Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3347 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mooshrimp on 6/6/2008 6:39:00 PM more reviews by mooshrimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OK so I don't personally own this product, but about 10 of my friends do and use it religiously. Let me just say, all of them have bad acne. Which is strange, because they are all using this. It really doesn't make much of a difference and most of them look dry and blotchy and very red. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. It's pretty overpriced. There are better acne solutions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 heli79 on 6/6/2008 1:34:00 PM more reviews by heli79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this product long time ago, and it always left my skin dry and blotchy! I am a licensed esthetician and usually ppl with acne make the mistake of using products that dry out their skin. Acne is caused by hereditary, hormones, and build up of dead skin cells and sebum. If you start exfoliating your skin with a gentle scrub and using a mask at least 2x a week, you will see a difference in your skin. Always make sure to moisturize, people with acne tend to overwash thier face and end up stripping thier skin of its natural oils and the skin will try to produce more oil to make up for it. So make sure to use an oil free moisturizer that has come salicylic acid, and try spot treatments of benzoyl peroxide, believe me 2% is all you need!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* besidetheocean on 6/5/2008 4:37:00 PM more reviews by besidetheocean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not surprised that ProActiv has such a low rating. My mom bought into the hype of this stuff and bought it for me when I was in college. I used the cleanser, toner and treatment cream for I guess a month or two. I think it was just too harsh for my skin becuse it always left it redder and more irritated than it was to start with. I could have maybe dealt with the redness if it at least cleared up some of my acne. It didn't. They do have a great marketing team because the before and after pictures are very convincing. Unfortunately the product just doesn't follow through with results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Summerfree16 on 6/5/2008 9:15:00 AM more reviews by Summerfree16

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this for 2 years. Before using it I would have 10-15 small breakouts on my face, and this helped with a majority of them, it didn't help with ALL the acne and for the price, it wasn't worth it. I still have lots left and I let my son just use the repairing lotion directly on his breakouts (puberty) and it dries them up quickly and they go away. If you have sensitive skin, this product is not for you for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zevie on 6/4/2008 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Zevie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At first, it cleared my skin out slightly by drying it out. After a few months, my skin became oily and I broke out just as bad as before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 krysmichele on 6/4/2008 10:40:00 AM more reviews by krysmichele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I tried pro-activ for awhile but I never saw the results that it advertised and I'll never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hayley84 on 6/4/2008 2:45:00 AM more reviews by hayley84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Proactiv works!!! I have tried so many products over the years and this really does work - you just need to give it time and tailor the regime to your skin. I don't use the cleanser as it stripped my skin and it smells disgusting. So, I wash my face with a clean wash cloth or Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream Cleanser. I then apply the toner (morning and night) and repairing lotion (only at night). When I first started with proactive my skin was flaky and red. Now, it is even toned, incredibly smooth and no acne or pimples. I moisturise day and night with Environ products, these products contain suncreens, antioxidants and most importantly Vitamin A.

If you are serious about your skin I would recommend reading The Acne Cure by Dr Dubrow. The first 4 chapters detail the importance of various skincare ingredients & strength required to clear acne. Proactiv may be expensive but the products contain active ingredients at the right levels to help your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emmarque on 6/3/2008 4:55:00 PM more reviews by emmarque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

DON'T BUY THIS STUFF...IT MAKES YOU BREAKOUT EVEN MORE!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pink1223 on 6/1/2008 3:01:00 AM more reviews by pink1223

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Proactiv. I have used it two different times in my life, the first being in high school. I wouldn't say that I've ever been super acne prone, but I wanted my skin to be consistently clear. Needless to say, I really didn't like this stuff in high school. I didn't feel like it did much for me except make my skin more sensitive! So I stopped. Then, I tried it again a year or so back, and I love it. Isn't that odd? I don't use it every day, just during a breakout usually, but it clears up whatever I've got going really quick. It makes my skin really soft too, and seems to even it all out. I love the stuff as a fix, but like I said, I don't use it every day. I think it does exactly what it claims, for me at least. And I have a good few friends that use it loyally as well. The one drawback for me though: it makes my skin super sensitive to the sun. Like I have olive skin and usually don't burn much, but this stuff will turn me red quick. Use a sunscreen FOR SURE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MusicalAmanda on 5/30/2008 2:58:00 PM more reviews by MusicalAmanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had a problem with this for two reasons. 1. Far too expensive for what it is 2. Far too harsh for most skin-types. The main ingrediant that makes it successful for some people is benxoyl peroxide (which kills acne causing bacteria.) However, you can purchase products with benzoyl peroxide for FAR cheaper than Pro Activ. Also, the system has you use a cleanser, toner, and "moisturizer" all with benzoyl peroxide-- this just asking for trouble. Most individuals with acne prone skin also have sensitive skin. The kit generally just irritates sensitive skin (redness, peeling, flaking, drying) while getting minimal results for 40 dollars a pop.
I saw no difference between this and any of the drug store acne kits available for half the price. While it did help with my acne-- marginally--it made my face constantly red. (I would rather have a little more acne then feel like a beet.) I also found my skin flaking and peeling. It was extremely gross-more so than the actual acne.
My advice--skip this. It is NO better than any drug store stuff out there. If you want to try one of the gimmicy acne kits-- buy neutrogena, clean and clear, L'oreal, CVS, Walgreen brand kits. It is far cheaper and does the same exact thing.

After years of buying into all of the acne kit hype and trying nearly all of them, I found a retinols to be very affective(Differin/Retin A) they speed up cell turnover leading to less blocked pores. It has made less acne and a smoother 'glowing' look to my skin (though expensive and only available via perscription.) Using that at night and a little benzoyl peroxide in the morning under make-up has kept my very oily/acne prone skin under control. This routine is expensive-especially if you don't have insurance. But a tube of differin ($130 without insurance) lasts for 4-5 months--all in all it is about the same as pro activ (40+ a month) --except you actually get results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products