Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1658 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 aiyahbee on 12/22/2003 9:42:00 PM more reviews by aiyahbee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Despite how nice my skin looked after putting this on, I couldn't stand the smell. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ciao_bella on 12/16/2003 7:22:00 PM more reviews by ciao_bella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this stuff! I will never again use another moisturizer. I love the Purity Made Simple and thought I'd venture out and try other products; I have not been disappointed! I have seen an improvement in my skin since I've started using Philosophy products .. and my skin is now "makeup optional"!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viciousviolet on 12/16/2003 5:00:00 AM more reviews by viciousviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I couldn't care less about the scent of this product. It works. It works wonderfully. I have been using it for almost two months, and I will never use another eye cream. The fine lines around my eyes are completely gone, and it works wonders for making me seem bright and alert when I haven't had a full night's sleep. Just recently I've begun using it on my lips at night, and my lips feel softer and fuller. Hope in a Jar is worth every dime. I love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 12/14/2003 5:00:00 AM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this along with the Real Purity cleanser. At first when I used the moisturizer right after the cleaner I noticed it didn't soak in very well. I was dissapointed in it at first and the smell is god awful. I swear it smells just like a nasty wet dog but the smell does fade away thank god. Anyway I took a nap and when I woke up I looked in the mirror and I was amazed. My skin looks poreless and smooth. I have a lot of redness and it's gone! I look like I have soft silky baby skin! I'm so excited about this brand now that I plan on ordering a skincare set. This stuff did wonders for my skin, I don't care if it smells like a wet dog, i'll put up with it as long as my skin looks good. No one's going to smell my face anyway so it's all good.

UPDATE: I've been using the Philosophy Jump Starters kit now for almost a month and I can honestly say that my skin has improved. The redness I had has been reduced and no more flaky patches. This is definitely a good set for me. I'm so glad I tried it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HOTSPOT423 on 12/13/2003 1:01:00 AM more reviews by HOTSPOT423

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Everyone is right about the smell. I recieved a sample first in a MAC container and assumed it was the container that made the smell. Its a not so nice mix of lavendar and plastic smell. Even so, a top notch makeup artist that works for ANOTHER high-end company recommended I use this product rather than his own brand. I'm still searching for a miracle!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Saylavie on 12/10/2003 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Saylavie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After hearing all the hype from QVC and Oprah, I ordered this I received Hope in a Jar as part of a QVC TSV. A little while after putting it on, I started smelling a really foul odor. At first I thought it was my perfume, but then I smelled my hands and realized it was the moisturizer. UGH!! It stinks to high heaven. I don't understand what all the hoopla is about over this stuff. It's an ok moisturizer, but it's not worth the $35 cost or the offensive scent! I've really come to believe that there is too much hype over Philosphy's products and they aren't anything special - just expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 iluvmakeup41889 on 12/7/2003 1:44:00 PM more reviews by iluvmakeup41889

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Ughh This product was absolutley horrible! The scent made me gag so bad that i had to immediatley wash off my face!!! It smells like vomit and orange peels..eww~!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sashka on 12/6/2003 11:58:00 PM more reviews by sashka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't understand how they can sell a cosmetic that smells this bad?

unfortunately, I couldn't stand the smell so I don't know how effective this is as a face moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 stressedout on 12/6/2003 2:35:00 PM more reviews by stressedout

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have to agree about the smell - it's really bad and the oil slick factor is way too much for me. Shiny face is unacceptable and this is all the cream did for me. One of philosophy's worst!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamourmama on 12/4/2003 8:24:00 AM more reviews by glamourmama

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Was too greasy for my combo skin, and couldn't stand the smell, had to wash it off after 30 mins.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products