OPI • You Don't Know Jacques! • Polishes

rated 4.4(293 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ishadowlver on 5/7/2010 3:26:00 PM more reviews by ishadowlver

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Have been looking for a dark, but not too dark, unique and opaque color. This really fit the bill. Its a pretty combo of purple, gray, brown...
HG color for me and my skin tone. LOVE LOVE LOVE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyeung71 on 5/6/2010 6:54:00 PM more reviews by cyeung71

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

You Don't Know Jacques! is from the French Collection. The formula is creme base. The color is brown with strong grey undertone. It's kind of mocca color. The 1st application looks rather thin. But then, once I applied the 2nd coat, it gives a complete coverage.

I can understand why so many people like this color. It's a very unusual color. This color doesn't look vampy at all but it's more like an elegant color. It suits well either go to work or a nice evening out. OPI has a similar version called Over The Taupe. But that color has more brown in it, not as elegant as this color. If you like an elegant color with lots of compliments, this is the one to go. I give it a 5 because it's unusual and it's very French. I will see that I will wear this color a lot in fall/winter days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 4/29/2010 12:33:00 AM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was a shade that I was drawn to for the unique shade, quickly returned, and then swapped to re-acquire later. Finally tried it on tips last week, and absolutely hated it. Then .... I stepped out into daylight and fell in love instantly! On my MMM skintone, this is unique, different, and amazingly beautiful against my skintone. What I adore about this (aside the fact that it's one of the few mani shades I've gotten compliments on!!) is that in some lighting, it appears more beigey .. in other lighting, it appears more greyish/beigey .. so it completely changes. It's a cream, and the lack of shimmer is what really brings sophistication to this shade for me. I felt totally bad-a$$ wearing this, chic, stylish .. Nothing but love and a NOW permanent place in my insane stash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Koo on 4/14/2010 8:33:00 PM more reviews by Koo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Not a particularly successful polish compared to the other choices that are out there, so I don't think it's that great.

Unusual colour, for sure. But also can look like poo brown in certain lights.

Chips and scratches very easily and quickly (on the first day of application), and once this happens, it looks tacky and childish, not good for around the office.

On the plus side, it dries very quickly, even before I've fixed up the stroke lines on one half of the nail!

I would not buy this again, nor recommend it, now I have Essie - Matte About You, I could just buy a nice brown colour and matte it sometimes.

PS - I don't believe in buying Matte polishes now I have found Essie Matte About You. Most especially because of the chips & scratches which come from the matte OPI polishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 3/31/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

After lemming YDKJ for months and reading such rave reviews for it, I was finally able to swap for it. Unfortunately, I am in the minority as this color doesn't quite work on my skin tone. I thought it would be a bit more gray but it ended up being more of a chocolate brown and darker than I imagined. It just looked too muddy on me :( The first coat was also very streaky. It is a cool color, just not one that I can pull off. Sais la vie!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mbyrd34 on 3/16/2010 4:34:00 PM more reviews by mbyrd34

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite nail polish by far. I had to buy the bottle. It matches with anything and I get so many compliments.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChloeHollywood on 3/14/2010 7:02:00 PM more reviews by ChloeHollywood

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite Nail polish. I always buy the same colors : pink coral red....and I wasn't really sure about this one but on the nails I was veruy impressed and this is a very wearable color ! I love dark nail polishes like black or dark green but I find them hard to wear everyday. But this one is perfect it's a creamy taupe color with a hint of gray. It's beautiful! i will buy it again!

Chloe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lynnphi on 3/13/2010 5:39:00 PM more reviews by lynnphi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this - and I constantly get compliments on this color! I tried Sephora OPI Metro Chic prior to this and found it too light and purple. YDKJ is browner and darker, but it suits my nc42 skintone. I work in an office setting and I feel that it is the perfect balance between professional and fashion-forward.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 3/10/2010 9:50:00 PM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My go to color is dark plummy color like Lincoln Park After Dark and Siberian Nights, I probably have 5 or more nail polishes all similar to these colors. So I decided to try out this grey taupe polish, I love it! I put 2 coats on and it lasted good 10 days without any chipping. Is it really LE? I saw similar colors from Sally Hansen and Rimmel so gonna try those out and compare. But I'm definitely getting backup of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eyelovemkup on 2/27/2010 4:06:00 PM more reviews by eyelovemkup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down one of my favourite go-to nail polishes. I always get compliments when I wear this gorgeous taupe/grey/brown colour and it surprisingly has hints of purple as well! Like all OPI polishes, this one lasts really long without chipping (about a week) when worn with a good top coat. It's edgy but also very sophisticated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products