E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadow Primer

4.1

323 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Cylopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163)


on 2/26/2011 12:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ehhhh. I'm on the fence about this one. It seems to be very oily coming out of the tube, so I was skeptical to begin with, but when I swatch eyeshadow on my hand, with and without a primer, the one with this under it looks far better. For me though, it starts to crease about 3 hours into wear, whereas my UD primer potion never does. Some days are better than others, but I don't feel as though I can rely on this to be my HG primer. As far as the "coverage" goes, in my opinion it has none at all. I kind of want to try the other elf eyeshadow primers, but I think my next purchase will be the palladio one. This, like many of the elf products I try, has been a huge let down. The studio brushes are the only thing I have so far that I really truly love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/25/2011 10:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

cann't without that! very effective, easy buying price. maybe need some time to adjust the way you applying that.


on 2/22/2011 9:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This didn't work very well for me, I actually think it made my eyelids oiler. (I don't have very oily lids at all.) It has a very weird consistency, and it is very greasy. I applied it on my eyelids with my finger, and then my fingertip was greasy and shiny and I couldn't wipe it off with a towel, I had to wash it off. It is also an odd orange color.

It didn't really provide me with good results, UDPP and just plain concealer on my eyelids works better. My eyeshadow lasted for about 3 hours without creasing, but that's about how long it lasts without primer. It also made my shadows a little more bright and vibrant, but not as much as UDPP or Too Faced Shadow Insurance.

If you can't afford or you're not willing to pay for more high end primers, this might be a good buy because at least it's better than nothing.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't work for me at all. very dissappointed. Would not purchase again. Would rather invest my money with UDPP and know that my eyeshadow is not going to crease. I have very oily eyelids and this product just didn't help at all.


on 2/21/2011 10:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

well, i don't have the UDPP, but.. i love this primer of E.L.F! the eyeshadow stays all night long.. :) it really works and the price is great! so if you have doubt i guess you should buy and try it.. it's not a high investment..


on 2/19/2011 2:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have oily lids. UDPP works great on me. The now discontinued L'oreal HIP "paints" in a tube also do a very good job.
I tried both of the eyeshadow primers ELF has now. I tried the ELF Mineral primer for $3 and also the regular ELF primer for $1. The one for a $1 worked better for me, but that is not saying much.

The shadows show up okay, but they crease after about 4 hours. I tried different techniques (a little dab, a lot, leaving it a bit wet, letting it completely dry, etc.) and none of those techniques worked.

Glad it didn't cost too much, but staying power is not good on my oily eyelids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This primer rivals Urban Decay Primer Potion. I bought this at Meijer for $1. I put my eyeshadow on at 8am this morning and it's now 430 and no creasing. I'm shocked. I'll most definitely buy this again and again. The cost savings alone is enough for me to re-buy. Even if I only fot 6 hours of wear out of this, it would still be worth it! Try it!


on 2/14/2011 9:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did a test between this and UDPP and this held its own against the UDPP. I didn't see any difference between the two by the end of nine hours of hard work at home and twelve hours at the office. One thing I don't like is the packaging, I can't seem to see how much is left. This has a doefoot applicator like UDPP, and is half the size. However for $3 US compared to UDPP $18 US two packages are less than half of one UDPP. I will buy this again as long as they don't change the formula.


on 2/7/2011 9:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The only primers I had used were UDPP and L'oreal decrease. I gave the L'oreal to my mother when it didn't work for me. I really love UDPP, but when my depotted stash finally dried up (I can't say how long I had it... probably two years) I thought I should try some less expensive alternatives. This ELF primer failed me miserably. It does go on smoothly and the applicator works well. It provides a decent color base. It does not however stand up to a night out... at least my kind of night out.... shopping, dinner, drinking, dancing and a jacuzzi tub... etc. half way through the night my sultry masterpiece looked Courtney Love inspired. I rely on UDPP to keep me looking sophisticated and polished even when I don't behave as such. ELF mineral eyeshadow primer might be good for a day at the office but really why bother? That is all.


on 2/6/2011 3:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Cheap. Effective. Has replaced UDPP for me. My e/s stay on all day for at least 8+ hours. Like UDPP however, it does cause creasing if you apply too much so be conservative in the amount used :)

Very good primer imo, I also use it under my eyes to help with concealer. Works like a charm


Back to Top