Hard Candy • Sheer Envy Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(365 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Tammee on 5/9/2011 4:17:00 PM more reviews by Tammee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample tube of this and.. I'm not sure if it's because this is a sample and it's different from the original size or what, but this didn't do anything for me except smooth out my skin. I was hoping for oil control but I didn't get any at all. Silicone based primers usually don't work well on me- they encourage oil rather than prevent it so I wasn't expecting much. This product didn't work for me at all, sadly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MarissaBellaa on 5/9/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by MarissaBellaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ive owned this product for about aa month and a half. It was PERFECT for me, my oily skin was under control, foundation blended better, and my skin looked great.
It is definitely light weight, and makes my skin soft.
But it started to separate when I had over half the tube left.
It either comes out as white liquid or large clumps. Ive shaken it and everything, but it's completely useless to me now. No oil control, nothing.
I'd read about other people's separating but didn't believe it because I loved it so much
So my advice is to save your money because this just isnt worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 5/7/2011 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i love this primer! i know the last time i looked at the Hard Candy section, they have since came out with 2more primers! i am def interested in trying them once i get thru the one i have. This is for the Sheer Envy Ultra LIght Formula! (i believe that there is an illuminating formula too & i think another one)
The Lightweight formula is def awesome if you like the silicone based primers. if you are more into a gel/lotion formula, then this may not be for you!
This is def a more liquidy formula then the Monistat Anti-Chafing Gel. that is thicker than Hard Candy. this one def needs shaken up real well otherwise you will get some liquid like formula come out. i love HARD CANDY packaging! thats what always gets me everytime. I know that Urban Decay owns Hard Candy and i love both of the companys packaging! they are so cute and cool looking!
This is a white tube with a squeeze top opening. i like that its sanitary and you can squeeze out what you need.
I believe you get around 8oz of product (im not at home to check) and for $8, its def good. (i probably prefer the Monistat since its cheaper & last longer since you only need a little bit & it goes a long way)
If you are looking for a silicone based primer, then you may like this. i have extremely dry skin in winter but right now in summer, its not so dry. its normal to dry skin & ive never had it break me out, it dont clog my pores.
It def helps my foundation go on smoothly. i love the way my face feels after putting on this primer! it feels so smooth. it helps minimize my lines and pores and helps my foundation go on so much easier and more even. it does help keep my foundation on a bit longer than normal but i never ran my test offically which i will be doing soon. so i will update how well it works. i bought this almost over a year ago and i still got half the bottle (i dont use this everyday bc i have a few face primers i use & mix up) you only need about a nickle size or a tiny bit more for your whole face so it will last maybe a few months so its not that bad. i think $1 an ounce does seem a little pricey so if you really like this primer but dont wanna spend that much, try Monistat Ant-chafing gel for around $5-6 its a bit more thicker but its the same type of gel to powder finish!
i love the consistency of both! i figured comparing the two will help! i believe this is def comparable to Smashbox PhotoFinish Primer for almost 1/4 or less of the price! this is def a great alternative for us girls who cannot spend that amount on any makeup!
this will def help if you dont have a face primer! i know primers made a huge difference in my foundation routine. i never liked foundaitons on my until i tried these primers! they made one heck of a difference in the finish, blending, and longevity of them. it saved me so much money bc i was always buying diff foundations thinking that was the problem and now i love trying all the foundations that wouldnt apply right or would blend right with this Sheer Envy! it makes a big difference! i love this! im sorry that so many people are having break out issues with this. ive seen mixed reviews from diff skin types. i think it would work for all skin types but it depends on what kind of skin you have. if you have acne prone skin, def try on a small area at first. ive never had any issues with this and i have dry sensitive skin! i love it! i love the packaging and love the way it changed my foundation routine! i love the price! not to bad!
REPURCHASE FOR SURE!
*update- i have since used this all up and i have repurchased a new one! so thats saying alot since i rarely buy anything more than once (well other makeup like shadows/blushes are hard to get thru) but i def love this primer- i do mix 2 primers together this one + wetnwild intuitive blends fndt (u can find it @drugstores too) & together this makes a great combo for me & id def be lost w/ out Sheer Envy- its really great - soo it could be substituted for Monistat Gel or Lanacane makes one too which all three are basically the same thing- all silicone based & even out any skin impurities like wrinkles, laugh lines, blemishes & does help my fndt stay put & also helps fndts not to oxidize (esp ones like Maybelline bc they always tend to oxidize even on my dry skin) so this makes a barrier between my skin & foundation.. YOU MUST SHAKE THE CRAP OUT OF THIS BEFORE EACH USE!!! for some reason unknown to me, this seperates very fast so to ensure the liquid to mix w/ the gel & for this to work right, i shake shake & shake some more & then shake again!! u will know if its seperated bc liquid will come out immediately instead of a white gel consistency! so id def rate it 5 out of 5!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smellsgood on 5/7/2011 1:31:00 PM more reviews by smellsgood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this primer. I have a ton of primers from smashbox, too faced and fusion (the green one). And this is my favorite by far. I love the texture, which is so smooth like silk and I also love the packaging. Im a fan of anything in a squeeze tube because then you can really get all the product out and you dont have a predetermined amount that may be too much or too little. The only thing that I think may be a negative to some people is that it says its an ultra light formula...and its def not. You will feel this on your face, but to me its a small price to pay for flawless foundation. Its made my cheapy drugstore foundations look high end.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YimK on 5/7/2011 1:14:00 AM more reviews by YimK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wish I could love this product! Because it makes my foundation look flawless, however this made me break out. I don't have particularly sensitive or oily skin and don't break out from most products. I can get this to work if I use it everyday and my skin will get used to it after 2 weeks, but since I have a lot of makeup, I like to switch up my primers and therefore this causes pimples. :( It has an interesting texture. Its very lightweight and feels like a whipped formula. It feels kind of gross at first, but most primers do. This makes me EXTREMELY oily at the end of the day, which is strange because I'm not particularly oily! I think this is best for 2-3 hours of wear so if you're going to dinner with friends and want a flawless look, this would be good. I don't recommend it for long wearing days as I find that my makeup slides off my face with this. I also HATE the product dispenser. It distributes way too much product and I end up wasting a lot. You barely need any of this stuff so I think it will last you forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Wisteria005 on 4/30/2011 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Wisteria005

