Burt's Bees • Beeswax Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 3.7(3535 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 calgirl on 4/5/2008 1:25:00 AM more reviews by calgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

In my childhood and teenage years, I was addicted to cherry Chapstick. Then sometime during college, my lips became completely allergic to it and would always crack, peel, and bleed. I tried all other brands of lip balm--Blistex, Alba--you name it, I've tried it. They all made my lips bleed.

Burt's is the only brand I've found that doesn't irritate my lips. I think it is because it is the only one without SPF. I like this because it is natural and I don't like the stickiness/slickness of lip glosses. When I don't use it, my lips become very dry. I do notice though that my lips are never as soft as they used to be when I had used Chapstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Viglen on 4/4/2008 10:29:00 AM more reviews by Viglen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It may be au natural but its not very hydrating. It just covers your lips in a waxy film and thats it. It doesnt leave a nice shiny glossy feel which is disappointing too. I love lipbalms that have a fresh mint feel about them, but this is overpowering and can sting at times. I wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rags227 on 4/3/2008 5:47:00 PM more reviews by rags227

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Does not hydrate at all. It feels soothing when you first apply it, but the feeling doesn't last long. You can definately feel the beeswax once your lips start to dry... not a confident feeling. And I don't like the fact that the wax doesn't come off when i wash my face at night. It feels like I have to exfoliate my lips because they're left kinda sticky. The ingredients are awesome though. I got this about 6 months ago and I still have plenty left in the tube. I used it almost everyday, but I recently got tired of the icky feeling it was leaving behind. Wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JMIC on 4/3/2008 5:17:00 PM more reviews by JMIC

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This makes my lips feel really nice and smells very minty. I noticed it has menthol in it which is probably a bad thing, but I haven't noticed any irritation. The balm in the tin is very hard and you really have to soften it up to get it on your lips. However, the effort is worth it because my lips have stayed soft for a while now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Primmadonna on 4/2/2008 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Primmadonna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this. My lips are really chapped during winter and this is the only thing that helpes me survive. Its leaves my lips soft and minty which helps to cover up my red onion sandwiches! The only think i didn't like is that sometimes it melts and becomes really soft. But besides that I really like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 4/1/2008 7:43:00 PM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

"People who like this sort of thing will find that this is the sort of thing they like."


If you love love love mint, that'll probably be enough to turn your crank with this product. I'm not a mint fan, particularly, and I found it irritating and overwhelming. The texture wasn't to my taste either, being more reminiscent of Chapstick than the smooth, rich but shiny balms I prefer.


If you're a loyal Burt's Bees junkie (although I don't know why you would be now that Clorox owns them) and looking for a smoother glossier lip balm without a suffocating flavor or scent, the Pomegranate one isn't bad. All of them are overpriced, though. There are a lot of really nice non-petroleum lip alternatives (Sun Dog being top of my personal list) and it's kind of a shame that BB's seems to be the only one on so many people's radar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wishbone317 on 3/29/2008 5:50:00 PM more reviews by wishbone317

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Again, if you love mint, you will love this product! My husband and I are both addicted. We've gone through so many tubes in the last few years. We've even bought them in multiples! Definite cooling, tingling mint feel. We use it every morning and night, and sometimes in between. I noticed some people think it's waxy, but we don't. Maybe we're just used to the feel? Anyway, this is a must for us!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Hollsannfree on 3/29/2008 12:47:00 PM more reviews by Hollsannfree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

In an effort to slowly start living a more natural lifestyle I thought I would try a few Burt's Bees products. I was initially dissapointed with this one, and it just got worse. The balm is too firm and and waxy, hard to even get out of pot. It's too waxy on the lips as well. It just sat on top and didn't make my lips feel anything but waxy. To top it off it gave me a huge zit beside my mouth, twice in the same spot. You'd think I'd learn.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allysonrae on 3/29/2008 7:46:00 AM more reviews by allysonrae

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Addicted!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chiyo_no_saru on 3/28/2008 12:09:00 PM more reviews by chiyo_no_saru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

This is pretty good--it tastes lovely, but it always just felt like it was coating my lips in wax (which it was) and not actually doing anything for the condition of my lips.

I use it under lipstick or stuff when I need a real smooth shiny surface, which works pretty well, but otherwise, I just don't use it. Doesn't do enough for me--which is a shame, because it smells SO GOOD.

My boyfriend also hates the way it feels when I kiss him with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products