Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3385 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Luv_MAC on 7/22/2008 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Luv_MAC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have occasional acne that seemed ever present when I switched jobs. i tried every Oxy product salicylic acid washing products I could fid. Those things only made my skin WORSE. So I saw the infomercial and decided to try Proactive. This made my skin burn and peel. It realy messed up my skin. I tried it 3 weeks thinking I had to just get used to it or maybe it was renewing my skin cells or something. No, I might as well have dumped BATTERY ACID on my face.

Ladies, stay away from this stuff.

for reference I have pale irish dry skin age 35, no freckles, no blackheads.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Azsharis on 7/22/2008 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Azsharis

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I fell into the trap that was ProActiv about two years ago, and have been using it continuously ever since, hoping against hope that it would clear up my acne "in time". And it did; off and on. There would be these random times when my face would look better than ever, but then it would just revert back to being a mess for no reason at all. I also found that if I didn't use the toner and the lotion, my face wouldn't be as bad. O.o Weird. I ended up just using the cleanser and that made it a little better.

Anyway! Using this product as a whole did almost nothing for me. Even on my *best* days my acne was still bad. The only thing that was good about this product for me, was the cleanser; the first step. All the other stuff is crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Novababy21 on 7/21/2008 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Novababy21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am the girl that would rather use antibiotics and tazorac prescribed by my wonderful dermatologist and it definitely clears out my skin and not to mention my wallet... a cheaper alternative would be my proactive.. i use the extra strength and it has truly balanced my skin. That doesn't mean I don't breakout occasionally but it had improved my skin by 80% without breaking the budget... so if the regular formula is not working for you ask for the extra strength.... you may get better results

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 obsess1beauty on 7/21/2008 12:28:00 AM more reviews by obsess1beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

One word...

YIKES!!!!
For starters, this is the most drying facial expericence I have EVER gone through!!! Use this for up to three weeks and not only will you peel like you had a severe sunburn, but you'll end up having to do everything in your power to get your skin's moisture back (it also causes wrinkles around the eye area |shocker!|). I found this whole line to have made my skin worse. I personally think that this isnt the way to go. Proactiv is not the miracle I was searching for...that's for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HeartsinParts on 7/18/2008 4:37:00 PM more reviews by HeartsinParts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I CANT TELL YOU HOW MUCH THIS HAS RUINED MY SKIN. i used to get some breakouts now i stopped using it a year ago and my skin is horrible they put something in this so your skin needs everyday miss it once and your skin breaks out like crazy but when i did use it it stopped my acne i don't care though my skin is ruined ;(
trust me dont start with it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lola108 on 7/18/2008 11:01:00 AM more reviews by lola108

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product was not what I would have expected at all. I heard nothing but great things about Proactiv, but once I finally decided to try it, I was extremely disapointed. I don't have full-blown acne at all, but I do get breakouts every once in a while. My skin is combination/dry. When I tried this, all it did was dry out my skin even more. Although my breakouts didn't get worse, they didn't get better. The product itself is nasty. It feels grainy and smells nasty. The refining mask is thick and gloopy. After using this for a good 3 or 4 weeks, I tried a drugstore brand someone recommended to me, and within a few days, my face was almost totally clear. I'm still trying to figure out what everyone is raving about with this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* love2buymakeup on 7/16/2008 2:08:00 PM more reviews by love2buymakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this after seeing all the stars rave about this system. I ordered it and to my dismay after a month my skin was worse that ever before. I am glad it works for some, but it's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 azondlo on 7/15/2008 3:46:00 PM more reviews by azondlo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've always had pretty moderate/light acne, and have used every drug store product out there. I've heard such terrible things about proactiv, but I'm kinda a sucker for commercials, so I had to order one about 2 years ago, just the starter kit for 20 dollars. Shipping was horrible, so that was a huge pain, but once it got here it didn't do anything for me!!! So that was every worse!
Then about 4 months ago, the commercials sucked me in, yet again, and I discovered a kiosk at my local mall, which is so much better than getting it shipped. And surprisingly, although it burned my face for about the first week, the burning stopped, and so did my acne.
Like other reviewers, I can tell that my skin is very dependent on it. I haven't noticed any bleaching of towels or pillows, and have been using it religiously for about 4 months now. My skin has never looked better. I'm so surprised and happy that it worked for me.
The key is consistency. That's why it didn't work for me the first time, I didn't do every step every morning and night. It is kind of time consuming - three steps twice a day - but oh my goodness, I love my skin now, so it's totally worth it!!!
The price just sucks :( I wish there was something cheaper. Oh well, I will forever be a devoted buyer!!


***EDIT*** Proactiv really messed up my face, ironically just a few days after I posted this. Thank god I could return it! I'm using Differin now....ugh, i hate acne, Don't use proactiv!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracyveronika on 7/15/2008 3:03:00 PM more reviews by tracyveronika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using ProActiv on and off since 2001. I have cystic acne (adult acne--how fun!) and I need serious help, especially for my chin.

When I was younger, I would use this product and still get the occasional cystic lesion (large pimple/bump.) I stopped using ProActiv when I went on the Pill, thinking that I didn't need it anymore--but I did. I've been using ProActiv for the last year and I've only had 2 cystic lesions since!

I only use the system at night, otherwise my face is too dry (I wash with another cleanser in the AM.) ProActiv does bleach your towels, so don't use a dark towel to dry your face after you've used the first step.

All in all, I would recommend that anybody with acne should give ProActiv a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cossie220 on 7/14/2008 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Cossie220

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Alright, so I used proactiv for a month. At first it seemed like it may clear me up, and then my skin took a turn for the worse. I developed cysts, which I had never had before. My face was red and painful, and since then (this was over a year ago) i have yet to correct the damage proactiv has caused.
I even switched to the sensitive formula that they sell, and still it tore up my skin. I will never, ever apply any form of proactiv product to my face again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products