Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3181 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miserlymom on 8/17/2009 8:34:00 PM more reviews by miserlymom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

hated this. I bought it thinking it would be great because I am oily but want more than just a powder, so this was a happy medium...right? wrong! Horrid! Any dry patches you didn't know you had before, you certainly do after putting this on. It draws so much attention to them. And it just makes you look like you sprayed you face with a powder mist (not in a good way). I bought the lightest shade they have in the mousse (light 0) and it is too yellow for me and the next shade up is too dark. I like the idea of this, but didn't like the way it went on and looked on my skin. I also don't care for the fact that it is an open jar and not squeezed out..although I guess thats the only option for a mousse, unless they did more of a foam. It wasn't super expensive, but I also didn't purchase this as a bogo. I had higher hopes for this foundation. It just sits in the bottom of my case now and the only time I have used it is in a pinch or just lightly under the eyes just to get rid of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 teresa1083 on 8/17/2009 12:48:00 PM more reviews by teresa1083

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this product, but i cant say that i do. It was way to cakey, drying, and orange for my skin. Oh, well another one bites the dust!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeuploverx on 8/17/2009 12:35:00 PM more reviews by makeuploverx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I Actually Really like this Product, I know some People say Its Cakey, But I dont Find it cakey at All, I apply it Over Maybelline Mineral Liquid Foundation And it Looks really Nice, I also get Comments on how 'Flawless' My skin Looks, Which is Unusual for me As i have Really Red natural Cheeks.

I suppose This Foundation would be Better If it Lasted a Little Longer, But its Fine For what i Paid for it, (Five Pounds At Superdrug.)

I really Like the Packaging, Its Just about Perfect For me, I Only marked it Down On packaging, Because It can Feel a Little Heavy.

Over all, Really Good Drugstore Foundation in my Opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shannonbudden on 8/15/2009 4:46:00 PM more reviews by shannonbudden

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this! after reading everybody elses reviews i can see where they are coming from when they say that it has no staying power, and can look cakey. I wear this over my normal foundation, that may sound wierd but i use it insted of a pressed powder. When i use it like that it does give a very even and perfect finish, i am lucky not to have "problem" skin but this still works lovely for my best friend who has a little redness and unevenesss. I do completely agree with people who say this is bad as a foundation, i have worn this alone and it does not last!! You could always try using a foundation primer or a lockdown powder (the sort that locks in all your foundation for a long lasting finish) but as i have already said there are ways to use this product that can really make your skin look flawless! Go try it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ella2201 on 8/15/2009 11:04:00 AM more reviews by ella2201

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation on a weekend away when I forgot to pack my usual estee lauder foundation and just wanted a cheap one to use whilst I was away. My friend recommended it to me as its the only foundation shes ever used (!) Personally I found it lasted a ridiculously short amount of time before sliding all over my face, I was constantly having to remove it and reapply it just to maintain a decent complexion. It has quite a dulling effect on the skin tone, which meant I had to colour my face in concealer, bronzer, blusher, highlighter etc to stop my skin looking 'tired.' I think this product is low priced because its low quality. A far more superior well priced product is revlon colorstay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bangton on 8/14/2009 8:08:00 AM more reviews by bangton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Well, I have been having a bit of a love affair with Maybelline products recently so I decided to have a go with this mousse foundation too. I have been using the fairly new (UK) liquid mousse foundation and loving it. I didnt even remember buying this but I must have done and forgot about it because I had a new, unused pot in a handbag I havent used for a while. Well, once again I'm loving this foundation.
I like the mousse texture because it is so easy to apply. It took about 30 seconds to get the base perfect. I always let my foundation settle before applying the rest of my makeup. Usually I find that I need to add a little more foundation to my chin which has light acne scarring and round my nose. In this case after the usual 5 minute settling time my base looked perfect. My skin stays looking flawless for most of the day too. It was only when it came to gym time that I felt it slipping a little. Fine by me. I like the packaging, the pot is cute and I know its not the most hygenic way to package things but to be honest I'm not that bothered! I am always freshly showered when I use it so surely my hands are not that dirty!
Above all, what I really love about this foundation is that I feel comfortable and confident all day long in it...and since thats the sole reason I wear makeup - I'm onto a winner. The only problem I have now is deciding whether to wear this, the liquid mousse or the liquid mineral foundation - all by Maybelline. Hmmmmmm...this one is pipping the others just slightly...despite me giving them all 5 stars in my reviews!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pleia666 on 8/13/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by pleia666

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

For a lightweight foundation, this product impressed me. It is great if you have facial redness, but do not like to layer on foundation.

It does NOT work for:
-covering up acne
-people with dry skin
-medium to heavy coverage

It is great for:
-light facial redness
-evening out skin tone
-days when you do not want to wear heavy makeup (summertime)

My face breaks out on occasion, so I only use it when i'm trying to cover redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sandrat42 on 8/13/2009 2:29:00 PM more reviews by Sandrat42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is my first foundation. I really like it the first time I wear it as it is very light and fun to use with the 'mousse' concept.

Pros:
Match my skin tone very well
Light weight doesn't feel heavy on skin
Nice texture
sper good coverage

Cons:
turns orange
transfer
throughout the hot day it tends to turn into spots of foundation under my eyes
it kinda fade but not all of them fade ...so my facelook like half with foundationa nd half not

gave it a 3 as f u use it with a brush,, like kabuki on stick, amazing flawless..... but maybe it would do u good for an aircon. place or somewhere not sweaty

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cmbailey07 on 8/12/2009 12:38:00 PM more reviews by cmbailey07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is so gross! It was the first foundation I ever tried (I was 18), and I didn't try foundation again for another few years because I hated it so much!

Reasons for all the hate from me:
- did not blend well
- streaky and orange
- both oily-looking and feeling
- my face felt gross when it was on

I dunno what else to say other than...it was gross. I was sucked in by the idea of it, but it definitely did not deliver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kar212 on 8/12/2009 12:31:00 PM more reviews by kar212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think this product is ok but i am not impressed, it not something that i think is so great that i would recommend it to anyone. It is very ver very drying, it makes my skin look dry and it doesnt last all day. By the end of the day this makeup is just gone, its terrible. This is one of my firest negative reviews, i think that i usually like mostly everything that i buy, but NOT this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products