Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1638 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 LisaLL on 11/30/2003 3:01:00 PM more reviews by LisaLL

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. And I love the Smell,, I don't need or want a perfume on my face. I have been using this product for 2 years and would never stop.. It sinks in fast, not clogging my pores, and when used along with other PHilosophy products will work great.. I never have a greasy feeling, Maybe the other people that claimed it was greasy used the Dry skin product.. Worth every penny..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* omegakitty on 11/20/2003 3:28:00 PM more reviews by omegakitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have recently revisited this moisturizer, i must say i try it from time to time & never truly stick with it like i should. I will stray no more. I had been using ole henricksen which is nice but i was getting bored & a little frustrated w/all the various jars on my counter and had heard good things about the walmart neutrogena knock-off. So i switched to that & the PTR un-wrinkle pads since i've used other pads from him in the past w/no issues & wanted some aha. My skin broke out in a horrible rash on my forehead & cysts on my cheeks & chin. I thought maybe the PTR was irritating me or there was purging so i stuck w/it for a month. Then i stopped since it wasn't going away. The rash eased up some but the cysts continued so i switched back to this. I have been using it for only a few days but my rash is almost gone & so are the cysts...i have learned my lesson and will no longer stray, lol. And the scent--it stopped bothering me after the first day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* moonsista on 11/18/2003 9:12:00 PM more reviews by moonsista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG moisturizer right now - I needed something not drugstore-ish and something a little more high quality for my 35 yr. old skin. I like the texture - sort of whipped and fluffy but not heavy and not too light either. It sinks into the skin easily and quickly, and does not clog my pores or make my skin oily.


The only drawback is the smell. Someone else described it as a "wet dog" smell in their review - I agree. It does have a faint "wet dog" smell. I have noticed, over time though, that this has faded as my jar of Hope In A Jar has become nearly a year old. (I put it away in favor of using Origins and Aveeno moisturizers for nearly a year). By the way - this jar of Hope In A Jar is just fine a year later and works as well as it did a year ago!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 witt2264 on 11/18/2003 1:00:00 PM more reviews by witt2264

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is Step 2 of my routine after using Philosophy Real Purity cleanser. This is my HG moisturizer and since switching to this my skin has never looked better. Philosophy promotes "makeup optional skin" after continued use of the skincare line, and I can honestly say that has been the case with me. I generally use Hope in a Jar at night and Hope in a Bottle (for oily skin) in the morning under makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scarlettallison1 on 11/16/2003 1:31:00 AM more reviews by scarlettallison1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This moisturizer is wonderful! The smell is definitely not glamorous, but, fortunately, it fades after a few minutes. Another reader suggested that the smell in the container itself fades as the product is used, and I've found this to be absolutely true. I've had the moisturizer for several months and now it just smells like unscented face cream, rather than the strong, odd smell I first noticed. If used with Save Me (which smells good) at night, you have a wonderful anti-aging, skin clearing and softening mixture. My skin looks great and does not break out or get too greasy when I use this product. This is an excellent under-makeup moisturizer for those of us with combination skin. I think Philosophy is the best cosmetic company we have here in the U.S!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kensbarbie1017 on 11/9/2003 7:57:00 PM more reviews by kensbarbie1017

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

THis stuff is great. I have it in dry/sensetive skin. It gives moisture withought feeling greasy, and dosen't make me break out1

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* efrey14 on 11/7/2003 12:31:00 PM more reviews by efrey14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. I know many people either love it or hate it, but for me, nothing else has given me such great skin so quickly. Some complain about its scent but I find it almost Lavender like, and the texture never fails to moisturize. I will never buy another moisturizer again. Seriously!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cozzoli on 10/25/2003 7:24:00 AM more reviews by cozzoli

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I put on a sample this morning. Perked my skin up and gave a nice glow, but two hours later, I can already feel small bumps coming up on my chin and nose. Too oily for combo skin. Gotta go wash it off. Would not buy the full size product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apples on 10/24/2003 11:28:00 AM more reviews by apples

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like Hope in a Jar a LOT because it is not only a good moisturizer, but an effective treatment product which leaves my skin glowing. I really don't need very much product to cover my face, so 1 jar lasts quite a long time.

It doesn't have an SPF, so I either use a foundation with SPF or sunblock over the Hope in a Jar. I use Hope in a Jar day or night, sometimes both.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* geographer on 10/18/2003 10:48:00 PM more reviews by geographer

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This was another bad product with bad results for me. It absolutely stinks-I actually had to get up from bed to wash it off because I couldn't sleep due to the smell on my face. Still, I tried it again and again. It broke me out horribly. YUCK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products