Clinique Lash Power Mascara

3.9

379 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water - acrylates copolymer - kaolin - silica - beeswax - butylene glycol - peg-15 glycerl stearate - carnauba wax - alcohol denat. - hydrogenated rapeseed oil - polyvinyl alcohol - bentonite - tocopherol - jojoba seed oil - dimethicone - simethicone - stearic acid - sucrose distearate - aminomethyl propanediol - aminoethyl propanediol - sodium citrate - disodium edta - phenoxyethanol - methylparaben - ethylparaben - propylparaben - butylparaben - [ /- mica - iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) - titanium dioxide (ci 77891) - ultramarines (ci 77007) - blue lake 1 (ci 42090) - bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163) - carmine (ci 75470) - chromium hydroxide green (ci 77289) - chromium oxide greens (ci 77288) - yellow 5 lake (ci 19140) - manganese violet (ci 77742).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have sworn by Clinique mascaras for a long time simply because they are the only brand who make mascara formulations that don't irritate my very sensitive eyes (provided I go for the brown and not the black mascara formulations in their line, who knows why.)

Still, I hesitated to try this one because the brush didn't look very impressive and I was worried about how difficult it would be to remove. I needn't have worried; the brush looks small but evenly coats individual lashes and fans them out nicely. The formulation does add a bit of length but hardly any volume, so if you're looking for a more dramatic effect I'd go for High Impact instead. I'd say Lash Power gives a substantially more noticeable finish to your lashes than the ueber-natural Naturally Glossy mascara from their line, but less than any of their volumizing ones. I have puny lashes and am perfectly happy with the results for everyday wear.

The removal of the mascara is as simple as promised (wash off with warm water-I use cotton wool pads soaked in warm water) but instead of coming off in neat little mascara tubes, this stuff flakes off in a pretty messy way. I am willing to put up with this because it doesn't take any longer to rinse these flakes off than to remove the smudging of a regular mascara, and because on days when I am not wearing eyeshadow and thus require no further eye makeup remover, just using warm water really gives my eyes a rest from too many products.

Final bonus: this stuff really does not smudge, run, or flake at all during the day, it even survived a long session at the gym without budging. Wish I had discovered this before my wedding day as I ended up wearing a terrible waterproof mascara by Rimmel instead.

Will repurchase Lash Power and recommend to others with sensitive eyes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 9/29/2010 5:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I decided to try this after seeing a Guru mention this on YT. I have finally found my HG mascara. The small brush is perfect for my barely there lashes. I have been using this and clinique lash primer for about a month now and it does not clump or run even in the hot humid weather where I live. I have thrown out all of my other mascaras because I am so completely satisfied and have already bought a back up of this and the lash primer because I do not want to run out.


on 9/15/2010 5:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this mascara, its the only mascara of the dozens I've tried that doesn't give me panda eyes; everything else, no matter how waterproof it claims to be always ends up under my eyes within an hour or two. This really doesn't go anywhere until you wash it off with warm water and then it comes off incredibly easily. The finish is very natural and I wish they'd release a more dramatic, evening version, but for daytime its perfect.


on 8/28/2010 11:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a sample of this mascara for free which was perfect since all my other mascaras are nearing expiration. The size of the brush is perfect. It reaches even the smallest and shortest lashes on the inner corners of my eyes and I can use this on my lower lashes without getting worried it might smear on my under eyes as I do not have steady hands. And it stays put all day long even after my lids get oily and a bit sweating. Makes my lashes appear longer and doesn't hold down the curves. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2010 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My sister recommended this product to me saying that it wouldn't run with my oily eye area. I was skeptical, but tried it anyways since it wasn't too expensive. Wow, I can't live without it now. I'm getting prettier now!lol


on 8/25/2010 9:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love this so much.. i think this could be my replacement HG?? ALL mascaras smear on me. everything. but this never ever smears on me and it makes my eyelashes nice. however i wish it could make it more dramatic?? this is a bit too natural for my taste.


on 8/19/2010 1:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Purchased this after a misinformed salesgirl at Sephora told me my HG Clinique Naturally Glossy mascara had been discontinued -- not true! She sold me on Lash Power though, and I purchased the black for $14. I used it about a week before deciding I didn't like it -- the brush is ridiculously small for my thick lashes, and it was much too watery for my liking, which is strange considering how difficult it was to remove! I normally use olive oil as eye makeup remover, and although the Lash Power is supposed to come off with warm water only, that did not hold true -- I had to basically scrape it off my lashes with a tissue. :( Won't purchase this again -- I'll go back to the Clinique counter at Macy's for my beloved Naturally Glossy next time!


on 8/17/2010 2:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is since few years my favourite mascara.I started to use tubing mascaras 13 years ago, when Kanebo first came out with the 38. Since I have greasy eyelids and delicate eyes (tearing), wearing a “normal” mascara meant for me to have unflattering dark shadows under my eyes that accentuated my natural undercircles and made me look deeply tired. Clinique is better then Kanebo for 3 things: the availability, as you can find it everywhere in the world; the price, as it costs half than the Kanebo one, and the volume/length effect, even if I like this better after it dries out a bit as it can be quite liquid when brand new.
Beautiful natural looking lashes with buildable volume, length and curl. Easy to take off whit warm water and some cleanser.


on 7/31/2010 9:30:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

CLINIQUE LASH POWER MASCARA IS GREAT FOR A SUBTLE EFFECT AND DAYTIME USE. I HAD BEEN SEARCHING FOR A NO CLUMP MASCARA THAT WENT ON EASY AND STAYED ON!! THIS IS THE ONE------I USE DIOR SHOW FOR EVENING FOR A DRAMATIC EFFECT AND I ALWAYS USE CLARINS FIX ON TOP OF ALL MY MASCARA;S AND IT WORKS!!!


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My first review!!! I have used this mascara for about a year now. I have used just about every mascara under the sun, and this one is the one I have always come back to. It stands up under most conditions, and does not flake or come off under my eyes if I use a moisturizing eye product before using it. My only complaint, and it is the complaint that I have with ALL mascaras, is that the tube is too big for me to handle. I wish all mascara products were in a short fat tube; so much easier to handle (in my opinion). So..to get around this, I only buy the little travel tubes (when I can find them).


Back to Top