Clinique • Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(175 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lan_28540 on 6/20/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by lan_28540

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique SuperFit was a HG for my sensitive acne prone skin. I was very upset, to say the least, when it was discontinued. I tried so many oil free foundations (MUFE HD foundation (broke me out), DiorSkin Nude (clogged pores), Tarte tinted moisturizer (very good substitute) in an attempt to replace Superfit only to end up with breakouts and clogged pores. I even tried their other foundations (even better foundation, etc...) without much avail. Then they introduced the new Stay Matte Oil Free Makeup. This is better than the super fit foundation. It stays put in hot NY weather, color (golden neutral) is a perfect match for my tone, and it does not break me out. I could not be happier and wish they do not discontinue this product. If you like the superfit, please try this because it really is a much better version of the superfit.

Hope this helps someone out there.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keia1113 on 6/14/2012 12:27:00 PM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like how this foundation performs, it stays on all day and reduces how oily my skin appears.

I just cannot find a shade to match my skin tone. I was matched to sand 19, I am a nc42. I found it to be too dark and red. This shade is suppose to be neutral but leans very pink/red, and there isn't a medium tan shade with true yellow undertones in the line.

Besides not finding a match, I think this is a good foundation for oily skin girls who can find a match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kelly32 on 6/12/2012 4:09:00 PM more reviews by kelly32

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I was surprised that I really like this foundation. I am 40 with dehydrated, sensitive, acne-prone skin that can get oily in the T-zone. I was a long time (10yr) faithful user of Clinique Soft Finish until they discontinued it. I hunted and hunted, high end and low, for something that would work for me. However, everything I tried either made my face itch like crazy or made my skin an oil slick. It seems like so many foundations made for dry skin end up having the opposite effect on me and make me a shiny, oily mess. So, I went back to Clinique with the intention to buy Even Better. However, the SA warned me it could cause oiliness too, and so I grabbed this one thinking it would make my skin very dry and I would hate it. However, it is perfect. If you are dry, definitely moisturize first. While it is not nearly as moisturizing as my Soft Finish, it isn't too dry either and I find it keeps my face moist enough in the humid weather, but ends up looking satiny, not matte. The coverage is great and while I'm not sold on the color, it does blend in just fine. I'm pretty sure this might not work for me in the winter and I might just try Even Better then when my skin gets really dry, but for summer, this is perfect. This will never be Soft Finish for me, but Clinique has the only foundations that don't make me break out or itch like crazy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 6/10/2012 8:04:00 AM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I see that this is working well for most people, but I really hated it. It applies ok, but settled in my pores terribly. Looked bad in that regard. As far as staying matte, well, pretty good at that, I guess. I did get oily and shiny, but not for a few hours. But after a few hours, I looked like I didn't have any makeup on. I looked really blah. It oxidized a bit on me, too. Oh, and it stung like crazy when I put it on. The stinging lasted a couple of minutes, then stopped. Not the worst foundation I have ever tried, but I threw the rest of the 5 day sample they gave me in the garbage, and would never spend my money on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 6/6/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ETA: after more consideration, I decided to once again visit my Clinique counter to see what the next shade in this line was and how it might also look after extended wear (I'd previously been convinced that #19 Sand was the one for my NC44 complexion). #20, Deep Neutral, was the next shade that I took home a sample of. I wore it all day on a humid, rainy day (and I did manage to get caught in the rain at one point) and, I have to admit, it looked great. THIS is the color that I should have gotten from the start. I found that this foundation does tend to "stay matte", as promised. I applied it using the MAC 130 brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsAshleyCrim on 6/4/2012 6:03:00 PM more reviews by MsAshleyCrim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this foundation! Pro's include:
- Packaging; Sanitary, easy to appy and can clearly tell how much product is left
- Price (very affordable for a high end foundation)
- Buildable medium coverage; can be sheered out or built up easily
- Semi matte, natural finish
- Lightweight
- Controls oil well, would recommend for normal to oily skin but not extremely oily skin
- Lasts 8-10 hours with minimal touch ups
- Love that it is fragrance free; Had no issues with breakouts

The only con I found associated with this foundation is color matching. I wish the website would clearly label which shades are warm, cool or neutral. I am NW20 in Mac and wear this foundation in the color Creamwhip, which is considered a 'golden' tone by Clinique, but I found it to be a neutral to pink tone. I would definitely recommend swatching this in the store and not necessarily going by the labels.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tualmarebelde on 6/4/2012 11:38:00 AM more reviews by tualmarebelde

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely oily acne prone sensitive skin. This foundation remained matte for a maximum of 5 hours on my skin. Like every foundation, it looks really pretty the first 15 minutues after applying but it didn't stay pretty for long. Not HG status for me. I will stick to EL DoubleWear and Revlon Colorstay. This one is best for combination skin that gets oily only around the T zone but I wouldnt recommend for very very oily skintypes like myself. Not too expensive but I rather get a better performing foundation for the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aly110 on 5/30/2012 12:38:00 AM more reviews by aly110

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Before this foundation I was using the clinique acne solutions foundation. I loved that foundation when I first got it but I noticed I was still pretty oily, so I went to the clinique counter and the lady there recomended this. I can honestly tell you I love this foundation! I don't have to touch up during the day and my skin looks beautiful day and night. The thing I love most would be that it doesn't break me out, I recommend this to anyone who has oily acne prone skin!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littleleah5 on 5/30/2012 12:13:00 AM more reviews by littleleah5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this foundation. i have samples in the colors golden neutral and neutral. the colors are a little off for me, but im hard to match because i am light olive. golden neutral was too yellow and neutral too pink and dark. mixing with my MUFE mat velvet and in #20 and neutral is GLORIOUS. stayed on all day and matched me perfectly. the finish of the foundation is mat/natural depending on primer. really like this product though, would like even more if i had a matching color. maybe ill have to try mixing a lighter color stay matte with the neutral.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gennifur on 5/26/2012 2:27:00 PM more reviews by Gennifur

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was in the market for a higher end foundation after years of using drugstore brands. So, I went to the Clinique counter at Macy's last week and asked for a lightweight foundation with a natural finish. The MUA at the counter told me about the Stay-Matte and gave my a 10 day sample to try out. All I have to say is, I LOVE IT! I actually went back to Macy's yesterday and purchased it. I have dry to combination skin and this foundations isn't over drying at all. But I am a stickler about moisturizing. It wears beautifully. A little goes a long way for me. I'm not concerned with full coverage. The color match is absolutely perfect. It looks like my skin but better! I tend to get a little oily through out the day if I wear liquid foundation. But by the end of the day my skin looked slightly dewy with the Stay-Matte. I have to say this is my HG foundation!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products