Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1674 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Agusia on 1/28/2004 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Agusia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great moisturizer for my oily and prone to monthly breakouts skin. I'm a regular user of acne treatments which can cause flakiness. This moisturizer is very light in consistency and yet moisturizes better than anything else I've tried (and I've tried many). It does have an unpleasant smell, but I have gotten so used to it that I don't even notice it anymore. I'm on my third jar and will keep purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dr_Luna on 1/24/2004 4:16:00 PM more reviews by Dr_Luna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am extremely sensitive to smell -- in fact, that's why I can't wear Benefit's face cream called something like Touch Me Then Try to Leave Me. But the scent of Hope in a Jar is faint, and it's a clean, somewhat soapy medicinal scent, easily overlooked given the strong performance of this cream. I only use it at night but after only 3 days had already noticed a persistent soft quality to my skin even when I wasn't wearing it. I swear by Estee Lauder's Idealist, and will continue to use it every day, but that product only works while you are wearing it. Hope in a Jar seems to provide cumulative effects -- like if I skip a day, I still have the dewy smoothness it imparts on my skin. But nightly use yields the best results -- keeps my skin unbelievably soft and plumped, and is a very gentle but effective cream.
UPDATE After a month of nightly use, 2 things: 1) the smell everyone mentions disappears from the product after a couple of weeks and 2) I was right about the cumulative effects -- definitely improves skin for a few days even when you're not wearing it. But I am getting incredible results from nightly use, and I really love the moist plumping effect. Please note that I am 47 with dry to normal "good" skin -- when I was a teenager or in my 20s, this may have been too much for me. But I'm thinking anyone 35+ will LOVE it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sashimigirl on 1/19/2004 9:56:00 PM more reviews by sashimigirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have super oily, sensitive, acne prone skin that went combination this winter. So I was a bit wary about this moisturizer since it is thicker and more emollient than what I would usually use. But since I got the sample size as part of a Christmas gift I decided to give it a try. I was really surprised at how soothing it was to my skin! It really moisturizes the dry skin while not over-moisturizing the T-zone -- no oil slicks here! I've been using this for almost a month with the Purity cleanser and have noticed that my skin's moisture level has evened out (T-zone less oily, rest of face less dry) and I even break out less. As for the smell I kind of like it -- I assume it comes from the lavender oil. The price tag is a bit steep but for results like these I might just be willing to repurchase, if I can find a decent deal on ebay ;) I do worry about how it will work in warmer weather if my skin morphs back to oily...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RileyKate on 1/18/2004 3:20:00 AM more reviews by RileyKate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand all the bad reviews?! - But I understand that everyone's skin is different - This is becoming my HG moisturizer (and Oprah's LOL) - I swear my skin looks better and better every day - I seem to have softer, clearer, brighter & rosier skin - It did not make me break out (which can sometimes be a problem for me) - It absorbs almost instantly and has a light whipped texture - Seriously, my skin is "makeup-optional" and I don't *need* any blush anymore since I have this rosy glow now (not ruddy, rosy, I swear!) .. but I am a blush addict and can not help myself - (((I also use alot of other Philosophy products - I mix the Vitamin C powder (Hope & a Prayer) w/ my moisturizer in the am - and I think the cleanser is the best ever!))) - oh, and I really don't notice any bad smell?!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Faustina on 1/16/2004 1:17:00 PM more reviews by Faustina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this moisturizer! It is perfect. Not greasy, but gives just the right amount of moisture. It disolves fast into the skin and makes it ready for my make-up. $35.00 is not bad for 2oz if you have compared other high end moisturizers. I would recomend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blush223 on 1/16/2004 6:58:00 AM more reviews by blush223

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Made me break out; upset my skin. Test it first. Smells a little like ammonia to me, wonder what ingredient in it smells like ammonia? I can see how others may like it, though. Good consistency. If you're oily and/or sensitive/prone to breakouts, might try Hope in a Bottle or another product instead. I just don't have much luck with Philosophy. Re packaging: Think, for sanitary reasons, they should either make this a pump package or include a little scoop to discourage contamination of the product. Make sure your hands are just washed and really clean if you're scooping with your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theunblonde on 1/16/2004 2:28:00 AM more reviews by theunblonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So it smells a little funny. That just means they're not adding any fragrance to possibly irritate skin, just to make it smell more pleasant! This silky-smooth, excellent moisturizer is my holy grail. I have rosacea, and it doesn't irritate-- but it makes my dry spots soft, and my oily spots don't get oilier. I mix this with Hope and a Prayer, and I'll never go back to my previous products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Imanaddict on 1/15/2004 6:47:00 PM more reviews by Imanaddict

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I happen to really like Hope in aJar and my sister swears by it...great for sensitive skin, and I dont find the smell repulsive at all...I tend to stay away from sweet, overperfumed smells and this just smells clean to me..no perfumes added

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zerodatura on 1/15/2004 2:01:00 PM more reviews by zerodatura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this moisturizer. I have noticed a decrease in fine lines and my skin tone is rosy and bright, just as the product promises. My little forehead wrinkles used to be really noticable, but now you can barely see them. I especially like how quickly the cream is absorbed into my skin...it leaves it completely soft without feeling heavy or greasy. I am on my second jar, so obviously I would purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SkyCandyGirl on 1/13/2004 6:30:00 AM more reviews by SkyCandyGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I started using this product because a friend of mine w/ beautiful skin recommended it. I love the way it works! It's light and smooth. My skin is soft and bright and looks so much better . . .but I also noticed the not so pleasant smell . . .especially when you put it on then blow dry your hair! The heat from the dryer makes it even worse. Oh well, the product works so wonderfully, I've decided to get used to the smell of it and I won't use anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products