BeneFit Cosmetics • She Laq ] [DISCONTINUED] • Eyes

rated 3.7(293 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* courtlee128 on 4/20/2006 8:26:00 AM more reviews by courtlee128

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is nothing but an overpriced form of hairspray! It keeps brows is place well but you could use strong hold hairspray for that. You will be wasting money if you buy this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kelly1965rn on 4/18/2006 4:17:00 AM more reviews by kelly1965rn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Oh this is the first thing from Benefit I've tried that I actually hated. It's sticky and I couldn't blink my eyes without the lid sticking together. When I tried to dab a little off, it took off my eyeshadow with it. I also tried it on my lips and it turned my beloved smooth as silk Smashbox lipstick into a gooey mess. Never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 verseau03 on 4/10/2006 7:54:00 PM more reviews by verseau03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i am sort of torn on how i feel about she laq.


pro: it keeps my eyebrows perfectly in place all day.
con: it is shiny on my eyebrows

pro: it keeps my eyeliner in place all day
con: it takes the eyeliner off when you are applying it. i tried a few different kinds of eyeliners and i cannot brush the she laq over the top or it takes it off. i have to dab very very carefully. also, it is shiny.

the biggest con about this product is that it is very very easy to spill. i just dumped the entire $30 bottle all over my floor. messy.

i do like it's staying power though. i will probably buy it again...unless something better comes along.

Edit: I am so sad this is discontinued. I ended up loving this way more than I did in my initial review and it was the only thing that kept my makeup melt-proof and water-proof. I am so sad it was discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ao5775 on 4/9/2006 6:28:00 AM more reviews by ao5775

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I mainly use this product to keep my brows in place. Very good at it. I was unsuccessful at finding a good brow gel...then I found this. I love the pretty blue packaging, but I don't find the brush in the bottle helpful. Otherwise, great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilupig on 4/7/2006 5:56:00 AM more reviews by lilupig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily Asian lids and am pretty much doomed for life when it comes to eyeliners... nothing stays where it's supposed to! Thank goodness for MAC powerpoints and fluidliners (ok, and BB gel liner). But I'm still feeling left out when it comes to using pigments as eyeliners. I've mixed them with mixing medium, and still they create themselves a twin on my crease! Dang! Who needs to line their crease? Grr...

This is till She-laq came to the rescue. After lining with pigment + mixing medium, and letting it dry, I seal it with She-laq using the thin eye-liner brush that comes in the pouch. And so we have lived happily ever since, me and my budge-proof liner :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bdurkey on 3/22/2006 4:18:00 PM more reviews by bdurkey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have Blepharitis and was very worried about my eye makeup lasting for the wedding I was in. From the time I did my makeup to the time I got back to my hotel after the wedding was thirteen hours, I used MAC paint as a base and a MAC e/s as a liner put She laq all over my lids and eyelashes everything stayed put. Usually when I wear eyeliner I get a cresent shaped line at my crease from where my saggy eyelid touches the rim of my eye, this is the only thing that keeps me from getting this. I took off one lippy because I tried this on my lips and it dried them out, it should just be marketed for eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Michellebft on 3/21/2006 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Michellebft

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not impressed by this product. I bought it hopes that it would keep my eyeliner in place, and that was the only reason I bought it. I tried it over my J.Lynne mineral eyeliners with little luck: the product was difficult to work with, and at the end of the day only a fraction more eyeliner remained than usual. An almost indicerable amount. I tried it over my gel-pencil Almay liner, and again, no luck, my eyeliner was gone by lunchtime.

In hopes of redeeming the product, I tried it over my lipliner (the product is intended for eyes and lips) in an effort to get my lipliner to stick around for the whole day underneath my glass. Again, nothing, and on your lips, the product feels and looks odd. Feels like plastic when it dried and by midway through the day the product had worn off and left that gross white line of lip product that you get when you wear lip gloss at the gym.

I've tried to make this work half a dozen times in different ways (I tried mixing some of the She Laq with my mineral liners for a wet line, no good), and I think this just isn't for me. Dah well. Would have been nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 catters on 2/6/2006 11:45:00 PM more reviews by catters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an amazing product. My story: One night, several years ago, I was out, rockin' the smokiest smokey eye I could do and I had thoughtfully remembered to apply some she laq (back when it was in the old bottle) and late in the eve, some big guy bumped me and hence I bumped into some poor drunk college student, and she got so pissed at me she threw her drink in my face. Well, long story short, I went to the ladies room to clean up and sure enough, MY EYE MAKEUP WAS PERFECT. No smears, no smudge, just perfection. So, Benefit, you are genius for making this product. I recommend it to everyone. Its brilliant. One lippie off because it can sting a bit, so definitely not an everyday wear kind of thing, more for those extreme make up days. Works great around lips when wearing dark colors too, no feathering!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meeko on 2/6/2006 7:47:00 PM more reviews by meeko

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow! I am so blown away by this stuff. I have been meaning to buy it for some time now and I finally did. I love using loose powders and pressed eye shadows as eye liners but just wetting them does nothing to keep the product in place. I would look great walking out the door and like a mess an hour later. She Laq works wonderfully for this! I would not recommend doing the entire eyelid in wettened eyeshadow or pigment tho- it will crack a bit over time. Lightly patting this product on top if your eyeshadow will help it stay in place without creasing, although some product does come off when you do this. I think She Laq takes some time to master but it is definately an amazing and versatile product. Hooray!
Oh, and the packaging and brushes are super cute too :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 missghie on 1/11/2006 2:01:00 AM more reviews by missghie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to like this product, I love Benefit, and have always had a problem with smudging mascara and disappearing eye makeup. But this stuff was just messy and hard to use. Much better to just find a good mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Eyes products