Pro Activ 3-Step System

2.6

3398 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product after I experienced a particularly stubborn breakout after using Benefit's Dallas blush. I have rather mild acne, I only break out before my period and I get a couple of zits that go away. I'd always wanted really clear skin though, just like in the pro-activ ads (lol naive much?) so I decided to give it a try. Oh my gosh. Worst experience ever. I broke out like there was no tomorrow along my jaw line and it wasn't even the regular whiteheads I usually got- I got these awful huge red painful bumps. My whole face had a sort of darkened look like the skin was chemically burned. This stuff bleaches your clothes - isn't that an indication of how strong it is? I guess this only works if you have serious acne but if you only break out occasionally, proactiv makes your skin worse not better.



on 8/5/2008 9:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I gave it two lip sticks because it did work when I began. I was first introduced to the system when I was 16 years old. It worked for the first year but I matured and so did my pimples! I used to get the ones that weren't deep in my skin but somehow with age, stress, horomones, etc, my pimples became bigger and seemed to be in the deeper layers of my skin. I would say this probably works for mild to little acne but not for people who have severe acne.


on 8/4/2008 11:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I never had really bad acne. My forehead developed a problem only because I got bangs. I started by using the product on my whole face, but a few days later, I found my skin reallllly dry and flaky. It was the most unpleasant thing! I stopped and went back to using it after the dryness subsided, but only on my forehead. I found the same thing to happen when I used it everyday. I started using it every other day, and I saw a bit of improvement. Now the acne on my forehead is gone, but the product left my forehead to be the most oily part of my face. I've stopped using it now since I can't stand what it was doing to my skin.


on 8/4/2008 4:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

With all the hype surrounding ProActiv, I was expecting miracles with this system.

It did make my skin feel fresh and clean, and at first, I did notice some improvement with my acne, but after regular use for the past year or so (I was very patient!), it seems that ProActiv just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I think it "reached a plateau" with my skin. My skin got a little bit better, but there were no drastic improvements. Seems like it was as good as it was gonna get. Plus, this system is just so gosh darn expensive... there are certainly better products out there with more reasonable prices.


on 8/4/2008 4:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had great expectations for this product, but this system is just way too harsh for my fair, sensitive skin. It cleared up my skin, but left my skin red, flaky and peeling even with the addition of moisturizer. Also, my breakouts were worse when I stopped using the system, so I wish I'd never started in the first place.


on 8/3/2008 5:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Well I never really had back acne to begin with, just the occasional breakout and such but I hated them so much that I decided to try this. I had heard so many great things and how it worked so well from friends. However for me it did nothing.I used all of it in hopes that it would do something eventually but all it did was dry out my skin and make it unbearably flakey. Now I just wash my face with cetaphil cleanser and use the cetaphil moisturizer and it has been alot better; less breakouts and no longer dry. I still use the mask every now and then though or as a spot treatment. Although when that runs out Ill just go with the asprin masks that are also effective and cheap.


on 7/30/2008 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I used this for about a year and it worked great for me! But after a year, my skin started retreating back to its acne-prone combination skin. I stopped using this and switched to Philosophy's Acne Control Kit from Sephora and have been using that since and it works well for me!


on 7/29/2008 11:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this product after my friends who used to have acne, after raving about Pro Activ, now have clear, beautiful skin. While I don't have that bad of acne, I still get pimples every so often, though they are easy to hide and go away quickly. I guess I wanted to try something which was supposed to be a "miracle worker" to make my pimples gone for good. So I ordered it, and was only left with worse skin, irritation, burning, stinging, itching, drying, etc. It actually made me break out more. I went to the dermatologist right away and she said she has seen it work for some people, but not all. She put me on an rx (Benzaclin, which I LOVE!) but it still took a few weeks to get my skin back to how it was. When I called to stop Pro Activ from sending more of the product, the woman started questioning me about why I wanted to stop using it. She said to give it at least 2 months (even though my skin was red and raw), however when I refused and told her I just wanted to return it, she obliged. Since then, I have still heard success stories from Pro Activ from my roommate, and other people. I guess it works great for some people, and not at all for others (like me!)


on 7/29/2008 8:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is by far the most disasturous product/system ive tried to help my skin! I followed each step perfectly for about 2 months but stopped because my skin was so dry i could barely smile!! And it didnt help any of my acne go away! The toner seemed to be working but the difference wasnt showing in my skin. The mask didnt work either- it had absolutely no effect! Overall this made my skin worse- and once i stopped using it all together my face broke out like crazy!! I tried the Green Tea moisturizer as well, because i was convinced it would work because of green tea being in the name, but that made me break out! Horrible products in my opinion, i wouldnt reccomend them to anyone


on 7/28/2008 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the only product that works for me after I've been fighting against the acne for more than 2 years. However, it did dry my skin a little bit, which made it harder to put on foundations.

I just used one set and all my acne is gone.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1297 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
183 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
106 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
283 Reviews
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Back to Top