait to have it shipped to Calgary (Canada) AND the packaging is HORRID.

I mention this, because one of the reasons I very much like Hard Candy's primer is the packaging. It's in a TUBE, and that's how ALL primers should be! I hate that E.L.F.'s is in that stupid hard plastic pump. After you've use 1/2 the product, the pump can no longer pump any primer out because it's so thick, so you end up having to unscrew the cap and try and scoop the primer out using the stick from the pump. Which sucks. -_____-

So, I was looking forward to using HC's primer in a TUBE, and I quite like it. I admit, I DO prefer the thicker, smoother consistency of E.L.F.'s primer, or The Body Shop, Gosh (which is quite thick and comes in a jar). BUT -- for only $7 bucks, I'll take it! It's convenient for me to pick up at Walmart, and the tube is a good size. I've had my tube for almost a month now, and it still seems full to me, so I think this will last much longer than other primers I've used.

I saw some of the reviews complained about the product separating -- I haven't had that problem. I just give it a really good shake before I squeeze any product out, and it's working well for me so far.

I do recommend giving this primer a try -- the price point, quality, and packaging (tube) are great. I wear my E.L.F. mineral concealer (foundation) over this, and I get great results! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MelBehll on 4/10/2011 7:05:00 PM more reviews by MelBehll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased this primer time and time again. It's the perfect price for a poor college student's wallet, and provides amazing coverage and better foundation application.

I pair this with any of my MAC foundations (Face and Body is the one I've been using the most during the warmer seasons and Studio Fix powder for lazy days) and it looks and feels great!

I think the biggest thing about this primer is that the foundation never feels like it's settling in my pores. I feel like it creates this silicone barrier between my skin and the foundation that keeps it from breaking me out (granted i wash my face properly at the end of the day.)

Great for beginners and those who don't ask for much from a primer but a cheap price and a lot of product (in comparison to the revlon primers I hear a lot about.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pao256 on 4/7/2011 5:57:00 PM more reviews by pao256

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Have oily skin and are looking for a good primer to keep your make up looking matte or on, then seriously get this. It keeps my makeup looking matte even though i live in an area with high humidity. It is a gel like formula, spreads well, has no reaction to my skin, and keeps my makeup looking fresh. Most primers don't work for me but amazingly this did. I was not expecting very much from this product. Overall, it exceeded my expectations. Can't really remember the price ten dollars I believe, and a little goes a long way meaning that it will last me forever. This turned me into a Hard Candy fan, incredibly high quality. I would even pay much more for this product. Will soon be trying out other hard candy products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cheerbabe1 on 4/4/2011 10:55:00 AM more reviews by cheerbabe1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

if you are looking for a good drugstore primer buy this . good for begginers

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Peacefulove on 4/3/2011 5:15:00 AM more reviews by Peacefulove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hard Candy was one of my favorite brands back in the UK and not cheap so I was amazed to see it in stock for at my local Walmart at bargain prices. This is the first time I have used their primer and after a week of using it I have no complaints. I have very sensitive combination skin that breaks out easily especially when trying a new product on it, after a week of using this my skin has not broken out nor reacted badly. It makes my skin feel very smooth, reduces the size of my pores and makes my makeup look flawless. Since using this my skin has been less oily with Makeup and it helps my foundation and powder stay in place much better than without, usually by mid morning my t zone gets shiny but not with this primer underneath. The texture does feel a little strange at first but it goes on the skin well and you only need a very small amount. Highly recommend and will be buying again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CeeSan on 4/3/2011 1:26:00 AM more reviews by CeeSan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've never used a primer before, but my t-zone gets very oily, and the mattifying powders I was using had a hard time staying on. So reading up on primers, I wanted to find a cheap one that would do a decent job. Bought this primer at wal-mart for 8 cdn. Using it for 2 months and definitely would buy again. Thank u for the tips to shake before use to avoid the greasy feeling, as well as letting the primer dry before applying any makeup. Helps my powder stay on, if I wear in the morning, don't have to blot or touch up until dinner. Makes my skin appear smooth and I only have to use a pea size amount. This didn't break me out, nothing negative to say about it. Price yay, packaging is convenient squeeze bottle, price? Cheap. Try it! U have nothing to lose

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Primer/ Corrector products