Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 nightinggale07 on 8/10/2009 4:52:00 PM more reviews by nightinggale07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this product about 4 years ago and I am surprised by the bad reviews here. I have oily/combo skin and foundations tend to melt off my skin by the end of the day for me, but this stuff really stuck around. I can't say that *all* of it remained on my face after 12 hours but, what foundation can?!? This foundation glides on my skin very nicely and felt weightless where others with this amount of coverage left my face feeling a bit heavy. It didn't sink into my pores at all and I didn't need to blot away any excess oil.

I am not a huge fan of the packaging because I hate dipping my fingers into tubs but, it's not a huge issue. It does make dry patches stand out so, I'd recommend putting a little extra lotion on those spots before applying (hence why I took off a lippie). Other than that draw back, I love this foundation and will continue to buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tennis4life on 8/10/2009 3:04:00 PM more reviews by tennis4life

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well. I know in a lot of my other reviews I've mentioned that I don't use any foundation MU except powder. That has changed. My skin has been breaking out a lot lately and I've been treating it with prescriptions and just accepting its state until it gets better, but I wanted to use something that would just even out my skin a little bit. I used this makeup for prom a couple of years ago when my skin was much much clearer, and it stayed on all night and my skin looked FLAWLESS. I wasn't disappointed when I bought it again. It went on smooth, and covered all my flaws. Just a word of warning though, the color of the mousse looks a lot lighter when you look through the jar than when you actually open it. So, if you're debating over a shade and think its too light, it actually may not be once you open it up. Anyway, very smooth and good coverage. Also helps control oil, but I do set it with NYC loose translucent powder. I would just put the makeup wedge right in the jar as well; I used to apply it by taking it on a Q-Tip and then putting it on the wedge but you get more even coverage by dipping the wedge in the jar.

Also, one of the ingredients is Jojoba oil, which is supposed to be really good for your skin. I wrote a rave review for it as an eye makeup remover and a hair tamer (for lack of a better phrase) so I am thrilled that it is in Dream Matte Mousse's ingredient list. So far, it hasn't been bad to my skin.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 charlieih on 8/9/2009 9:23:00 AM more reviews by charlieih

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably one of the worst poducts I've ever used.

I bought and used it a year ago as I was sucked in by the ad campaign and the sudden hype.
Although it has a nice mousse feel and look to it it did nothing for me.
It did not give me full coverage and looked vey cakey when applied. It clogged all my pors and faded after an hour.

As well as not looking great it also broke me out terribly to the point where I went from clear skin to sudden permanent acne. After months of suffering I went to the doctors and got some cream which got rid of the acne however this foundation meant I went through an embarassing stage of my life where I had acne all over my face and low self-esteem. This seems over the top however it is completely true.

I definitely not recomend buying this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hownowbrownmj on 8/9/2009 1:34:00 AM more reviews by hownowbrownmj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had run out of h/e foundation (MUFE HD) and couldn't get to Sephora, so I thought I would try this. Plus, it was on sale for a 2-for-1. Terrible. This stuff would oxidize on my face a couple hours after application, and would settle into fine lines. Looked cakey, and I can't believe it has the word "matte" in its name because it was a very oily experience for me. I would definitely recommend bypassing this unless you have PERFECT skin and are using it for small parts of your face, e.g., under eyes. Even then, I really wouldn't use this. A big disappointment. Even my dh asked what I had done and encouraged me to go spend the $45 on my MUFE HD instead of this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 carrie829 on 8/8/2009 9:16:00 PM more reviews by carrie829

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used to absolutely love this stuff... I've bought it since it came out in 2004. Now I'm not sure why.
1) Accentuates my dry patches. Looks gross and cakey, and when I apply it I end up picking at my face more!
2) Doesn't last. At all.
3) Doesn't cover dark circles whatsoever!!
I think it's best if you need light, blendable coverage for smooth, flawless skin. Otherwise, pass this product up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Rockerchick8840 on 8/8/2009 8:58:00 PM more reviews by Rockerchick8840

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the smoothness of this foundation but it made my skin WAY more oily than normal. I had to blot it constantly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 8/6/2009 7:20:00 PM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good foundation. It smooths on really well and has a natural look to it. The coverage is really good. It doesn't go on dry so you have to let it dry before you finish it with a powder (if needed). SO i dont like it for that reason and it can leave a bit of a greasy feel to it. Made me break out a little bit on my forehead. I rather pressed powders in a compact cause they are so easy to apply in the morning and then your done. This did not wear well at all. After awhile it looked patchy and grosse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dropsical on 8/6/2009 2:21:00 AM more reviews by dropsical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for a while, but it always looked cakey and never quite blends. I would always have orangey patches. I used a round, sponge pad to apply it and that worked well, but I have dry skin and any dry patches this foundation would cling to.

It's a cute idea, but the execution is just not that great. If I went back to using foundation at all, it'd be a mineral one, not this. However, the blush in the mousse form, I really like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 8/4/2009 5:52:00 AM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Man this is some gnarly crap. And by that I mean it is disgusting. I really wanted to go back to a liquid or cream foundation after using MMU for years and years now. I'm pretty pissed to find that most everything on the market now is loaded with silicones and DMM is nothing more than a pot of colored aerated silicones. I bought it, took it home to try it out and it was wretched. Accentuates every bump and pore. Basically, I don't see how you can wear this unless you already have perfectly flawless skin. I saw crap wrong with my skin that I didn't even know I had when I put this on. This only looks good on from about 10 feet away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 auee on 8/3/2009 6:31:00 PM more reviews by auee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I don't like this foundation at all. I look so cakey and gross when I've applied it. I prefer natural all the way which this foundation obviously didn't provide. It looked like I had "too much" when I actually didn't. It's a good coverage though. If you prefer to look more natural, then this foundation isn't for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products