Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(178 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 emotasticlips on 6/27/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by emotasticlips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this foundation for my oil slick of a face HOWEVER I hate that I can't find a color match. The shade sand 19 I think is the closest color match for my summer tan. I have yellow undertones and although the stay matte line has a decent number of shades the undertone is so off. For reference I'm currently an nc40-nc42.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnowcLovers on 6/26/2012 5:18:00 PM more reviews by SnowcLovers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking around for some makeup that I could use for prom. My face gets really oily quickly and once that happens, the oil transfers to my bangs and makes them greasy and so I end up looking like an oily mess. So I stopped by the Clinique counter and told them about my problems and the lady said they had a new formula meant for oily skin that was tested in extreme temperatures (Amazon Rainforest). Impressive, though I was skeptical. So she globbed the stuff on my face with a dirty makeup brush. Looked a bit cakey...but I blame that on the lady who applied it. I ended up just taking a small sample home. I was very surprised. After 6 hours of shopping, I got home and my face was completely matte. No oil whatsoever. So I decided to go back and pick a tube up. I used it for prom and I my skin was shine free all night even after dancing! And my bangs were also not as disgusting as they normally would be with my normal foundation. I personally like using sponges with foundation. I feel that it gives a dewier finish. The coverage is perfect and can be buildable without looking cakey. I don't know how that lady managed to make it look cakey, but then again considering that every time I visit a Clinique counter, even in the same day they give me a different shade. But anyway, I highly recommend this if you have oily skin! It may be a bit too drying for other skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 almondeyed1988 on 6/22/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by almondeyed1988

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first legitimate liquid foundation. Liquid foundation has always given me the impression of being heavy, unnatural looking, and non oily skin friendly (plus the good quality ones are always out of my budget). I had always been a powder foundation girl, but when I saw an ad for the Stay-Matte foundation, I was intrigued. The marketing campaign worked, because after reading glowing reviews, I decided to buy the foundation. So now let's get to the review. So the foundation is supposed to have a lightweight natural matte finish. This description fits it to a tee. Not only do I not feel like anything is on my face, but when I look in the mirror I cannot help but smile because my skin looks so gorgeous. This finish is so natural and the skin has a glow-like effect to it. I'm somewhere around a NC45 and was matched to Creamy Caramel (which was a perfect match). It's great that Clinique realizes that darker skin comes in different shades and the Stay Matte line offers a good variety for brown skinned women. The question is does it keep me matte? It does a pretty good job keeping me matte except for my forehead which just gets dewy not oily (I usually just have to blot one or two times a day and even if I don't, I don't look greasy...I just like a matte look lol). I usually set it with a light dusting of Loreal True Match Pressed Powder. For my first foundation, I found it very easy to apply. I used the ELF Studio Powder Brush, and stippled it on and blended. I am extremely pleased with this product, especially with it's price point. Good quality liquid foundation can be expensive at times, so it's awesome that Clinique can offer a great quality foundation at a decent price. I will definitely repurchase:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lan_28540 on 6/20/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by lan_28540

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique SuperFit was a HG for my sensitive acne prone skin. I was very upset, to say the least, when it was discontinued. I tried so many oil free foundations (MUFE HD foundation (broke me out), DiorSkin Nude (clogged pores), Tarte tinted moisturizer (very good substitute) in an attempt to replace Superfit only to end up with breakouts and clogged pores. I even tried their other foundations (even better foundation, etc...) without much avail. Then they introduced the new Stay Matte Oil Free Makeup. This is better than the super fit foundation. It stays put in hot NY weather, color (golden neutral) is a perfect match for my tone, and it does not break me out. I could not be happier and wish they do not discontinue this product. If you like the superfit, please try this because it really is a much better version of the superfit.

Hope this helps someone out there.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keia1113 on 6/14/2012 12:27:00 PM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like how this foundation performs, it stays on all day and reduces how oily my skin appears.

