Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 DidgeridooYourNails on 7/20/2009 9:32:00 AM more reviews by DidgeridooYourNails

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was very pleasantly surprised by how good this product worked out for me. It feels creamy when applying it and it blended out great using a sponge. Not so great when using a foundation brush though. It covered any discoloration evenly. The only down side is that now that I've been using it for a while (just about 20% left in the pot) it is starting to dry up a bit so it is not so creamy anymore. But I do recommend this as a good cheap drugstore alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iheartlife on 7/19/2009 9:49:00 AM more reviews by iheartlife

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because it was all anyone was talking about. The lightness of it, the lovely packaging & the softness 'marshmallowey' texture of the foundation. The price isn't bad either so it went over to superdrug & picked a pot of this foundation in 'light ivory'. I practically ran home to try it out & was pleased with how it glided on to my face. But (& yes there is a but) i could feel the stuff on my face & when i looked in my mirror in natural (outside) light, although the colour match was good, you could tell i had make up on & one of my friends commented on it saying 'you're wearing more make up than usual becca' oooer :S i think i'll be steering clear of it. Plus it gave me spot breakouts. So i don't think i'd buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 isabella0702 on 7/17/2009 11:21:00 PM more reviews by isabella0702

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

the idea of this is great if it actually worked. it sat on my face and made my pores looks like craters. and then it dried my skin up and made it oily at the same time. i had patches all over my face. ew, no thanks maybelline

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 threethreads on 7/17/2009 4:25:00 AM more reviews by threethreads

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I was pleasantly surprised about this product. If I had read the MUA reviews before purchasing this, I don't think I would have purchased it! I bought the palest shade (Ivory Light 1). I have trouble finding foundation in the right shade, and this seemed to work very well without looking ghostly. I have some small acne scars on my cheeks and this foundation glides smoothly over them- making them almost disappear! Make sure your skin is WELL moisturised- preferably after a scrub and then prime, prime, prime. It makes the mousse glide on so much better.
You HAVE to make sure you prep your skin before putting this foundation on- otherwise it will pick up and emphasise every flake or dry patch.
That is my only criticism on this product- it is not completely flawless, and does pick up on dry or uneven skin.
So make sure you moisturise and prep plus exfoliate regularly and I think you will adore this product. One more tip- spray with Mac's Fix+ to take off the Matte effect and make your skin look a little bit healthier with a radiant glow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KittyKouture on 7/16/2009 5:34:00 AM more reviews by KittyKouture

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Greasy, cakey, and I couldn't stop from looking orange! I wanted to like this product so badly that I bought 3 different shades trying to diminish the orange pigmentation, but nope.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fantasian00 on 7/14/2009 6:01:00 PM more reviews by fantasian00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product gives a very smooth finish but it rubs off way too fast and doesn't give good coverage. I'm a fan of maybelline foundation but this one is one of my least favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AFStepho on 7/14/2009 4:40:00 PM more reviews by AFStepho

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I had the good fortune to use this product both before and during acne treatment, so I was able to experience exactly what this covers.

First, a little goes a loooooong way. A little smear about the size of my pinky nail is enough to cover under each eye.
This is great for undereye circles, or purpley looking tired eyelids, or any sort of unevenness. If you apply it correctly, it settles in and looks pretty natural. It works really well on unblemished skin that has a few acne scars, freckles, circles, discoloration...anything FLAT.

Unfortunately, this seemed to slide off my acne. I had to first apply it to the blemished area, blot with powder, and then apply concealer over it on my worst acne. It also tended to stick to the flakier skin. One pro for acne prone skin was that it didn't make me break out more.

I'll continue using this on my clear skin days, but will need to use something else when I'm broken out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AbbyAnne on 7/13/2009 4:33:00 AM more reviews by AbbyAnne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this foundation like 4 years ago when it first came out. It was my first EVER experience wearing foundation & I wore it for my debutante ball. I did my own makeup because we couldn't hire a MA & I was pretty proficient in makeup so I figured I was fine.


The coverage was medium, but it totally looked cakey. It was not a cute look. Good thing my professional pictures came out nice but some of my friends' pictures, I look craaaaazy. Whatever.


For such a thick ass foundation, you would think it would cover blemishes with no problem. Yeah NO. I probably went over the same blemish 5x & it just seemed to be wiping off whatever foundation that I did apply in the surrounding area.


By the end of the night, I literally could feel at least 3 HUGE ZITS coming in on my cheeks. I was freaking dumbfounded. I didnt think I would break out that quickly but when something sucks that bad, I guess time doesn't matter.


Do yourself a favor & skip out on this product especially those who are acne-prone, with sensitive skin, clogged pores, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maysong on 7/13/2009 3:26:00 AM more reviews by maysong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

PROS:
-matte finish
-didn't break me out
-good coverage (acne scars, redness, etc)


CONS:
-jar packaging (boo...not as sanitary)
-color selection is a bit off/difficult for many...there are "gaps" in the shade range
-unusual consistency might not appeal to some
-can be trying to blend
-not for those with dry skin, as it accentuates every flake and is very drying


I have oily skin, and my neutral skintone can get away with wearing "light 2: classic ivory"...it's a bit peachy/pinky, but some yellow powder pushes it close enough to neutral for me to wear it (Ref: Estee Lauder DW = Linen, MAC SFF =NC15, Laura Mercier TM = nude, Sue Devitt = Tanami). Because I am oily, and because I happen to match one of the colors, this foundation works for me. It's easy and quick, the coverae is nice, and it wears really well on me in the summer heat. I find it blends best with fingers, and over moisturizer, as it is drying. The moisturizer helps with the blending too. Beware that this does set fast, and you may want to work in areas rather than on the whole face at once. All in all, a foundation that will appeal to some, but a definite love or hate type of product.

Also note that the product is made even harder to match since the color in the pot looks very dark/orange compared to when it is applied...be sure to purchase somewhere there is a good return/exchange policy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whitebook on 7/13/2009 3:08:00 AM more reviews by whitebook

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's smooth, very easy to blend in. it gives me velvet fresh skin. However, it's not very long lasting (4 hours the most). It's very easy to be removed. It's like an emergency thing, like going to meet your bf at late night and you don't want to look too horrible without MU. Never clog pores. You can use this as a tinted primer before the powder foundation, that's what I did wiht my Studio Fix

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products