Lancome • Hypnose Drama • Mascara

rated 3.2(454 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 gleamyeyes on 5/28/2012 7:04:00 PM more reviews by gleamyeyes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is amazing at quick volume and building. I didn't like it because it would clump on my lashes, and my bottom lashes and top lashes would stick together if I didn't keep them separated while the mascara dried. On that note, I found my eyes would dry before the mascara did. But it really did make my thin bottom eyelashes and the lashes near the inner corner of my eyes really thick long and beautiful looking. It also has a weird smell, it's pleasant (I suppose), but a little too strong for something I would be putting near my eye balls. Bottom line: I like the build and volume but it just isn't the right mascara for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meganmartin123 on 5/28/2012 11:30:00 AM more reviews by meganmartin123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this mascara it is my favorite. You have to try it if youlove volume mascaras, worth the money

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SandraRosee on 5/24/2012 5:21:00 PM more reviews by SandraRosee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not impressed what so ever and it was extremely pricey. It lasted maybe a month until it dried out and clumped up. The regular Hypnose is better than the Drama by far. When it comes to mascaras, i've learned that you can buy a just as good mascara at your local walmart. If your going to spend your money on highbrand products, stick to foundation, other face products and eyeshadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fourkicks on 5/17/2012 11:15:00 AM more reviews by fourkicks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the waterproof version. I bought this at full price here $44 and it is one of the worst mascaras I've ever tried!
+Honestly, I can't find any.
-Clumps together lashes, even if I wipe the brush off on a bit of kitchen towel or other such measures. Actual clumpy bits of mascara get stuck on the lashes, and the formula makes the lashes stick together
-Flakes terribly under the eyes within a few hours of application
-Feels sticky on the lashes even after it has dried
-Bizarre brush shape means it's easy to over-apply or get mascara where it shouldn't be (eyelids or brow bone).
-Does not lengthen particularly, volumising qualities are ruined by the lashes getting stuck together.
-Hard to take off. I use Simple Make-Up Remover Wipes that get off any waterproof mascara, but in this case I had to really, really rub at my eyes, sometimes a lash or two would come off in the process.

Basically I find no redeeming qualities in this mascara, and I'm not some mascara freak with really high demands. All I wanted was something lengthening with a little bit of volume. Will definitely never repurchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 badluck on 5/16/2012 1:33:00 AM more reviews by badluck

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Glad I got this as a free sample. It was pretty clumpy on me, although not the worst mascara I've ever tried. I'm glad it works for some people but I would never pay for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raenamercedi on 5/14/2012 6:17:00 PM more reviews by raenamercedi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This clumps VERY badly and adds NO length (I realize that this is markete more as a volumizing mascara). This caused my upper lashes to clump together into what looked like three or four big, goopy, stuck together lashes. I tried using it on my bottom lashes and the result was just as bad. Spider leg looking clumps. Does not hold a curl, and I tried to run a metal toothed lash brush through it to separate the clumps which did nothing but pull out my lashes. This is AWFUL, and, in general, I like Lancome mascaras.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jennypoke on 5/7/2012 9:38:00 PM more reviews by jennypoke

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The brush just kills it. It is probably the weirdest and worst mascara brush I have ever used. The brush is in a weird squiggly shape, it's really weird. Because of the shape, there is a lot of clumping and application is very hard.

The formula itself seems alright, average for a mascara. It is definitely darker and thicker than my Lancome Definicils mascara. Only thing about the formula that I don't like is the smell. It smells like roses and the unnecessary smell just makes the product seem cheap. If it weren't for the brush, the entire product would just work better.

Overall, the high-end priced mascara doesn't perform and I will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 5/4/2012 2:03:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this and I am shocked by how much I like it. I've tried every HE and DS mascara out there, and this is the first mascara I've tried that has tempted me to stray from my HG mascara, Benefit's They're Real. I like very dramatic false-looking lashes and this fits the bill. I have it in Excessive Black and it's not too inky black which always looks strange on me because I'm blonde. Strange bushy brush so it does take some work to make sure they're aren't clumps but overall I love it and will purchase a full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 4/25/2012 2:22:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This one grew on me... Takes a while to get used to, very clump-prone so you need to take care when applying it. But boy, does it deliver... The only mascara that truly creates the false lash effect that so many others promise. Super volume and length.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jayescott on 4/25/2012 1:42:00 AM more reviews by jayescott

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I get tons of compliments on my lashes when I wear this mascara, my manicurist asked me if I had gotten eyelash extensions! I got it in a gift-with-purchase initially and have continued to use it, although it has one major flaw. The brush is a very odd shape (what were they thinking?) and this makes it difficult to apply, and sometimes it causes the mascara to clump. The reward of the gorgeous lashes you get is worth it in the end, but this would be a perfect product if it had a better brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Mascara products