Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3378 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 FadetoSparkle on 7/7/2008 1:05:00 AM more reviews by FadetoSparkle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Pro Activ is a love or hate thing with some people, it doesn't work for everyone. I have combo skin and pro activ has been pretty good to me and hasn't really dried me out at all. I only use it at night but I use a creme to remove my foundation, then I use pro activ. First the cleanser seems to do a good job of making my skin smooth, the toner removes anything left behind, and the lotion ironically makes my skin soft and somewhat smooth. I don't use the system on my entire face though, my breakouts have been on my mid cheeks and below, basically bottom half of my face. I only use the wash on those areas, then use the toner over my entire face, then apply the lotion on only my problem areas. I don't even bother with the mask because the sulfur scent is one of those things I just can't tolerate, it physically makes me sick. In the morning, I just splash my face with water, then apply a different moisturizer and sunscreen I like, then foundation and make up as usual. I found better results that are non-drying when I just use it at night and the routine of my choice in the morning. I've found that using this with thermaclear has changed my skin completely. My face is perfectly clear which is something that I haven't had for years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliastl27 on 7/6/2008 11:42:00 PM more reviews by juliastl27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think this product works pretty well. Its not a miracle cure like they make out in the commercials, but it has definitely cleared up my tempermental skin. Nothing OTC is going to help treat severe/cystic acne, but this is a good system for gals with mild/moderate acne. The only drawback is that you have to be VERY consistent. If you don't use it as instructed, your skin will go crazy!

And also, you have to give it some time. After watching the commercials, I think people have a tendency to get frustrated after a week or so. Give it a few months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacPops on 7/6/2008 12:18:00 AM more reviews by MacPops

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff burned the you know what out of my skin. Made it ret, dry, and cracked. There are much more gentle ways of getting rid of acne out there. I would enourage anyone with sensitive skin to explore them. This stuff is just over the top, out of the ballpark, bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kalichicoc on 7/4/2008 4:33:00 AM more reviews by kalichicoc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have tried Proactive about 4 times in the past 7 years. I did it at different times during my adolescence to see if it would finally clear up my acne and every time I have come away more disappointed. I am naturally red skinned and this regimen made my skin even more prone to redness. The only thing that has really helped to clear up my acne is birth control pills (Desogen). It worked wonders for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mchoi1983 on 7/3/2008 4:36:00 PM more reviews by mchoi1983

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

ok, so i actually tried proactiv months ago, but finally decided to write a review. i absolutely hate this stuff :( growing up i had good skin, didn't have acne, but would get a couple pimples now and then, esp. during that time of the month. all of a sudden at 23 my chin starting breaking out w/ whiteheads and i was frustrated. i saw so many infomericals for proactiv and thought "hey why not give it a try". my sis tried it in hs, and it didnt help her acne, but didn't make it worse either, so i thought the worst it could do was not help me. what happened when i used it for 1 week?? face became extremely dry/ irritated AND all of a sudden my cheeks had huge cystic acne. it was horrible. now months later, i have scars on my cheeks and am finally on retin-a micro to reverse the damages done by proactiv. i learned that proactiv is great for some ppl, does nothing for others, and makes skin worse for the rest of us. also, i should have done better research before i decided to try a product...lesson learned...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jjjaney on 7/2/2008 11:04:00 AM more reviews by jjjaney

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Proactiv made my skin very dry, flakey, red and irritating. I used it for about 2 weeks before i decided that it just wasnt working for me. Maybe i didn't stick to it long enough? But it was too harsh on my skin.
BUT the mask that comes with it, is actually REALLY NICE! Im doing what most of the other girls have been doing, which is to not use all the products but just pick one that actually does something for your skin and add that to your skincare routine! So i really noticed some positive differences with the mask! (it can be a little drying but MOISTURIZE afterwards)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DragonJelly on 7/1/2008 10:30:00 PM more reviews by DragonJelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I was in middle school, I had seriously oily skin with loads of inflamed pustules. I tried Proactiv for a year and I can tell you from experience that Proactiv is crap in a bottle. It dried out my skin to the point where it bled whenever I played my flute and it even caused my skin to develop red, raw patches on my nose and chin (even though I was using the daily moisture/sunscreen). I will never want to touch this product ever again! D:<

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashlove on 6/30/2008 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ashlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product took two months for me to start noticing results.

I was using it for over seven months.

I took a break for about four days and the acne came back.

I continued to use it long after my break, but the acne became MUCH worse than before. I stopped using it, and I am still recovering. (all of this happened over a year and a half ago.)

So I am assuming that you MUST be consistant with Pro Activ?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 icytiger8888 on 6/29/2008 12:05:00 AM more reviews by icytiger8888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all I would like to point out to people who are afraid to try this product because it
"breaks you out more", that this is a very harsh system, so its gunna bust the hell out of your acne, and before your skin can clear up, it has to go through a purging period so that the nasty stuff can clear out of your skin, therefore some new things may come to a surface in order to actually CLEAR your skin, so don't be put off. It should only be temporary. And allow at least a few weeks to see results, as that is typical. Of course everyone is different as is their skin so some people may see results before or after others.

Anyways, my mom, my sister and myself all swear by this product, my mom and I both have exremely oily skin, and my sister has VERY dry skin, and this product has worked wonder at clearing up all my acne. My only complaint for this product is that they claim it will last you 2 monthes until your next shipment, I have been using this stuff for years and have never once gotten the full 2 month use out of it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jenni_bebe on 6/27/2008 7:00:00 PM more reviews by jenni_bebe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i used this for 1 month daily saw no results just dry red skin
i bought this 2 years ago before they had the green tree moisturizer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products