Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.8(353 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 rbrown4 on 12/2/2008 8:43:00 PM more reviews by rbrown4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara when I use it as a BASE for other mascaras... I have extremely long STRAIGHT eyelashes that just won't hold a curl for anything! The only way I can seem to keep a curl is if I apply a coat of Great Lash h2o proof before any other mascara. I don't use it on it's own though- not enough length or volume for my taste, but would probably be great for someone looking for a very natural lash look. Doesn't seem to clump. Price is super cheap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MakeMeUp14326 on 11/8/2008 4:27:00 PM more reviews by MakeMeUp14326

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is your average good mascara. It is very waterproof, which is good for rainy days, but it is rather hard to get off, but that's not a big deal. It doesn't clump or flake and it's long lasting. My only problem is that it doesn't really define or lengthen my eyelashes better than any other mascara. But it's a good mascara for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 11/7/2008 1:35:00 PM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am honestly confused at why this mascara received such bad reviews. I have been looking for a waterproof mascara that stays put but doesn't leave my lashes crunchy ,doesn't give me racoon eyes by the end of the day, holds a curl, but is still affordable. For $4.99 and meeting all my expectations above, what else can I ask for? I have problems with my mascara smuding under my eyes and this solved that problem. I've used the shu uemura Precise Volume Waterproof Mascara which cost me $23 and even in the best conditions it gave me terrible racoon eyes. I was digusted that such a high-end brand that calls a mascara waterproof performed so poorly. So finding this mascara that gives me great lashes for cheap is a deal! I haven't had issues of clumping like others have mentioned.
UPDATE: I have been using this for a few months and I finally think I understand why the ratings were so low. It works great for the first half of my day, gives nicely defined lashes but by 1pm I start notices little smudges under my eye. By the time I get off work, I have major racoon eyes! I once didn't check in the mirror after work and stopped by Sephora and a SA asked me if I used eye cream. I looked in the mirror and was horrified to see huge shadows that made me look like I had the hugest dark circles in the world! I am now experimenting with different brands to see which ones are truly smudgeproof but still come off easily. I am trying Avon washoff waterproof right now and I will review on that later.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leenie88 on 11/7/2008 12:53:00 PM more reviews by leenie88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It is strange how this mascara is recommended by so many makeup artists, etc. While I agree that some drug store brand mascaras work even better than certain designer brand ones, I do not at all feel that this is the case with Great Lash. I had the Very Black waterproof, and it did nothing for my lashes, except for give them a bit of color. If anything, it made them look worse by drying my lashes out. I did not notice any difference in length or thickness. And I am not someone who likes super dramatic mascaras, but I would like to see SOME difference in length, and so on. Sometimes this can get really smudgey too, and I do not like the consistency. However, this formula obviously works well for some people, including a few of my friends. I notice this works better for people with naturally very long, thick lashes. Mine are naturally average in length and thickness. I'll stick to the Fantastic Lash by Cover Girl or Sky High Curves by Maybelline for when I want to use a great drug store mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cinnabuns on 10/28/2008 1:04:00 PM more reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great?!? Yeah, right. I have this mascara in Very Black. It is thicker and drier than any I have ever used. It makes my lashes stick together and they become really hard. I even try to separate my lashes with an eyelash comb before and after applying but nothing works for the clumpiness. My eyelids even feel heavy when I wear this. I had so much hope for this mascara because it wins so many awards in the magazines. Big Thumbs Down!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 missdaydreamer on 10/20/2008 2:03:00 AM more reviews by missdaydreamer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this thinking that it would live up to the hype, but I was wrong. It clumped a LOT, gave me racoon eyes throughout the day that I had to keep fixing, and even after I used my Clinique eye makeup remover, I woke up in the morning with smudging. It didn't run, but it did smear- it smudged something awful regardless if I was exercising, swimming, or just running errands.

Bottom line: didn't live up to the hype. Am very disappointed. I won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 abs0lutelyfab on 10/15/2008 1:46:00 AM more reviews by abs0lutelyfab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is soooo horrible. Not only is the brush poorly designed, but the mascara formula is watery and gives clumpy, spider-leg lashes. Sure, it will lengthen, but who wants that at the cost of tacky, stuck together lashes that resemble a bout of pink eye?

The worst aspect is that this product pulls your lashes out. I had to use several passes and cotton pads soaked of Neutrogena's Oil Free Makeup remover, which is fantastic btw, to make a dent in getting this stuff off. And even after I thought I had gotten it all off, it STILL was there, ready to give me raccoon eyes in the morning.

If I could give this product a zero, I would. It smells noxious; it performs horribly; and it will cement itself on your lashes. Beware!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 judeandam on 10/7/2008 10:27:00 PM more reviews by judeandam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i bought this mascara because of all the hype surrounding it but was really disappointed. i felt that not enough formula is left on the brush when you take it out of the container, so it doesn't deposit enough product on my lashes. since there's not a lot of formula on the wand, there's not much clumping.

in short, this mascara doesn't give me the thick, long lashes i desire. if you're looking for more of a natural look, then this may be the product for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Corky1 on 9/26/2008 8:54:00 AM more reviews by Corky1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG mascara, I've been using it on and off since I was 13 years old! Throughout the years I've tried other mascaras but always go back to Great Lash. It gives a beautiful natural finish that is never clumpy. The wand is easy to use and gets every lash every time. Needless to say, I will continue to repurchase this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GinSengTea on 9/22/2008 6:54:00 PM more reviews by GinSengTea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

They need to change the name to Not So Great Lash. I got this for free from Ulta for their club member rewards program. I wanted to try it and see what the fuss was all about. It takes longer than normal to put it on because the formula is kind of dry and the brush is small. Then, it smeared on the bottom my of eyes within 30 minutes. Even if you get it for free to try, I suggest you pass and try something else worth while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products