Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3386 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 pooh0131 on 6/25/2008 5:43:00 PM more reviews by pooh0131

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Actually my daughter used this and it did nothing for her face. Granted she is a teenager, but we had to go to the dermatogolist for her acne and ProActive did not work for her. She likes the lotion part of the system and wants to try the refining mask, but definitely not the cleanser and toner again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kittykat5551 on 6/25/2008 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Kittykat5551

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I tried Pro Activ was about 3 years ago. I can't say I was unhappy with it, I actually liked it a lot. It helped clear up my skin, but I was also taking a prescription medication from my dermatologist, so I don't know how much credit I can give Pro Activ. Anyway, no complaints. The second time around, which was last summer it did absolutely nothing for me! Nothing at all. Like others had said, it even made my skin worse! When I went to the dermatologist, he told me Pro Activ is nothing special...their only active ingredient is the same as the ones you find in OTC products. So, I switched to Neutrogena and love it. I am so happy with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatherineSolo on 6/25/2008 1:29:00 PM more reviews by CatherineSolo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I guess I'm one of the only ones who would really recommend trying this product. I'll list my pros & cons though.
Pros
- cleared up my spots within 2 weeks
- made my skintone even within 2 weeks (my doctor thought I had rosacea my face was so red, and Pro Activ made the redness COMPLETELY disappear)
- I got compliments on my skin ALL THE TIME when I was using this
- As soon as I stopped using it, my skin became overly sensitive like it used to be, and full of spots. It wasn't my age that made my skin get better, it was the product.
- the cleanser exfoliates WONDERFULLY
Cons
- the lotion is very VERY drying and will make your skin peel. I only used it at night, and even then I mixed it with a night cream
- after about 6 years of using the product, I found I would break out very rarely, but that concerned me because in those 6 years I had never once had a breakout. However when I stopped using Pro Activ altogether my skin got much worse. I'm going back to it as soon as possible, just waiting for my shipment.

Maybe this product worked for me because my acne was not severe, just mild/moderate, and the biggest problem was pigmentation. I'm not sure, all I know is that I am in love with it (so long as it continues to work for me once I start using it again!)

[EDIT] This company has screwed up my order for the last time (they are SO FRUSTRATING). I will not be going back to this product. I've been trying natural and/or super cheap skincare products (aspirin mask, regular Dove soap, etc) and my skin is already getting better.
Don't spend your money on Proactiv. I'm taking away my 4 lippies and leaving 2 because it's just not worth the money.

[EDIT AGAIN] After struggling with volatile skin, occasional hormonal breakouts, and just generally an uneven complexion, I have gone back to Proactiv. And it is performing WONDERFULLY for me. The company is behaving a bit better which I appreciate. I am replacing my 4 lippies because even though it is expensive, and the company did screw up once or twice, this product worked for me CONSISTENTLY for SIX YEARS (with one month overall of inconsistency). I think that's worth it. And now that I'm back to it, my skin is baby smooth, completely clear, and looking wonderful.
VERY IMPORTANT: DO NOT USE THE LOTION AS A MOISTURIZER. It is NOT a moisturizer. It is an acne repair cream.

[EDIT AGAIN AGAIN] Well after years of going back and forth, I just can't figure out what's going on. I'm 28 with acne at times, dry skin at others, sometimes both, sometimes oil... Pro Activ does help most of the time but then sometimes it doesn't. So yeah. Three lippies because WHAT IS GOING ON!? It's so up and down! I'm sad that after 6 years of religious use this product started going wishy-washy on me, but what can you do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yansi on 6/24/2008 12:02:00 PM more reviews by yansi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

