Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1664 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ophilia on 8/12/2003 6:54:00 PM more reviews by ophilia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

No effect at all. A waste of money. My first Phil product, probably never use the brand again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BittyB on 7/24/2003 3:04:00 AM more reviews by BittyB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Good stuff! I have been using it for a week and can already tell a difference in the brightness and fine lines. It can be a tad greasy, so I put it on lightly for the day. The only problem is the smell which is a strong plastic smell that lingers for awhile..yuck

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeUpJunky7 on 7/20/2003 11:00:00 PM more reviews by MakeUpJunky7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great moisturizer for normal/combination skin! I have smooth, glowing skin after using this for awhile in combination with Prescriptive's Vibrant. I agree that the smell could be improved upon but it won't turn me away from buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fairylis on 7/18/2003 3:54:00 PM more reviews by fairylis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A good moisturizer for normal to oily skin but it didn't do anything for my acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julierabe on 7/14/2003 3:45:00 PM more reviews by Julierabe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I guess I am weird. I LOVE the smell of this moisturizer. I am not sensitive at all, but usually may have a break out or two when using a new product. Not so with this. I use it with Purity, On a Clear Day Blemish Gel, Help Me at night, and The Present for foundation primer. All are wonderful, although I think the Help me, at$45, is too pricey. So far, I haven't seen too much from that one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kitsune on 7/13/2003 8:38:00 PM more reviews by kitsune

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually like Philosophy products, though I rarely buy them, as they seem to be a case of very clever marketing and equally clever markup to me. I got this moisturizer as part of a gift, and was excited to try it. For some reason, the "medicine-y" smell of some Philosophy skin treatments doesn't bother me. HOWEVER -- this gave me the first (and hopefully last) cosmetic rash I have *ever* had! I've been moisturizing + using makeup since I was a teenager -- my combo skin is not at all sensitive, and I am not aware of any allergies. But within 2 days of using this moisturizer, I developed little itchy bumps on my nose and forehead. At first I was bewildered, because as I said, I've never had an allergic reaction in (mumble mumble) years. But I finally figured out that it must be contact dermatitis of some kind. The moisturizer was the only thing I'd changed in my routine, so I took it out to see if the rash would go away. After a few itchy days, it did fade. As another test, I tried a swipe of the Philosophy moisturizer on my inner wrist one night, and lo and behold, itchy bumps by the end of the next day. I'm tempted to say that anything that would give unsensitive *me* a rash CAN'T be good, but I would guess that it must work for some people. ;) I don't seem to have a reaction to other AHAs or even Philosophy's related Sole Survivor or Time On Your Hands creams, so it's got to be something specific in this moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jodie_h_98 on 7/9/2003 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Jodie_h_98

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This stuff makes my skin GLOW! I never even noticed the smell....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 VeneziaQuintana on 7/9/2003 2:19:00 PM more reviews by VeneziaQuintana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cute name for an awful product! I did not find the quality of this moisturizer particularly wonderful nor did I appreciate the horrid melted-plastic smell. Moving on...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 raogle on 6/15/2003 8:14:00 AM more reviews by raogle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The morning after I tried this product for the first time, I woke up with a horrible rash on my face. By the next day, my face was so swolen that my eyes were nearly shut. I love trying new products and have never had this happen. Luckily, I purchased it from QVC and was able to get my $$ back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chaki on 6/12/2003 9:23:00 PM more reviews by chaki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Thank goodness I just got this is a sample and didn't shell out the $ for this garbage! I used the sample and Presto! within hours I had several lovely whiteheads on my chin. I contacted Philosophy about this and the rep said my skin was "purging" out the impurities in my skin b/c of the lactic acid. Nice try sweetheart, I was already using a lactic acid and it never meade me break out like this. Avoid this product or if you're still tempted, get a sample.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products