Burt's Bees • Beeswax Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 3.7(3558 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 flossyglam on 4/24/2008 7:23:00 PM more reviews by flossyglam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I'm genuinely surprised to find that there are actually people who are dissatisfied with this product! I guess it depends on what you like and what you're used to, but since finding Burt's Bees three years ago, I haven't yet found another lip balm that comes close. If you've never tried the original balm before, here's what to expect; first off the consistency is a lot different than most lip balms. It has a kind of thick, almost tacky feel to it compared to Chapstick and others which just melt right on. However, once it's on, it's on (and it does sink in a little more). It doesn't evaporate and leave your skin feeling dryer than ever--your lips will enjoy constant conditioning for several hours. Secondly, it contains peppermint extract which will make your lips tingle or feel cool for a while (personally I enjoy the sensation, but I can see how it would throw some people off) and make you smell like you're eating minty gum (which can't be a bad thing). And lastly, I love the packaging. The yellow tube is simple and unisex, which means it's a lot easier to turn my boyfriend on to it. My only complaint is it is slightly pricey for my cheap ways (around $3 a tube), and it doesn't completely heal my chapped lips. Still, I have yet to find a better alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lukesmamamia on 4/23/2008 10:33:00 PM more reviews by lukesmamamia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

Not worth the price or the aggravation it must cause the bees. I expected it to be at least a little special. It's got that pepperminty zing for a minute, then it's like you didn't apply it at all. Chapstick's better. And about a third of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannax33 on 4/23/2008 5:28:00 PM more reviews by hannax33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

it's not the best. i like chapstick better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 candle on 4/23/2008 12:21:00 PM more reviews by candle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is not very good. My blistex or chap sticks were better. It feels good going on but does not last and therefore does not keep your lips from getting chapped. You have to reapply a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Honeybunnie8 on 4/22/2008 12:39:00 PM more reviews by Honeybunnie8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this lip balm. It is to thick and waxy and it doesn't feel like it hydrates my lips at all. You can feel it tingle from the peppermint oil, that feels nice but thats not a reason to get a lip balm. Vaseline is better then this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilchibirene on 4/21/2008 1:15:00 PM more reviews by lilchibirene

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

Ok, so i know all of the other people love this product, but i am not that happy with the product. The bees wax totally throws off the lip balm. It didn't mosturize or help my mouth. Overall i think Capstick is better but not the heavy kind (that smells like medicine) but the light cherry kind is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahhiitsalex on 4/20/2008 8:21:00 PM more reviews by ahhiitsalex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Best Chapstick ever. Makes my lips feel minty fresh while minty fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glossybaby on 4/20/2008 5:57:00 AM more reviews by glossybaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this balm! It moisturizes really really well and its pretty cheap. Plus i love the tingle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kiwigirly on 4/19/2008 9:26:00 PM more reviews by kiwigirly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this lip balm for about 3 years and it is the best!!! wayyy better than Chapstick, which does nothing and has that medicene smell. This Burt's balm is fresh and minty, your lips are left soft, smooth, and not cracked anymore! Best lip balm ever!
*Edited *- I just bought BB fruit lip glosses and they are much more moisturizing! I have to reapply way less than I did with this balm! but, I will always need just a good lip balm (in a tube) so, I will probably buy this again since I just lost my old one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tracifacey on 4/19/2008 8:32:00 PM more reviews by tracifacey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This chapstick is GREAT. My absolute favorite. IT is hard for me to even comprehend reading that people do not like this chapstick. My one problem with it, is that it is VERY addicting. Even though I love this, my advice to others would be to not start, because you won't stop. Everytime I stop using it, my lips crack and bleed from being dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products