Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1700 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 4/25/2004 11:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Great product! I have sensitive skin and this gives me just what my skin needs, hydration. It has kept my skin balanced and clear and it's never greasy. It does not feel like it sits on top of the skin, rather it sinks in. This leaves me with a healthy glow and I'm happy with the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/24/2004 5:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this moisturizer. When I first smelled it, I was a little put off, but the more I used it and saw the results, well I associate the smell with my glowy skin and don't mind it one bit. I love the souffle texture and it only takes a pea size for me. I am oily-not extremely though, and this is the first moisturizer that didn't make me look like an oil slick by 10 am. I mix Hope and a Prayer with it in the am and follow with the Present. LOVE IT!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2004 10:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great stuff - first moisturizer that I've loved. Doesn't go on greasy - is like whipped cream for your face. Only reason I don't give it a rating of 5 is that it isn't the greatest as a primer for my foundation - and also has no sunscreen. But I still love it!


on 4/12/2004 10:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

So, I really like how this works...Nice smooth glowy skin. But, unfortunately I cannot abide by my face smelling like wet dog. The smell is revolting-subtle, long-lasting and canine. So gross...I need to go wash my face (again) now.


on 4/1/2004 7:43:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was given a generous sample of Hope In A Jar. I tried it on two occasions and found it (both times) to be so-so. It felt good going on, but the moisture it provided seemed to diminish very quickly.

I don't think the scent is bad, as some people here have described, but it is medicinal in nature (not a pretty smell). It reminds me a little of Noxema... although it's a little more emollient. Bottom line: Perhaps a step above your average drug store brand, but I don't think it's worth near the asking price. I guess I expect more from a moisturizer in this price ($35) range. For that reason, I'm giving it a overall value of 2. Not to mention, there are a lot of other moisturizers out there in the same price range (or less) that are much better. Just my opinion.


on 3/29/2004 8:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to love this product. It did nothing special for my skin. I just don't think it is worth the price.


on 3/29/2004 8:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! The smell...what smell? My skin is glowing, gives me a rosy, healthy color I didn't have before. Along with the Purity cleanser I am very happy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2004 5:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am so suprised to read some of the reviews for this product. I do not smell anything bad about Hope In A Jar. I use it daily and although I can't say it is a miracle product, it keeps my skin looking fresh. The texture of this product is the best, very soft and it is lightweight. I have combination skin but I don't break out very often. I think it is ideal for young women showing early signs of aging but don't need wrinkle creams other similar products yet. I started using it after the birth of my first child when I felt like I aged overnight. Philosophy is the first skin care line that I used. Works for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2004 2:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After having good results with some other Philosophy products, I was excited to try this - received in swap, opened it and EEWWWW!! My nose, my nose!!! It literally triggered a very bad reaction - I kept thinking of Noxema gone horribly, horribly wrong!! I have tried several times to actually use it and I just can't get it to my face. Some things in life are just not worth it!!


on 3/21/2004 11:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I know this product has an almost cult-like following, lots of people like it but I'm not one of them. It was way too greasy and heavy for my skin and it has a horrible medicinal smell to it.


Back to Top