Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(181 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 christina317 on 6/30/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by christina317

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation! I went to my local make up store and was color matched as 7. I love the creamy gel texture which makes it super easy to apply. It stays all day and provides me with moderate coverage. I have very oily skin and it Definitley controls the shine. Works great for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cleo_satsweet on 6/29/2012 9:22:00 AM more reviews by cleo_satsweet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is an OK founation. I prefer the acne solutions to this. Its better in terms of coverage and oil control. I have this in golden and its a better shade match for me than fresh amber in acne solutions.
The one issue I have with this formula is that it can settle into fine lines. I am 25 and just startign to get some and this emphasizes them. I can get extremely oily and when I blot and apply powder on top, it can settle into lines. The acne solutions does not do that.
I am not sure if I will repurchase; might if acne solutions gets discontinued(NOOOOOOO!!!!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cat3542 on 6/29/2012 2:32:00 AM more reviews by cat3542

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far so good, and I am loving the texture this foundation has given my oily skin! If there is one thing I can say has fascinated me to continue with this purchase, it would be the fact that one night while on the town, I had went to a friends to spend the night, and had no opportunity to wash my face; after falling asleep with this foundation still on, I knew as I woke up the next day that I was going to have some awful zits from my clogged pores: I DIDN'T HAVE A SINGLE PIMPLE. From use of past foundations, I was shocked at this turn of events, and was immediately sold. I plan to continue with this foundation as it does offer a noticeably diminished appearance of oil, and smells fantastic. Concealers and all other primers before hand have been thrown out the door as this has buildable coverge--applied with foundation brush. Give this a try my fellow greasers, and if it does not work, just take it on back--it won't be the first time you have been let down from a product, but I hope it won't happen in this case. :)
EDIT (4 October, 2012)
Well, as school is now in session, I frequently break out. I still love the matte finish this foundation offers, but have came to the conclusion that it does not have the coverage I need when I have a stubborn red zit, or a scab which needs concealing; the other day i had tried to build some coverage on a scar I had on my forehead, and by the end of the day it looked like a glob of caked up goo.Every once in awhile I would see somebody look my way, pause, and stare at that obvious make-up spot, and look away. I'm currently on a sample of the Clinique Acne Solutions line which offers more coverage: I'll post a review of that soon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emotasticlips on 6/27/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by emotasticlips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this foundation for my oil slick of a face HOWEVER I hate that I can't find a color match. The shade sand 19 I think is the closest color match for my summer tan. I have yellow undertones and although the stay matte line has a decent number of shades the undertone is so off. For reference I'm currently an nc40-nc42.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnowcLovers on 6/26/2012 5:18:00 PM more reviews by SnowcLovers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking around for some makeup that I could use for prom. My face gets really oily quickly and once that happens, the oil transfers to my bangs and makes them greasy and so I end up looking like an oily mess. So I stopped by the Clinique counter and told them about my problems and the lady said they had a new formula meant for oily skin that was tested in extreme temperatures (Amazon Rainforest). Impressive, though I was skeptical. So she globbed the stuff on my face with a dirty makeup brush. Looked a bit cakey...but I blame that on the lady who applied it. I ended up just taking a small sample home. I was very surprised. After 6 hours of shopping, I got home and my face was completely matte. No oil whatsoever. So I decided to go back and pick a tube up. I used it for prom and I my skin was shine free all night even after dancing! And my bangs were also not as disgusting as they normally would be with my normal foundation. I personally like using sponges with foundation. I feel that it gives a dewier finish. The coverage is perfect and can be buildable without looking cakey. I don't know how that lady managed to make it look cakey, but then again considering that every time I visit a Clinique counter, even in the same day they give me a different shade. But anyway, I highly recommend this if you have oily skin! It may be a bit too drying for other skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 almondeyed1988 on 6/22/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by almondeyed1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first legitimate liquid foundation. Liquid foundation has always given me the impression of being heavy, unnatural looking, and non oily skin friendly (plus the good quality ones are always out of my budget). I had always been a powder foundation girl, but when I saw an ad for the Stay-Matte foundation, I was intrigued. The marketing campaign worked, because after reading glowing reviews, I decided to buy the foundation. So now let's get to the review. So the foundation is supposed to have a lightweight natural matte finish. This description fits it to a tee. Not only do I not feel like anything is on my face, but when I look in the mirror I cannot help but smile because my skin looks so gorgeous. This finish is so natural and the skin has a glow-like effect to it. I'm somewhere around a NC45 and was matched to Creamy Caramel (which was a perfect match). It's great that Clinique realizes that darker skin comes in different shades and the Stay Matte line offers a good variety for brown skinned women. The question is does it keep me matte? It does a pretty good job keeping me matte except for my forehead which just gets dewy not oily (I usually just have to blot one or two times a day and even if I don't, I don't look greasy...I just like a matte look lol). I usually set it with a light dusting of Loreal True Match Pressed Powder. For my first foundation, I found it very easy to apply. I used the ELF Studio Powder Brush, and stippled it on and blended. I am extremely pleased with this product, especially with it's price point. Good quality liquid foundation can be expensive at times, so it's awesome that Clinique can offer a great quality foundation at a decent price. I will definitely repurchase:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lan_28540 on 6/20/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by lan_28540

