Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3412 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/16/2008 8:49:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this for my black skin that had occasional breakouts. This product is mediocre at best. It seemed to work some days, others it didn't. Like, one pimple would go away, then another would pop up, and so forth. Although, I have combination/oily skin, using all 3 in synergy form, made my skin dry and feeling somewhat tight. So, then I had to add a moisturizer or sometimes have to skip a step, because the products are drying. I used it for about month, maybe 6 weeks;I stopped using it because there was no benefit I could see.



on 8/15/2008 8:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This definitely works. It won't work if you don't use all 3 steps though. I've been with Pro Activ for a couple years and have been happy with it. Acne starts drying and clearing up with 3-4 days. The only thing I don't like is how long it takes to ship! It takes 3-4 weeks.


on 8/14/2008 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I did not care for this stuff at all! I tried to use this 3 seperate times, I'd buy the kit after seeing the ads, and each time I have always been disappointed. This actually seemed to break me out worse. The smell of this stuff is horrible, not to mention if you have anything that is colored ie: bath towels, pillow cases, wash clothes, that would come into contact with this product they get bleached out! I cant tell you how many towels I had to replace because I forgot that it would ruin them. The mask they "give" you is crap, If you have dry skin or a bad breakout good luck washing this stuff out of any healing area's. I can honestly say I would never recommend this to anyone.


on 8/12/2008 12:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using proactiv for a couple of years now and honestly, its the best thing that works for my acne. After a couple of months, my face was FLAWLESS and my friends and family have noticed the change. Now a lot people have been saying that its drying and its true, it can be. However, what most people don't know is that benzoyl peroxide, the acne medication, dries out your skin. In fact, most acne medications do. The cleanser and the repairing lotion have b.p. in it and a big misconception is that the repairing lotion (step 3) is a moisturizer but its not! Step 1 and 2 prepare your pores by unclogging them and removing impurities so that the acne medication in the repairing lotion can penetrate to kill bacteria deep in the pores. Most people are exposed to proactiv by the infomercials and they are only introduced to the 3 step system. Now, if you have stopped at a kiosk in the mall, you would've been introduced to the 5 piece kit, which is the starter kit. It includes an oil-free moisturizer (this is what makes it a starter kit) which is supposed to be applied on after the repairing lotion to prevent drying and add moisture to the skin (remember, healthy skin needs moisture!). On top of that, it has an spf of 15 which is important cause acne medications do make your skin more sensitive to the sun. I had crazy oily skin and the lady told me that if you leave your skin to dry, your skin naturally compensates for dryness by overproducing your own natural oils, hence the shiny face that I get later on.

So to sum it all up: Use an oil free moisturizer after the repairing lotion to prevent your skin from drying. Leaving your skin to dry like that can lead to more complications! I had to learn the hard way but I asked for some help and this is what i learnt. To this day, I'm still very satisfied with this product. I hope this helps!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2008 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my first time using pro-active for a few weeks now. I have mild yet hormonal acne. My skin cleared up very quickly after using all three products. However, after a few days my skin freaked out and got totally dry and flaky. After heavy moisturizing, and not using Pro-active for a weer my skin was back to normal. Now I only use the three steps 2-3 times per week, and during my time of the month. The mask does really work great for spot treatments, and the scrub is a fairly basic, yet nice scrub. The toner isn't as moisturizing as claims, and can cause irritation. Definitely not for sensitive skin.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I read a article and it says that if you use peroide excesively that it causes aging on the skin. I used this when I was younger and it dried my face out bad.


on 8/10/2008 4:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Err...I really don't like it... the cleanser is too grainy, and if you have sensitive skin, it's like sandpaper. The toner burns after the cleanser (but it's the best out of the three, in my opinion), and the repairing lotion is bad (it can burn). It does work for some people, but not for everybody.


on 8/8/2008 12:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm surprised by the low rating and reviews for this! I've been using the Pro Activ 3 step for over 4 years now, and it has worked wonders. Ever since puberty started, I have had constant breakouts and acne. There's never a day where I don't have at least a couple pimples. My skin got to be too much that my mom suggested I get something for it. I was recommended this product and ever since then, my skin isn't as bad as before. Yeah I breakout here and there sometimes, but that's only because of hormones. But there is something you need to watch out for, if you stop using it for awhile, your skin will go back to the way it was before you started. And also, if you use it too often, your skin might get dry, but that's only a minor thing cause you can always moisturize as often as needed. I like how it comes with a facial mask tube. I use it almost everyday to dry up and minimize huge pimples and or ones that I feel are starting to grow. I would definitely reccomend Pro Activ, even if it is almost $60 a set. The price is worth the result.


on 8/7/2008 9:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Din't work for me. I found a better product for less money (neutrogena and clean&clear) and they do wonders for my skin. The only good thing about proactiv is the mask. But to pricey too.


on 8/7/2008 4:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My skin is oil-prone and breaks out easily under stress. I used the Pro Activ system for a couple years, to mixed results. I think it helped maintain and even improve clear skin, reducing the incidence of the occasional pimple. However, it neither prevented nor treated my massive stress-induced breakouts. I think I can get similar or better results with less expensive products. My other complaint is that you can't open the bottles to easily transfer the product to other containers, e.g. for traveling.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
109 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
287 Reviews
Unblemish
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top