Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Waterproof

2.8

364 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a truely waterproof mascara - rain and tears will not budge this baby! The pros are that it lasts all day without flaking or running at all, and that if you curl your lashes it'll really fix the curl all day. I've had problems with some mascaras that if you curl after application it makes the lashes all stick together, but with Great Lash you can curl before, after or both and its fine.
However the disadvantage is that it can get a bit clumpy, when you take the brush out of the tube you can see clumps and need to wipe it before applying. I usually have to use a lash brush to separate the lashes after applying this.
So this is great if you want your mascara to last all day and hold a curl, but not so great if you want separated, defined lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/21/2009 4:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't get the hype about great lash products whatsoever. This does an average job of lengthening and thickening, and makes my lashes so brittle at the end of the day! It is waterproof as it claims, and doesn't smudge on me, but that's about it. One more upside is that it holds a curl very well, which is the case with most waterproof mascaras anyway.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2009 6:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Heyy its Marissa!

Okay, so first off, Great Lash Mascara? Yeah, this mascara is 'good' at its best. The only reason I bought this was because I needed a waterproof mascara and thought I'd give it a try. Big mistake. This mascara does nothing, absolutely nothing for my lashes. The brush is so small and you need to go over your lashes 3 or 4 times to get a decent look. And even then the lashes look clumpy! And waterproof? Ha! I got splashed at a pool and this mascara started dripping to my chin. The overall product was just so terrible, i threw it out after two uses. i beg of you- stay clear of "Great" Lash Mascara!

-xo


on 4/13/2009 3:44:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

my first ever mascara and its a pretty good 'first' mascara because the small wand is so easy to work with. gives pretty good volume and a little length but it starts to look shit after more than 3 coats. the best thing about this mascara is that its actually waterproof, ive worn it in the shower and it managed to stay on. only way for me to remove this one is with vaseline.

if i ever need a waterproof mascara, ill probably reach for this one


on 4/12/2009 3:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Pretty Good Lash -- that's what it should be called instead of Great Lash or maybe The Multi-Tasker.

It's very waterproof, it truly holds a curl for all day, and the black pigment is such an intense black that it makes my lashes look thicker at the base and longer at the tips. The formula is not as thick and goopy as others (many reviewers describe it as "wet"). The brush is not a thick one with a lot of bristles, but is more like a swirly, narrow arrangement of bristles (like a spiral staircase). The sparse bristles and the wet formula make the application of GL relatively clump free -- no messy, goopy brush.

When I first bought this mascara several years ago, I really couldn't understand why so many people love it. GL so over-hyped that I was terribly disappointed with it over all. I decided to try it again this month, and it is really a pretty good WP mascara. I may buy it again eventually -- whenever I don't feel like experimenting with a new one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2009 5:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the first mascara I purchased and I hated it so much, I swore off mascara for years after it. It was clumpy and difficult to remove, and since this was supposed to be the "#1 mascara in America" I didn't even want to try another one.

Luckily, I have since found a mascara that I love (Imju Fiberwig) and I hate Great Lash for scaring me off for so long.

I wonder if the regular formula is better...


on 4/3/2009 7:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Back when I was a make up newbie and hadn't heard of MUA, I read a review in a teen mag where make up artists were raving about Great Lash. So I decided to give it a go!

In retrospect, I don't know why there's so much hype about this mascara. It's really not that great - it's quite liquidy and takes too long to dry, IMO. I'd always end up with smudges because I'd blink my eyes. It doesn't lengthen or thicken either, not to mention that clumps a lot.


on 3/28/2009 11:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this as my base coat and although I it isn't and HG with me, its what I've found that will hold the curl to my lashes.


on 3/15/2009 2:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I heard it was an outstanding mascara. But really it's pretty average. There isn't anything great about it, but it does work decently. B


on 3/15/2009 12:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm surprised that this has such a low overall rating. Maybe it is not the best mascara ever, but it is definately its money's worth (unlike other products). It adds a bit of volume, a lot of curl AND lasts through sweat. It doesn't smudge at all after it dries. The brush is great for the lash edges too, because it is small. It may not be my favorite, but perfect for days when you want your mascara to stay put. I will be repurchasing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top