Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3383 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 mince on 7/14/2008 9:48:00 AM more reviews by mince

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This crap messed my face up! I was "lucky" or so I thought, so get a free full sized 3-Step System in the mail, I was so excited to try it so I did it at night and in the morning my face was all red and very itchy. It's very strong and my skin isn't that sensitive but if your skin is sensitive I would definitely not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 deealigator on 7/14/2008 3:20:00 AM more reviews by deealigator

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This did not work for me at all. I've been using this for at least a year. It doesn't work any better than any other 3-step system. The cleanser was WAY too harsh for my skin. I could only use it once a day (by their recommendation) or my face was completely raw. This works for some people, but I'm not one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sallyv04 on 7/13/2008 11:52:00 PM more reviews by sallyv04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using Proactive for a good 4 years now and I will never switch my skin care regimen, not anytime soon anyway. Although my skin isn't anywhere near to perfect, it's pretty damn close. I have no acne and get a pimple about once a month, IF THAT. If I skimp on any of the steps, it shows. It seems that my skin is really dependent on this system, which kind of worries me but also shows how effective it is.
The only complaints I have is the price (ouch!) and the fact that I have to go to the mall whenever I run out. The telemarketers were too pushy on the sales so I was ecstatic when I found those karts at the mall! Also, it really does bleach my pillows. Yes, this worries me some but my skin is just too clear right now for me to worry about bleached pillows.
Yes, your skin will dry out for the first few weeks but give it time, it DOES go away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amyygirrl on 7/13/2008 8:56:00 PM more reviews by amyygirrl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

pro activ actually worked for me. i noticed my face was more clear, and my face was continuing to stay clear. there wasnt really signs of breakouts. however, i discontinued use because i have acne scars on my face and that was what i wanted to get rid of. but it worked for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PrincessPiper89 on 7/12/2008 10:27:00 PM more reviews by PrincessPiper89

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

quick warning-

When using proactiv at night, apply at least 45 minutes before actually going to bed. I learned the hard way that this product will discolor even the best of quality pillow cases/sheets. It DOES NOT wash out. Also, after using it for quite a while with mild results I stopped for about a month. When I started using it again I had the WORST allergic reaction of my life. My eyes were red, dry, peeling, and swollen and my skin was red and blotchy. My skin is very sensitive and I guess this highly potent product just wasn't a good match for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kamee on 7/8/2008 12:06:00 AM more reviews by Kamee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on and off for 5 yrs. In the beginning it was ok. It made my face, especially my forehead, really smooth, but after a while this stuff just stopped working. I'd use it at night and wake up to tons of new zits. Also, they may have changed the formula or something cuz the toner and lotion really stings my eyes ever since they changed the caps to flip caps (and no i'm not stupid, i do not use this stuff on my eyes).


I recommend Neutrogena's Advanced Solutions acne therapy system instead. Its claim: "works faster than Proactiv" really holds true.... for me at least. It really does start clearing up acne the first time I used it.


EDIT: it has been a week with the NAS and my face is looking a whole lot better than last week. I'm really impressed with this stuff. I'm still dealing with a few more pimples, but overall my face has cleared up A LOT since last week. What use to be 20+ pimples now is 3 stubborn ones. Now i'm mainly dealing with scars. I highly recommend everyone to switch over if proactiv is not working for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FadetoSparkle on 7/7/2008 1:05:00 AM more reviews by FadetoSparkle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pro Activ is a love or hate thing with some people, it doesn't work for everyone. I have combo skin and pro activ has been pretty good to me and hasn't really dried me out at all. I only use it at night but I use a creme to remove my foundation, then I use pro activ. First the cleanser seems to do a good job of making my skin smooth, the toner removes anything left behind, and the lotion ironically makes my skin soft and somewhat smooth. I don't use the system on my entire face though, my breakouts have been on my mid cheeks and below, basically bottom half of my face. I only use the wash on those areas, then use the toner over my entire face, then apply the lotion on only my problem areas. I don't even bother with the mask because the sulfur scent is one of those things I just can't tolerate, it physically makes me sick. In the morning, I just splash my face with water, then apply a different moisturizer and sunscreen I like, then foundation and make up as usual. I found better results that are non-drying when I just use it at night and the routine of my choice in the morning. I've found that using this with thermaclear has changed my skin completely. My face is perfectly clear which is something that I haven't had for years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliastl27 on 7/6/2008 11:42:00 PM more reviews by juliastl27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think this product works pretty well. Its not a miracle cure like they make out in the commercials, but it has definitely cleared up my tempermental skin. Nothing OTC is going to help treat severe/cystic acne, but this is a good system for gals with mild/moderate acne. The only drawback is that you have to be VERY consistent. If you don't use it as instructed, your skin will go crazy!

And also, you have to give it some time. After watching the commercials, I think people have a tendency to get frustrated after a week or so. Give it a few months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacPops on 7/6/2008 12:18:00 AM more reviews by MacPops

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff burned the you know what out of my skin. Made it ret, dry, and cracked. There are much more gentle ways of getting rid of acne out there. I would enourage anyone with sensitive skin to explore them. This stuff is just over the top, out of the ballpark, bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kalichicoc on 7/4/2008 4:33:00 AM more reviews by kalichicoc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have tried Proactive about 4 times in the past 7 years. I did it at different times during my adolescence to see if it would finally clear up my acne and every time I have come away more disappointed. I am naturally red skinned and this regimen made my skin even more prone to redness. The only thing that has really helped to clear up my acne is birth control pills (Desogen). It worked wonders for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products