Clinique • Almost Makeup [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 3.6(317 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 4 of 5 kings_20 on 5/16/2007 12:09:00 PM more reviews by kings_20

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful product for good skin days. It provides light coverage but is buildable, has SPF and a little goes a long ways. I have it in both medium and deep although medium suits my skin tone better. It doesn't do much for oil control, thus one lippie off. Overall it is a great product for summer and for days where you don't want to be too made up. Pretty good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissLola on 5/4/2007 3:37:00 PM more reviews by MissLola

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Having searched for a while to find something that offered decent coverage without looking like I was wearing mask, I'm quite pleased to have found this stuff.

I have sensitive/combination/acne prone skin, and I've been using this stuff in shade Fair 01 for a week and really like the results. Most importantly, it hasn't caused any breakouts or irritation.

The coverage is good. Evens out the skin tone and provides a nice semi-matte finish. Plus, it has SPF, which is key.

I found that even though it is waterproof, I don't have any problem getting it off at night w/ my MD Forte cleanser.

While I wouldn't quite call it my HG foundation, I do suggest it to anyone who might have similar skin to mine. It's not too expensive ($20), and considering how much time and money I've spent on other disappointments, I'm really happy to have found this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ais4alison on 5/3/2007 12:21:00 AM more reviews by ais4alison

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use this a long time ago, then forgot about it. But, I was on the hunt for a good TM or light foundation with SPF for the hot months so I decided to go back to this and now I am going to stick with it!! I took one lippie off because by the end of the day it does start wearing off a bit and doesn't have super staying power, but that's probably because this time of year my skin is pretty oily and by the end of the day things slide off. This provides nice, even light coverage, also buildable to medium, but probably only a good idea for the more drier skins. I wouldn't recommend the oilies out there piling it on, because while it goes on like a TM, it doesn't absorb like one and sits more like a foundation on top of the skin. I know there HAS to be a better summer product out there for me, but until I find it or am brave enough to experiement again, this will be my staple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imkt on 4/22/2007 10:44:00 AM more reviews by imkt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have recently been trying to find a light foundation/TM to suit my ever-changing skin. I have clear normal slightly sensitive skin(NC30), and I have found a lot of my tried and true TMs have gone off the market (most notably Chanel's Voile Universal, which is said to have a replacement introduced this summer). I refuse to wear anything more than 'sheer' coverage formulas for the summer. I had used 'Almost Makeup' many years ago, but I think I was probably a little oiler then, as well I believe the colour I owned was slightly dark for my skin tone. For whatever reason, I passed by the Clinique counter and picked this up in 'medium'. The colour is a dead ringer for my own tone, and it looks totally natural on.

EDIT: There are better formulas out there...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rudy13 on 4/16/2007 10:00:00 AM more reviews by rudy13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The shade selection is limited, but fair matched my skin pretty well. It does have a sunscreen odor that bothers me, and it stings my skin for a minute or two after I apply it. It is shiny, but powder helps make it look okay. I have been complimented on my skin when wearin this foundation, but I hate it and will not be repurchasing. Unfortunately, I lost my receipt or I would return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 doggy on 4/14/2007 2:21:00 AM more reviews by doggy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Blech, this product in Light is very ashy & turned my skin gray. It could be due to the Titanium Dioxide level in it. It also stuck to my skin in the most uncomfortable way. I guess it's waterproof but boy is it sticky. I think it's better to use a regular sunscreen & a sheer foundation on top. For some reason my skin feels lighter that way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missweetp on 4/13/2007 5:42:00 PM more reviews by missweetp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this product almost daily from when I was 14 to when I was 23 and it was my absolute favorite. However, during those years, my skin was not in as good of shape as it has been for the past year, after making dietary changes (forgoing dairy, gluten and most processed foods - I was already a vegetarian) and limiting my skin care routine to gently washing my face with castille soap. When my skin was blotchy, this product was great at canceling out the redness. Now that my skin usually has a healthy glow about it, this product masks that and makes me look gray! Not hot. However, one great thing about this product is it lasts all day on my neither oily nor dry skin without requiring any touch-ups. I'm realizing this is hard to find in a product! Also, it provides very good yet natural-looking coverage. At this point, it provides too much coverage for me. It covers up my natural glow! (Not that I have flawless skin). This product also blends easily. Despite all the pros, there's no point in using a cosmetic that tones down your glow! So I am searching for something else and currently using Josie Maran tinted moisturizer, which I like. Also, I prefer products that contain fewer potentially harmful ingredients like parabens. However, if you are dealing with redness or break outs and are looking for moderate, natural-looking coverage, this product may work well for you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 butterflybyz on 3/25/2007 9:55:00 PM more reviews by butterflybyz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

love it love it love it!!

this is an HG product for me... i'm an active outdoorsy girl but i still love my makeup! this gives you a little more coverage than a tinted moisturizer but it would still classify it as such... a nice natural face while covering up imperfections. long lasting. i've gotten so many compliments while using this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vhw2 on 3/23/2007 10:43:00 AM more reviews by vhw2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product. The color (Light) was a perfect match for my skin. The consistency however, is atrocious. It is thick and greasy, and feels much heavier on the skin than a tinted moisturizer should. The coverage is also quite light, making this product rather crappy. I would have sucked it up and used the rest of the tube if it hadn't caused a serious breakout. I now use Shiseido the Essential Tinted Moisturizer, which has a much better texture, and doesn't irritate my skin. I would be weary of this product if you have ever been prone to breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whozthegoddess on 3/1/2007 3:38:00 PM more reviews by whozthegoddess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is more of a tinted moisturizer than a foundation - it has a pretty thick consistency for such little coverage. I've used it for about 5 months and haven't experienced any irritation or separation of the contents in the tube. However, my only complaint is that I can't layer this stuff on if I want more coverage - it just ends up feeling like I'm wearing a mud mask. For reference, I'm a C3, normal skin and the medium suits me just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products