Burt's Bees • Beeswax Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 3.7(3567 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 misspoppy on 5/2/2008 9:49:00 PM more reviews by misspoppy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i have just started using this product. i use to use smith's rosebud salve but found it contained petroleum so i stopped using it! so far this product has helped my lips i really like the tingly feeling and the mint isn't too overpowering. i also like the fact there are no mystery ingredients listed, you know exactly what's going in this product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JLB2005 on 4/30/2008 10:25:00 PM more reviews by JLB2005

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Did not care for this. It is a bit hard and waxy. I liked the minty aspect, but that's it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fluppydog on 4/29/2008 4:31:00 PM more reviews by fluppydog

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Nice product. Smells good and works well on slightly dry lips but I found the Burt's Bees Replenishing lip balm with pomegranate oil to be a lot more effective on really dry cracked lips. I couldnt find anything to stop my lips from cracking during this last harsh Canadian winter untill I found this. Has a really nice slight pink tone too, looks good but is subtle enough for a guy to use. I found all the Burt's Bees lip balms also work well as cuticle moisturizers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 meropale on 4/27/2008 6:13:00 PM more reviews by meropale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to love this stuff.. simply because I didn't know anybetter products.
This stuff smells amazing... but that's about it.
It doesn't heal my chapped lips (it actually made it even more chapped)
I won't be buying anymore burt's products in the future.

I'm using Blistex Medex right now. 100x better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smurfkitten on 4/27/2008 7:27:00 AM more reviews by smurfkitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love the tingly feeling your lips get from the peppermint when you apply this. It's just tingly enough without being unpleasant! Feels very fresh. Great for moisturizing dry lips. A must-have for me during the winter. I'll repurchase. Here are the amazing ingredients for anyone who is interested: beeswax, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, tocopheryl acetate, lanolin, symphytum officinale (comfrey) root extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil, tocopherol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MediterraneanX on 4/27/2008 7:21:00 AM more reviews by MediterraneanX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Not moisturising enough for my lips in cold England winters, smelt good though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bloomingiris on 4/26/2008 12:20:00 AM more reviews by bloomingiris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This lip balm was not emollient enough to keep my dry, chapped lips moisturized. It also didn't glide on well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 abbottcm on 4/25/2008 7:02:00 PM more reviews by abbottcm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't care for this at all. The peppermint stuff actually made my lips feel like they were burning. Plus, it didn't last on my lips very long at all. I felt like I constantly needed to reapply and it really didn't feel all moistuizing. I'll stick with either Carmex or Smith's Rosebud Salve.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scarattina on 4/24/2008 7:26:00 PM more reviews by scarattina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

DOES NOT HEAL. I know this but keep buying it because i LOVE the smell!! I buy the honey lip balm and it just smells amazing, i use it when i'm with my boyfriend bc the honey scent is a little bit sexy ;> it, unfortunately tends to make my lips more chapped bc it doesnt heal, kind of cracks them and brings attention to that if they are already chapped. chapstick brand makes my chapped lips undistinguishable and heals a LOT better.... i could never give up on that sweet honey scent though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 flossyglam on 4/24/2008 7:23:00 PM more reviews by flossyglam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I'm genuinely surprised to find that there are actually people who are dissatisfied with this product! I guess it depends on what you like and what you're used to, but since finding Burt's Bees three years ago, I haven't yet found another lip balm that comes close. If you've never tried the original balm before, here's what to expect; first off the consistency is a lot different than most lip balms. It has a kind of thick, almost tacky feel to it compared to Chapstick and others which just melt right on. However, once it's on, it's on (and it does sink in a little more). It doesn't evaporate and leave your skin feeling dryer than ever--your lips will enjoy constant conditioning for several hours. Secondly, it contains peppermint extract which will make your lips tingle or feel cool for a while (personally I enjoy the sensation, but I can see how it would throw some people off) and make you smell like you're eating minty gum (which can't be a bad thing). And lastly, I love the packaging. The yellow tube is simple and unisex, which means it's a lot easier to turn my boyfriend on to it. My only complaint is it is slightly pricey for my cheap ways (around $3 a tube), and it doesn't completely heal my chapped lips. Still, I have yet to find a better alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products