Givenchy • Phenomen'eyes Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(301 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 northerngirl25 on 8/28/2009 7:06:00 PM more reviews by northerngirl25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Like everyone else on here, I've spent most of my adult life searching for the PERFECT mascara with no luck. I thought this would be it. And I really wanted to love this but once again... no.
The wand is AMAZING, I just want to start by saying that. It looks like a torture device from the middle age but I got the hang of it after one application and in my opinion you have to be pretty dumb to poke your eye out with this thing so unless you are (pretty dumb that is), don't let the wand scare you. I love the precision and the control you get with the wand. So two thumbs up for the wand.
The mascara however...
Well, when first applied the mascara looks pretty amazing. Long and thick fake lashes with just one application - just what I want.
The problem is that they don't stay that way. The mascara is really wet and heavy... I see a lot of people have mentioned that. After a couple of hours my eyes look tired because my lashes are weighed down by the mascara. My lashes actually FEEL heavy (is that even possible?).
And as if that wasn't enough, it smudges like crazy. I swear I don't touch my eyes during the way but when I look myself in the mirror at lunchtime I have huge racoon eyes. I also can't put this on my bottom lashes because I'll look like a racoon in no time.
I work with customers all day long and I can not look like that! Ironically, while this smudges like crazy, it's also impossible to get off. I can't just use a wet q-tip to remove the smudges under my eyes like I normally do. It simply won't come off! How is that possible when it smudges the way it does??!
So to sum up... wand = YES! Mascara = NO! Unless you're a racoon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 8/22/2009 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am not a huge fan of this mascara. I love the brush still haven't gotten that down pat yet but the mascara itself takes forever to dry and it really doesn't do much for my lashes. I like really thick looking lashes. My lashes are already kinda long but I love when they look long and fat.
I bought this on a whim doubt i'd buy it again my HG is diorshow wp I'd like to try the new formula since it's supposed to dry faster but i guess we shall see if i have the extra cash while i am at sephora if not it won't break my heart not to get it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahhloves on 8/20/2009 11:42:00 PM more reviews by hannahhloves

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The mascara looks interesting in its unique shape but the mascara is a bit heavy and takes a while to dry. Don't think its worth the price. It give you some length and volume but I'd much rather find something else to use than this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeUpJunkiee on 8/14/2009 4:11:00 PM more reviews by MakeUpJunkiee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara gave my diorshow a run for its money. I love the brush tip. Gives me lashes so much definition and volume, hard to master but use as directed and you'll have the prettiest lashes around. Very buildable, gives plently of volume if you focus on the roots. I love applying this on the train or bus and seeing people give me the look of death, looks like a torture device!! lolll the little spikes are soft, though i have poked myself a few times lol i love the look this mascara gives me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anad on 8/8/2009 11:54:00 AM more reviews by anad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Great. The name says everything. You'll have long , full lashes. About the packaging, for the first time it's hard to take out the wand so you have to pull out the wand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cute_fishy on 8/3/2009 8:46:00 PM more reviews by cute_fishy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wanting to get my little hands on this mascara for over a year, after hearing about it on MUA. I finally decided to get it on my last trip to Sephora.

There's definitely a learning curve when it comes to application with this mascara. The ball design really takes some time to get used to. I've been trying for the last 1 1/2 week and I still cannot get the hang of it.

The first thing I noticed with this mascara is that, with the ball applicator and application method suggested, it naturally gives your lashes a lot of lift. However, the mascara is pretty wet and heavy, so the lashes do not stay lifted. So that was the first disappointment.

And this mascara is definitely not the one you can reach for when you're running late. The application takes time, probably 3 times longer than that of normal mascara. You also need to be extra careful so to not leave smudges on your eyelid.

This mascara gives decent length and volume with just one coat. However, it does not layer well at all. So it's difficult to get really dramatic result.

Overall, I think this is a decent mascara. The innovative applicator certainly adds to its appeal. But I don't think the final result justify the price tag. I probably will not repurchase this item.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 erskimo on 7/31/2009 12:27:00 PM more reviews by erskimo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The brush is brilliant and easy to use. However....I found the actual mascara heavy and wet. It took about 5 minutes before my eyelashes were actually dry. During the day my eyelashes felt kind of heavy and by the evening they had formed into clumps. Major research and money has gone into the wand, but the mascara formula I regard as very mediocre.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaysta1985 on 7/26/2009 2:48:00 AM more reviews by Jaysta1985

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A very interesting Mascara ...I found it hard to apply and the texture too thick. Yes it does give u the fake eyelash look sometimes but one wrong move and u have ugly spider eyes... I also agree with other reviewers about how hard it is to remove!! It could be because I'm not applying it correctly but c'mon mascara shouldn't be such a technical thing .. it should be easy and give decent results. This mess of a mascara is one I will not be repurchasing .. now I just need to figure out how I am going to finish this ...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nmserrano on 7/23/2009 3:54:00 PM more reviews by nmserrano

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

GREATTTT product.. It gives you both volume and lenght. Also due to the shape of the brush you can reach ANYYY lash you want to enhance..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erin12107 on 7/19/2009 8:12:00 PM more reviews by erin12107

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my HG dramatic eyes mascaras. It makes my lashes look almost fake. The brush is weird yes but you will LOVE IT! This mascara is definitely worth purchasing, I will definitely re-buy this one when i need to!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Mascara products