John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser • Styling Products

rated 4.1(280 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rjdcccslp on 5/16/2006 10:05:00 AM more reviews by rjdcccslp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Left my hair very shiny and soft. It just laid much nicer after using this. I was afraid that it would weigh my fine, straight hair down, but nothing such happened. I personally like the smell, although other reviewers seemed not to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kkt1210 on 5/3/2006 1:35:00 PM more reviews by kkt1210

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

leaves a very nice shine and shimmer in my dark brown/reddish hair. i use this only when my hair is wet....b/c if you use it when hair is dry it leaves a weird coating on it. the smell is nice....coconuty/cocoa and the texure is a gel with lots of shimmer in it. also softens hair too. overall a winner! *UPDATE* my hair has been acting dull and unmanageable lately. i'm going to quit this and see if it helps. the shine i once had just isn't there. maybe its leaving some kind of build-up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bunnybee on 4/19/2006 12:08:00 AM more reviews by bunnybee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I thought my long, straight, semi-shiny highlighted hair didn't need a styling product. I was wrong. When I add a dab of this to my damp/wet hair, then blowdry (not even styling with a brush or anything; pretty much just moving the air around and tossing my hair with my hands), my hair turns out sleek and polished. It's like I just walked out of the salon. The very first time I used it, my friend commented on how shiny my hair was. I also have rather fine hair, but I don't find that this weighs it down a bit. In fact, my hair somehow looks fuller. I think it's because it makes my layers lay *just right*. Though I usually don't like coconut scents, I do like this scent because it has that warm caramel quality to it. And, it fades nicely so it doesn't interfere with other perfumes or anything, or cause me to get sick of it. I'm so glad I tried this product!! It's a winner! :)

Edited to add: This stuff actually also helps to hold a curl!
And another tip: Applied too much to dry hair? Just blowdry and comb through. It seems to "soak in" to your hair, and will just leave a silky shine. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oneofakind on 4/16/2006 2:53:00 AM more reviews by oneofakind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have not tried this on wet hair but after I straighten my hair it looks a little fluffy and parched so I put a bit of this on and my hair is transformed into sleek, goddess-like hair. But it only lasts like 10 minutes. However I have tried many products for my dry, naturally curly damaged hair and this is by far the best finishing gloss I have used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hair_junkie on 4/6/2006 11:45:00 AM more reviews by hair_junkie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff!!! I have med-brown colored hair and when I use this my hair looks and feels great! I use a straightening creme on towel dried hair and then add this, starting about an inch from my roots. Then I blow dry, the results are great......I haven't used this on dry hair yet (I don't like to put anything on my hair after I've dried it) so I can't comment on how it works that way. Will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JaneLee1 on 4/4/2006 11:03:00 PM more reviews by JaneLee1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This product changed my _life_. I had no idea my hair could glisten & reflect like a mirror in a flood light. Stuff is dirt-cheap, and I've bought a tube of it for all my girlfriends. In less than a week of trying this product for the first time, I've bought 3 tubes: one for home, one for work, and one for my suitcase. Fantastic!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tartlette on 3/31/2006 2:59:00 PM more reviews by Tartlette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this. I use Shine Shock after I straighten my hair and it really adds shine and gets rid of little flyaways. A little goes a long way. I also love the smell of all the Brilliant Brunette products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PolaskiePrizzide on 3/23/2006 9:33:00 PM more reviews by PolaskiePrizzide

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff. It does nothing in terms of bringing out brown tones or whatever, but it eliminates frizz! I have super coarse frizzy hair. I put a pea sized drop in my hair when it's damp, by the time it's dry it becomes shiny and soft and frizz free! It's pretty expensive, but extremely powerful so a small drop should be sufficient for taming frizz. Be careful not to use too much though, because it can make your hair greasy. Oh and it smells nice too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lunyc on 3/23/2006 8:16:00 PM more reviews by lunyc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got highlights five months ago, and they've dulled out, so I was looking for something tp brighten them up. The Shine Shock, actually, didn't add any noticeable shine, but it DID soften my hair and give it volume - what a nice surprise! Most volumizers are sticky, and forget about softening your hair. Anyway, I am happy with the side effects of this product, so it's a keeper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Remand888 on 3/23/2006 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Remand888

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It does make my hair shine. However this is beacuse it makes it GREASY. It's so oily, even when you only use a dime sized glob. Bleh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products