Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1638 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JGardella on 9/16/2003 11:22:00 PM more reviews by JGardella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I received a sample of this with my latest Sephora order and I was so excited to try it. My skin is very sensitive and lately it's been a bit dry. My skin stays clear so I don't bother with foundation or powder.


I applied this in the morning and then went to work. Within 30 minutes of applying this my skin felt very oily. Infact, my face was so oily and greasy from this lotion that my hair that frames the sides of my face actually got oily from touching my face. Ewwwwwwwwwwww! That has never happened before. When I got home work I noticed the oily end of my hair (which is NEVER oily) and I had the beginnings of several pimples where I had applied the lotion on my forehead, chin, and cheeks.


Grrrrrrrrreat. Stay away from this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MegAna on 9/9/2003 12:53:00 AM more reviews by MegAna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I also got the lovely allover face rash which itched like crazy. I returned it for a full refund. The only good thing was that a week after the rash my skin looked great - it was like a chemical peel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 desireefl on 9/8/2003 7:14:00 PM more reviews by desireefl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Made my skin break out into a rash. It was a disaster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Connie11 on 9/4/2003 8:52:00 AM more reviews by Connie11

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of this, and I really did not like the smell. I prefer to enjoy the smell of my products. Other than that, it seemed like a pretty good moisturizer, although I was just trying it from a sample.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ophilia on 8/12/2003 6:54:00 PM more reviews by ophilia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

No effect at all. A waste of money. My first Phil product, probably never use the brand again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BittyB on 7/24/2003 3:04:00 AM more reviews by BittyB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Good stuff! I have been using it for a week and can already tell a difference in the brightness and fine lines. It can be a tad greasy, so I put it on lightly for the day. The only problem is the smell which is a strong plastic smell that lingers for awhile..yuck

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeUpJunky7 on 7/20/2003 11:00:00 PM more reviews by MakeUpJunky7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great moisturizer for normal/combination skin! I have smooth, glowing skin after using this for awhile in combination with Prescriptive's Vibrant. I agree that the smell could be improved upon but it won't turn me away from buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fairylis on 7/18/2003 3:54:00 PM more reviews by fairylis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A good moisturizer for normal to oily skin but it didn't do anything for my acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julierabe on 7/14/2003 3:45:00 PM more reviews by Julierabe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I guess I am weird. I LOVE the smell of this moisturizer. I am not sensitive at all, but usually may have a break out or two when using a new product. Not so with this. I use it with Purity, On a Clear Day Blemish Gel, Help Me at night, and The Present for foundation primer. All are wonderful, although I think the Help me, at$45, is too pricey. So far, I haven't seen too much from that one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kitsune on 7/13/2003 8:38:00 PM more reviews by kitsune

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually like Philosophy products, though I rarely buy them, as they seem to be a case of very clever marketing and equally clever markup to me. I got this moisturizer as part of a gift, and was excited to try it. For some reason, the "medicine-y" smell of some Philosophy skin treatments doesn't bother me. HOWEVER -- this gave me the first (and hopefully last) cosmetic rash I have *ever* had! I've been moisturizing + using makeup since I was a teenager -- my combo skin is not at all sensitive, and I am not aware of any allergies. But within 2 days of using this moisturizer, I developed little itchy bumps on my nose and forehead. At first I was bewildered, because as I said, I've never had an allergic reaction in (mumble mumble) years. But I finally figured out that it must be contact dermatitis of some kind. The moisturizer was the only thing I'd changed in my routine, so I took it out to see if the rash would go away. After a few itchy days, it did fade. As another test, I tried a swipe of the Philosophy moisturizer on my inner wrist one night, and lo and behold, itchy bumps by the end of the next day. I'm tempted to say that anything that would give unsensitive *me* a rash CAN'T be good, but I would guess that it must work for some people. ;) I don't seem to have a reaction to other AHAs or even Philosophy's related Sole Survivor or Time On Your Hands creams, so it's got to be something specific in this moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products