Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1669 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blush223 on 1/16/2004 6:58:00 AM more reviews by blush223

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Made me break out; upset my skin. Test it first. Smells a little like ammonia to me, wonder what ingredient in it smells like ammonia? I can see how others may like it, though. Good consistency. If you're oily and/or sensitive/prone to breakouts, might try Hope in a Bottle or another product instead. I just don't have much luck with Philosophy. Re packaging: Think, for sanitary reasons, they should either make this a pump package or include a little scoop to discourage contamination of the product. Make sure your hands are just washed and really clean if you're scooping with your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 theunblonde on 1/16/2004 2:28:00 AM more reviews by theunblonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So it smells a little funny. That just means they're not adding any fragrance to possibly irritate skin, just to make it smell more pleasant! This silky-smooth, excellent moisturizer is my holy grail. I have rosacea, and it doesn't irritate-- but it makes my dry spots soft, and my oily spots don't get oilier. I mix this with Hope and a Prayer, and I'll never go back to my previous products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Imanaddict on 1/15/2004 6:47:00 PM more reviews by Imanaddict

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I happen to really like Hope in aJar and my sister swears by it...great for sensitive skin, and I dont find the smell repulsive at all...I tend to stay away from sweet, overperfumed smells and this just smells clean to me..no perfumes added

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zerodatura on 1/15/2004 2:01:00 PM more reviews by zerodatura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this moisturizer. I have noticed a decrease in fine lines and my skin tone is rosy and bright, just as the product promises. My little forehead wrinkles used to be really noticable, but now you can barely see them. I especially like how quickly the cream is absorbed into my skin...it leaves it completely soft without feeling heavy or greasy. I am on my second jar, so obviously I would purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SkyCandyGirl on 1/13/2004 6:30:00 AM more reviews by SkyCandyGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I started using this product because a friend of mine w/ beautiful skin recommended it. I love the way it works! It's light and smooth. My skin is soft and bright and looks so much better . . .but I also noticed the not so pleasant smell . . .especially when you put it on then blow dry your hair! The heat from the dryer makes it even worse. Oh well, the product works so wonderfully, I've decided to get used to the smell of it and I won't use anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maltomeel on 1/7/2004 9:02:00 PM more reviews by maltomeel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cream. I am a Darphin junkie but just didn't have the funds post-holiday...so i ordred this from QVC, knowing the return policy is excellent. Well, I love it. I agree that the smell is odd, although not offensive....reminds me of how my hair smells the first few days after a professional colouring....an underlying plastic-y odor. For $35 for a generous 2 oz. I can't complain. This cream works and leaves my skin feeling smooth and "elastic". I've saved myself $100!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blueness on 1/6/2004 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Blueness

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff smelled like pee! I cant believe I actually went thru the whole sample package- I used it day and night for 3 days and I'm still trying to get my face to forgive me. I have combi/oily skin but suddenly my cheeks and mouth area are parched and my undereyes are dry and flakey and they look WRINKLY- and that is *never* ok. Sure, no breakouts, but at the cost of ugly skin? I'm praying to the Estee Lauder Perfectionist god to make it all go away- it took only 6 uses to ruin years of work; hopefully it wont take that long to repair it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cclark02 on 1/5/2004 9:20:00 PM more reviews by cclark02

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this last month and I have to say that I am turning into a Philosophy girl. I love this moisturizer! I am in my mid-thirties and have oily skin (less oily in the winter) and find that this product does not leave me feeling greasy with this at all. I have had no breakouts and I love the texture of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JohannaFi on 1/3/2004 4:44:00 PM more reviews by JohannaFi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I know Iīm not the first - or the last - one to say that the smell of this product is strange; once a friend of mine politely asked if I hadnīt had a shower for a couple of days =) The smell is not the only thing I find odd in this cream; for some reason, on my skin, this product sort of melts, so that it feels almost liquid. Donīt know if thatīs supposed to happen, but it feels strange until it soaks in. Not sure if Iīd buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chelsear on 1/2/2004 6:14:00 PM more reviews by chelsear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

It's unfortunate so many people have dismissed this product based entirely on the smell. It does smell a little odd - lavender and ozone, almost - but that is more than made up for by how it performs. My combo skin looks brighter, less red, more even, has no flakes, and is less oily since I started using this. Get past the smell and try this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products