Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3392 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/2/2008 11:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Proactiv made my skin very dry, flakey, red and irritating. I used it for about 2 weeks before i decided that it just wasnt working for me. Maybe i didn't stick to it long enough? But it was too harsh on my skin.
BUT the mask that comes with it, is actually REALLY NICE! Im doing what most of the other girls have been doing, which is to not use all the products but just pick one that actually does something for your skin and add that to your skincare routine! So i really noticed some positive differences with the mask! (it can be a little drying but MOISTURIZE afterwards)



on 7/1/2008 10:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I was in middle school, I had seriously oily skin with loads of inflamed pustules. I tried Proactiv for a year and I can tell you from experience that Proactiv is crap in a bottle. It dried out my skin to the point where it bled whenever I played my flute and it even caused my skin to develop red, raw patches on my nose and chin (even though I was using the daily moisture/sunscreen). I will never want to touch this product ever again! D:<


on 6/30/2008 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product took two months for me to start noticing results.

I was using it for over seven months.

I took a break for about four days and the acne came back.

I continued to use it long after my break, but the acne became MUCH worse than before. I stopped using it, and I am still recovering. (all of this happened over a year and a half ago.)

So I am assuming that you MUST be consistant with Pro Activ?


on 6/29/2008 12:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

First of all I would like to point out to people who are afraid to try this product because it
"breaks you out more", that this is a very harsh system, so its gunna bust the hell out of your acne, and before your skin can clear up, it has to go through a purging period so that the nasty stuff can clear out of your skin, therefore some new things may come to a surface in order to actually CLEAR your skin, so don't be put off. It should only be temporary. And allow at least a few weeks to see results, as that is typical. Of course everyone is different as is their skin so some people may see results before or after others.

Anyways, my mom, my sister and myself all swear by this product, my mom and I both have exremely oily skin, and my sister has VERY dry skin, and this product has worked wonder at clearing up all my acne. My only complaint for this product is that they claim it will last you 2 monthes until your next shipment, I have been using this stuff for years and have never once gotten the full 2 month use out of it!


on 6/27/2008 7:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i used this for 1 month daily saw no results just dry red skin
i bought this 2 years ago before they had the green tree moisturizer


on 6/26/2008 7:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Ok so I have been using this for about 3 weeks or so, and by far it has been working for my skin, its worked more than any other product I've ever used. I dont have sever acne, i have like a pimple of my forhead then one n my cheek and on chin, but what I do have is dark spots, from past acne and that realllly pisses me off, cus if it werent for those scars I would basically have pretty clear skin. This system really does work, I know for a fact because last week I had a huge pimple on my cheek and within two days it was totally gone, and that is great, and all I was left with was a dumb little scar. Anyway this system is working for me, I only gave it a four cus I have been using it only for three weeks so I stil need to use it for more time to actually see the results then I wil update on my results....I will repurchase to keep my skin healthy, and nice looking.


on 6/25/2008 5:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Actually my daughter used this and it did nothing for her face. Granted she is a teenager, but we had to go to the dermatogolist for her acne and ProActive did not work for her. She likes the lotion part of the system and wants to try the refining mask, but definitely not the cleanser and toner again!!


on 6/25/2008 2:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The first time I tried Pro Activ was about 3 years ago. I can't say I was unhappy with it, I actually liked it a lot. It helped clear up my skin, but I was also taking a prescription medication from my dermatologist, so I don't know how much credit I can give Pro Activ. Anyway, no complaints. The second time around, which was last summer it did absolutely nothing for me! Nothing at all. Like others had said, it even made my skin worse! When I went to the dermatologist, he told me Pro Activ is nothing special...their only active ingredient is the same as the ones you find in OTC products. So, I switched to Neutrogena and love it. I am so happy with it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I guess I'm one of the only ones who would really recommend trying this product. I'll list my pros & cons though.
Pros
- cleared up my spots within 2 weeks
- made my skintone even within 2 weeks (my doctor thought I had rosacea my face was so red, and Pro Activ made the redness COMPLETELY disappear)
- I got compliments on my skin ALL THE TIME when I was using this
- As soon as I stopped using it, my skin became overly sensitive like it used to be, and full of spots. It wasn't my age that made my skin get better, it was the product.
- the cleanser exfoliates WONDERFULLY
Cons
- the lotion is very VERY drying and will make your skin peel. I only used it at night, and even then I mixed it with a night cream
- after about 6 years of using the product, I found I would break out very rarely, but that concerned me because in those 6 years I had never once had a breakout. However when I stopped using Pro Activ altogether my skin got much worse. I'm going back to it as soon as possible, just waiting for my shipment.

Maybe this product worked for me because my acne was not severe, just mild/moderate, and the biggest problem was pigmentation. I'm not sure, all I know is that I am in love with it (so long as it continues to work for me once I start using it again!)

[EDIT] This company has screwed up my order for the last time (they are SO FRUSTRATING). I will not be going back to this product. I've been trying natural and/or super cheap skincare products (aspirin mask, regular Dove soap, etc) and my skin is already getting better.
Don't spend your money on Proactiv. I'm taking away my 4 lippies and leaving 2 because it's just not worth the money.

[EDIT AGAIN] After struggling with volatile skin, occasional hormonal breakouts, and just generally an uneven complexion, I have gone back to Proactiv. And it is performing WONDERFULLY for me. The company is behaving a bit better which I appreciate. I am replacing my 4 lippies because even though it is expensive, and the company did screw up once or twice, this product worked for me CONSISTENTLY for SIX YEARS (with one month overall of inconsistency). I think that's worth it. And now that I'm back to it, my skin is baby smooth, completely clear, and looking wonderful.
VERY IMPORTANT: DO NOT USE THE LOTION AS A MOISTURIZER. It is NOT a moisturizer. It is an acne repair cream.

[EDIT AGAIN AGAIN] Well after years of going back and forth, I just can't figure out what's going on. I'm 28 with acne at times, dry skin at others, sometimes both, sometimes oil... Pro Activ does help most of the time but then sometimes it doesn't. So yeah. Three lippies because WHAT IS GOING ON!? It's so up and down! I'm sad that after 6 years of religious use this product started going wishy-washy on me, but what can you do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2008 12:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

expensive, harsh, and doesn't work at all. wasted my money, and even made my skin break out even MORE.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
178 Reviews
Fix+
1271 Reviews
Grapeseed Oil
141 Reviews
Unblemish
37 Reviews
3 Step System
1375 Reviews
Back to Top