Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1663 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blueness on 1/6/2004 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Blueness

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff smelled like pee! I cant believe I actually went thru the whole sample package- I used it day and night for 3 days and I'm still trying to get my face to forgive me. I have combi/oily skin but suddenly my cheeks and mouth area are parched and my undereyes are dry and flakey and they look WRINKLY- and that is *never* ok. Sure, no breakouts, but at the cost of ugly skin? I'm praying to the Estee Lauder Perfectionist god to make it all go away- it took only 6 uses to ruin years of work; hopefully it wont take that long to repair it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cclark02 on 1/5/2004 9:20:00 PM more reviews by cclark02

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this last month and I have to say that I am turning into a Philosophy girl. I love this moisturizer! I am in my mid-thirties and have oily skin (less oily in the winter) and find that this product does not leave me feeling greasy with this at all. I have had no breakouts and I love the texture of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JohannaFi on 1/3/2004 4:44:00 PM more reviews by JohannaFi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I know Iīm not the first - or the last - one to say that the smell of this product is strange; once a friend of mine politely asked if I hadnīt had a shower for a couple of days =) The smell is not the only thing I find odd in this cream; for some reason, on my skin, this product sort of melts, so that it feels almost liquid. Donīt know if thatīs supposed to happen, but it feels strange until it soaks in. Not sure if Iīd buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chelsear on 1/2/2004 6:14:00 PM more reviews by chelsear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It's unfortunate so many people have dismissed this product based entirely on the smell. It does smell a little odd - lavender and ozone, almost - but that is more than made up for by how it performs. My combo skin looks brighter, less red, more even, has no flakes, and is less oily since I started using this. Get past the smell and try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kristie999 on 12/30/2003 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Kristie999

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't really notice a smell like everyone says. It has a nice whipped feeling on my skin. It is a great moisturizer and does the job. I've gotten 2 half size samples from ordering stuff from Sephora. I will probably buy the full size when I run out. Update: Have been using this for a few weeks now and I really like it. It may be me, but I think my skin is looking better and better! This may be my HG Moisturizer.UPDATE:
I still like this, but I have to say that it DOES smell like a wet dog. I can only use this during the day with makeup because the smell is icky. I do still love the texture and the overall affect it has on my skin. I will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aiyahbee on 12/22/2003 9:42:00 PM more reviews by aiyahbee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Despite how nice my skin looked after putting this on, I couldn't stand the smell. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciao_bella on 12/16/2003 7:22:00 PM more reviews by ciao_bella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff! I will never again use another moisturizer. I love the Purity Made Simple and thought I'd venture out and try other products; I have not been disappointed! I have seen an improvement in my skin since I've started using Philosophy products .. and my skin is now "makeup optional"!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viciousviolet on 12/16/2003 5:00:00 AM more reviews by viciousviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I couldn't care less about the scent of this product. It works. It works wonderfully. I have been using it for almost two months, and I will never use another eye cream. The fine lines around my eyes are completely gone, and it works wonders for making me seem bright and alert when I haven't had a full night's sleep. Just recently I've begun using it on my lips at night, and my lips feel softer and fuller. Hope in a Jar is worth every dime. I love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 12/14/2003 5:00:00 AM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this along with the Real Purity cleanser. At first when I used the moisturizer right after the cleaner I noticed it didn't soak in very well. I was dissapointed in it at first and the smell is god awful. I swear it smells just like a nasty wet dog but the smell does fade away thank god. Anyway I took a nap and when I woke up I looked in the mirror and I was amazed. My skin looks poreless and smooth. I have a lot of redness and it's gone! I look like I have soft silky baby skin! I'm so excited about this brand now that I plan on ordering a skincare set. This stuff did wonders for my skin, I don't care if it smells like a wet dog, i'll put up with it as long as my skin looks good. No one's going to smell my face anyway so it's all good.

UPDATE: I've been using the Philosophy Jump Starters kit now for almost a month and I can honestly say that my skin has improved. The redness I had has been reduced and no more flaky patches. This is definitely a good set for me. I'm so glad I tried it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HOTSPOT423 on 12/13/2003 1:01:00 AM more reviews by HOTSPOT423

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Everyone is right about the smell. I recieved a sample first in a MAC container and assumed it was the container that made the smell. Its a not so nice mix of lavendar and plastic smell. Even so, a top notch makeup artist that works for ANOTHER high-end company recommended I use this product rather than his own brand. I'm still searching for a miracle!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products