Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3373 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 LVobsessed on 6/13/2008 12:05:00 AM more reviews by LVobsessed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I will never use this stuff again! It completely stripped all the moisture from my face and it also left red blotches on my cheeks. It burns too is that normal? And i have super dry skin to begin with and it made even worse! I don't usually breakout so I just think that isn't the right cleanser for me. But I do have friends that use proactiv and its worked wonders for them but not for me =[ hence the low grade

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ToriChicka on 6/12/2008 9:57:00 PM more reviews by ToriChicka

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

ok. well...i use to use this product because i had a few breakouts "here and there." At first when i used it...it felt like it was working. But i looked in the mirror....& there was no difference....i kept using it for three months....& there was still no difference in my breakouts. So that is when i gave up hope & stopped using that product. I went through SEVERAL acne medications to help your breakouts...and i finally found a few that i like. now...every night...i use Noxzema wash to open up my pores...i put it on in a circular motion...then i take it off. After that, i use Clearasil ULTRA dail face wash...to get deep in my pores i put that on in a circular motion and wash that off too. and then i finally use Noxzema pads. They are white achohol pads that you put everywhere on your face...but let me warn you...it will burn...but that is ok. trust me. that burning sensation is good. when you wake up in the morning...you will see the difference...just over one night!! AMAZING! lemme tell ya. & if you keep using it every night..like a daily routine...your acne will practically be gone! ;)

:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 krdortch on 6/12/2008 1:04:00 PM more reviews by krdortch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I did not buy into the hype of Proactiv when it first came out but once it gained popularity (and I stopped taking birth control), I began noticing some occasional breakouts. I have combination skin (oily T and dry cheeks) with breakouts on my forehead and cheeks.
As with any acne treatment, you will experience some dryness and discomfort, which I did at first with Proactiv. I just decreased how often I used it daily until my skin adjusted. The first few months... PROACTIV worked WONDERS... so naturally I continued ordering it (and I don't like the whole auto shipment thing because I started getting backed up and had too much repairing lotion and not enough toner).
As weeks passed, I noticed those occasional breakouts started coming back. Before I knew it, PROACTIV WAS NOT WORKING AT ALL ANYMORE! Honestly, the product does work intitially but it has NO LONGEVITY. I turned several ppl onto this product and ALL of them have switched to another product.
I've been hearing great reviews about Exposed Skin Care and although it is pricey, they offer a 1 year money back guarantee. I'm going to order it tomorrow and cross my fingers for some great results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TBake on 6/11/2008 4:04:00 PM more reviews by TBake

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using ProActiv since 2002. I started using it at the age of 35 as I started getting the adult acne before my cycle. A friend of mine worked for Guthy-Renker and she assured me it was not a gimmick. I noticed a huge difference in my skin after about 3 weeks. It did cause me to break out in the beginning but I decided to stick with it and I am glad that I did. 6 years later, I am still using it at the age of 41. I recommend it to anyone who has minor break-outs. I have never had acne or severe acne but it does work for me and my occasional break-outs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mjools on 6/9/2008 4:40:00 AM more reviews by mjools

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I always seem to come back to this after I have a major breakout from another product. I still get a few pimples here and there but so far it's the best product I've used to control my acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yumcheesy on 6/6/2008 10:54:00 PM more reviews by yumcheesy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

how long is long enough to know a product doesn't work for you? i tried this system for 3 weeks and my skin did not clear up :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mooshrimp on 6/6/2008 6:39:00 PM more reviews by mooshrimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OK so I don't personally own this product, but about 10 of my friends do and use it religiously. Let me just say, all of them have bad acne. Which is strange, because they are all using this. It really doesn't make much of a difference and most of them look dry and blotchy and very red. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. It's pretty overpriced. There are better acne solutions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 heli79 on 6/6/2008 1:34:00 PM more reviews by heli79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this product long time ago, and it always left my skin dry and blotchy! I am a licensed esthetician and usually ppl with acne make the mistake of using products that dry out their skin. Acne is caused by hereditary, hormones, and build up of dead skin cells and sebum. If you start exfoliating your skin with a gentle scrub and using a mask at least 2x a week, you will see a difference in your skin. Always make sure to moisturize, people with acne tend to overwash thier face and end up stripping thier skin of its natural oils and the skin will try to produce more oil to make up for it. So make sure to use an oil free moisturizer that has come salicylic acid, and try spot treatments of benzoyl peroxide, believe me 2% is all you need!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* besidetheocean on 6/5/2008 4:37:00 PM more reviews by besidetheocean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not surprised that ProActiv has such a low rating. My mom bought into the hype of this stuff and bought it for me when I was in college. I used the cleanser, toner and treatment cream for I guess a month or two. I think it was just too harsh for my skin becuse it always left it redder and more irritated than it was to start with. I could have maybe dealt with the redness if it at least cleared up some of my acne. It didn't. They do have a great marketing team because the before and after pictures are very convincing. Unfortunately the product just doesn't follow through with results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Summerfree16 on 6/5/2008 9:15:00 AM more reviews by Summerfree16

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this for 2 years. Before using it I would have 10-15 small breakouts on my face, and this helped with a majority of them, it didn't help with ALL the acne and for the price, it wasn't worth it. I still have lots left and I let my son just use the repairing lotion directly on his breakouts (puberty) and it dries them up quickly and they go away. If you have sensitive skin, this product is not for you for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products