Johnson & Johnson Baby Shampoo

4.2

332 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, PEG-150 Distearate, Fragrance, Polyquaternium-10, Tetrasodium EDTA, Quaternium-15, Citric Acid, Yellow 10 and Orange 4. May also contain: Citric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide


on 4/17/2009 11:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is amazing stuff for cleaning brushes. It's tiring to have to constantly buy expensive makeup brush cleaners when all it does is REMOVE something you don't even want. Using this is such a good substitute and honestly, I get the same results from using professional brush cleaners. It's extremely gentle and effectively breaks down makeup from my brushes. I just squeeze a little bit on my palm and swish my dirty brush into it. I wash it out with cold water and squeeze out the moisture onto a towel or paper towel and let them air dry. It works perfectly for my MAC, Ecotools, Quo, BE etc brushes. Doesn't cause shedding and all the makeup comes right out of it. Highly recommend for using this to clean brushes. I haven't tried this for hair or anything but for brushes, it's a yes. :)



Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

**HG** beauty product for me. Have used this for years and years-- I notice no difference between the name brand and store generics, so I buy whatever's cheaper that week.

This is the only shampoo I use on my color-treated hair, and on my 3-year-old daughter's naturally kinky hair. It's the original "sulfate-free" shampoo, and consistent use has eliminated frizz and split ends. I wash every other day and only use enough to work up a small lather at the roots. This shampoo is a bit watery in texture, and it's easy to use too much. All you really need is to clean your scalp, not the whole hair shaft, particularly if you have curly/coarse/dry hair.


This is also an excellent all-over body wash and bubble bath. Don't expect a lot of foam; the low foaming is precisely what makes this product gentle and non-drying. In the winter, I use it as a facial wash too, although in warmer weather I prefer a stronger liquid soap, like Clinique or Neutrogena. It is GREAT at removing eye makeup! And I love the soft, honey-like scent.


"Tearless" is a bit of an exaggeration; it still stings if it gets in your eye, just not as much as some other soaps! I have to be careful washing my kid's hair or she squeals about getting it in her eyes!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2009 11:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this to be used as a clarifying shampoo after reading about using it for that on here. I decided to get the actual Johnson & Johnson's instead of the store brand baby shampoo because the ingredients were a bit different. First time using this I washed every bit of me with it, just to test it out.
HAIR - I think it dries out my hair. Or is that what 'clarifying' your hair does? I dunno, somebody please tell me.
BODY- It made an alright body wash, not moisturizing (although I don't suppose it's supposed to be) but not particularly drying either. I'll keep trying out moisturizing body washes.
FACE - I kinda like it as a face cleanser (I haven't tried washing off make-up, yet). Initially it feels a bit tight but that goes away. It's not as drying as most other things.
'NETHER REGION' (as another MUAer put it) - I like it for this purpose. A nice gentle wash for a delicate area.

I'm not too fond of the scent. I may try another of their formulations to see if I can get the same results but with a nicer fragrance. That'll be in a long time from now because I bought a huge bottle having trusted the reviews I read. Once I've used this a bunch of times I'll know better whether I'd buy it again.


on 2/4/2009 1:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been a Head to Toe devotee for years (any generic brand will do), so I was curious to see if baby shampoo would be any different in terms of performance, and my skin's reaction. I have to say that I'm really happy that I switched over. Head to Toe claims to be 'tearproof', but inevitably resulted in eye irritation for me. Shampoo is infinitely better in this regard, I can cleanse my very-sensitve eyes at the end of the day without worrying about any kind of irritation. Takes every little bit of mascara off too. I love the consistency (thicker than HTT) and scent. Fantastic for the rest of the face as well (cleanses thoroughly, without drying). Excellent for makeup brushes. I have very sensitive skin *all over* so I'm curious to try this as a body wash . Will certainly update then. A unbelievably low price for an immeasurably useful, multi-purpose product!


on 1/29/2009 10:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this to clean my makeup brushes for years. It's so gentle, that I trust it with even the most expensive brushes! I just form a lather in my hands, and work it through the brushes, then rinse until the water runs clear. I have tried other brush cleaners, but they seem to leave a residue that irritates my sensitive skin. And you can't beat the price on a bottle, which will last forever!


on 1/28/2009 10:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great for washing my brushes. It also doesn't dry out the hairs, or leave residue behind. And who can resist that scent? ;)


on 1/28/2009 3:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I LOVE THIS STUFF. After years of buying expensive body wash and cleansers that always disappoint me, I have found my product. I started using this because I wanted a gentle non-soap cleanser for my nether region (I am very sensitive to things like scented toilet paper or tampons/pads) and I read online that many women use this as their super gentle body wash. I have started using it on my body AND face with great results! My skin is clean and never irritated. I'm sure I'll still fall for the occasional expensive face cleanser now and then but at $3.99, you can't beat this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2009 10:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I used this for about 6 years to remove eye makeup. It's so gentle on my eyelids. It removes even waterproof mascara easily. That's important for those of us that don't want to pull our eyelashes out by rubbing makeup off.

I stopped using it a couple years ago when I realized that baby oil gel does the same thing and is less messy. The gel form is actually easier to use since it does not drip and the gel is much easier for traveling so you don't have to worry about leaks.

This stuff is also a great moisturizer for legs. I put it on right after I turn off the water in the shower and before I start to dry off. It makes your skin soft and shinny. My only caution is to make sure that you do not use a lot. Also, if you are going to be in extreme heat, do not use it. It adds a layer to your skin which raises your thermal temperature.

It can also be used as a makeup brush cleaner. Regular shampoos tend to dry out brushes. This stuff keeps them in great shape and very soft.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is absolutely amazing for using as a cleanser to remove foundation, primer & powder.

Mixed with equal parts water [I'm partial to MAC's plastic travel bottles], it makes a great eye makeup remover. Soaked onto a cotton pad, held over the eye like a patch, it removes mascara and shadows with no pulling or tugging. On smudge-proof, waterproof liquid liners [Rimmel, MAC's Liquidlast] it is not so grand. But if you're just wearing a light swath of shadow and mascara everyday, this is a great choice. It's still nice to have an actual eye makeup remover like Lancome's Bi-Facil on hand to remove stubborn eye makeup.

It works well as a brush cleaner on brow, liner, lip & shadow brushes. It is not so great on kabuki, blush & foundation brushes, though.

I haven't used this as a shampoo [fine, colour-treated hair], and to be honest, I'm a little apprehensive and don't plan on it any time soon.

And the fact that you can get a huge-ass bottle of the stuff during Shopper's Drug Mart sales for $2.99 just makes this product that much better. Excellent to have on hand.


on 1/25/2009 9:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after reading in Cosmo magazine that it's great for removing makeup. They were absolutely right. It removes my eye makeup easily without any hard rubbing. It does sting for a brief time if you get it in your eyes. I am also going to use it to clean my makeup brushes. This is a great value compared to actual eye makeup removers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Johnson & Johnson Products

image

Baby Powder

162 reviews
image

Purpose Cleanser

107 reviews
image

Baby Shampoo

332 reviews
Back to Top