Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies in Black Drama

3.4

393 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Dark, sooty lashes? Sign me up. Lots of length and volume for my noob lashes? EFF YES, I WANT! After not being very impressed with the original Falsies, I decided to give this a go. All I can say is that this was yet, another fail. Even more so than the original Falsies. Sure, my lashes were dark. Sure, it lengthened and volumized my lashes some. Did it clump and flake? Yes indeed. Hence, why I will not be buying this one again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/27/2012 10:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this mascara. It is my go-to mascara and I wear it everyday. It gives me the effect that I go for, which are longer, thicker, and darker lashes.:)


on 4/18/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

(Reviewing the WATERPROOF Black Drama)
The Black Drama mascara is supposed to be a deeper richer black color than the original. Cute lace detail on the packaging.

I am sorely disappointed by this mascara. Unlike the regular Falsies, I get some curl with a little bit of volume and virtually no added length. I tend to ask a lot from my mascaras but after the results I got with the Falsies, anything less can't measure up. More importantly, I notice LESS dramatic color from the Black Drama mascara. It dries to a peculiar grey-ish black finish; not at all the pitch black result I wanted. The only thing I did like about this version of the Falsies is that it dries to a soft, flexible finish. If you use waterproof mascara, you know that it often has a crunchy, stiff effect once dried. I'm not bothered by that feeling but it was nice to experience a little more flexibility from a waterproof mascara.

All in all, I use the Falsies Black Drama when I want a more natural look or I only use it on my lower lashes. It's definitely not the best. It just gives me less satisfactory results than the original.


on 3/31/2012 4:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara after a fave vlogger raved about it. She said it makes your lashes look as if they're fake so of course I had to try it. My lashes are thin, curly and sparse and I'm looking for something that gives me longer, fuller, thicker lashes. I bought two mascaras & tried them both with Falsies on one eye & Benefit's they're real on the other. Falsies did not compare to They're Real in my opinion. They're Real did a great job at lengthening & thickening & separating while Falsies gave me a wispy look but my lashes looked thin still & failed to separate. I posted a review with comparison pics on my blog & the difference is staggering. I tossed this mascara into my drawer of barely used products.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

WATERPROOF
This looked good the first day I tried it. I didn't really see much volume, but they did look longer and darker. The mascara started getting clumpy after a month for me though :( I gave this mascara a break for like a few weeks after opening, it looked terrible on the second try! Really clumpy and spidery. Also very difficult to get off, this really weighed my lashes down :( It's also expensive for the quality imo, for sure not buying again.

REGULAR
I wanted to try this again, and decided to get the regular instead of waterproof. The regular mascara was way better for me. Less clumping and better volume :) This didn't weigh my lashes down, but was still difficult to wash off. It was alright to me, but I probably won't buy this again. Pricey for an OKAY drugstore mascara imo.


on 3/22/2012 4:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, this is a lot different than the original Falsies. The original is more drier (something I love, I hate wet mascaras). The black drama is more clumpy, and I hated it at first. If you buy this mascara, and hate it at first, wait a few weeks. It's dried a lot now, so it's easier to work with. The flakes a lot though. Meh.


on 3/19/2012 12:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Ugh, I don't have much good to say about this product. I have this in waterproof, waterproof it is not. It smudges and flakes leaving me with panda eyes, not really an attractive look. It also dries out very quick I have only had mine for a few weeks and the formula is already causing clumps in my lashes. This might be the worst mascara I have used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 3:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Would not buy or recommend. Doesn't last long and flakes in your eyes. Dries out fast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 3:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Clumpy Clumpy Clumpy. Short and clumpy lashes. Not so great for naturally curly lashes- it gets everywhere! Dries out REALLY quickly. After a few weeks, the mascara was virtually unusable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2012 8:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When i first bought it I thought it wasn't very good. After using it correctly then I loved it. It gets dry after a while so you have to re-buy every month. I curl my lashes and it keeps my lashes curled all day. I have kind of short lashes so after curling my lashes and putting about 2 or 3 coats of this, my eyelashes looked great and curly and long. It is hard to get off though but only if you put alot. I recommend this , not in waterproof. It worked wonders for my short lashes.


Back to Top