Yves Saint Laurent • Touche Eclat No 1 • Highlighters

rated 3.8(325 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shamisen on 5/23/2007 6:25:00 AM more reviews by Shamisen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on my sister in law's recommendation when I was on holiday - not sure if I could justify the price when it wasn't duty free though!
I don't actually find it that good for under eyes, I prefer MAC select cover up. But I do actually find this great for evening out pimple scars and highlighting around my nose and chin to even out my skin tone. I don't like to wear full foundation and this does enough for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettyelectric on 5/22/2007 6:53:00 PM more reviews by prettyelectric

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

[Rated 5 under both price & packaging and would buy this product again].


I decided to go for this going by all of the positive reviews on here; for something that cost £22 I didn't want to make a mistake. Most people have referred to this as more of a highlighter than a concealer, (for the record - I'm still not even sure if Yves Saint Laurent inteded on this being either; perhaps both? It works amazingly as a concealer for me, but it was no highlighter. I followed the "instructions" on the little leaflet inside, and used it on my cupid bow as a highlighter, and - although it didn't look bad at all - it was no match for any proper highlighter. My skin looks more perfect after using this, but not highlighted.

It conceals even the ghastly dark circles under my eyes perfectly, but (as I expected really), I have to apply it a few times during the day to keep it up, but that doesn't really bother me. Now I always use this over my foundation and for "touch ups". My foundation is L'Oreals Infallibe (in porcelain).

It is very expensive, but I can see myself re-purchasing.


[EDIT 06 Aug 07]: Akk... within around a fortnight, it was all used up. I shouldn't be surprised - you only get a miniscule amount of product in these tubes anyhow. In the end, I used this simply as a brush to use with my foundation, which did give almost identical results to this concealer / highlighter / whatever-it-is. This was too thick to use as a highlighter, but it did work well as a concealer, yet - with it's ridiculous price-tag, finicky pen which can get stuck, and the tiny amount you get for what you pay - it's just not worth it when a drug-store foundation (shockingly at HALF the price of this) can do just as well, and you get 50 times more product. I'd have to be either have money to burn, or be pretty stupid to repurchase this again; but I will still give it 2 lippies because it isn't the worst of the worst despite how crazy it is - because what IS there does conceal pretty well, but the price is crazy for how little there is. I will stick very happily with my L'Oreal. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Metalbabe1984 on 5/14/2007 4:24:00 AM more reviews by Metalbabe1984

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My sister gave this to me because she didn't think it was doing anything for her. Well of course i wasn't gonna argue. These are very expensive at £18 a pop and I prefer it to my clinique airbrush concealer which can get a bit cakey, I think i'll try elizabeth arden after i've finished this stuff and keep the airbrush as a backup or in my bag.

It's very good and is NOT a concealer which some of the smarter people have worked out already. This goes on after my concealer as a finishing touch, it is meant to deflect from the appearance of dark shadows and dark lines.... It works quite well and I am really happy to use this as a staple. It doesn't work miracles, it won't airbrush you like models in magazines but it works well enough for what it is. One lippy off for price because £18 is the same price as a decent foudation and this is really an optional extra that "perfects".... not something that can do a fat lot on its own.

It's a good product, worth trying but not compulsary.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilypink on 4/11/2007 10:17:00 AM more reviews by lilypink

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Like Cyau I don't regard this as a concealer, but as a highlighter/illuminator, and I use it at the corners of my eyes and down the sides of my nose as well as creating a lift at the cupids bow of the lip.
This pale colour is just right for my bluish/pale celtic skin - hasn't got too much pink which can be a problem (though it looks pinker in the wand than it does on application). The texture is very light and blends into the skin imperceptibly, leaves no shine and does not crease. I have been buying this for years and wouldn't change to any other brand, though I have tried some, and they are poor imitations of the real thing. It is not a cheap product, though essential to my 'maquillage' but I still ponder why sometimes with perfectly normal usage one wand will last me eight months and another only five?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emelcik on 4/8/2007 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Emelcik

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This product works wonderfully for me, and without creating a cakey mess on my face, which most concealers do. It's light in texture and consistency, almost transparent in color but does a wonderful job covering up because it reflects light when applied.

