Bare Escentuals • BareMinerals foundation #2.3 Medium Beige • Powder

rated 3.5(292 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 grenadine on 7/11/2008 8:26:00 AM more reviews by grenadine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

After many, many months of deciding whether to get BE makeup based on very mixed reviews, I finally purchased the foundation in this shade. It's probably a tad bit too dark & orangey for my skin but for some reason I thought the "light" shade looked darker and more beige on me so I just go this one. I have to say BE makes me look more flawless than any other mineral makeup I have tried/used (& I have used a few!...JI also made my skin flawless but gave me a baaad rash!!) I also actually like the shimmer effect even though under some lightening it can be a bit extreme! I agree that it can be quite messy to apply & I find I always waste a lot of product when I try to open/close the lid. But I will continue to use this as I loooove the coverage! I am seriously still searching for something that is may be better or just as good & cheaper, cos $70 for a 9g pot/jar (note: I live in Australia...where cosmetics/skincare is very over-priced grrrr!!) is just too expensive imo!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Olom on 7/4/2008 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Olom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the coverage of this loose powder and how little I have to use (therefore prolonging the next time I would to purchase it again IF I liked it) but after wearing it for a couple hours, it makes my face look so greasy. It also seems to make it look like I have lines around my eyes and it has definately broken me out. Most loose powder foundations I've tried are messy but this particular one more so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PhxSunsGirl on 6/20/2008 9:13:00 PM more reviews by PhxSunsGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first I liked this product, but after a month of using it I noticed my face breaking out more than usual. I stopped using this foundation for a week and my skin cleared right back up. Then I put it on again and the next day had 4 new breaks. My skin is just to sensitive to the bismuth. It also left kind of a masky look around my jawline, depending on the lighting. My search for the perfect foundation continues........

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bruinsbaby119 on 5/18/2008 1:52:00 PM more reviews by bruinsbaby119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Bare minerals pisses me off. All this crap about it being so good for your skin, blah blah blah. Yea right, after using this stuff my skin breaks out MORE than usual. I like how it feels like I have nothing on my face and how natural it looks, but it's almost like I would seriously get a new zit or a couple new ones every time I used it.

IT SUCKS. It's a shame too....it would be my HG foundation for summer if it didn't mess up my skin. Sucky sucky sucky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soojelly on 5/8/2008 6:58:00 PM more reviews by soojelly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: I like how natural it looks. Smooths out skin tone. Quick application.

Cons: I get oily in the t-zone by midday. Does not cover freckles.

Verdict: This product is perfect when I go to work, because it literally takes me 5 mins to put my makeup on when I kabuki brush it all over my face. But, when I am going out or want to look like I have flawless skin - I need more coverage and I need something a little more heavy-duty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilbunny06 on 5/8/2008 12:16:00 AM more reviews by lilbunny06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product works really well if applied with moisturizer or primer. If I use it by itself, it will look dry and doesnt seem to cover much. I love how the color just blends with my skin tone. I would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 viva798 on 4/26/2008 4:36:00 AM more reviews by viva798

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love the concept of this foundation and how it's better for your skin. However, I can't find the right shade for my skintone. I was matched a Medium Beige, but it photographs really bad. In pictures, my face is so white in comparison to my body. I can't go a shade up because it's too dark. So again, I'm in between shades. Another issue I have is that it makes you look really shiny even if you have dry skin like I do. I even tried the new shade "Golden Medium" but it's too yellow and a tad light. All in all, the foundation itself is not bad, it's just the color selection that I have issues with. I'm a NC35/40 for reference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sobelaiah on 4/13/2008 10:19:00 PM more reviews by sobelaiah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This was a great product for me over the past 3 years. A foundation had never before made me look naturally flawless. After spending my previous years with liquid foundation, I couldn't believe the difference. I truly enjoyed NEVER having to worry about a makeup line again. My mom and sister started using it as well after seeing me and they love it too. People would compliment on how gorgeous my skin was (I was shocked because I have always been self conscious about my skin and had some acne problems.) Anyhow, unfortunately after three years of loving this makeup I started to really have problems with allergic reactions I guess. My lower eyelids became red and irritated and doctors insisted that I stop wearing it. I am now switching to EveryDay Minerals. Hopefully that will work. I am sad about leaving the Bare Minerals foundation, etc because I had never looked better. Can't quite understand why some say they hate it so much. Perhaps they never got the correct shade to start with or applied it incorrectly?? Anyhow, I would recommend it to others, but the price is steep and I agree it can get itchy. However for three years it was a dream come true to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mahrou on 4/8/2008 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Mahrou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I will definitely spend lots of money on cosmetics and have no problem doing so but this powder is just a waste of money and a waste of perfectly good skin. Steer clear of this stuff unless you want a broken out mess on your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tobtob on 3/27/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by tobtob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was a little too expensive for doing so little. It did even out my complexion on my face where it was a LITTLE uneven but as far as redness on my cheeks and dark spots from the few pimples I get - this did nothing. I think I'll stick to clinique and leave the mineral makeup alone since its what works for me. Too bad I fell into all the mineral makeup hype!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products