John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser

4.1

283 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Propylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Phenyltrimethicone, Hexylene Glycol, Dimethiconol, Polyacrylamide, Ethylhexylmethoxycinnamate, Laureth 7, C13 14 Isoparaffin, Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide, Fragrance, Mica, Caramel


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A-MAZ-ING!! This stuff is fantastic. I am obsessed with shine products and picked this up after reading the reviews. Talk about life-changing! My hair has NEVER looked better. I'm telling you it is like GLASS. I had to experiment a bit since I always tend to overdo it with product application, so I fought my OCD and forced myself to only use a dime-sized amount on soaking wet hair. I combed it through, then pulled my hair back in a tight ponytail and let it air dry. I flat-ironed hours later and I swear my hair looks like I just left the salon. It is sleek, smooth, frizz-free, outrageously silky and shiny as hell!! It absolutely GLEAMS. I feel like a Pantene girl ;)
I honestly feel no need to ever buy any other shine product. I'm stocking up now because if this stuff ever gets discontinued you'll find me on suicide watch. HOLY GRAIL!! Thank you MUA!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/9/2006 10:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This really gives your hair lustrous shine and salon quality hair. I apply a small amount to my still wet hair and massage in. Then style as usual. It is amazing how great my hair looks using this. I am going to try more items in this line. An excellent value.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Excellent product. I've purchased many tubes already, and will continue in the future. Leaves my hair shiny and the smell is great!


on 5/16/2006 10:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Left my hair very shiny and soft. It just laid much nicer after using this. I was afraid that it would weigh my fine, straight hair down, but nothing such happened. I personally like the smell, although other reviewers seemed not to.


on 5/3/2006 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

leaves a very nice shine and shimmer in my dark brown/reddish hair. i use this only when my hair is wet....b/c if you use it when hair is dry it leaves a weird coating on it. the smell is nice....coconuty/cocoa and the texure is a gel with lots of shimmer in it. also softens hair too. overall a winner! *UPDATE* my hair has been acting dull and unmanageable lately. i'm going to quit this and see if it helps. the shine i once had just isn't there. maybe its leaving some kind of build-up.


on 4/19/2006 12:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought my long, straight, semi-shiny highlighted hair didn't need a styling product. I was wrong. When I add a dab of this to my damp/wet hair, then blowdry (not even styling with a brush or anything; pretty much just moving the air around and tossing my hair with my hands), my hair turns out sleek and polished. It's like I just walked out of the salon. The very first time I used it, my friend commented on how shiny my hair was. I also have rather fine hair, but I don't find that this weighs it down a bit. In fact, my hair somehow looks fuller. I think it's because it makes my layers lay *just right*. Though I usually don't like coconut scents, I do like this scent because it has that warm caramel quality to it. And, it fades nicely so it doesn't interfere with other perfumes or anything, or cause me to get sick of it. I'm so glad I tried this product!! It's a winner! :)

Edited to add: This stuff actually also helps to hold a curl!
And another tip: Applied too much to dry hair? Just blowdry and comb through. It seems to "soak in" to your hair, and will just leave a silky shine. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2006 2:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have not tried this on wet hair but after I straighten my hair it looks a little fluffy and parched so I put a bit of this on and my hair is transformed into sleek, goddess-like hair. But it only lasts like 10 minutes. However I have tried many products for my dry, naturally curly damaged hair and this is by far the best finishing gloss I have used.


on 4/6/2006 11:45:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff!!! I have med-brown colored hair and when I use this my hair looks and feels great! I use a straightening creme on towel dried hair and then add this, starting about an inch from my roots. Then I blow dry, the results are great......I haven't used this on dry hair yet (I don't like to put anything on my hair after I've dried it) so I can't comment on how it works that way. Will definitely buy again.


on 4/4/2006 11:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product changed my _life_. I had no idea my hair could glisten & reflect like a mirror in a flood light. Stuff is dirt-cheap, and I've bought a tube of it for all my girlfriends. In less than a week of trying this product for the first time, I've bought 3 tubes: one for home, one for work, and one for my suitcase. Fantastic!!


on 3/31/2006 2:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this. I use Shine Shock after I straighten my hair and it really adds shine and gets rid of little flyaways. A little goes a long way. I also love the smell of all the Brilliant Brunette products!


Back to Top