Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3392 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/21/2008 12:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

One word...

YIKES!!!!
For starters, this is the most drying facial expericence I have EVER gone through!!! Use this for up to three weeks and not only will you peel like you had a severe sunburn, but you'll end up having to do everything in your power to get your skin's moisture back (it also causes wrinkles around the eye area |shocker!|). I found this whole line to have made my skin worse. I personally think that this isnt the way to go. Proactiv is not the miracle I was searching for...that's for sure!



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I CANT TELL YOU HOW MUCH THIS HAS RUINED MY SKIN. i used to get some breakouts now i stopped using it a year ago and my skin is horrible they put something in this so your skin needs everyday miss it once and your skin breaks out like crazy but when i did use it it stopped my acne i don't care though my skin is ruined ;(
trust me dont start with it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2008 11:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product was not what I would have expected at all. I heard nothing but great things about Proactiv, but once I finally decided to try it, I was extremely disapointed. I don't have full-blown acne at all, but I do get breakouts every once in a while. My skin is combination/dry. When I tried this, all it did was dry out my skin even more. Although my breakouts didn't get worse, they didn't get better. The product itself is nasty. It feels grainy and smells nasty. The refining mask is thick and gloopy. After using this for a good 3 or 4 weeks, I tried a drugstore brand someone recommended to me, and within a few days, my face was almost totally clear. I'm still trying to figure out what everyone is raving about with this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I tried this after seeing all the stars rave about this system. I ordered it and to my dismay after a month my skin was worse that ever before. I am glad it works for some, but it's not for me.


on 7/15/2008 3:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've always had pretty moderate/light acne, and have used every drug store product out there. I've heard such terrible things about proactiv, but I'm kinda a sucker for commercials, so I had to order one about 2 years ago, just the starter kit for 20 dollars. Shipping was horrible, so that was a huge pain, but once it got here it didn't do anything for me!!! So that was every worse!
Then about 4 months ago, the commercials sucked me in, yet again, and I discovered a kiosk at my local mall, which is so much better than getting it shipped. And surprisingly, although it burned my face for about the first week, the burning stopped, and so did my acne.
Like other reviewers, I can tell that my skin is very dependent on it. I haven't noticed any bleaching of towels or pillows, and have been using it religiously for about 4 months now. My skin has never looked better. I'm so surprised and happy that it worked for me.
The key is consistency. That's why it didn't work for me the first time, I didn't do every step every morning and night. It is kind of time consuming - three steps twice a day - but oh my goodness, I love my skin now, so it's totally worth it!!!
The price just sucks :( I wish there was something cheaper. Oh well, I will forever be a devoted buyer!!


***EDIT*** Proactiv really messed up my face, ironically just a few days after I posted this. Thank god I could return it! I'm using Differin now....ugh, i hate acne, Don't use proactiv!!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using ProActiv on and off since 2001. I have cystic acne (adult acne--how fun!) and I need serious help, especially for my chin.

When I was younger, I would use this product and still get the occasional cystic lesion (large pimple/bump.) I stopped using ProActiv when I went on the Pill, thinking that I didn't need it anymore--but I did. I've been using ProActiv for the last year and I've only had 2 cystic lesions since!

I only use the system at night, otherwise my face is too dry (I wash with another cleanser in the AM.) ProActiv does bleach your towels, so don't use a dark towel to dry your face after you've used the first step.

All in all, I would recommend that anybody with acne should give ProActiv a try.


on 7/14/2008 11:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Alright, so I used proactiv for a month. At first it seemed like it may clear me up, and then my skin took a turn for the worse. I developed cysts, which I had never had before. My face was red and painful, and since then (this was over a year ago) i have yet to correct the damage proactiv has caused.
I even switched to the sensitive formula that they sell, and still it tore up my skin. I will never, ever apply any form of proactiv product to my face again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2008 6:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used proactive 2 years ago and it cleared up my skin nicely. I started breaking out again, so I ordered another kit. It's only been a week and I noticed that my skin is starting to get clear and smooth. I don't find any of the steps irritating, and I think it smells good for what it is. The repairing lotion is the only BP product I've found that doesn't dry/burn my skin. I buy mine from QVC because they sometimes have special promotions. Although, it's really not expensive when you think about it. I got four full sized products for about $40, which is about $10 per item. That's still less than some drugstore products.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm torn with this one... It works, it does. If used correctly and consistently, I get great results from Proactiv. That's not the issue. The issue is that I'm approaching my 30s and am concerned with using benzoyl peroxide (which causes free radical damage). I wish I could find an acne treatment that works and does not contain benzoyl peroxide!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2008 9:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This crap messed my face up! I was "lucky" or so I thought, so get a free full sized 3-Step System in the mail, I was so excited to try it so I did it at night and in the morning my face was all red and very itchy. It's very strong and my skin isn't that sensitive but if your skin is sensitive I would definitely not recommend it.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1280 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
180 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
278 Reviews
Back to Top