expensive, harsh, and doesn't work at all. wasted my money, and even made my skin break out even MORE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KatieBeth on 6/23/2008 6:30:00 PM more reviews by KatieBeth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Proactiv........that word triggers bad memories. I will NEVER buy this product again. It helped out the first week or so then like someone else said before me, it got worse. My skin became more oily than it was before I started using it. Of course that made me break out more and I eventually stopped using it after my face just kept on breaking out to the point where I wouldn't leave the house. I DONT recommend Pro activ to anyone. It might work for some people but for me and other people I've talked to about it, it didn't do anything but make it worse. I started using dial bar soap ( yes I mean the 99 cent kind) and my skin has cleared up drastically. I know your not supposed to use soap on your face but after 10 years of trying acne products, it's the only thing that has worked for me. I recommend using moisturizer afterward though cause it might dry your skin a little. I use Olay Total effects Anti Aging moisturizer and it works together perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PhxSunsGirl on 6/21/2008 12:25:00 PM more reviews by PhxSunsGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The first week of using ProActic, all my pimples and small blemishes cleared up right away. That's where the magic stopped. After the first week, all my breakouts came right back. I didn't change anything in my skincare or makeup, so that couldn't have been it. After trying this system numerous times, I've given up on ProActiv. I used it for 3 months thinking well maybe ''it gets worse before it gets better'', but it still didn't help my skin at all! Great for treating acne fast, but it stops working after that. Not to mention how dry and uncomfortable this makes my skin feel. It gave me flaky skin all around my face, especially around my mouth and chin. Also it made my eyebrows flaky, which was so weird. I had to use 3 times the amount of moisturizer I usually use, and I still had flaky skin after that! I guess it works for some, but not for others. Oh well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 electricflor on 6/21/2008 1:43:00 AM more reviews by electricflor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't realize how great ProActiv made my face look until I stopped using it. My skin is smooth and clear, but its hopelessly dehydrated.

I only use the Renewing Cleanser and the Repairing Lotion, because the toner is too harsh for my face. The Renewing Cleanser has a gritty texture that feels like its exfoliating while its cleaning. After using that, I use the Repairing lotion. It isn't very moisturizing for my dry skin, but I just use another moisturizer on top anyway. While I'm glad that this works, it makes my face sting like no other. I usually walk around for a good 5 minutes with my cheeks sucked in, swinging my head around and fanning my face.

I suppose that I'll use ProActiv until I can find another skin care line that doesn't sting. Hopefully soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tennis700g on 6/18/2008 5:02:00 PM more reviews by tennis700g

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I never had bad skin but I used to get a break out once in a while and would get ocd about finding a way to get rid of it. So I thought I would try this worst idea ever! I'm sure it works for some people but it broke me out really bad and dried my skin out so bad I had red areas all over my face and couldn't even put on makeup. I guess maybe it will help severe acne?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vivalajuicy on 6/18/2008 1:31:00 PM more reviews by vivalajuicy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Used this system for 4 years. For the first year or so, it worked GREAT. no breakouts, no redness, no problems in general. (although i did have to get a separate moisturizer to keep my skin from being a dry, flaky mess) However, I think my skin got used to the BP. Now it does nothing more for me than a regular DS cleanser--possibly even worse. I would say get it for a year if you want to try it out, but after that it's not worth your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shiz197 on 6/17/2008 6:29:00 PM more reviews by shiz197

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used Proactiv in 2004 and it cleared me up within half a year. However, it was drying me up so I stopped using it in March 2008 since I also thought that I grew out of my acne. My acne pretty much came back after a couple of weeks and by July 2008, I had moderate/severe acne. I wasn't sure if it was because I was using harsh products on my skin (Clinique) or just Proactiv's revenge on me. I tried a lot of things (Dermalogica, MD Formulations, acne.org products, wacky stuff like Apple Cider Vinegar, etc) but nothing worked at all.

I went back to Proactiv in mid-July 2008 because I was desperate for a cure and it was the only thing in my past that worked for me. I became clear in just one month, I can't describe what a miracle it is. I'm still pissed off with stress I had to go through in the past few months and the red/brown marks left from the acne but I'll stay on Proactiv from now on.

My advice is that if you're on Proactiv already to control your acne, there is a huge risk that once you stop using it, the acne will come back with a vengeance. For first time users, start with generous amounts of usage and give it about half a year for results. After you're clear, then you can get away with using just a little of bit of it and save. Proactiv also dries up the skin.

I have to admit that I'm grateful with Proactiv for clearing up my skin. Once I'm clear, the products can actually go a looong way. One kit usually lasts me for 3-4 months because I use so little of it each time and you can actually get away with using it once a day. You will however need a good moisturizer and a sunblock to complement the system as Proactiv on its own only controls acne and leaves you with dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products