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique SuperFit was a HG for my sensitive acne prone skin. I was very upset, to say the least, when it was discontinued. I tried so many oil free foundations (MUFE HD foundation (broke me out), DiorSkin Nude (clogged pores), Tarte tinted moisturizer (very good substitute) in an attempt to replace Superfit only to end up with breakouts and clogged pores. I even tried their other foundations (even better foundation, etc...) without much avail. Then they introduced the new Stay Matte Oil Free Makeup. This is better than the super fit foundation. It stays put in hot NY weather, color (golden neutral) is a perfect match for my tone, and it does not break me out. I could not be happier and wish they do not discontinue this product. If you like the superfit, please try this because it really is a much better version of the superfit.

Hope this helps someone out there.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keia1113 on 6/14/2012 12:27:00 PM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like how this foundation performs, it stays on all day and reduces how oily my skin appears.

I just cannot find a shade to match my skin tone. I was matched to sand 19, I am a nc42. I found it to be too dark and red. This shade is suppose to be neutral but leans very pink/red, and there isn't a medium tan shade with true yellow undertones in the line.

Besides not finding a match, I think this is a good foundation for oily skin girls who can find a match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelly32 on 6/12/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by kelly32

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I was surprised that I really like this foundation. I am 40 with dehydrated, sensitive, acne-prone skin that can get oily in the T-zone. I was a long time (10yr) faithful user of Clinique Soft Finish until they discontinued it. I hunted and hunted, high end and low, for something that would work for me. However, everything I tried either made my face itch like crazy or made my skin an oil slick. It seems like so many foundations made for dry skin end up having the opposite effect on me and make me a shiny, oily mess. So, I went back to Clinique with the intention to buy Even Better. However, the SA warned me it could cause oiliness too, and so I grabbed this one thinking it would make my skin very dry and I would hate it. However, it is perfect. If you are dry, definitely moisturize first. While it is not nearly as moisturizing as my Soft Finish, it isn't too dry either and I find it keeps my face moist enough in the humid weather, but ends up looking satiny, not matte. The coverage is great and while I'm not sold on the color, it does blend in just fine. I'm pretty sure this might not work for me in the winter and I might just try Even Better then when my skin gets really dry, but for summer, this is perfect. This will never be Soft Finish for me, but Clinique has the only foundations that don't make me break out or itch like crazy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 6/10/2012 8:04:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I see that this is working well for most people, but I really hated it. It applies ok, but settled in my pores terribly. Looked bad in that regard. As far as staying matte, well, pretty good at that, I guess. I did get oily and shiny, but not for a few hours. But after a few hours, I looked like I didn't have any makeup on. I looked really blah. It oxidized a bit on me, too. Oh, and it stung like crazy when I put it on. The stinging lasted a couple of minutes, then stopped. Not the worst foundation I have ever tried, but I threw the rest of the 5 day sample they gave me in the garbage, and would never spend my money on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products