Philosophy • the microdelivery exfoliating wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(321 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MissJulie on 1/23/2010 2:15:00 PM more reviews by MissJulie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is by far the most awesome cleanser I have ever used. I am always on the lookout for a good exfoliator for my face and to have found it in a cleanser and get noticeable results is awesome. The little exfoliating bits are not too harsh but they don't feel like the big round beads that do nothing that I have found in other so-called exfoliating cleansers. My skin is so much smoother and just feels nice all around. It doesn't feel tight and dry but it does feel clean. I got the medium sized bottle since I was a bit skeptical but I will definitely be purchasing that largest size I can next time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bellatrix21 on 1/20/2010 5:41:00 PM more reviews by bellatrix21

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nice, gentle facial scrub for everyday use. Gives your face a smooth glow. Easy to use, even in the shower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fatallyyours on 1/20/2010 3:34:00 PM more reviews by fatallyyours

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This works great on my dry skin. Is gentle enough to use everyday. Leaves my skin super soft. Has a slightly weird yet alluring smell. I use this in the morning and Purity at night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Griffin1104 on 1/15/2010 12:31:00 AM more reviews by Griffin1104

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was looking for a face wash with manual exfoliating properties and thought I would give this one a try based on the strength of reviews here. I decanted it into a pump and keep it in my shower and use it as part of my morning routine. It has no noticeable smell, which is a great thing. And the grains feel mildly abrasive without being scratchy. My face feels fresh and clean without being overly stripped.

Honestly, though, I think I was expecting something a little more. It just didn't wow me, as other Philosphy products have in the past. And in terms of benefits, I think I'll just keep some baking soda in the bathroom and mix a bit in with my HG cleanser if I feel the need for a bit of exfoliation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emmibabyy on 1/10/2010 3:53:00 AM more reviews by emmibabyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

THIS STUFF IS AMAZING!
My skin has never looked better. It has COMPLETELY cleared up. I actually look kind of... "glowy". My acne-marks are completely faded. One day I actually FORGOT to put on face makeup because my skin looked so good already.
I didn't even break out during my monthly visit. I actually had NO IDEA my monthly was on its way because I usually break out like crazy. It's hard to believe something this great even exists.
Normally, my skin breaks out like crazy & is super oily, dull, & red. I also have very sensitive skin, so I normally skip over exfoliating cleansers like this one. I only used this because it was the only cleanser around, my usual cleanser was out. Talk about getting lucky.
For the first time, EVER, I have been getting compliments on my skin.
My friends have told me my skin is looking a lot better; even my brutally-honest mom said "Wow, your skin looks good." It's amazing.
Oh, and I ADORE the packaging. Its perfect.
I've been using this both morning & night, which I probably shouldn't be doing. I haven't noticed any dryness yet, but we will see. I'll update if my results take a turn for the worse.

UPDATE! JUNE 6 2012:
Okay, this used to be the best product ever. However they changed the formula - it now includes OIL. I recently bought it again, excited remembering how great it used to be. It broke me out terribly - big cystic ones and lots of little ones. It took me awhile to realize that it was THIS causing it. Once I took another look at the ingredient list and realized my mistake I was pretty unhappy, to say the least.
Maybe this will still work for someone who is able to use some oils - the kind that are supposed to be okay for your skin - but not if you are extremely sensitive like I am. Sad.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanstuff on 1/9/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by shanstuff

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably my favorite scrub (it just edges out the Wexler microbrasion scrub). It is gentle enough to use every day, so I have it in the shower and use it each morning. It has enough exfoliating beads to give a great scrub, yet enough cleanser to also foam up a bit and give the product some slip. I love the overall feel of this! My skin always feels very soft and smooth after I use this, and doesn't get tight and dry afterwards, which is what most scrubs do to me. I definitely recommend this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 truebella on 1/7/2010 3:02:00 PM more reviews by truebella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this at sephora and then purchased the giant 32 oz from Qvc, tiny little beads are gentle and feel really nice on the skin. I hope I continue to like this product because I have a years supple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CinnamonDish on 1/6/2010 10:43:00 AM more reviews by CinnamonDish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This makes my skin super, super smooth and I always feel so refreshed whenever I use it! Plus, it is very gentle so you can use it everyday (I use it once a day at night). You also only need a little so the bottle last a long time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NJRipp on 1/4/2010 9:57:00 AM more reviews by NJRipp

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive skin and every time I try to exfoliate it gets aggravated - with scrubs I get sore and with AHA types I get oily. What a blessing it was to find this product! At last I have an effective and gentle exfoliator that my skin can tolerate. I use this every other day to keep my skin in check and can confidentally say that it has improved the look and feel of my skin enormously!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bleuday on 1/3/2010 11:34:00 AM more reviews by bleuday

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this stuff since it came out.


I think it is the best for everyday gentle exfoliation, though my skin isn't sensitive.


Keeps my skin smooth and allows my other products to sink in like a dream. I use it with my Clarisonic, and I've never had any problems. All I get is fabulous clean skin.


I give it 4 lippies, because I wish there were a bit of suds to this wash . . . I would prefer something with a little cleanser like feel to it. (I hate Purity, except as an eye makeup remover, leaves a horrible film on my face, complete hype imo.)


Have this is the industrial size, use it every day, except on those days I do real exfoliation.


Great workhorse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Cleansers products