Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3263 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 10/31/2009 7:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Cute jar, I will say that. As well as a good selection in colors. But none of the right colors for me. The undertone was did not suit me.

But other than that, it's very blotchy, did not blend very well, had this pink undertone that made me look like I got sunburned. It accentuated my existing pores and clogged some more, too. Made my dry patches more noticeable, and the coverage was very heavy. Playing with it was fun, the mousse texture is fabulous, but applying it on my face, it just looked like a layer of dirt rubbed on my face. Then it streaked and rubbed off on my clothes very easily.



on 10/29/2009 2:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Too dry, made my skin look blotchy, and had an orangish hue no matter what color I picked. I'm pretty sure it's been causing a lot of my recent breakouts too, so I switched to something else. Not worth it for the price, and it doesn't last more than about two hours before becoming oily and needing a touch-up. Not recommended.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is by far my favorite drugstore foundation to use. I think it has great coverage, feels light on the skin, and is very smooth. I wear it every day, love the price. The only thing I don't like about it is the packaging. The pot form is very bacteria prone. Overall, very very satisfied with this product!


on 10/29/2009 2:48:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I used this about 4 years ago when I was living in Southern California. Worked really well at keeping my skin from looking dry and flaky but without making me look greasy. I didn't know anything about setting powders back in the day so I can imagine it would have lasted longer if I had used one - but this looked pretty without it for my young skin. It is really creamy and I really like the mousse texture - very easy to blend and looks natural once you do. Good product for beginners and experts alike, looks great in pictures too. Perhaps not an everyday foundation but I liked it when I used it.


on 10/29/2009 2:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's pretty good. Improves the look of my skin and matches light cool toned skin perfect- neutralizes redness and that. My only complaint is that 1) it can begin to feel heavy throughout the day and 2) it cakes in dry skin really bad and looks awful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2009 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product. I have been using Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Liquid foundation for about 6 months when I decided on the spur of the moment to try this foundation and I was ecstatic with my results. I love the feeling of the mousse on my fingers and when I blend it into my face (yes with my hands i find it works well) it makes my skin silky smooth to the touch and has great coverage that covers almost all flaws without looking cakey. Only bad thing is the Porcelain Ivory which I chose is a bit dark for my complexion but not too awful.


on 10/28/2009 6:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nice feel and coverage, BUUUUTTT... Makes me breakout... CAN'T use the stuff.


on 10/28/2009 12:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had this awhile back and LOST it, i only got to use it like 5-6 times, it was so nice and matte looking, very smooth and I needed solittle, i plan on buying again, I did use a brush though because i don't like sticking my fingers in stuff like this that is just an open pot.


on 10/28/2009 9:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this foundation for about a year now, and I really like it. I really like natural looking makeup: I will do dramatic eyes and lips every now and then, but most of the time I just like to look pulled together but not made up. I really like this foundation because it's light enough to get good coverage, but it still lets my freckles show through and I feel like my skin can breathe in it. I use the mousse concealer for any major blemishes as the foundation doesn't cover those as well. There are a lot of colors to choose from, and I've found that the 1 works well in winter and the 3 works well in summer (I'm very fair with cool pink undertones). The only problem I've noticed with this is that it can cake on dry spots or zits, but if you moisturize beforehand and blend well (pat rather than rub it in), this isn't too much of a problem. I have dry patches and oily patches on my skin, and this foundation handles them both pretty well, although I still use powder and blotting tissue when I need it. I've tried a bunch of different foundations including LM's tinted moisturizer (not enough coverage), EL's double wear light (too much coverage and no good color match), L'Oreal's Tru-Blend (a little mask-like and no good colors), and this is the one I've stuck with so far because it has just the right amount of coverage and breathability at a great price.


on 10/25/2009 6:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this stuff! It is by no means full coverage but with a good concealer and primer it does the job. I think it looks very natural. I wear the light nude and I apply it with my MAC studio fix sponge. It doesn't have great lasting power and if you don't dust powder over it you will get oily but it doesn't break me out which I really thought it would and I like how it feels on my face.
UPDATE: this finally did break me out :( in small bumbs alll over my forehead even tho I was careful to always clean my sponge after uses and everything. I found a new foundation by palladio called wet/dry foundation and I love it, so check that out!!!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top