Maybelline • PureStay Powder Foundation [DISCONTINUED] • Powder

rated 4.0(343 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 luluknitty on 7/22/2009 12:26:00 PM more reviews by luluknitty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the foundation I use when I'm in a hurry and don't want to mess with the liquid and powder routine. I have found a color I love and it glides on smoothly, doesn't break my face out and isn't too powdery.
I wish they would put just a bit more in the package, it seems to not last very long, but I guess for the price it's a good deal. I usually buy it at CVS or Walgreen's when they have it Buy one get one free.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelovelovets12 on 7/1/2009 1:59:00 PM more reviews by lovelovelovets12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, well, I have normal-y skin, no dry patches whatsoever, and a little bit of oilyness on my nose nad chin. I get breakouts everyday, and I use this over Neutrogena Visibly Even Natural Look Makeup.
I have medium coverage, and my skin looks pretty well. I use this with my Ecotools powder brush.
I def. recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 6/26/2009 8:07:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I would have never given this product a second look if it wasn't for MUA. I love wearing powder foundation and this product really surprised me.
The quality of the powder is excellent, applies easily, blends well, and delivers light to medium flawless coverage. I applied this over top of my usual moisturizers with ease and no streaking.
PureStay wore exceptionally well all day with my usual throughout the day touch ups with MAC's blot powder, but it never caked, creased, faded, or sunk into my pores. I purchased ivory (reference I wear MAC NC15 / L'Oreal N1). I was a little hesitant at first as it looked quite dark in the package, but applies quite light and is neutral with little pink or yellow undertones. Plus the colour stayed true all day with no oxidization.
I would definitely purchase this again, especially considering the quality for such an exceptional price. I did knock off one lippie as it claims to deliver SPF15, but the ingredients contraindicate that claim. It contains only octinoxate 4% which only delivers UVB protection, not UVA, but I do wear a SPF45 cream as my daily face cream so I'm not concerned.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fae_nymph on 6/22/2009 8:15:00 AM more reviews by fae_nymph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Yes! I love this, exactly what I was looking for!
For about $8-$10, this is a very reasonably priced matte powder foundation. Good coverage on its own, but I like to wear a light liquid make-up underneath and use this in the places I need a little extra coverage for a very natural look. Also it can be used as a pretty effective "finishing powder" -- with a large make-up brush, swept over the entire face. It's great!!!

Great shine/oil control, and the color is lasting and doesn't fade or slick off to an orange or off-color "ick".

Would definitely re-purchase. 5/5 stars.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oohollyoo on 6/14/2009 12:58:00 PM more reviews by oohollyoo

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

after trying several powder foundations, this is the best one i've found. my skin tone is a nc 35 and i wear the golden. i conceal around my eyes and nose and use a powder brush to apply and it gives me the look i want. matte then turns to semi-matte after settling in. this does not make me break out, look shiney, or cakey. i have tried LM, Edm, Korres, Tarte, Lorac, Givenchy, EL, Mac, Benefit Hello Flawless, Clinique and etc and this is the best for me considering i have combo/zit prone/sensitive skin.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kahou79 on 6/13/2009 1:20:00 AM more reviews by kahou79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love L'Oreal Bare Naturale foundation but I was tired of the messy loose powder everyday so I began a search for a pressed version. After reading the high reviews for this product I decided to check it out and it's a big winner! I've tried applying it with a brush and the included sponge which both work well. I picked up the buff shade and it's a perfect skin match for me and does not get orange later in the day--Yay!! A wonderful product that deserves a try!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittany23 on 6/8/2009 2:40:00 AM more reviews by brittany23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this stuff is just as good if not BETTER than dept. store makeup! ive been low on cash lately and cant afford sephora stuff, and i remember using this stuff in college and liking it. i got it the other day after not wearing it for years, and i love it! looks natural, non-cakey and wonderful! I use my BE kabui brush to put it on~It's about time there's a real cheap product that works like a charm~highly recommend :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ias23 on 6/3/2009 10:26:00 AM more reviews by ias23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

♥ i have used this when i was young..i dont wear liquid foundations before coz it was too heavy for me.. so i tried this, i dont have anything to cover, i just used this to even out my face and i loved it.. i like how smoothly applied on my face without any concearns.. i also like that it comes with a sponge which was good enough.. if i dont wear my TM this was the thing i used.. ♥

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellyVWeb on 6/3/2009 9:49:00 AM more reviews by KellyVWeb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love it!!! It continues to be my favorite foundation ever, year after year! So much easier and faster to apply than any other foundation I use the sponge that comes with it for application. About once a month I wash the sponge with a little shampoo and water and let it air dry.

Maybelline Pure Stay provides better coverage (without any layerying!) than all brands of mineral and liquid makeup I've ever tried-including Revlon Colorstay!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dayleerose on 5/31/2009 6:55:00 PM more reviews by dayleerose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've never worn foundation before, and wanted to start with the cheap stuff. This foundation is very inexpensive (around $7-$8) and gives good moderate coverage. It feels very lightweight (I put it on with a large powder brush) and looks good on my skin. I don't have acne, I mainly use it to cover up my uneven skin tones. I'm very happy with the product and I will be buying it again when I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Powder products