Yves Saint Laurent • Touche Eclat No 1 • Highlighters

rated 3.9(322 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 lilypink on 4/11/2007 10:17:00 AM more reviews by lilypink

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Like Cyau I don't regard this as a concealer, but as a highlighter/illuminator, and I use it at the corners of my eyes and down the sides of my nose as well as creating a lift at the cupids bow of the lip.
This pale colour is just right for my bluish/pale celtic skin - hasn't got too much pink which can be a problem (though it looks pinker in the wand than it does on application). The texture is very light and blends into the skin imperceptibly, leaves no shine and does not crease. I have been buying this for years and wouldn't change to any other brand, though I have tried some, and they are poor imitations of the real thing. It is not a cheap product, though essential to my 'maquillage' but I still ponder why sometimes with perfectly normal usage one wand will last me eight months and another only five?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emelcik on 4/8/2007 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Emelcik

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This product works wonderfully for me, and without creating a cakey mess on my face, which most concealers do. It's light in texture and consistency, almost transparent in color but does a wonderful job covering up because it reflects light when applied.

My skin on the inner part of my eyes is naturally dark.. bluish almost.. (I was born with it) so for as long as I've worn makeup, I've tried to cover these areas up.

There are other concealers that do a good job but they are usually really heavy in consistency and you can usually tell you've tried to cover something up. This product, however, makes dark circles disappear while leaving you looking you don't have a drop of makeup on your face.

Application tip >> Tap and pat it down instead of rubbing it around
Price tip >> I bought mine at the Duty Free shop at an airport and it was only about $25, as compared to the $35+ at Nordstrom.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 3/25/2007 9:01:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great. I've used knock-offs before (Lumene, Boots, L'Oreal--Boot's was the best by far) and this is definitely better. The texture is light and creamy, but liquidy too, if that makes sense. I apply lightly from the inner corners to about midway underneath my eye, along the 'bag' area (not the whole bag) with the built-in brush, using it to spread the color thinly (thin layers work best!). I then wait 1-2 seconds for the stuff to dry up a bit, before using my ring finger to gently blend everything towards the outer parts of my eyes using a gentle patting motion.



This method gets me get good coverage even with one layer (my eye circles are not particularly bad) and this brightens up my face so much. This is a couple of hours of sleep in a pen! It has pretty good lasting power as long as I don't rub at my eyes (impossible for me, unfortunately) and if I sparingly dust a setting powder on top (I use Laura Mercier's Secret Finishing Powder in #2).



I have a few fine lines under my eyes and the dryest eye skin ever, but I've had no problems with this settling into the lines or making my undereye area look crepey or otherwise bad. I have light skin with yellow undertones, but have found #1 to work well for me; it doesn't look too light or anything, even though it has an ivory-pinkish tone. I might try #2 at some point, but don't feel as though I really need to. The gold packaging is also luxurious (the metal case has a mild heft to the hand that feels expensive) and chic, without being too over-the-top. Nicely compact and purse-friendly too. This is pricey, but I think I would repurchase. I do also want to try Dior's SkinFlash, Guerlain's Issima Precious Light, Helen Rubinstein's Magic Concealer and Lancome's Photogenic concealer before doing so, however.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cyau on 3/20/2007 4:59:00 AM more reviews by cyau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

attractive highlighter pen (not a concealer). functions just okay for me. I only use it under my eyes for dark circles. product has a smooth consistency ideal only as an undereye brightener. will not work as a spot concealer. and not impressive as a standalone highlighter (there are much better highlighters with better shades etc) I usually use an undereye concealer first (mac select coverup. acceptable but going to try cle de peau next as the i dont find it very HG or very natural and flawless look i'm going for either) then I use this YSL eclat afterwards under my eyes to give a my eye a great lifted look. Looks natural, makes eyes extra awake, extra fresh and does not settle into fine lines with a light application or can become cakey like any other makeup product. less is more. However, I dont find that it has much staying power (few hrs max). Overall, nice packaging, looks good only under eyes in company with another concealer. very light to no coverage as a standalone product. doesnt have much staying power after application. pricey but can make you look fresh and great in company with other products for a short while (eg. dinner out w/ friends) but will not last a whole day. good only as a supplemental product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/1/2007 8:48:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Smooth, easy to blend formula but I think #1 is too white and pink-based for my NC30 skin. When I put it on it gives a whitish cast, but it otherwise makes my light undereye circles less noticeable. I think #2 would probably be a better match so I would not repurchase this particular shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roller__girl on 2/21/2007 8:40:00 AM more reviews by roller__girl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is without a doubt the best concealer I've ever used. I have strong dark circles and find that this somehow brightens and lightens the area like nothing else... and I have tried lots! The brush and clicker system work very well. Why oh why is it so expensive!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heaven07 on 2/14/2007 8:18:00 AM more reviews by heaven07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the original highlighter pen. This works wonders under my eyes, but now my dark circles need a concealer first and then Touche Eclat. I notice a huge difference if I donít apply this Ė whenever I forget, people always comment on how tired I look so it must be doing the trick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 greenlees_evc on 2/13/2007 8:53:00 AM more reviews by greenlees_evc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Tried this as everyone was talking about it, but to be honest it wasn't that great. It covered dark circles, but was a white sheer colour, so needed another concealer over the top, and then it worked perfectly. Also the smell is DISGUSTING - like a toilet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 la_sabina on 2/10/2007 5:29:00 AM more reviews by la_sabina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the best concealer I've ever tried. It has a very light and thin texture and is easily blendable, and the packaging is absolutely gorgeous. The color suits my fair skintone perfectly. I have used it for a while now, but have tested other concealers inbetween in the hopes of finding someting cheaper and yet as effective, but I always come back to Touche Eclat since I haven't yet found any other concealer even half as good as this one. It covers dark parts with beautiful radiance and won't set in the fine under eye lines. To its disadvantages it can be somewhat to thin to cover up red spots, where a heavier artillery can be needed, and it is unfortunately very pricey.
I will keep on repurchasing Touche Eclat until I find a concealer just as effective but cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia17 on 2/7/2007 9:15:00 AM more reviews by Sophia17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried so many concealers to cover my ugly and deep dark circles but I never think to try a brightener, and when I tried Touche Eclat I knew I had to continue buying a brightener in my collection. And even though it doesn't cover anything of my dark circles somehow it makes me look not tired and that's what I like, and also covers the redness around mu nose perfectly! I use the #1 and I'm NC20. The only bad thing is I don't know if I'll buy it again because it cost 38 euros but I'll definetely keep buying a brightener.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Highlighters products