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this primer. I've never used a primer before so I didn't know what to get. I went on here and YT and saw that alot of people with my skin type liked it, so I figured for $8 it was worth it.

The only thing I liked about this was the formula. It has an interesting texture that feels really good on my hands and when I put it on my face. However, it made my dry spots look worse, and made my face look like an oil slick. Looks good for about five minutes and then just goes down hill. It didn't even make my makeup last any longer. If anything, it made it wear off faster. Don't waste your money on this, it's sooooo not worth it. I will be returning it to Wal Mart today. It's really that bad.

Cheyenne :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkskyequeen on 4/29/2011 10:20:00 PM more reviews by darkskyequeen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this primer for months and it didnt break me out and my makeup glided on smoothly. It also helped control the oils somewhat. I thought it is was my HG primer but then one day I clued in to why my foundation looked ashy on my dark olive skin tone. WHen I stopped using it I noticed better colour match and I looked more alive. Right now I am testing out Mac Prep and Prime spf50 primer. I'm crossing my fingers that it will work out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hancam1030 on 4/25/2011 12:56:00 PM more reviews by hancam1030

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Why does everyone love this stuff? It is disgusting. It is so oily and gross! My skin isn't oily either, so I know its not just my skin. I have the bottle sitting alone in a drawer and the other day I took it out and the container was covered in oil. Maybe I got a bad product but I don't know, I definately won't be buying it again to try it out. It smelt bad and seperated in the container. Gross. It made my foundation look could but I couldn't stand to put it on my face...Just...no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sassenachtiff on 4/25/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by sassenachtiff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this primer, but unfortunately, it didn't work for my combination skin. It applies well--I really liked the texture, even though it's necessary to shake the tube since the formula tends to separate. However, once applied on my skin, it seemed to accentuate the dry patches on my cheeks. I thought maybe it was the face wash I'd been using, so I stopped using Sheer Envy temporarily and went back to using it after I had been using a different face wash for a while. But I got the same results--the primer made my dry areas more noticeable. I'm pretty bummed, since the price is great and it works well for others. Unfortunately, it just didn't work for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessibean on 4/23/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Jessibean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product does what it says it will, and is very cost effective. I bought it to hide the pores on my T-zone, and it does that just fine. I use revlon colourstay so I've never had issues with my foundation coming off, so I can't really say if this makes it last longer unfortunately. It does not make a noticeable different in oil control either, but It definitely does not creat grease problems on me like some other reviewer's have claimed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Primer/ Corrector products