Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3402 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/30/2008 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I used this for about a year and it worked great for me! But after a year, my skin started retreating back to its acne-prone combination skin. I stopped using this and switched to Philosophy's Acne Control Kit from Sephora and have been using that since and it works well for me!



on 7/29/2008 11:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this product after my friends who used to have acne, after raving about Pro Activ, now have clear, beautiful skin. While I don't have that bad of acne, I still get pimples every so often, though they are easy to hide and go away quickly. I guess I wanted to try something which was supposed to be a "miracle worker" to make my pimples gone for good. So I ordered it, and was only left with worse skin, irritation, burning, stinging, itching, drying, etc. It actually made me break out more. I went to the dermatologist right away and she said she has seen it work for some people, but not all. She put me on an rx (Benzaclin, which I LOVE!) but it still took a few weeks to get my skin back to how it was. When I called to stop Pro Activ from sending more of the product, the woman started questioning me about why I wanted to stop using it. She said to give it at least 2 months (even though my skin was red and raw), however when I refused and told her I just wanted to return it, she obliged. Since then, I have still heard success stories from Pro Activ from my roommate, and other people. I guess it works great for some people, and not at all for others (like me!)


on 7/29/2008 8:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is by far the most disasturous product/system ive tried to help my skin! I followed each step perfectly for about 2 months but stopped because my skin was so dry i could barely smile!! And it didnt help any of my acne go away! The toner seemed to be working but the difference wasnt showing in my skin. The mask didnt work either- it had absolutely no effect! Overall this made my skin worse- and once i stopped using it all together my face broke out like crazy!! I tried the Green Tea moisturizer as well, because i was convinced it would work because of green tea being in the name, but that made me break out! Horrible products in my opinion, i wouldnt reccomend them to anyone


on 7/28/2008 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the only product that works for me after I've been fighting against the acne for more than 2 years. However, it did dry my skin a little bit, which made it harder to put on foundations.

I just used one set and all my acne is gone.


on 7/27/2008 11:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is NOT for people with sensitive skin. Trust me, I have extremely annoying oily, very sensitive, acne-prone skin (have had monthly breakouts and blemishes since the end of 6th grade) and ProActiv was my first venture into skin care products. My mom wanted my younger sister and me to try this and - that was our worst mistake ever. Within a few hours, both of our faces were red, acne flaring, it was disaster.

While this may work for some (I have one friend who it's worked decently for), it is NOT for everyone. Give it a shot if you're persuaded by all the celebs they use to promote this products but if you have (or THINK you have) sensitive skin - STAY AWAY! Now I use Cetaphil cleasning gel & moisturizer and Duac & Differin (both prescription) gels. Have helped me with my acne more although I have yet the tackle the problem of my annoying large pores ...


on 7/25/2008 1:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Is this a "miracle" product that has helped millions? Yes. But it didn't work for me. Well, okay, let me clarify.
My skin is oily and very, very acne-prone, and I've tried pretty much every drugstore treatment, prescription-strength otc product, stuff prescribed by various doctors, and nothing has worked.
I've given up on looking for a "quick fix" (after all, my acne has been here for years, I don't hold onto the hope that something will clear it up in a matter of days anymore), and am willing to be patient and consistent while using a system. I used this, and noticed within a day that it was clearing up my skin. (I was using the full three-step system twice daily.) It was getting clearer steadily! Things were looking up! It was working! Until.
One weekend, a spur-of-the-moment camping trip occurred. In the packing frenzy, I forgot my trusty ProActiv. No problem, I thought, I'll only be missing a day or two. I'll just pick back up when we get home!
WRONG. We left Friday around three in the afternoon. By around eight that night, my face started to feel sort of.. acne-y, (it's hard to describe.. sort of an acne premonition). By Saturday morning, there was a fresh crop of tiny pimples! Wow, I thought, that was fast, but whatever. I brushed it off and went about my camping business.
However, it kept coming, and coming, and by Sunday night, my face looked like one of those paintings where you dip your brush in paint and fling it at the canvas, except the paint was the acne and the canvas was my face. It was disgusting, to say the least.
When we got home, I used it, and on Monday morning there was some clearage, and it was pretty much back to where I had started by Wednesday. However, it had started to dry me out (and that's REALLY hard to do! I'm an oil factory!), so my doctor suggested taking it down to just once daily. ProActiv didn't like that (I can't do that, Dave). My acne sprang back up, and by this point I was so pissed about the camping incident, the drying, and the price that I just gave up. This is a miracle product for many, but just not for me.
(However, I have a feeling I'll try it again some day, and how much do you want to bet it'll be a miracle for me too :/ )

cheers
xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've been using ProActiv 3 step system for 3 years and never been happier! This is THE ONLY product that makes my skin COMPLETELY CLEAR! When you are first starting off using ProActiv, I recommend you to be patient. It took me about 6 weeks for my skin to clear completely.


on 7/24/2008 1:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

All I have to say is that I'm glad it worked for some, but it made my skin even worse than before. I noticed that there was some clearing up in the beginning stages of using it, but after 1 month of using it I couldn't stand it anymore.


on 7/22/2008 11:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have occasional acne that seemed ever present when I switched jobs. i tried every Oxy product salicylic acid washing products I could fid. Those things only made my skin WORSE. So I saw the infomercial and decided to try Proactive. This made my skin burn and peel. It realy messed up my skin. I tried it 3 weeks thinking I had to just get used to it or maybe it was renewing my skin cells or something. No, I might as well have dumped BATTERY ACID on my face.

Ladies, stay away from this stuff.

for reference I have pale irish dry skin age 35, no freckles, no blackheads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2008 2:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I fell into the trap that was ProActiv about two years ago, and have been using it continuously ever since, hoping against hope that it would clear up my acne "in time". And it did; off and on. There would be these random times when my face would look better than ever, but then it would just revert back to being a mess for no reason at all. I also found that if I didn't use the toner and the lotion, my face wouldn't be as bad. O.o Weird. I ended up just using the cleanser and that made it a little better.

Anyway! Using this product as a whole did almost nothing for me. Even on my *best* days my acne was still bad. The only thing that was good about this product for me, was the cleanser; the first step. All the other stuff is crap.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Jojoba Oil
321 Reviews
3 Step System
1386 Reviews
Truth Serum
277 Reviews
Duac Topical Gel
119 Reviews
Back to Top