Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3402 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/7/2008 12:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this product to help my skin about 4 weeks before my wedding. It seemed to do okay for a while but after the wedding (thank God!) it started drying out my skin really badly. I think overall the products were just too harsh for my more sensitive skin. Maybe now that they have a new moisturizer it wouldn't be so bad... I doubt I'll purchase it again though.



on 8/7/2008 5:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I got this I was breaking out pretty heavily and my skin cleared up immediately and stayed clear for about a week. After the first week I started breaking out again and it just got worse and worse and worse until I stopped using the whole entire system. It didn't work for me, but my friend who uses the system now has acne-free skin so i guess it's worth a shot.


on 8/7/2008 4:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

From reading the reviews, it looks like many people didn't like proactiv, but I used it and it gave me pretty good results. It cleared up all of my acne..it wasn't much acne at all, but i had those little bumps on my forehead that nothing can get rid of except proactiv. the bad thing is that it's really strong so it can dry out your skin.


on 8/6/2008 2:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I also had mild acne and I just wanted clear smooth beautiful skin just like the advertisement told me I could have so I tried it and it caused me to breakout, and not only just break out but intensely breakout beyond anything I had ever experienced before. I had huge red blotches of acne that made my face look swollen and feel PAINFUL. I would not recommend this to anybody use a trusted department store brand they are just as expensive but alot more safe.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product after I experienced a particularly stubborn breakout after using Benefit's Dallas blush. I have rather mild acne, I only break out before my period and I get a couple of zits that go away. I'd always wanted really clear skin though, just like in the pro-activ ads (lol naive much?) so I decided to give it a try. Oh my gosh. Worst experience ever. I broke out like there was no tomorrow along my jaw line and it wasn't even the regular whiteheads I usually got- I got these awful huge red painful bumps. My whole face had a sort of darkened look like the skin was chemically burned. This stuff bleaches your clothes - isn't that an indication of how strong it is? I guess this only works if you have serious acne but if you only break out occasionally, proactiv makes your skin worse not better.


on 8/5/2008 9:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I gave it two lip sticks because it did work when I began. I was first introduced to the system when I was 16 years old. It worked for the first year but I matured and so did my pimples! I used to get the ones that weren't deep in my skin but somehow with age, stress, horomones, etc, my pimples became bigger and seemed to be in the deeper layers of my skin. I would say this probably works for mild to little acne but not for people who have severe acne.


on 8/4/2008 11:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I never had really bad acne. My forehead developed a problem only because I got bangs. I started by using the product on my whole face, but a few days later, I found my skin reallllly dry and flaky. It was the most unpleasant thing! I stopped and went back to using it after the dryness subsided, but only on my forehead. I found the same thing to happen when I used it everyday. I started using it every other day, and I saw a bit of improvement. Now the acne on my forehead is gone, but the product left my forehead to be the most oily part of my face. I've stopped using it now since I can't stand what it was doing to my skin.


on 8/4/2008 4:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

With all the hype surrounding ProActiv, I was expecting miracles with this system.

It did make my skin feel fresh and clean, and at first, I did notice some improvement with my acne, but after regular use for the past year or so (I was very patient!), it seems that ProActiv just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I think it "reached a plateau" with my skin. My skin got a little bit better, but there were no drastic improvements. Seems like it was as good as it was gonna get. Plus, this system is just so gosh darn expensive... there are certainly better products out there with more reasonable prices.


on 8/4/2008 4:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had great expectations for this product, but this system is just way too harsh for my fair, sensitive skin. It cleared up my skin, but left my skin red, flaky and peeling even with the addition of moisturizer. Also, my breakouts were worse when I stopped using the system, so I wish I'd never started in the first place.


on 8/3/2008 5:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Well I never really had back acne to begin with, just the occasional breakout and such but I hated them so much that I decided to try this. I had heard so many great things and how it worked so well from friends. However for me it did nothing.I used all of it in hopes that it would do something eventually but all it did was dry out my skin and make it unbearably flakey. Now I just wash my face with cetaphil cleanser and use the cetaphil moisturizer and it has been alot better; less breakouts and no longer dry. I still use the mask every now and then though or as a spot treatment. Although when that runs out Ill just go with the asprin masks that are also effective and cheap.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1301 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
285 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
107 Reviews
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top