Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3207 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 oumsker on 9/21/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by oumsker

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm not too fond of this product at all. When you put some kind of power of top of the mousse, they don't set on the surface well enough. And when there's humidity or sweat involved, it turns pretty ugly. You can see the mousse being washed away and some powder clogging on pores. Ugh. Instead of hiding my pores, does the opposite. Sorry. That's just my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancermary13 on 9/21/2009 7:45:00 PM more reviews by dancermary13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I could not find a good shade for my face. This really really made my dry spots noticeable, and my face was still oily and it does not blend well at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 inloversdreams on 9/20/2009 12:54:00 AM more reviews by inloversdreams

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite foundation. I've tried so many different foundations and none of them had good coverage and they all made my face feel really cakey. Every other foundation I tried never passed the test of the summer's humidity. They would make my makeup feel heavy and like it was melting off my face. When I put the dream matte mousse to the test it passed with flying colours. Even in the summer's humidity it felt like I wasn't wearing any makeup. It has really great coverage. Before I would apply concealer to my entire face because my face gets very red at times. But with the dream matte mousse, I only have to apply concealer to my dark under eyes. The mousse covered all of my redness and made my skin look very even. I really enjoy this foundation. I don't find that you have to apply a lot and you don't have to reapply. I've gone out for 16 hours with my makeup and it hasn't failed me yet. I also love the glass container it comes in. It makes it look nice and fancy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 carro1 on 9/16/2009 10:21:00 AM more reviews by carro1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

A bit too dry for me. Makes my face flake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ahraffarha on 9/15/2009 9:38:00 PM more reviews by ahraffarha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product does not have good staying power, otherwise I used to really like it.

I really enjoy the way it feels to apply it but it definitely requires touch ups every 2-3 hours, even after setting it.

The coverage is good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 charming5931 on 9/14/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by charming5931

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

when i first bought this foundation, i applied it with my fingers and didnt like it very much. it felt too thick and cakey. recently, somebody told me to try it with a wet sponge and i tried it and now i have problems with this foundation! it feels light, goes on smooth, and has decent coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mellybeerbelly on 9/13/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by mellybeerbelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Minimal coverage, and minimal staying power. It melts off my skin by mid day, so I only use when I'm not intending to wear it for long...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SamanthaKral on 9/13/2009 4:31:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaKral

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all let me say I have every foundation in my makeup collection. From Chanel to Laura mercier and even some avon and Mary Kay foundations. Well dream matte I can't say is my hg but it's darn good. I have some dry flaky spots in my face and my nose is super oily. The colors are kinda off but when you find one that works for you stick to it. Here are some steps to make this stuff work. Clean your face always then moisturize and then apply the foundation. You must apply a powder afterwards. On the powder don't use a sponge use a brush to dust over your face. The coverage is defintely medium to full.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ArBell on 9/13/2009 7:41:00 AM more reviews by ArBell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Price: Could get better for the price. The way my friends told me about it made me want to try it out,but yeah it wasn't worth it. The container is still more than 3/4 full somewhere in my bedroom.

Quality: Well,it does cover up quite well,but it makes your face feel like you have thick make up on. Cakey.
The main way to apply it is by using your fingers,which at the end leaves a smudgy effect,like layering cake,if you do not take your time to blend it.It doesn't look natural.

Packaging: Not really convenient the glass container huh?

Effectiveness: It doesn't cover up pores really effectively

EDIT: Going from a 3 to a 4!
Mattifies skin, by the end of the day it didn't make my skin oily, i can say that it made it LESS oily. Only a glow is left, a healthy one.
It does flake, so be careful to well exfoliate your skin before using it.
Decent coverage. Less than medium but more than light! Need concealing over but overall good product :)
Doesn't clog pores!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HMB25 on 9/13/2009 2:50:00 AM more reviews by HMB25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fairly decent foundation. I used it before I got into high end stuff so it was okay for the time.
I love the glass pot that it comes it, makes it feel...not cheap. The product itself is SO light and airy but at the same time, gives great coverage. They have a lot of colors to choose from but I've found that a lot of them can look very orange when you step out into natural light so you have to be careful what color you get. That was probably the hardest part about this foundation was color matching.
I don't have perfect skin at all but this stuff really seemed to even it out without feeling heavy or like it's clogging pores.
One big problem I had with it is it doesn't seem to last throughout the day. The first few hours, it looks great, then later on it seem to fade or something. I don't want to reapply it over my powder, blush, etc. so I'm stuck trying to gain back that coverage with just powder. :(
It can also look cakey if you're not super careful.
It's not the best product but it is still pretty decent and I just love the texture of it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products