Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3382 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 KatieBeth on 6/23/2008 6:30:00 PM more reviews by KatieBeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Proactiv........that word triggers bad memories. I will NEVER buy this product again. It helped out the first week or so then like someone else said before me, it got worse. My skin became more oily than it was before I started using it. Of course that made me break out more and I eventually stopped using it after my face just kept on breaking out to the point where I wouldn't leave the house. I DONT recommend Pro activ to anyone. It might work for some people but for me and other people I've talked to about it, it didn't do anything but make it worse. I started using dial bar soap ( yes I mean the 99 cent kind) and my skin has cleared up drastically. I know your not supposed to use soap on your face but after 10 years of trying acne products, it's the only thing that has worked for me. I recommend using moisturizer afterward though cause it might dry your skin a little. I use Olay Total effects Anti Aging moisturizer and it works together perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PhxSunsGirl on 6/21/2008 12:25:00 PM more reviews by PhxSunsGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The first week of using ProActic, all my pimples and small blemishes cleared up right away. That's where the magic stopped. After the first week, all my breakouts came right back. I didn't change anything in my skincare or makeup, so that couldn't have been it. After trying this system numerous times, I've given up on ProActiv. I used it for 3 months thinking well maybe ''it gets worse before it gets better'', but it still didn't help my skin at all! Great for treating acne fast, but it stops working after that. Not to mention how dry and uncomfortable this makes my skin feel. It gave me flaky skin all around my face, especially around my mouth and chin. Also it made my eyebrows flaky, which was so weird. I had to use 3 times the amount of moisturizer I usually use, and I still had flaky skin after that! I guess it works for some, but not for others. Oh well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 electricflor on 6/21/2008 1:43:00 AM more reviews by electricflor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't realize how great ProActiv made my face look until I stopped using it. My skin is smooth and clear, but its hopelessly dehydrated.

I only use the Renewing Cleanser and the Repairing Lotion, because the toner is too harsh for my face. The Renewing Cleanser has a gritty texture that feels like its exfoliating while its cleaning. After using that, I use the Repairing lotion. It isn't very moisturizing for my dry skin, but I just use another moisturizer on top anyway. While I'm glad that this works, it makes my face sting like no other. I usually walk around for a good 5 minutes with my cheeks sucked in, swinging my head around and fanning my face.

I suppose that I'll use ProActiv until I can find another skin care line that doesn't sting. Hopefully soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tennis700g on 6/18/2008 5:02:00 PM more reviews by tennis700g

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I never had bad skin but I used to get a break out once in a while and would get ocd about finding a way to get rid of it. So I thought I would try this worst idea ever! I'm sure it works for some people but it broke me out really bad and dried my skin out so bad I had red areas all over my face and couldn't even put on makeup. I guess maybe it will help severe acne?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vivalajuicy on 6/18/2008 1:31:00 PM more reviews by vivalajuicy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Used this system for 4 years. For the first year or so, it worked GREAT. no breakouts, no redness, no problems in general. (although i did have to get a separate moisturizer to keep my skin from being a dry, flaky mess) However, I think my skin got used to the BP. Now it does nothing more for me than a regular DS cleanser--possibly even worse. I would say get it for a year if you want to try it out, but after that it's not worth your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shiz197 on 6/17/2008 6:29:00 PM more reviews by shiz197

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used Proactiv in 2004 and it cleared me up within half a year. However, it was drying me up so I stopped using it in March 2008 since I also thought that I grew out of my acne. My acne pretty much came back after a couple of weeks and by July 2008, I had moderate/severe acne. I wasn't sure if it was because I was using harsh products on my skin (Clinique) or just Proactiv's revenge on me. I tried a lot of things (Dermalogica, MD Formulations, acne.org products, wacky stuff like Apple Cider Vinegar, etc) but nothing worked at all.

I went back to Proactiv in mid-July 2008 because I was desperate for a cure and it was the only thing in my past that worked for me. I became clear in just one month, I can't describe what a miracle it is. I'm still pissed off with stress I had to go through in the past few months and the red/brown marks left from the acne but I'll stay on Proactiv from now on.

My advice is that if you're on Proactiv already to control your acne, there is a huge risk that once you stop using it, the acne will come back with a vengeance. For first time users, start with generous amounts of usage and give it about half a year for results. After you're clear, then you can get away with using just a little of bit of it and save. Proactiv also dries up the skin.

I have to admit that I'm grateful with Proactiv for clearing up my skin. Once I'm clear, the products can actually go a looong way. One kit usually lasts me for 3-4 months because I use so little of it each time and you can actually get away with using it once a day. You will however need a good moisturizer and a sunblock to complement the system as Proactiv on its own only controls acne and leaves you with dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 starablaze on 6/17/2008 4:43:00 PM more reviews by starablaze

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Didn't do much for me.
---
I've tried proactive 2 different times (I used it for the full treatment or longer): once like 4 years ago and again a couple months ago just to see if it still wouldn't work...and it still didn't.
---

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xMengox on 6/16/2008 11:34:00 PM more reviews by xMengox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Pro Activ for about 3 years and I love it! I couldn't be without it. I used to have acne on my forehead and nose, although not a lot. I decided to give it a try since it was advertised EVERYWHERE. It cleared up my skin in a few days and I never had another pimple again (literally). That is until I ran out a few months ago and decided I could go without it. Boy was I wrong. Pimples started to pop up everywhere. I HAD to go out to get more. Now I'm free of acne again.
Note: I only use this at night. Using it day AND night might make my skin a little dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 laneez on 6/15/2008 11:04:00 PM more reviews by laneez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first it worked great, then it stopped working, then it worked great again. LOL but once you stop using it, the acne comes back. its like they do it on puprose just so u could keep buying it. My acne cleared up after a dermatologist perscribed me one. If you have severe acne, dont waste ur money trying all these different products (tust me, i tried EVERYTHING) see a dermotologist and they'll perscribe you with the medicine you need. After your face does clear up however, its good to use any cleanser and toner as a daily routine, something that is less expensive, like clean and clear, which is what i now use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 misskassy on 6/14/2008 2:18:00 AM more reviews by misskassy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This dried my skin out so much it felt like crepe paper, and that was only after a few days, would hate to see what would happen if I had used this any longer. Also after sending it back for a refund they have taken about 6 months and counting to send my refund....... no good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products