Clinique Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

3.7

199 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ingredients: water\aqua\eau [] methyl trimethicone [] butylene glycol [] neopentyl glycol diheptanoate [] dimethicone [] trimethylsiloxysilicate [] nylon-12 [] silica [] laminaria saccharina extract [] salix alba (willow) bark extract [] aloe barbadensis leaf extract [] cholesterol [] glycerin [] zinc stearate [] peg-10 dimethicone [] caffeine [] lauryl peg-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone [] lecithin [] disteardimonium hectorite [] dimethicone/peg-10/15 crosspolymer [] tocopheryl acetate [] phenyl trimethicone [] triethoxycaprylylsilane [] laureth-7 [] magnesium aluminum silicate [] potassium sorbate [] sorbic acid [] sodium dehydroacetate [] triethyl citrate [] hydroxyapatite [] xanthan gum [] sodium chloride [] alcohol [] dipropylene glycol [] disodium edta [] sodium citrate [] sodium hyaluronate [] nylon-6 [] chlorphenesin [] phenoxyethanol [] [+/- titanium dioxide (ci 77891) [] iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499) [] bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163) [] mica]v


on 8/31/2012 8:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is gel-based and has an impressive covering. To an oily skin it goes very well over a serum, otherwise too drying. No transfering and quite long lasting: I travelled with it on and by morning it was flawless except from the front which was oily, asking for blotting.
No creasing or fine lines marking (with a moisturiser under). The formula might cause occasional breakouts.
However, my complaint is about the ever-so-pink tones that Clinique turns itself to. The only yellow toned one is way too dark. MAC NW20-25, MUFE HD 120 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/17/2012 10:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily skin and live in the Midwest. This foundation works great on my skin. Doesn't break out my skin or clog my pores, buildable coverage and stays matte most of the day for me. Also, does not oxidize on my skin. The packaging is a nice tube. I shake up the foundation and squeeze a little plop in my hand. I tap, tap, tap my fingertips in my hand to dry out the foundation a little. Then I tap into my skin and pores. The foundation builds up and dries nicely while tapping. I follow with loose powder. Color selection is not that great. I am using a lighter shade than I would like, but I think it will really look good this winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2012 5:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great product. Its very comparable to the revlon colorstay. Im in the sade Sienna. It works very well for me. My skin is combination oily and I really don't have any blemishes or anything. I work in hot conditions and it holds up very well. This has become my favorite high end foundation. I have some MAC and it does well but to me Clinique doesnt give me that made up look and it looks so natural. I set this foundation with my perfectly real compact in 148(n). The key to to keep from have the drying. flaky look is to moisturize your face with a good moisturizer. And a little goes a long way :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2012 10:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation really works for me. I had someone match a color for me, and it matches perfectly. I like the airbrushed look that it gives my face. It doesn't give a matte finish, rather a dewy, natural looking one. It's easily build-able. I think it's a little expensive, but if you have combination skin, and are looking for a foundation that looks good in photos, doesn't break you out, and that has a dewy finish, this is the foundation for you. I wouldn't recommend this for extremely oily skinned people, though, even though i think that's who it's targeted towards.


on 8/9/2012 7:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Really unhappy with this. I've used the 'Even better' in ivory before, and really liked the shade on my skin, but it did little to control my oil. I had heard of stay matte from a friend, and was passing through the airport last week, so stopped by the Clinique counter to have a look. They didn't have a tester of the 'ivory' in the stay matte, but the sales assistant assured/guaranteed/promised me it was EXACTLY the same shade. IT IS NOT. It's much darker, and looks just awful on me. Added to that, it's difficult to apply, and broke me out after just one day. Really dislike, and I'll be travelling through the same airport in 2 weeks time, and am planning to go in search of the sales assistant, give her a piece of my mind and get my money back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 7:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have combination skin and read reviews on this product and felt with my skin type I had found the holy grail...Fast forward into three hours of wearing this skin wrecker and an oil slick unlike any I had ever experienced. I applied a small amount of the foundation with a foundation brush onto freshly scrubbed skin along with a combo skin moisturizer (tiny amt.) and even topped it off with a clinique setting powder. Three hours later after only being in the heat for a 10 min. car ride and a temp controlled work environment the foundation had failed me. It was oily everywhere and was visually grossing me out. By the time I returned home after 8 hrs. I had at least 3 new pimples...whew glad I got a free ten day supply at the Macy's counter. In my opinion with my crazy skin this was the worst foundation experience ever!


on 8/8/2012 11:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately, Im really not a fan of this. My skin is combo-oily, more oily in the summertime. I understand this foundation is supposed to be mattifying and is designed for oily skins but even at my oiliest (which is fairly oily) this formula is WAY too drying. I wore this foundation in southeast asia in the summer, walking around new york city, and at the beach, and it still manages to leave me with dry flakes all over my skin. I never have this problem with other foundations, or even powders which are the driest of all. luckily i only have this in a couple samples so i didn't waste my money but if your skin is combo oily in the summer heat, i can't recommend this. however, I'm giving it two stars because i believe it would be great if your face in an oil slick.

edit: I'm bumping it down to 1 star because it has also started to break me out in places i never get breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2012 7:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is WAY too dark for me. I use the lightest shade and still looks gross orange. The good thing about this is it controls my oil even if just for a few more hours. Instead of having to blot every hour, I can change that to every 3 hours. This makeup looks AMAZING in pictures, but I'm still looking for my HG.
I'd recommend this for darker skinned people.


on 7/23/2012 5:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Grrr, bismuth oxychloride! Why? I'm surprised companies are adding ingredients well-known to cause irritation (like Stila adding at least two comedogenic level 5 ingredients to their new oil-free foundation, then advertizing how it reduces blemishes). This causes cysts on my cheeks, as does everything else with bismuth o. Sorry for the rant, MUA members! If the product creators/chemists are knowledgeable enough to have a product approved for mass market, they should be aware of comedogenic or irritating ingredients in products targeted for acne-prone skin. If you're not sensitive to bismuth oxychloride, this could be okay for you. If you are, avoid! I now have red scars on my clear cheeks. On the bright side, Linen is lighter than most Clinique foundations and the packaging is convenient.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2012 10:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I agree that this foundation may not be as good as it's original "Stay True" but the ingredients are much better! If you google "clinique stay true makeup ingredients" you should get an article from the UK about how it has arsenic and lead along with other things. So I am happy that they took all of those things out (hopefully)! I will gladly accept a few blotting needs throughout the day. BUT I have found that if I use the cover FX clarifying and mattifying primer then I get NO OIL! It's amazing! I love having makeup that stays all day!


Back to Top