Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(185 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 deamber on 7/5/2012 2:09:00 PM more reviews by deamber

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Grey    

This foundation is amazing, I've been looking for something simple and fast for my face that won't make me brake out. This is it! I use this daily without a powder, it keeps me matte and last all day. The product is thick and a bit dry if that makes sense, and this is great for covering acne scars. I don't go over scars with concealer that just takes too long so I dab a little extra foundation on those problem areas and that does the trick. I've learned how to apply this product I always put moisturizer before I apply anything on my face but I make sure the moisterizer is completely dry before I put this foundation. I've noticed it creates more of a matte finish this way. If I become a little oily durring the day I dab lightly and nothing is transfered to tissue paper. I've used this with Perfectly Real compact and it works well with that powder for extra matte finish that last forever. This is my favorite foundation, keeps my face even and clear and last longer than more expensive foundations. I bought this for around 24 bucks in "8 Golden Neutral" this does contain a bit more of a reddish tone than I'm used to but I love this product so much I don't care, you can barely tell anyway. Wonderful product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cuyugang0322 on 7/5/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by cuyugang0322

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not the best...
Starting with the shade choice: I purchase this in Golden Neutral. I'm an NC30 (lightest) and tan to an NC40 by the end of the summer. The golden neutral would be more suitable for an in between NC30 and 35. I was hoping this would have more yellow, but I guess the "neutral" in the shade suggests otherwise. My NC30 Pro longwear has more yellow which suits my skin tone much better. In natural light it is obvious the golden neutral does not match the strong yellow undertones of my chest and neck. Indoor, no difference.
Longevity of matte finish: After application, the finish is a nice natural matte finish. I still set with another mattifying finishing powder for reassurance. Unfortunately, my oily skin breaks this down sooner than I would like. Oily within two to three hours, past point of saving with a blot powder.
How to apply: Stipple, then buff with a Sigma F80 (<---- worth the hype!)
Consistency: The gel-like consistency is ideal, and I had high hopes for it. The coverage is light to medium. If applied in thin layers, this can be built to a medium.
I don't reach for this much; It was a reasonable price and I wish that I loved it. My face is too oily, and too yellow for this foundation.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DarklitFaery on 7/1/2012 7:53:00 PM more reviews by DarklitFaery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

So I decided to try this since I had bad luck with the acne solutions, perfectly real, and even better foundations. First.. It sucks to blend. I have used a sponge, brush, and my fingers and I just can't get this to work. Even worse, after about three hours, my pores are highlighted, it looks extremely oily and cakey, and I have foundation missing off areas of my face. Sigh, so I'm saying bye bye to this as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kmichael on 6/30/2012 11:17:00 PM more reviews by kmichael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So let me preface this review by saying that I'm totally not the demographic for this makeup AT ALL - I'm dry, I like dewy skin, and I seldom use anything with decent coverage.

That said, I got a sample of this stuff and of course I had to try it (hey, free = viable). The sample was easily two shades darker than my normal skintone so I sheered it out with a tiny bit of some super-light tinted moisturizer. Lo and behold, my skin looked fantastic and stayed looking nice all day! It didn't suck all the moisture out of my skin or settle into pores. And it wasn't chalky-matte, either - just looked fresh all day long. If I was in the market for matte I'd definitely go for this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christina317 on 6/30/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by christina317

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! I went to my local make up store and was color matched as 7. I love the creamy gel texture which makes it super easy to apply. It stays all day and provides me with moderate coverage. I have very oily skin and it Definitley controls the shine. Works great for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cleo_satsweet on 6/29/2012 9:22:00 AM more reviews by cleo_satsweet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is an OK founation. I prefer the acne solutions to this. Its better in terms of coverage and oil control. I have this in golden and its a better shade match for me than fresh amber in acne solutions.
The one issue I have with this formula is that it can settle into fine lines. I am 25 and just startign to get some and this emphasizes them. I can get extremely oily and when I blot and apply powder on top, it can settle into lines. The acne solutions does not do that.
I am not sure if I will repurchase; might if acne solutions gets discontinued(NOOOOOOO!!!!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cat3542 on 6/29/2012 2:32:00 AM more reviews by cat3542