I just cannot find a shade to match my skin tone. I was matched to sand 19, I am a nc42. I found it to be too dark and red. This shade is suppose to be neutral but leans very pink/red, and there isn't a medium tan shade with true yellow undertones in the line.

Besides not finding a match, I think this is a good foundation for oily skin girls who can find a match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelly32 on 6/12/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by kelly32

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I was surprised that I really like this foundation. I am 40 with dehydrated, sensitive, acne-prone skin that can get oily in the T-zone. I was a long time (10yr) faithful user of Clinique Soft Finish until they discontinued it. I hunted and hunted, high end and low, for something that would work for me. However, everything I tried either made my face itch like crazy or made my skin an oil slick. It seems like so many foundations made for dry skin end up having the opposite effect on me and make me a shiny, oily mess. So, I went back to Clinique with the intention to buy Even Better. However, the SA warned me it could cause oiliness too, and so I grabbed this one thinking it would make my skin very dry and I would hate it. However, it is perfect. If you are dry, definitely moisturize first. While it is not nearly as moisturizing as my Soft Finish, it isn't too dry either and I find it keeps my face moist enough in the humid weather, but ends up looking satiny, not matte. The coverage is great and while I'm not sold on the color, it does blend in just fine. I'm pretty sure this might not work for me in the winter and I might just try Even Better then when my skin gets really dry, but for summer, this is perfect. This will never be Soft Finish for me, but Clinique has the only foundations that don't make me break out or itch like crazy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 6/10/2012 8:04:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I see that this is working well for most people, but I really hated it. It applies ok, but settled in my pores terribly. Looked bad in that regard. As far as staying matte, well, pretty good at that, I guess. I did get oily and shiny, but not for a few hours. But after a few hours, I looked like I didn't have any makeup on. I looked really blah. It oxidized a bit on me, too. Oh, and it stung like crazy when I put it on. The stinging lasted a couple of minutes, then stopped. Not the worst foundation I have ever tried, but I threw the rest of the 5 day sample they gave me in the garbage, and would never spend my money on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 6/6/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ETA: after more consideration, I decided to once again visit my Clinique counter to see what the next shade in this line was and how it might also look after extended wear (I'd previously been convinced that #19 Sand was the one for my NC44 complexion). #20, Deep Neutral, was the next shade that I took home a sample of. I wore it all day on a humid, rainy day (and I did manage to get caught in the rain at one point) and, I have to admit, it looked great. THIS is the color that I should have gotten from the start. I found that this foundation does tend to "stay matte", as promised. I applied it using the MAC 130 brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsAshleyCrim on 6/4/2012 6:03:00 PM more reviews by MsAshleyCrim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this foundation! Pro's include:
- Packaging; Sanitary, easy to appy and can clearly tell how much product is left
- Price (very affordable for a high end foundation)
- Buildable medium coverage; can be sheered out or built up easily
- Semi matte, natural finish
- Lightweight
- Controls oil well, would recommend for normal to oily skin but not extremely oily skin
- Lasts 8-10 hours with minimal touch ups
- Love that it is fragrance free; Had no issues with breakouts

The only con I found associated with this foundation is color matching. I wish the website would clearly label which shades are warm, cool or neutral. I am NW20 in Mac and wear this foundation in the color Creamwhip, which is considered a 'golden' tone by Clinique, but I found it to be a neutral to pink tone. I would definitely recommend swatching this in the store and not necessarily going by the labels.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tualmarebelde on 6/4/2012 11:38:00 AM more reviews by tualmarebelde

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely oily acne prone sensitive skin. This foundation remained matte for a maximum of 5 hours on my skin. Like every foundation, it looks really pretty the first 15 minutues after applying but it didn't stay pretty for long. Not HG status for me. I will stick to EL DoubleWear and Revlon Colorstay. This one is best for combination skin that gets oily only around the T zone but I wouldnt recommend for very very oily skintypes like myself. Not too expensive but I rather get a better performing foundation for the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products