Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1701 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oh my gosh.. yall were right.. wet dog scent- all the way!! P.U., I don't know what you're talkin about, reviewer before me, that it doesn't smell bad.. it is terribly rank! But on the good side my face does seem to be a little brighter, but I don't think I can hang with the awful smell long enough to see the real results. Woof!! (literally, I smell like a dirty puppy!!) I know I won't shutup about it but honestly, it's making my heart beat fast for some reason and I feel like I'm about to get sick. NOT worth it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why so many people complain about the smell of this cream. I admit it's different but it doesn't bother me. It has a whipped texture that melts into your skin as you smooth it over your face. It is emollient enough for summer use and has not caused any break outs. I use it with the vitamin c powder in the day time. What I dislike about it is the lack of sun screen and having to scoop the product out or use your fingers. I am happy with it so far, it does seem to be helping improve my skin's overall look and feel.
UPDATE 9/27: I still think this is a decent cream but I don't love it as much. I will proabaly continue to use once in a while as a lighter moisturizer.


on 7/3/2004 5:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this moisturizer. It's great for my sensitive skin. I get intermitant dry, scaly, angry red spots thanks to roscaeca, but I haven't experienced any of this since using it. Smells a little odd at first, but you get used to it after a while and the results are worth it. I will definately purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2004 3:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

wow! my skin's never looked soo good! bye bye to dry skin, hello sexy soft skin! yay! tis a dream :D


on 6/25/2004 6:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

LLL, Combo-Sensitive-Mild Rosacea>>>I must admit that I am my own "lab-rat" and test many different products due to my neverending quest for the perfect skincare. However, the only reason why I decided to give Hope in a Jar a try was due to Emmy winning Makeup Artist, Kevin Bennett's recommendation on his website or maybe just curiosity? lol! Nevertheless, I am glad I gave it a chance. I found this moisturizer to be medium-thick in texture and very easy to spread. I was also impressed with how quickly to moisturizer sets leaving your skin with a silky-smooth finish that's not greasy. Due to the silicones in this product, you are left with a finish that is perfect for makeup as your skin feels "primed." I do not feel as though this is a miracle in a jar but it is one of the better moisturizers I have tried and I have tried many silicone based moisturizers..I haven't had any breakouts or rebound oiliness with this product. What sets this apart from other silicone moisturizers is that I do not feel as though the silicone is drying out my skin and my skin feels almost "cushy" for lack of a better word. Due to the fact that many people have trouble with silicones, I would suggest trying to score a sample first before buying a full size. Hopefully, you will be as lucky as I was and want a full size. In a nutshell, thumbs up for this moisturizer/primer!


on 6/25/2004 1:32:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

YUCK!!!!! This stuff is AWFUL! Does it work? I have no idea because right after I put it on & started inhaling the smell, I started to get a headache and had to take it right off. TOXIC! I think my husband would've had to call 911 if I left it on any longer.



on 6/21/2004 4:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I generally don't use moisturizers on my face for the fear of breakouts however I decided to give this one a try and now it's my grail. I applied it at night and woke up the next morning noticing a dramatic difference in my skin. Such a nice glow. I liked how it sunk right in and my face was so soft, with NO breakouts. Been using this both am and pm and absolutely love it.


on 5/26/2004 8:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This has to be one of the worst things I ever did to my face. It caused me to have major breakouts. In fact I have had no luck with this line at all. It made my skin so greasy and oily I'm still trying to correct the problems it caused. I do love the bath products and and Amazing Grace Is my HG for perfume, I hate there skin care. Way to expensive for what you get, and the trouble it causes.


on 5/22/2004 3:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My HG night cream, and I hope I never have to do without it again! I didn't start serious skin care until early this year when I turned 36, and after tearing through a jillion sample packets of almost everything on the market, someone swapped me a jar of this. What a godsend! Hydrates my skin, eases fine lines, conditions my complexion, and refines the heck out of everything. The smell doesn't bother me at all and I've found that if you rub rub rub it in with a gently circular motion, it sinks in completely and doesn't sit on the surface of your skin. Doesn't break me out, which is amazing for me, and really does what it promises to do. I use it during the day from time to time after sunning, because it instantly eases accidental overexposure and puts moisture back into my skin. Otherwise, it's my nightly ritual, and I never go to bed without it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2004 7:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

When I first opened the package I noticed that the smell was really weird and I hate it.. but I put it on anyway and went straight to bed. I woke up in the middle of the night because of something soooo smellyyyyy in my bedroom. I thought I must've left the window open and the smell just got in. It took me for a while to realize that the smell came from my face. ewwwww.... I washed my face right away. I don't know if this product works but I can't afford my face to smell like this.

Smell it before you buy it!


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top