Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3378 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracyveronika on 7/15/2008 3:03:00 PM more reviews by tracyveronika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using ProActiv on and off since 2001. I have cystic acne (adult acne--how fun!) and I need serious help, especially for my chin.

When I was younger, I would use this product and still get the occasional cystic lesion (large pimple/bump.) I stopped using ProActiv when I went on the Pill, thinking that I didn't need it anymore--but I did. I've been using ProActiv for the last year and I've only had 2 cystic lesions since!

I only use the system at night, otherwise my face is too dry (I wash with another cleanser in the AM.) ProActiv does bleach your towels, so don't use a dark towel to dry your face after you've used the first step.

All in all, I would recommend that anybody with acne should give ProActiv a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cossie220 on 7/14/2008 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Cossie220

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Alright, so I used proactiv for a month. At first it seemed like it may clear me up, and then my skin took a turn for the worse. I developed cysts, which I had never had before. My face was red and painful, and since then (this was over a year ago) i have yet to correct the damage proactiv has caused.
I even switched to the sensitive formula that they sell, and still it tore up my skin. I will never, ever apply any form of proactiv product to my face again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SPOILEDkiwi on 7/14/2008 6:12:00 PM more reviews by SPOILEDkiwi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used proactive 2 years ago and it cleared up my skin nicely. I started breaking out again, so I ordered another kit. It's only been a week and I noticed that my skin is starting to get clear and smooth. I don't find any of the steps irritating, and I think it smells good for what it is. The repairing lotion is the only BP product I've found that doesn't dry/burn my skin. I buy mine from QVC because they sometimes have special promotions. Although, it's really not expensive when you think about it. I got four full sized products for about $40, which is about $10 per item. That's still less than some drugstore products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gottaHAVEitALL on 7/14/2008 11:09:00 AM more reviews by gottaHAVEitALL

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm torn with this one... It works, it does. If used correctly and consistently, I get great results from Proactiv. That's not the issue. The issue is that I'm approaching my 30s and am concerned with using benzoyl peroxide (which causes free radical damage). I wish I could find an acne treatment that works and does not contain benzoyl peroxide!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mince on 7/14/2008 9:48:00 AM more reviews by mince

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This crap messed my face up! I was "lucky" or so I thought, so get a free full sized 3-Step System in the mail, I was so excited to try it so I did it at night and in the morning my face was all red and very itchy. It's very strong and my skin isn't that sensitive but if your skin is sensitive I would definitely not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 deealigator on 7/14/2008 3:20:00 AM more reviews by deealigator

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This did not work for me at all. I've been using this for at least a year. It doesn't work any better than any other 3-step system. The cleanser was WAY too harsh for my skin. I could only use it once a day (by their recommendation) or my face was completely raw. This works for some people, but I'm not one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sallyv04 on 7/13/2008 11:52:00 PM more reviews by sallyv04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using Proactive for a good 4 years now and I will never switch my skin care regimen, not anytime soon anyway. Although my skin isn't anywhere near to perfect, it's pretty damn close. I have no acne and get a pimple about once a month, IF THAT. If I skimp on any of the steps, it shows. It seems that my skin is really dependent on this system, which kind of worries me but also shows how effective it is.
The only complaints I have is the price (ouch!) and the fact that I have to go to the mall whenever I run out. The telemarketers were too pushy on the sales so I was ecstatic when I found those karts at the mall! Also, it really does bleach my pillows. Yes, this worries me some but my skin is just too clear right now for me to worry about bleached pillows.
Yes, your skin will dry out for the first few weeks but give it time, it DOES go away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amyygirrl on 7/13/2008 8:56:00 PM more reviews by amyygirrl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

pro activ actually worked for me. i noticed my face was more clear, and my face was continuing to stay clear. there wasnt really signs of breakouts. however, i discontinued use because i have acne scars on my face and that was what i wanted to get rid of. but it worked for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PrincessPiper89 on 7/12/2008 10:27:00 PM more reviews by PrincessPiper89

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

quick warning-

When using proactiv at night, apply at least 45 minutes before actually going to bed. I learned the hard way that this product will discolor even the best of quality pillow cases/sheets. It DOES NOT wash out. Also, after using it for quite a while with mild results I stopped for about a month. When I started using it again I had the WORST allergic reaction of my life. My eyes were red, dry, peeling, and swollen and my skin was red and blotchy. My skin is very sensitive and I guess this highly potent product just wasn't a good match for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kamee on 7/8/2008 12:06:00 AM more reviews by Kamee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this on and off for 5 yrs. In the beginning it was ok. It made my face, especially my forehead, really smooth, but after a while this stuff just stopped working. I'd use it at night and wake up to tons of new zits. Also, they may have changed the formula or something cuz the toner and lotion really stings my eyes ever since they changed the caps to flip caps (and no i'm not stupid, i do not use this stuff on my eyes).


I recommend Neutrogena's Advanced Solutions acne therapy system instead. Its claim: "works faster than Proactiv" really holds true.... for me at least. It really does start clearing up acne the first time I used it.


EDIT: it has been a week with the NAS and my face is looking a whole lot better than last week. I'm really impressed with this stuff. I'm still dealing with a few more pimples, but overall my face has cleared up A LOT since last week. What use to be 20+ pimples now is 3 stubborn ones. Now i'm mainly dealing with scars. I highly recommend everyone to switch over if proactiv is not working for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products