Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies in Black Drama

3.4

392 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/27/2012 10:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this mascara. It is my go-to mascara and I wear it everyday. It gives me the effect that I go for, which are longer, thicker, and darker lashes.:)



on 4/18/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

(Reviewing the WATERPROOF Black Drama)
The Black Drama mascara is supposed to be a deeper richer black color than the original. Cute lace detail on the packaging.

I am sorely disappointed by this mascara. Unlike the regular Falsies, I get some curl with a little bit of volume and virtually no added length. I tend to ask a lot from my mascaras but after the results I got with the Falsies, anything less can't measure up. More importantly, I notice LESS dramatic color from the Black Drama mascara. It dries to a peculiar grey-ish black finish; not at all the pitch black result I wanted. The only thing I did like about this version of the Falsies is that it dries to a soft, flexible finish. If you use waterproof mascara, you know that it often has a crunchy, stiff effect once dried. I'm not bothered by that feeling but it was nice to experience a little more flexibility from a waterproof mascara.

All in all, I use the Falsies Black Drama when I want a more natural look or I only use it on my lower lashes. It's definitely not the best. It just gives me less satisfactory results than the original.


on 3/31/2012 4:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara after a fave vlogger raved about it. She said it makes your lashes look as if they're fake so of course I had to try it. My lashes are thin, curly and sparse and I'm looking for something that gives me longer, fuller, thicker lashes. I bought two mascaras & tried them both with Falsies on one eye & Benefit's they're real on the other. Falsies did not compare to They're Real in my opinion. They're Real did a great job at lengthening & thickening & separating while Falsies gave me a wispy look but my lashes looked thin still & failed to separate. I posted a review with comparison pics on my blog & the difference is staggering. I tossed this mascara into my drawer of barely used products.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

WATERPROOF
This looked good the first day I tried it. I didn't really see much volume, but they did look longer and darker. The mascara started getting clumpy after a month for me though :( I gave this mascara a break for like a few weeks after opening, it looked terrible on the second try! Really clumpy and spidery. Also very difficult to get off, this really weighed my lashes down :( It's also expensive for the quality imo, for sure not buying again.

REGULAR
I wanted to try this again, and decided to get the regular instead of waterproof. The regular mascara was way better for me. Less clumping and better volume :) This didn't weigh my lashes down, but was still difficult to wash off. It was alright to me, but I probably won't buy this again. Pricey for an OKAY drugstore mascara imo.


on 3/22/2012 4:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, this is a lot different than the original Falsies. The original is more drier (something I love, I hate wet mascaras). The black drama is more clumpy, and I hated it at first. If you buy this mascara, and hate it at first, wait a few weeks. It's dried a lot now, so it's easier to work with. The flakes a lot though. Meh.


on 3/19/2012 12:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Ugh, I don't have much good to say about this product. I have this in waterproof, waterproof it is not. It smudges and flakes leaving me with panda eyes, not really an attractive look. It also dries out very quick I have only had mine for a few weeks and the formula is already causing clumps in my lashes. This might be the worst mascara I have used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 3:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Would not buy or recommend. Doesn't last long and flakes in your eyes. Dries out fast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 3:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Clumpy Clumpy Clumpy. Short and clumpy lashes. Not so great for naturally curly lashes- it gets everywhere! Dries out REALLY quickly. After a few weeks, the mascara was virtually unusable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2012 8:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When i first bought it I thought it wasn't very good. After using it correctly then I loved it. It gets dry after a while so you have to re-buy every month. I curl my lashes and it keeps my lashes curled all day. I have kind of short lashes so after curling my lashes and putting about 2 or 3 coats of this, my eyelashes looked great and curly and long. It is hard to get off though but only if you put alot. I recommend this , not in waterproof. It worked wonders for my short lashes.


on 3/13/2012 12:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I initially bought this since it was recommended by a friend. At first application I noticed how much it would pull my lashes, making them noticeably long (not dramatically). It lengthened my lashes pretty well but made my lashes stick together, leaving me with a messy spider leg like look. I will not be repurchasing. There are tons of drugstore mascaras that work comparably better.


Back to Top