Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3258 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 10/28/2009 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product. I have been using Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Liquid foundation for about 6 months when I decided on the spur of the moment to try this foundation and I was ecstatic with my results. I love the feeling of the mousse on my fingers and when I blend it into my face (yes with my hands i find it works well) it makes my skin silky smooth to the touch and has great coverage that covers almost all flaws without looking cakey. Only bad thing is the Porcelain Ivory which I chose is a bit dark for my complexion but not too awful.



on 10/28/2009 6:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nice feel and coverage, BUUUUTTT... Makes me breakout... CAN'T use the stuff.


on 10/28/2009 12:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had this awhile back and LOST it, i only got to use it like 5-6 times, it was so nice and matte looking, very smooth and I needed solittle, i plan on buying again, I did use a brush though because i don't like sticking my fingers in stuff like this that is just an open pot.


on 10/28/2009 9:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been using this foundation for about a year now, and I really like it. I really like natural looking makeup: I will do dramatic eyes and lips every now and then, but most of the time I just like to look pulled together but not made up. I really like this foundation because it's light enough to get good coverage, but it still lets my freckles show through and I feel like my skin can breathe in it. I use the mousse concealer for any major blemishes as the foundation doesn't cover those as well. There are a lot of colors to choose from, and I've found that the 1 works well in winter and the 3 works well in summer (I'm very fair with cool pink undertones). The only problem I've noticed with this is that it can cake on dry spots or zits, but if you moisturize beforehand and blend well (pat rather than rub it in), this isn't too much of a problem. I have dry patches and oily patches on my skin, and this foundation handles them both pretty well, although I still use powder and blotting tissue when I need it. I've tried a bunch of different foundations including LM's tinted moisturizer (not enough coverage), EL's double wear light (too much coverage and no good color match), L'Oreal's Tru-Blend (a little mask-like and no good colors), and this is the one I've stuck with so far because it has just the right amount of coverage and breathability at a great price.


on 10/25/2009 6:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this stuff! It is by no means full coverage but with a good concealer and primer it does the job. I think it looks very natural. I wear the light nude and I apply it with my MAC studio fix sponge. It doesn't have great lasting power and if you don't dust powder over it you will get oily but it doesn't break me out which I really thought it would and I like how it feels on my face.
UPDATE: this finally did break me out :( in small bumbs alll over my forehead even tho I was careful to always clean my sponge after uses and everything. I found a new foundation by palladio called wet/dry foundation and I love it, so check that out!!!


on 10/25/2009 1:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROS: Soft, airy feel. Great skin tone shades. Cute packaging. Didnt break me out.
CONS: Dries out and flakes. Horrible coverage. Wears off pretty quickly.


on 10/24/2009 12:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yuck! Where to begin? I liked this foundation ok at first...I bought the lightest shade and it was still too dark, but it blended nicely and was matte and polished. But it never felt like it set, it just got greasier and heavier as the day wore on. Nevertheless, I persisted, and wore it most days for two or three weeks. By the end of that time my pores were rough and clogged, I had weird circular dry patches on my cheeks, and I had a dream that it was dissolving my skin off. I am going back to ColorStay.


on 10/23/2009 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I tried this in Classic Ivory (Light 2) and I wore this every day for the better part of 6 months. At first I was thrilled simply because I was able to find a color match in a drug store brand foundation. I also really liked the way it felt on my skin. However, after a while of using it I noticed a couple of things that really bummed me out.
Firstly I started to find hard clumpy things in the pot. What were they...dried out foundation? bacteria? foreign debris? I don't know but it was gross and I realize that dipping my fingers into this pot every day for months isn't that hygenic.
Secondly I started to realize that this foundation was never sinking into my skin. The foundation lays on top and it was pretty obvious, especially on my nose. where the oil would cause it to drift and move around.
Anyways, I won't be repurchasing.


on 10/22/2009 4:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow, I'm amazed at all the negative comments, especially from people with oily or combination skin. This is a super light foundation with light to medium coverage, it dries to an almost powder finish that doesn't transfer with me. It covers my enlarged pores and glides over fine lines, minor imperfections and even manages well over the deeper crease I have on my brow. Any spots can be covered by dabbing a little extra on after.
I think where people are going wrong here is with their application, these mousse foundations really need to be applied or blended out with a damp sponge to get a smooth and airbrushed finish, and if you use a clean sponge then there is nothing unsanitary about the pot at all. It stays on my oily T-zone with no problems at all, even without a primer - I love this foundation!
Downsides for me are that it does accentuate any flaky skin, so I can totally understand why those with very dry skin wouldn't get on with this. I also found that once you have applied it and it has 'dried' it really doesn't blend well, so cream bronzer or blush doesn't work so well, it just seems to move the foundation around or sit on top. I just use powder bronzer and blush when I wear this and it's not a problem.
The finish is very matte, that coupled with the fact that creme blushes don't work so well may be a nono for some, you definately won't get a dewy look with this - the benefit moonbeam does work for highlighting if you want some reflective qualities, I'm not convinced that it would work that well mixed with strobe cream though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2009 1:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I generally only buy high end foundations since drugstore brands tend to break me out. Unfortunately now that I've lost the tan I used to have, I am lighter than virtually all the high end brands offer!

PRO: I have very peachy NW5-10 skin and porcelain ivory is a great match! I love the light/medium coverage over a moisturizer. Feels very light and doesn't break me out. Great price if you can find it on sale!

CON: Pot form isn't very sanitary, would have much preferred a squeeze tube or a bottle with pump. Some creasing when used as undereye concealer unless I moisturize first.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera

Back to Top