My skin on the inner part of my eyes is naturally dark.. bluish almost.. (I was born with it) so for as long as I've worn makeup, I've tried to cover these areas up.

There are other concealers that do a good job but they are usually really heavy in consistency and you can usually tell you've tried to cover something up. This product, however, makes dark circles disappear while leaving you looking you don't have a drop of makeup on your face.

Application tip >> Tap and pat it down instead of rubbing it around
Price tip >> I bought mine at the Duty Free shop at an airport and it was only about $25, as compared to the $35+ at Nordstrom.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 3/25/2007 9:01:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great. I've used knock-offs before (Lumene, Boots, L'Oreal--Boot's was the best by far) and this is definitely better. The texture is light and creamy, but liquidy too, if that makes sense. I apply lightly from the inner corners to about midway underneath my eye, along the 'bag' area (not the whole bag) with the built-in brush, using it to spread the color thinly (thin layers work best!). I then wait 1-2 seconds for the stuff to dry up a bit, before using my ring finger to gently blend everything towards the outer parts of my eyes using a gentle patting motion.



This method gets me get good coverage even with one layer (my eye circles are not particularly bad) and this brightens up my face so much. This is a couple of hours of sleep in a pen! It has pretty good lasting power as long as I don't rub at my eyes (impossible for me, unfortunately) and if I sparingly dust a setting powder on top (I use Laura Mercier's Secret Finishing Powder in #2).



I have a few fine lines under my eyes and the dryest eye skin ever, but I've had no problems with this settling into the lines or making my undereye area look crepey or otherwise bad. I have light skin with yellow undertones, but have found #1 to work well for me; it doesn't look too light or anything, even though it has an ivory-pinkish tone. I might try #2 at some point, but don't feel as though I really need to. The gold packaging is also luxurious (the metal case has a mild heft to the hand that feels expensive) and chic, without being too over-the-top. Nicely compact and purse-friendly too. This is pricey, but I think I would repurchase. I do also want to try Dior's SkinFlash, Guerlain's Issima Precious Light, Helen Rubinstein's Magic Concealer and Lancome's Photogenic concealer before doing so, however.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cyau on 3/20/2007 4:59:00 AM more reviews by cyau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

attractive highlighter pen (not a concealer). functions just okay for me. I only use it under my eyes for dark circles. product has a smooth consistency ideal only as an undereye brightener. will not work as a spot concealer. and not impressive as a standalone highlighter (there are much better highlighters with better shades etc) I usually use an undereye concealer first (mac select coverup. acceptable but going to try cle de peau next as the i dont find it very HG or very natural and flawless look i'm going for either) then I use this YSL eclat afterwards under my eyes to give a my eye a great lifted look. Looks natural, makes eyes extra awake, extra fresh and does not settle into fine lines with a light application or can become cakey like any other makeup product. less is more. However, I dont find that it has much staying power (few hrs max). Overall, nice packaging, looks good only under eyes in company with another concealer. very light to no coverage as a standalone product. doesnt have much staying power after application. pricey but can make you look fresh and great in company with other products for a short while (eg. dinner out w/ friends) but will not last a whole day. good only as a supplemental product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/1/2007 8:48:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Smooth, easy to blend formula but I think #1 is too white and pink-based for my NC30 skin. When I put it on it gives a whitish cast, but it otherwise makes my light undereye circles less noticeable. I think #2 would probably be a better match so I would not repurchase this particular shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roller__girl on 2/21/2007 8:40:00 AM more reviews by roller__girl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is without a doubt the best concealer I've ever used. I have strong dark circles and find that this somehow brightens and lightens the area like nothing else... and I have tried lots! The brush and clicker system work very well. Why oh why is it so expensive!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heaven07 on 2/14/2007 8:18:00 AM more reviews by heaven07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the original highlighter pen. This works wonders under my eyes, but now my dark circles need a concealer first and then Touche Eclat. I notice a huge difference if I donít apply this Ė whenever I forget, people always comment on how tired I look so it must be doing the trick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Highlighters products