Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3382 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 HeartsinParts on 7/18/2008 4:37:00 PM more reviews by HeartsinParts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I CANT TELL YOU HOW MUCH THIS HAS RUINED MY SKIN. i used to get some breakouts now i stopped using it a year ago and my skin is horrible they put something in this so your skin needs everyday miss it once and your skin breaks out like crazy but when i did use it it stopped my acne i don't care though my skin is ruined ;(
trust me dont start with it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lola108 on 7/18/2008 11:01:00 AM more reviews by lola108

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product was not what I would have expected at all. I heard nothing but great things about Proactiv, but once I finally decided to try it, I was extremely disapointed. I don't have full-blown acne at all, but I do get breakouts every once in a while. My skin is combination/dry. When I tried this, all it did was dry out my skin even more. Although my breakouts didn't get worse, they didn't get better. The product itself is nasty. It feels grainy and smells nasty. The refining mask is thick and gloopy. After using this for a good 3 or 4 weeks, I tried a drugstore brand someone recommended to me, and within a few days, my face was almost totally clear. I'm still trying to figure out what everyone is raving about with this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* love2buymakeup on 7/16/2008 2:08:00 PM more reviews by love2buymakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this after seeing all the stars rave about this system. I ordered it and to my dismay after a month my skin was worse that ever before. I am glad it works for some, but it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 azondlo on 7/15/2008 3:46:00 PM more reviews by azondlo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've always had pretty moderate/light acne, and have used every drug store product out there. I've heard such terrible things about proactiv, but I'm kinda a sucker for commercials, so I had to order one about 2 years ago, just the starter kit for 20 dollars. Shipping was horrible, so that was a huge pain, but once it got here it didn't do anything for me!!! So that was every worse!
Then about 4 months ago, the commercials sucked me in, yet again, and I discovered a kiosk at my local mall, which is so much better than getting it shipped. And surprisingly, although it burned my face for about the first week, the burning stopped, and so did my acne.
Like other reviewers, I can tell that my skin is very dependent on it. I haven't noticed any bleaching of towels or pillows, and have been using it religiously for about 4 months now. My skin has never looked better. I'm so surprised and happy that it worked for me.
The key is consistency. That's why it didn't work for me the first time, I didn't do every step every morning and night. It is kind of time consuming - three steps twice a day - but oh my goodness, I love my skin now, so it's totally worth it!!!
The price just sucks :( I wish there was something cheaper. Oh well, I will forever be a devoted buyer!!


***EDIT*** Proactiv really messed up my face, ironically just a few days after I posted this. Thank god I could return it! I'm using Differin now....ugh, i hate acne, Don't use proactiv!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracyveronika on 7/15/2008 3:03:00 PM more reviews by tracyveronika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using ProActiv on and off since 2001. I have cystic acne (adult acne--how fun!) and I need serious help, especially for my chin.

When I was younger, I would use this product and still get the occasional cystic lesion (large pimple/bump.) I stopped using ProActiv when I went on the Pill, thinking that I didn't need it anymore--but I did. I've been using ProActiv for the last year and I've only had 2 cystic lesions since!

I only use the system at night, otherwise my face is too dry (I wash with another cleanser in the AM.) ProActiv does bleach your towels, so don't use a dark towel to dry your face after you've used the first step.

All in all, I would recommend that anybody with acne should give ProActiv a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cossie220 on 7/14/2008 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Cossie220

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Alright, so I used proactiv for a month. At first it seemed like it may clear me up, and then my skin took a turn for the worse. I developed cysts, which I had never had before. My face was red and painful, and since then (this was over a year ago) i have yet to correct the damage proactiv has caused.
I even switched to the sensitive formula that they sell, and still it tore up my skin. I will never, ever apply any form of proactiv product to my face again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SPOILEDkiwi on 7/14/2008 6:12:00 PM more reviews by SPOILEDkiwi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used proactive 2 years ago and it cleared up my skin nicely. I started breaking out again, so I ordered another kit. It's only been a week and I noticed that my skin is starting to get clear and smooth. I don't find any of the steps irritating, and I think it smells good for what it is. The repairing lotion is the only BP product I've found that doesn't dry/burn my skin. I buy mine from QVC because they sometimes have special promotions. Although, it's really not expensive when you think about it. I got four full sized products for about $40, which is about $10 per item. That's still less than some drugstore products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gottaHAVEitALL on 7/14/2008 11:09:00 AM more reviews by gottaHAVEitALL

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm torn with this one... It works, it does. If used correctly and consistently, I get great results from Proactiv. That's not the issue. The issue is that I'm approaching my 30s and am concerned with using benzoyl peroxide (which causes free radical damage). I wish I could find an acne treatment that works and does not contain benzoyl peroxide!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mince on 7/14/2008 9:48:00 AM more reviews by mince

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This crap messed my face up! I was "lucky" or so I thought, so get a free full sized 3-Step System in the mail, I was so excited to try it so I did it at night and in the morning my face was all red and very itchy. It's very strong and my skin isn't that sensitive but if your skin is sensitive I would definitely not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 deealigator on 7/14/2008 3:20:00 AM more reviews by deealigator

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This did not work for me at all. I've been using this for at least a year. It doesn't work any better than any other 3-step system. The cleanser was WAY too harsh for my skin. I could only use it once a day (by their recommendation) or my face was completely raw. This works for some people, but I'm not one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products