Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3397 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/25/2008 1:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Is this a "miracle" product that has helped millions? Yes. But it didn't work for me. Well, okay, let me clarify.
My skin is oily and very, very acne-prone, and I've tried pretty much every drugstore treatment, prescription-strength otc product, stuff prescribed by various doctors, and nothing has worked.
I've given up on looking for a "quick fix" (after all, my acne has been here for years, I don't hold onto the hope that something will clear it up in a matter of days anymore), and am willing to be patient and consistent while using a system. I used this, and noticed within a day that it was clearing up my skin. (I was using the full three-step system twice daily.) It was getting clearer steadily! Things were looking up! It was working! Until.
One weekend, a spur-of-the-moment camping trip occurred. In the packing frenzy, I forgot my trusty ProActiv. No problem, I thought, I'll only be missing a day or two. I'll just pick back up when we get home!
WRONG. We left Friday around three in the afternoon. By around eight that night, my face started to feel sort of.. acne-y, (it's hard to describe.. sort of an acne premonition). By Saturday morning, there was a fresh crop of tiny pimples! Wow, I thought, that was fast, but whatever. I brushed it off and went about my camping business.
However, it kept coming, and coming, and by Sunday night, my face looked like one of those paintings where you dip your brush in paint and fling it at the canvas, except the paint was the acne and the canvas was my face. It was disgusting, to say the least.
When we got home, I used it, and on Monday morning there was some clearage, and it was pretty much back to where I had started by Wednesday. However, it had started to dry me out (and that's REALLY hard to do! I'm an oil factory!), so my doctor suggested taking it down to just once daily. ProActiv didn't like that (I can't do that, Dave). My acne sprang back up, and by this point I was so pissed about the camping incident, the drying, and the price that I just gave up. This is a miracle product for many, but just not for me.
(However, I have a feeling I'll try it again some day, and how much do you want to bet it'll be a miracle for me too :/ )

cheers
xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've been using ProActiv 3 step system for 3 years and never been happier! This is THE ONLY product that makes my skin COMPLETELY CLEAR! When you are first starting off using ProActiv, I recommend you to be patient. It took me about 6 weeks for my skin to clear completely.


on 7/24/2008 1:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

All I have to say is that I'm glad it worked for some, but it made my skin even worse than before. I noticed that there was some clearing up in the beginning stages of using it, but after 1 month of using it I couldn't stand it anymore.


on 7/22/2008 11:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have occasional acne that seemed ever present when I switched jobs. i tried every Oxy product salicylic acid washing products I could fid. Those things only made my skin WORSE. So I saw the infomercial and decided to try Proactive. This made my skin burn and peel. It realy messed up my skin. I tried it 3 weeks thinking I had to just get used to it or maybe it was renewing my skin cells or something. No, I might as well have dumped BATTERY ACID on my face.

Ladies, stay away from this stuff.

for reference I have pale irish dry skin age 35, no freckles, no blackheads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2008 2:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I fell into the trap that was ProActiv about two years ago, and have been using it continuously ever since, hoping against hope that it would clear up my acne "in time". And it did; off and on. There would be these random times when my face would look better than ever, but then it would just revert back to being a mess for no reason at all. I also found that if I didn't use the toner and the lotion, my face wouldn't be as bad. O.o Weird. I ended up just using the cleanser and that made it a little better.

Anyway! Using this product as a whole did almost nothing for me. Even on my *best* days my acne was still bad. The only thing that was good about this product for me, was the cleanser; the first step. All the other stuff is crap.


on 7/21/2008 6:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am the girl that would rather use antibiotics and tazorac prescribed by my wonderful dermatologist and it definitely clears out my skin and not to mention my wallet... a cheaper alternative would be my proactive.. i use the extra strength and it has truly balanced my skin. That doesn't mean I don't breakout occasionally but it had improved my skin by 80% without breaking the budget... so if the regular formula is not working for you ask for the extra strength.... you may get better results


on 7/21/2008 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

One word...

YIKES!!!!
For starters, this is the most drying facial expericence I have EVER gone through!!! Use this for up to three weeks and not only will you peel like you had a severe sunburn, but you'll end up having to do everything in your power to get your skin's moisture back (it also causes wrinkles around the eye area |shocker!|). I found this whole line to have made my skin worse. I personally think that this isnt the way to go. Proactiv is not the miracle I was searching for...that's for sure!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I CANT TELL YOU HOW MUCH THIS HAS RUINED MY SKIN. i used to get some breakouts now i stopped using it a year ago and my skin is horrible they put something in this so your skin needs everyday miss it once and your skin breaks out like crazy but when i did use it it stopped my acne i don't care though my skin is ruined ;(
trust me dont start with it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2008 11:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product was not what I would have expected at all. I heard nothing but great things about Proactiv, but once I finally decided to try it, I was extremely disapointed. I don't have full-blown acne at all, but I do get breakouts every once in a while. My skin is combination/dry. When I tried this, all it did was dry out my skin even more. Although my breakouts didn't get worse, they didn't get better. The product itself is nasty. It feels grainy and smells nasty. The refining mask is thick and gloopy. After using this for a good 3 or 4 weeks, I tried a drugstore brand someone recommended to me, and within a few days, my face was almost totally clear. I'm still trying to figure out what everyone is raving about with this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I tried this after seeing all the stars rave about this system. I ordered it and to my dismay after a month my skin was worse that ever before. I am glad it works for some, but it's not for me.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1297 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
183 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
106 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
283 Reviews
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top