Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3362 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 krysmichele on 6/4/2008 10:40:00 AM more reviews by krysmichele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I tried pro-activ for awhile but I never saw the results that it advertised and I'll never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hayley84 on 6/4/2008 2:45:00 AM more reviews by hayley84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Proactiv works!!! I have tried so many products over the years and this really does work - you just need to give it time and tailor the regime to your skin. I don't use the cleanser as it stripped my skin and it smells disgusting. So, I wash my face with a clean wash cloth or Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream Cleanser. I then apply the toner (morning and night) and repairing lotion (only at night). When I first started with proactive my skin was flaky and red. Now, it is even toned, incredibly smooth and no acne or pimples. I moisturise day and night with Environ products, these products contain suncreens, antioxidants and most importantly Vitamin A.

If you are serious about your skin I would recommend reading The Acne Cure by Dr Dubrow. The first 4 chapters detail the importance of various skincare ingredients & strength required to clear acne. Proactiv may be expensive but the products contain active ingredients at the right levels to help your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emmarque on 6/3/2008 4:55:00 PM more reviews by emmarque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

DON'T BUY THIS STUFF...IT MAKES YOU BREAKOUT EVEN MORE!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pink1223 on 6/1/2008 3:01:00 AM more reviews by pink1223

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Proactiv. I have used it two different times in my life, the first being in high school. I wouldn't say that I've ever been super acne prone, but I wanted my skin to be consistently clear. Needless to say, I really didn't like this stuff in high school. I didn't feel like it did much for me except make my skin more sensitive! So I stopped. Then, I tried it again a year or so back, and I love it. Isn't that odd? I don't use it every day, just during a breakout usually, but it clears up whatever I've got going really quick. It makes my skin really soft too, and seems to even it all out. I love the stuff as a fix, but like I said, I don't use it every day. I think it does exactly what it claims, for me at least. And I have a good few friends that use it loyally as well. The one drawback for me though: it makes my skin super sensitive to the sun. Like I have olive skin and usually don't burn much, but this stuff will turn me red quick. Use a sunscreen FOR SURE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MusicalAmanda on 5/30/2008 2:58:00 PM more reviews by MusicalAmanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had a problem with this for two reasons. 1. Far too expensive for what it is 2. Far too harsh for most skin-types. The main ingrediant that makes it successful for some people is benxoyl peroxide (which kills acne causing bacteria.) However, you can purchase products with benzoyl peroxide for FAR cheaper than Pro Activ. Also, the system has you use a cleanser, toner, and "moisturizer" all with benzoyl peroxide-- this just asking for trouble. Most individuals with acne prone skin also have sensitive skin. The kit generally just irritates sensitive skin (redness, peeling, flaking, drying) while getting minimal results for 40 dollars a pop.
I saw no difference between this and any of the drug store acne kits available for half the price. While it did help with my acne-- marginally--it made my face constantly red. (I would rather have a little more acne then feel like a beet.) I also found my skin flaking and peeling. It was extremely gross-more so than the actual acne.
My advice--skip this. It is NO better than any drug store stuff out there. If you want to try one of the gimmicy acne kits-- buy neutrogena, clean and clear, L'oreal, CVS, Walgreen brand kits. It is far cheaper and does the same exact thing.

After years of buying into all of the acne kit hype and trying nearly all of them, I found a retinols to be very affective(Differin/Retin A) they speed up cell turnover leading to less blocked pores. It has made less acne and a smoother 'glowing' look to my skin (though expensive and only available via perscription.) Using that at night and a little benzoyl peroxide in the morning under make-up has kept my very oily/acne prone skin under control. This routine is expensive-especially if you don't have insurance. But a tube of differin ($130 without insurance) lasts for 4-5 months--all in all it is about the same as pro activ (40+ a month) --except you actually get results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 2lilmonkees on 5/30/2008 1:50:00 PM more reviews by 2lilmonkees

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

this step system worked wonders on my face B4 i got preggo. i couldnt use it during my pregnancy. so after i ressumed, HORRIBLE. it was like i was immune to it. got preggo again. couldnt use, again. had baby #2 and even worse results than B4. i HATE this crap. it was great til the 3 month mark, then all hell roke loose on my face. im VERY oily, acne prone and sensitive. this is so whack. the sulfer mask is awesome. but this 4 thw price and the 3 month renewal in a JOKE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shirlyxgurl on 5/28/2008 3:09:00 PM more reviews by shirlyxgurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried it a few years back. It improved my skin at first, then my eyes started to turn itchy, puffy and red. It also dried and flaked out my usually oily skin. I found out from using that product that I am allergic to benz. peroxide. The only product I like from that company is their sulfur mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 topNOTCH on 5/28/2008 1:07:00 PM more reviews by topNOTCH

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I tried this product and it doesn't work! I broke out and immediately stopped using it. It worked for my brother but not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkcanairy63 on 5/28/2008 2:29:00 AM more reviews by pinkcanairy63

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this product because I kept seeing those commercials for it on tv. This product did not work for me. I actually found that I had more breakouts after using pro-activ. However, I have heard that it has worked for some other people. Overall, it was not worth the money for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vespertine33 on 5/27/2008 11:21:00 PM more reviews by vespertine33

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It's been years since I used this, but it did for me what I believe it does for most of us- it made my skin look great for a while, then it seemed not to work as well, all the while bleaching my towels and pillowcases and clothes. Sure enough, I was bleaching my skin right along with all my belongings and bleaching your skin prematurely ages it. My skin regrets pro-activ more than the decade of reckless tanning I subjected it to during my twenties. This stuff is the devil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products