Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 - Illuminating • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.8(166 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmnixa on 1/4/2009 9:01:00 AM more reviews by pmnixa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I prefer this to all of LM's Tinted Moisturizers. The Oil Free kept oxidizing on me, and the shade I used in the Oil Free (Nude) was just a bit too dark. I used this Illuminating Version in Bare Radiance and the color match was very good. The problem I had with it is that it was very hard to blend and little shimmer flakes settled in places on my face. The shimmer looked very natural when blended properly but I couldn't get it to work. I did like how this did not oxidize and did not clog pores. The finish was also very nice. I am going to try Bobbi Brown now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 indychic on 11/15/2008 4:30:00 PM more reviews by indychic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

When I saw the promo's for this prior to it's launch the term 'illuminating' put me off. Even though I'm in my late 30's, I've had oilier, blemish prone skin all my life & I steer clear of foundations/moisturizers that are shimmery/shiney since they exacerbate the issue. Now I donít always agree with Paula B. but I do check her reviews for ingredient listings and when she called this one of the most formidable tinted moisturizers available even though she always recommends against shimmer on aging skin, I decided to check it out. (The reliable broad spectrum SPF was also a factor.)

II really like this even though I was skeptical. I am fair (Mac NC20, Armani LSF 4, LM Mineral Real Sand, BE Fairly Light) and purchased the Bare Radiance. This manages to warm up my skin without looking like Iíve applied too dark foundation. I prefer to apply with a sponge and while it is glowy looking, the texture is lovely Ė not greasy, lightweight and blends well. It doesnít oxidize and I donít look like an oil slick within a few hours. As a comparison, I find the original LM TM to feel too greasy and the oil-free version too thick. This blends better on my skin than the Armani LSF as well.

Iím not certain I will use this in the summer as an all over color when my skin is naturally oilier, however, I think it would make a nice alternative to the YSL Touche Eclat type products around the eye area while providing a bit more coverage as well as SPF. As with all the TMís Iíve tried, I do not think this replaces the need to apply moisturizer prior.

As usual, the price is ridiculous, but Iíd still repurchase. And it comes in the standard LM tinted moisturizer tube, which has a screw on cap that I hate (for this price it should come with a flip top or a pump) Ė but those are the only negatives & what prevented me from giving a 5 rating.
UPDATE 12/5/08: Still love this, although I have changed my application. I apply with my hands like regular moisturizer & blend, than buff over it with the TM #20 brush (original full size). This ensures I didn't miss a spot & also seems to tone down the glowy-ness. Love!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverfrench on 10/27/2008 6:38:00 PM more reviews by foreverfrench

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this! I layer it with stick and works well in all her liquids minus the silk creme (you dont want to see that mix, it seperates)
But i love the crushed pearl so you look alive and healthy i love seeing this on mature people. ive suggested it to everyone i know!
I would love to see the whole world in this because then you dont look dry or sallow or anything and you still get the balancing benefits from the buildable coverage

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chirakat on 10/17/2008 3:58:00 AM more reviews by chirakat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love how it isn't greasy and thick like Stila Oil Free TM spf 30. I love the color Natural Radiance and how it doesn't oxidize. What I don't love about it is that it is too very over-the-top shimmery. You either wear it sparingly and get partial benefit of the SPF20 or wear it like you should with regular sunscreen and look metallic. If you're planning to own just one tinted moisturizer, skip this because you'll soon be looking for another.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rdc1227 on 10/8/2008 5:35:00 PM more reviews by rdc1227

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this so much more than the regular LM tinted moisturizer. I've never been able to comprehend why it always made the Best Of lists, but I won't be surprised to see this one on them! It provides great coverage without being heavy and it makes my skin so glowy! I'm using nude, which will probably be too dark in a month so I'll switch then. I like Dior's coverage a bit more, but this is such an improvement over the original TM that I've been generous with my lippies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sushiomelette on 10/1/2008 4:42:00 PM more reviews by sushiomelette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product when applied looks different from the original tinted moisturizer formula. I've only tried sample of it (Natural Radiance) to compare it to the original. I would say the coverage is medium when you put powder over it. I had to put powder ony because my face was WAY too glowy. It really reminds me of Revlon's skinlights, which I used a long while back in Warm Light. The effects of both look the same to me. So if you can find Skinlights, I'd say it's a dupe.

Overall I think I like this product, you know, just on some days when you feel like your face needs a boost. You can also mix it with whatever foundation you're using to impart that glowiness to your face. I think I will buy this one as well as the original because as the weather gets colder, I definitely need the extra moisture that I don't necessarily get from my other foundations (Vitalumiere, Teint Compact, LM Mineral foundations). I also noticed that my forehead isn't as irritated or red as much, but I still can get the coverage I want with the tinted moisturizer. A very good product to have indeed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beachkitty79 on 9/21/2008 1:32:00 PM more reviews by beachkitty79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've never really been a fan of tinted moisturizers b/c most tinted moisturizers don't seem worth it. The amount of "tint" in most of them makes me feel like I might as well just wear a moisturizer with sunscreen that is not "tinted." This one is really good though. It's moisturizer, foundation, and sunscreen all in one that also gives decent enough coverage to be worth buying. Not greasy at all... I like the "illumination" it gives. Great product!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nverno on 9/15/2008 1:43:00 AM more reviews by nverno

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This tinted moisturizer from L.M. gives you a really pretty, soft, pearly glow to your skin while it also gives you moisture and a light coverage makeup. I'm pretty fair and I feel that the lightest color of the three shades, bare radiance, totally warms up my pale skin without looking wrong at all. The warmer pigments just seem to blend right into my skin so perfectly. Doesn't make you look sparkly, but just glowy and radiant. If you feel it isn't enough coverage it looks good mixed with foundation too.

The formula blends easily and feels really light on the skin, not like makeup. Makes your skin feel good/soft/healthy, doesn't bother my eyes like some foundations do. LOVE this!! as well as most of the other L.M. foundations which I need to review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GraceQ on 9/12/2008 11:57:00 PM more reviews by GraceQ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've always wanted to like the LM tinted moisturizer since it has a reputation for being one of the best out there, but the original formula did not have a color that matched my NC30-35 skin tone (nude was too light; sand was too dark). So when I found the new illuminating tinted moisturizer in natural radiance, I found it to be a perfect match. It gives me a very dewy moist look and soaks in pretty well into my dry skin. I usually have to blot with an oil-blotting paper within an hour of application, but its still a great medium-coverage everyday foundation (yes, foundation; its quite thick to be considered a "tinted moisturizer" in my opinion). Overall, love the product... will be buying another one when I run out.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ryver_wynd on 9/10/2008 11:15:00 AM more reviews by ryver_wynd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, after many, many tries, I think I have found a winning combination with this stuff!! I was so excited when I heard about this product. I tried Warm Radiance, and found the color to be just a bit "off"...not quite a match. And the shimmer was waaaay OTT. When the deluxe sample of Bare Radiance was offered, I snatched one up, thinking I could at least use it as a highlighter for cheeks, etc. Playing with my makeup a couple of days ago, however, I had a "Eureka!!" moment. I mixed, 50/50, the Bare Radiance with my WnW "Sun-kissed" TM, and have finally met my HG TM!!! The color is a perfect match, and can be adjusted as summer fades and fall approaches (I also have WnW Natural to mix with it when the time comes, BOGOF at Rite-Aid last week!!). To me, this totally justified the $$$ of LM. A tube of the regular size will last forever, and the results are gloriously radiant, luminous, and perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products