Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3374 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 mchoi1983 on 7/3/2008 4:36:00 PM more reviews by mchoi1983

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

ok, so i actually tried proactiv months ago, but finally decided to write a review. i absolutely hate this stuff :( growing up i had good skin, didn't have acne, but would get a couple pimples now and then, esp. during that time of the month. all of a sudden at 23 my chin starting breaking out w/ whiteheads and i was frustrated. i saw so many infomericals for proactiv and thought "hey why not give it a try". my sis tried it in hs, and it didnt help her acne, but didn't make it worse either, so i thought the worst it could do was not help me. what happened when i used it for 1 week?? face became extremely dry/ irritated AND all of a sudden my cheeks had huge cystic acne. it was horrible. now months later, i have scars on my cheeks and am finally on retin-a micro to reverse the damages done by proactiv. i learned that proactiv is great for some ppl, does nothing for others, and makes skin worse for the rest of us. also, i should have done better research before i decided to try a product...lesson learned...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jjjaney on 7/2/2008 11:04:00 AM more reviews by jjjaney

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Proactiv made my skin very dry, flakey, red and irritating. I used it for about 2 weeks before i decided that it just wasnt working for me. Maybe i didn't stick to it long enough? But it was too harsh on my skin.
BUT the mask that comes with it, is actually REALLY NICE! Im doing what most of the other girls have been doing, which is to not use all the products but just pick one that actually does something for your skin and add that to your skincare routine! So i really noticed some positive differences with the mask! (it can be a little drying but MOISTURIZE afterwards)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DragonJelly on 7/1/2008 10:30:00 PM more reviews by DragonJelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I was in middle school, I had seriously oily skin with loads of inflamed pustules. I tried Proactiv for a year and I can tell you from experience that Proactiv is crap in a bottle. It dried out my skin to the point where it bled whenever I played my flute and it even caused my skin to develop red, raw patches on my nose and chin (even though I was using the daily moisture/sunscreen). I will never want to touch this product ever again! D:<

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashlove on 6/30/2008 11:45:00 AM more reviews by ashlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product took two months for me to start noticing results.

I was using it for over seven months.

I took a break for about four days and the acne came back.

I continued to use it long after my break, but the acne became MUCH worse than before. I stopped using it, and I am still recovering. (all of this happened over a year and a half ago.)

So I am assuming that you MUST be consistant with Pro Activ?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 icytiger8888 on 6/29/2008 12:05:00 AM more reviews by icytiger8888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all I would like to point out to people who are afraid to try this product because it
"breaks you out more", that this is a very harsh system, so its gunna bust the hell out of your acne, and before your skin can clear up, it has to go through a purging period so that the nasty stuff can clear out of your skin, therefore some new things may come to a surface in order to actually CLEAR your skin, so don't be put off. It should only be temporary. And allow at least a few weeks to see results, as that is typical. Of course everyone is different as is their skin so some people may see results before or after others.

Anyways, my mom, my sister and myself all swear by this product, my mom and I both have exremely oily skin, and my sister has VERY dry skin, and this product has worked wonder at clearing up all my acne. My only complaint for this product is that they claim it will last you 2 monthes until your next shipment, I have been using this stuff for years and have never once gotten the full 2 month use out of it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jenni_bebe on 6/27/2008 7:00:00 PM more reviews by jenni_bebe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i used this for 1 month daily saw no results just dry red skin
i bought this 2 years ago before they had the green tree moisturizer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MMedina112 on 6/26/2008 7:45:00 PM more reviews by MMedina112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Ok so I have been using this for about 3 weeks or so, and by far it has been working for my skin, its worked more than any other product I've ever used. I dont have sever acne, i have like a pimple of my forhead then one n my cheek and on chin, but what I do have is dark spots, from past acne and that realllly pisses me off, cus if it werent for those scars I would basically have pretty clear skin. This system really does work, I know for a fact because last week I had a huge pimple on my cheek and within two days it was totally gone, and that is great, and all I was left with was a dumb little scar. Anyway this system is working for me, I only gave it a four cus I have been using it only for three weeks so I stil need to use it for more time to actually see the results then I wil update on my results....I will repurchase to keep my skin healthy, and nice looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pooh0131 on 6/25/2008 5:43:00 PM more reviews by pooh0131

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Actually my daughter used this and it did nothing for her face. Granted she is a teenager, but we had to go to the dermatogolist for her acne and ProActive did not work for her. She likes the lotion part of the system and wants to try the refining mask, but definitely not the cleanser and toner again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kittykat5551 on 6/25/2008 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Kittykat5551

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I tried Pro Activ was about 3 years ago. I can't say I was unhappy with it, I actually liked it a lot. It helped clear up my skin, but I was also taking a prescription medication from my dermatologist, so I don't know how much credit I can give Pro Activ. Anyway, no complaints. The second time around, which was last summer it did absolutely nothing for me! Nothing at all. Like others had said, it even made my skin worse! When I went to the dermatologist, he told me Pro Activ is nothing special...their only active ingredient is the same as the ones you find in OTC products. So, I switched to Neutrogena and love it. I am so happy with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatherineSolo on 6/25/2008 1:29:00 PM more reviews by CatherineSolo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I guess I'm one of the only ones who would really recommend trying this product. I'll list my pros & cons though.
Pros
- cleared up my spots within 2 weeks
- made my skintone even within 2 weeks (my doctor thought I had rosacea my face was so red, and Pro Activ made the redness COMPLETELY disappear)
- I got compliments on my skin ALL THE TIME when I was using this
- As soon as I stopped using it, my skin became overly sensitive like it used to be, and full of spots. It wasn't my age that made my skin get better, it was the product.
- the cleanser exfoliates WONDERFULLY
Cons
- the lotion is very VERY drying and will make your skin peel. I only used it at night, and even then I mixed it with a night cream
- after about 6 years of using the product, I found I would break out very rarely, but that concerned me because in those 6 years I had never once had a breakout. However when I stopped using Pro Activ altogether my skin got much worse. I'm going back to it as soon as possible, just waiting for my shipment.

Maybe this product worked for me because my acne was not severe, just mild/moderate, and the biggest problem was pigmentation. I'm not sure, all I know is that I am in love with it (so long as it continues to work for me once I start using it again!)

[EDIT] This company has screwed up my order for the last time (they are SO FRUSTRATING). I will not be going back to this product. I've been trying natural and/or super cheap skincare products (aspirin mask, regular Dove soap, etc) and my skin is already getting better.
Don't spend your money on Proactiv. I'm taking away my 4 lippies and leaving 2 because it's just not worth the money.

[EDIT AGAIN] After struggling with volatile skin, occasional hormonal breakouts, and just generally an uneven complexion, I have gone back to Proactiv. And it is performing WONDERFULLY for me. The company is behaving a bit better which I appreciate. I am replacing my 4 lippies because even though it is expensive, and the company did screw up once or twice, this product worked for me CONSISTENTLY for SIX YEARS (with one month overall of inconsistency). I think that's worth it. And now that I'm back to it, my skin is baby smooth, completely clear, and looking wonderful.
VERY IMPORTANT: DO NOT USE THE LOTION AS A MOISTURIZER. It is NOT a moisturizer. It is an acne repair cream.

[EDIT AGAIN AGAIN] Well after years of going back and forth, I just can't figure out what's going on. I'm 28 with acne at times, dry skin at others, sometimes both, sometimes oil... Pro Activ does help most of the time but then sometimes it doesn't. So yeah. Three lippies because WHAT IS GOING ON!? It's so up and down! I'm sad that after 6 years of religious use this product started going wishy-washy on me, but what can you do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products