Hard Candy • Sheer Envy Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(362 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 smellsgood on 5/7/2011 1:31:00 PM more reviews by smellsgood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this primer. I have a ton of primers from smashbox, too faced and fusion (the green one). And this is my favorite by far. I love the texture, which is so smooth like silk and I also love the packaging. Im a fan of anything in a squeeze tube because then you can really get all the product out and you dont have a predetermined amount that may be too much or too little. The only thing that I think may be a negative to some people is that it says its an ultra light formula...and its def not. You will feel this on your face, but to me its a small price to pay for flawless foundation. Its made my cheapy drugstore foundations look high end.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YimK on 5/7/2011 1:14:00 AM more reviews by YimK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wish I could love this product! Because it makes my foundation look flawless, however this made me break out. I don't have particularly sensitive or oily skin and don't break out from most products. I can get this to work if I use it everyday and my skin will get used to it after 2 weeks, but since I have a lot of makeup, I like to switch up my primers and therefore this causes pimples. :( It has an interesting texture. Its very lightweight and feels like a whipped formula. It feels kind of gross at first, but most primers do. This makes me EXTREMELY oily at the end of the day, which is strange because I'm not particularly oily! I think this is best for 2-3 hours of wear so if you're going to dinner with friends and want a flawless look, this would be good. I don't recommend it for long wearing days as I find that my makeup slides off my face with this. I also HATE the product dispenser. It distributes way too much product and I end up wasting a lot. You barely need any of this stuff so I think it will last you forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Wisteria005 on 4/30/2011 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Wisteria005

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this primer. I've never used a primer before so I didn't know what to get. I went on here and YT and saw that alot of people with my skin type liked it, so I figured for $8 it was worth it.

The only thing I liked about this was the formula. It has an interesting texture that feels really good on my hands and when I put it on my face. However, it made my dry spots look worse, and made my face look like an oil slick. Looks good for about five minutes and then just goes down hill. It didn't even make my makeup last any longer. If anything, it made it wear off faster. Don't waste your money on this, it's sooooo not worth it. I will be returning it to Wal Mart today. It's really that bad.

Cheyenne :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkskyequeen on 4/29/2011 10:20:00 PM more reviews by darkskyequeen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this primer for months and it didnt break me out and my makeup glided on smoothly. It also helped control the oils somewhat. I thought it is was my HG primer but then one day I clued in to why my foundation looked ashy on my dark olive skin tone. WHen I stopped using it I noticed better colour match and I looked more alive. Right now I am testing out Mac Prep and Prime spf50 primer. I'm crossing my fingers that it will work out for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hancam1030 on 4/25/2011 12:56:00 PM more reviews by hancam1030

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Why does everyone love this stuff? It is disgusting. It is so oily and gross! My skin isn't oily either, so I know its not just my skin. I have the bottle sitting alone in a drawer and the other day I took it out and the container was covered in oil. Maybe I got a bad product but I don't know, I definately won't be buying it again to try it out. It smelt bad and seperated in the container. Gross. It made my foundation look could but I couldn't stand to put it on my face...Just...no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sassenachtiff on 4/25/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by sassenachtiff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this primer, but unfortunately, it didn't work for my combination skin. It applies well--I really liked the texture, even though it's necessary to shake the tube since the formula tends to separate. However, once applied on my skin, it seemed to accentuate the dry patches on my cheeks. I thought maybe it was the face wash I'd been using, so I stopped using Sheer Envy temporarily and went back to using it after I had been using a different face wash for a while. But I got the same results--the primer made my dry areas more noticeable. I'm pretty bummed, since the price is great and it works well for others. Unfortunately, it just didn't work for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessibean on 4/23/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Jessibean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product does what it says it will, and is very cost effective. I bought it to hide the pores on my T-zone, and it does that just fine. I use revlon colourstay so I've never had issues with my foundation coming off, so I can't really say if this makes it last longer unfortunately. It does not make a noticeable different in oil control either, but It definitely does not creat grease problems on me like some other reviewer's have claimed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Piggie8 on 4/22/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Piggie8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The product itself is really good, my make up doesn't wear off and lasts all day and the texture is awesome. HOWEVER, it gave me horrible breakouts. I didn't just get a few whiteheads or something, I got the deep huge zits under the skin with no heads and a TON of them. I've never experienced ANYTHING like that with a product. Weeks after I took this back, I was still dealing with the remains of what it did to me. I'd like to give it more lippies because its a great primer, but the fact that it made me break out like that is pretty unacceptable to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snake_hips on 4/19/2011 7:36:00 PM more reviews by snake_hips

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was buying Hard Candy a gazillion years ago when the prices were 3 times as much and I'm happy to say that the quality is still there. I wish like crazy it was sold somewhere besides Sprawlmart, however. I am hooked, so I guess they'll get me back in the store this way! The Sheer Envy primer is amazing on my combination skin. It makes my Colorstay foundation glide on and blend so easily, keeps me matte, and keeps me from having makeup meltdown. I'm going to be relying on this all summer. You cannot beat the price and the tube is cute and easy to use. I'm glad I got to try this in the cute kit I bought that had other nifty things to try like the plumping gloss and the baked blush. Great stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FairlyVanilla on 4/14/2011 7:45:00 AM more reviews by FairlyVanilla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Green    

The primer I use the most is probablt E.L.F.'s mineral primer -- it works great, and is a great price, especially when you use a coupon code on it. BUT -- it's inconvenient because I have to wait to have it shipped to Calgary (Canada) AND the packaging is HORRID.

I mention this, because one of the reasons I very much like Hard Candy's primer is the packaging. It's in a TUBE, and that's how ALL primers should be! I hate that E.L.F.'s is in that stupid hard plastic pump. After you've use 1/2 the product, the pump can no longer pump any primer out because it's so thick, so you end up having to unscrew the cap and try and scoop the primer out using the stick from the pump. Which sucks. -_____-

So, I was looking forward to using HC's primer in a TUBE, and I quite like it. I admit, I DO prefer the thicker, smoother consistency of E.L.F.'s primer, or The Body Shop, Gosh (which is quite thick and comes in a jar). BUT -- for only $7 bucks, I'll take it! It's convenient for me to pick up at Walmart, and the tube is a good size. I've had my tube for almost a month now, and it still seems full to me, so I think this will last much longer than other primers I've used.

I saw some of the reviews complained about the product separating -- I haven't had that problem. I just give it a really good shake before I squeeze any product out, and it's working well for me so far.

I do recommend giving this primer a try -- the price point, quality, and packaging (tube) are great. I wear my E.L.F. mineral concealer (foundation) over this, and I get great results! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Primer/ Corrector products