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far so good, and I am loving the texture this foundation has given my oily skin! If there is one thing I can say has fascinated me to continue with this purchase, it would be the fact that one night while on the town, I had went to a friends to spend the night, and had no opportunity to wash my face; after falling asleep with this foundation still on, I knew as I woke up the next day that I was going to have some awful zits from my clogged pores: I DIDN'T HAVE A SINGLE PIMPLE. From use of past foundations, I was shocked at this turn of events, and was immediately sold. I plan to continue with this foundation as it does offer a noticeably diminished appearance of oil, and smells fantastic. Concealers and all other primers before hand have been thrown out the door as this has buildable coverge--applied with foundation brush. Give this a try my fellow greasers, and if it does not work, just take it on back--it won't be the first time you have been let down from a product, but I hope it won't happen in this case. :)
EDIT (4 October, 2012)
Well, as school is now in session, I frequently break out. I still love the matte finish this foundation offers, but have came to the conclusion that it does not have the coverage I need when I have a stubborn red zit, or a scab which needs concealing; the other day i had tried to build some coverage on a scar I had on my forehead, and by the end of the day it looked like a glob of caked up goo.Every once in awhile I would see somebody look my way, pause, and stare at that obvious make-up spot, and look away. I'm currently on a sample of the Clinique Acne Solutions line which offers more coverage: I'll post a review of that soon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emotasticlips on 6/27/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by emotasticlips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this foundation for my oil slick of a face HOWEVER I hate that I can't find a color match. The shade sand 19 I think is the closest color match for my summer tan. I have yellow undertones and although the stay matte line has a decent number of shades the undertone is so off. For reference I'm currently an nc40-nc42.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnowcLovers on 6/26/2012 5:18:00 PM more reviews by SnowcLovers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking around for some makeup that I could use for prom. My face gets really oily quickly and once that happens, the oil transfers to my bangs and makes them greasy and so I end up looking like an oily mess. So I stopped by the Clinique counter and told them about my problems and the lady said they had a new formula meant for oily skin that was tested in extreme temperatures (Amazon Rainforest). Impressive, though I was skeptical. So she globbed the stuff on my face with a dirty makeup brush. Looked a bit cakey...but I blame that on the lady who applied it. I ended up just taking a small sample home. I was very surprised. After 6 hours of shopping, I got home and my face was completely matte. No oil whatsoever. So I decided to go back and pick a tube up. I used it for prom and I my skin was shine free all night even after dancing! And my bangs were also not as disgusting as they normally would be with my normal foundation. I personally like using sponges with foundation. I feel that it gives a dewier finish. The coverage is perfect and can be buildable without looking cakey. I don't know how that lady managed to make it look cakey, but then again considering that every time I visit a Clinique counter, even in the same day they give me a different shade. But anyway, I highly recommend this if you have oily skin! It may be a bit too drying for other skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 almondeyed1988 on 6/22/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by almondeyed1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first legitimate liquid foundation. Liquid foundation has always given me the impression of being heavy, unnatural looking, and non oily skin friendly (plus the good quality ones are always out of my budget). I had always been a powder foundation girl, but when I saw an ad for the Stay-Matte foundation, I was intrigued. The marketing campaign worked, because after reading glowing reviews, I decided to buy the foundation. So now let's get to the review. So the foundation is supposed to have a lightweight natural matte finish. This description fits it to a tee. Not only do I not feel like anything is on my face, but when I look in the mirror I cannot help but smile because my skin looks so gorgeous. This finish is so natural and the skin has a glow-like effect to it. I'm somewhere around a NC45 and was matched to Creamy Caramel (which was a perfect match). It's great that Clinique realizes that darker skin comes in different shades and the Stay Matte line offers a good variety for brown skinned women. The question is does it keep me matte? It does a pretty good job keeping me matte except for my forehead which just gets dewy not oily (I usually just have to blot one or two times a day and even if I don't, I don't look greasy...I just like a matte look lol). I usually set it with a light dusting of Loreal True Match Pressed Powder. For my first foundation, I found it very easy to apply. I used the ELF Studio Powder Brush, and stippled it on and blended. I am extremely pleased with this product, especially with it's price point. Good quality liquid foundation can be expensive at times, so it's awesome that Clinique can offer a great quality foundation at a decent price. I will definitely repurchase:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products