Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.1

3263 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 11/8/2009 11:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation it glides on, its velvety soft, if gives good coverage with out feeling heavy and your skin will look beautiful in flash fotography. What else can i say i like it better than my channel, smashbox and shiseido foundations. Not that those dont work well, its just that matt mouse is so light- I feel as if I am not wearing anything!!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I Love this foundation :) I do however use it a bit differently and I do love it for other things as well. Firstly it makes an amazing eyeshadow base! it make's my eyeshadows last all day without a single crease and it doesn't dry out my eyes like some other eye primers out there (*cough* Urban Decay primer potion) I cannot remember where I read that it could be used as a primer, but I thought I had nothing to lose and tried and have been hooked ever since- the key is to use the tiniest amount and it will work great at making your eyeshadow pop. As for an all over face foundation, I like it - but only if I mix it with another foundation that is liquid, otherwise I hate it. I love a matte finish, and mixing this with other foundations make's me need less powder to set my face with. I love mixing it with Revlon Colorstay ( my HG) Rimmel stay matte & Rimmel lasting finish- I just add a little on my foundation brush and dot it over my liquid foundation & both liquid and mousse blend like a dream! :) I really do love this product, and I'm glad its so versatile- I will and have repurchased this many times.


on 11/8/2009 3:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I loved the way this stuff just glides on to your face but like the other gal said the after result is way bad.I myself rarely breakout but after using this for no more than three days and my skin was done.I have oily skin too so this stuff just dissapears after a while.Good luck.


on 11/8/2009 3:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The color i picked did not match my skin at all, but i noticed there was a huge difference between tones.

anyways, i didnt like the texture on my skin, it made me look flaky, probably cuz i have dry skin.
the coverage is really good though


on 11/7/2009 9:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I tried this product when it first came out and when I didn't know a lot about makeup. It covered up my imperfections well, but left me looking very fake--the product caked horribly and if I didn't blend the edges very well, it looked as if I were wearing a mask. Then, half way through, the product dried up on me. Just felt like it was way too much work and not very good. I'll stay away from this one.


on 11/7/2009 9:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The first time I tried this product, I loved it. The ease of application was incredible and it blended flawlessly with my skin tone. It did cake on dry areas, but was relatively easy to fix.

Two days later, my normally very clear skin was suffering the worst and most persistent breakout that I have ever experienced. Puberty couldn't even compete with this breakout. I'm not sure what about this product (perhaps the silicone base?) made my skin, which is not very sensitive, have such a terrible reaction.

Buyer beware!


on 11/7/2009 7:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay, I have mixed feelings on this one. Since I have oily skin this DOES NOT work as a full foundation for me period because I cannot put it on my T-zone. It makes my skin greasy and looks very cakey. But it does work for an acceptional eye-shadow primer! It stayed on and never creased. But as a foundation it didn't stay on long at all and looked greasy.It did have good coverage if anything. It's glass bottle was durable but putting my finger in the pot felt...un-clean. I don't like this as a foundation.


on 11/7/2009 10:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have a love hate relationship with this foundation. For just applying over your spots & imperfections it's ok, it covers redness well. When you apply it all over your face, you end up looking like a cakey mess. It is extremly matte, but if you have dry skin, beware, if you apply this to your whole face, you'll look powery and cakey. What I love about this foundation is that it is the perfect shade my my skintone, so I wear this when I don't want a full face of makeup. This is great for using as a conceler, and it isn't drying under my eyes. It's very dry on the cheek's, well in my case anyway. So maybelline, finally one of your foundations isn't too orange for my skin. Almost a winner; screw my dry skin!

EDIT- Four stars now. I've found a way too make this foundation finally work for me! My skin has cleared up alot, but it still looks cakey, the coverage is amazing though. Before applying it, apply an oilfree moisturiser, which will help if you have dry skin. Then once you have all of your makeup on (the foundation, blush, bronzer, eye makeup), spritz MAC fix+ over your whole face, let it dry naturally or get a hair dryer and slowly dry it. The hair dryer method makes my makeup stay put all day. This makes the powery effect of the foundation disappear and the FIX+ leaves my skin looking dewy. If you don't like this foundation & you own FIX+, it will honestly give this foundation a new lease of life.
hannah x


on 11/6/2009 2:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I actually like this foundation a lot for a drugstore brand. I'm not too fond of liquid foundation and the powder ones always tend to look too flakey or powdery. So, I decided to try this one out. It really is a mousse and feels creamy and light to the touch. It can tend to look cakey if applied too many times. But overall it stays on pretty well throughout the day as long as you don't wipe your face which is a con to this product. Also, there's a lot of different colors to choose from so that's also an advantage.


on 11/4/2009 11:11:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a decent foundation. I would have given it 2.5 out of 5 rather than 3 but there wasn't that option. The colour is perfect. That is why I have bought 2 in the past. Also it gives a nice finish, matte just like it should. The coverage I would say is medium. But it comes off so easily as it just sits on the surface of your skin. That means that if you do alot of running around or sport then i would not recommend this foundation. I do trampolining and it only last me an hour before it loses most of it's coverage and shine starts to come through. It's horrible havig to re-touch every hour in a 5 hour training session. So for that it gets 3 lippies!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top