Clinique Stay-Matte Oil-Free Makeup

3.6

203 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ingredients: water\aqua\eau [] methyl trimethicone [] butylene glycol [] neopentyl glycol diheptanoate [] dimethicone [] trimethylsiloxysilicate [] nylon-12 [] silica [] laminaria saccharina extract [] salix alba (willow) bark extract [] aloe barbadensis leaf extract [] cholesterol [] glycerin [] zinc stearate [] peg-10 dimethicone [] caffeine [] lauryl peg-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone [] lecithin [] disteardimonium hectorite [] dimethicone/peg-10/15 crosspolymer [] tocopheryl acetate [] phenyl trimethicone [] triethoxycaprylylsilane [] laureth-7 [] magnesium aluminum silicate [] potassium sorbate [] sorbic acid [] sodium dehydroacetate [] triethyl citrate [] hydroxyapatite [] xanthan gum [] sodium chloride [] alcohol [] dipropylene glycol [] disodium edta [] sodium citrate [] sodium hyaluronate [] nylon-6 [] chlorphenesin [] phenoxyethanol [] [+/- titanium dioxide (ci 77891) [] iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499) [] bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163) [] mica]v


on 9/2/2012 4:05:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I obtained a sample of this foundation at the Clinique counter @ the mall. I was matched as "beige" which was a good match. Sadly after using it for 3 days I was very underwhelmed with this foundation. After 2 hours of wear, I was shiny and needed to blot. I even used an oil free primer under this and finishing powder! It just didn't hold up to Florida's hot, humid summer!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ok, let me start off by saying I have REALLY oily skin. After washing my face, I will get shiny and oily before the hour is up. Anyway, I tried Stay-Matte and was so ecstatic with the results! I went for over 7 hours of no shine! Throughout the day, I used to constantly blot or add powder to my face, which was SUCH a hassle, but now I am confident that my skin is going to stay matte for hours and hours! This product is absolutely amazing! If you have oily skin, give Stay-Matte a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2012 12:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm new to liquid foundations... so I don't have much to compare this to, but here goes...
I bought this in 05Fair...which was actually too dark if I tried to build. It goes on fine and it has sheer coverage that just kind of evens skin tone but doesn't cover blemishes at all. And for my skin at least, it does not live up to the 'stay matte' claims. I'm definitely shiney by mid-day, if not sooner.
It's an ok product... but I just wasn't terribly impressed by it and would try something else before buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2012 9:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this foundation so much, in the store, the color matched perfectly. After going home, it really oxidized and became orangey. Also I did not see any oil control at all especially since I have acne prone and oily skin. After a week of using this product, I began to get really dry and crusty around the outer rims of my mouth. I ended up going to the doctor and the doctor asked me if I was using any new products on my face. So this was basically the culprit. Something in this formula is not gentle for my sensitive skin.....

Anyways I also use the Acne-Solutions foundation, although I do not like the oxidation that occurs, its ten times better than this at controlling oil and keeping my face healthy..


DO NOT BUY


on 8/31/2012 8:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is gel-based and has an impressive covering. To an oily skin it goes very well over a serum, otherwise too drying. No transfering and quite long lasting: I travelled with it on and by morning it was flawless except from the front which was oily, asking for blotting.
No creasing or fine lines marking (with a moisturiser under). The formula might cause occasional breakouts.
However, my complaint is about the ever-so-pink tones that Clinique turns itself to. The only yellow toned one is way too dark. MAC NW20-25, MUFE HD 120 for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2012 10:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily skin and live in the Midwest. This foundation works great on my skin. Doesn't break out my skin or clog my pores, buildable coverage and stays matte most of the day for me. Also, does not oxidize on my skin. The packaging is a nice tube. I shake up the foundation and squeeze a little plop in my hand. I tap, tap, tap my fingertips in my hand to dry out the foundation a little. Then I tap into my skin and pores. The foundation builds up and dries nicely while tapping. I follow with loose powder. Color selection is not that great. I am using a lighter shade than I would like, but I think it will really look good this winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2012 5:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great product. Its very comparable to the revlon colorstay. Im in the sade Sienna. It works very well for me. My skin is combination oily and I really don't have any blemishes or anything. I work in hot conditions and it holds up very well. This has become my favorite high end foundation. I have some MAC and it does well but to me Clinique doesnt give me that made up look and it looks so natural. I set this foundation with my perfectly real compact in 148(n). The key to to keep from have the drying. flaky look is to moisturize your face with a good moisturizer. And a little goes a long way :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2012 10:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation really works for me. I had someone match a color for me, and it matches perfectly. I like the airbrushed look that it gives my face. It doesn't give a matte finish, rather a dewy, natural looking one. It's easily build-able. I think it's a little expensive, but if you have combination skin, and are looking for a foundation that looks good in photos, doesn't break you out, and that has a dewy finish, this is the foundation for you. I wouldn't recommend this for extremely oily skinned people, though, even though i think that's who it's targeted towards.


on 8/9/2012 7:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Really unhappy with this. I've used the 'Even better' in ivory before, and really liked the shade on my skin, but it did little to control my oil. I had heard of stay matte from a friend, and was passing through the airport last week, so stopped by the Clinique counter to have a look. They didn't have a tester of the 'ivory' in the stay matte, but the sales assistant assured/guaranteed/promised me it was EXACTLY the same shade. IT IS NOT. It's much darker, and looks just awful on me. Added to that, it's difficult to apply, and broke me out after just one day. Really dislike, and I'll be travelling through the same airport in 2 weeks time, and am planning to go in search of the sales assistant, give her a piece of my mind and get my money back!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 7:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have combination skin and read reviews on this product and felt with my skin type I had found the holy grail...Fast forward into three hours of wearing this skin wrecker and an oil slick unlike any I had ever experienced. I applied a small amount of the foundation with a foundation brush onto freshly scrubbed skin along with a combo skin moisturizer (tiny amt.) and even topped it off with a clinique setting powder. Three hours later after only being in the heat for a 10 min. car ride and a temp controlled work environment the foundation had failed me. It was oily everywhere and was visually grossing me out. By the time I returned home after 8 hrs. I had at least 3 new pimples...whew glad I got a free ten day supply at the Macy's counter. In my opinion with my crazy skin this was the worst foundation experience ever!


Back to Top