MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre

4.2

332 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 10/25/2010 4:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this. I used MAC's Bare Canvas eye paint for years as an eye shadow base, but hated the packaging. When the paint pots came out, I first tried Painterly. After I used Painterly up (well, almost used it up..it dried out on me right after I hit the bottom), I found Soft Ochre and will never look back. It's the perfect base color for my warm skin. I use this every single day, alone and under other eye shadow. It makes my eyes look less tired, and evens everything out. It doesn't crease on me, which Bare Canvas sometimes did. Will continue buying this for years.



on 10/14/2010 11:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i recently received this from a swap and i LOVE it!!! it's very creamy and goes on smoothly and pretty evenly; however, it does set semi fast so you do need to work quickly when putting it on. this paint pot does not crease and is the perfect base color for any shadow.


on 10/7/2010 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this stuff for almost a year and have hardly made a dent in it and it hasn't dried out at all either. Love this stuff, love it. Before this, I used bare canvas paint but I picked this up becasue its so matte and I pretty much put away the bare canvas. It can be a little tricky because it sets fast so if say u stop when ur halfway done putting it on, it'll dry and it can become difficult to pick up where u left off becasue of the consistency so u have to work quickly and thoroughly. You can use your finger to spread it on your eyelid and browbone or a brush. Sometimes I have a hard time with my finger or vice versa so I use either. I put it on from my eyelid to my browbone, since its a skin type color, I dont have to worry about putting too much and just putting an even layer. You dont need a lot and it does an AMAZING job at keeping your eyeshadow in place. If I fall asleep with makeup on, when I wake up, it looks like I just did my makeup. It's great at really caputuring the intensity of your eyeshadows. Some primers or bases can change the color of your eyeshadow or the consistency and finish of your eyeshadow but this stuff truly showcases their vibrancy. I love it. I bought this and blackground... I really think all u need is a nude base and a black base (even tho I have more lol). In the pot, it looks like a concealer but as soon as u put it on, you can really see and feel the difference between this and some of the cheaper brands that can be sticky or greasy like the nyx eyeshadow base (I'm not a brand snob, I'm just a quality snob with certain things lol), greasy bases, if u put them on and dont put ur shadow on right after, they'll tend to crease but not with this. Its completely matte and once it sets, its not sticky at all which is whats kinda weird about it... its just sits on your eyelid without being sticky but it totally grips your eyeshadow once you put it on and lets it go on super smooth and even. I HIGHLY recommend this paint pot and I'll probably always use it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2010 2:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favorite eyeshadow base! You have to work it in pretty quickly because it sets fast. I it with MUFE Microfinish powder and it stays all day! By setting it I find it way easier to blend eyeshadow instead of it getting to stuck to the base. Kinda pricey but I know it will last me a long time. I've had mine for 2 months and use it everyday and I havent even made a dent in it :) Definately for people with yellow undertones, I think it would look really muddy on someone with pink undertones


on 9/28/2010 2:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the only paint-pod I've needed, it's still moist and I've had it for months. It's the perfect base for my everyday eye, matte and holds that shadow in place all day long.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This my FAVORITE base. The main reason being that I'm a MAC C2 which means I'm basically porcelain skined with yellow undertones. This is absolutely perfect for those that are really fair and really warm. If you are cool (pink) Painterly will be a better option for you. You could also always use Soft Ochre to warm up a shadow and Painterly to cool a shadow despite your skintone. Furthermore you can use Soft Ochre to even out and camouflage redness/veining on the lids despite skintone. The only con to this is that for some reason the texture is slightly off compared to Painterly, it is a tiny bit grittier and takes a slight more amount of work...again the color is amazing and blows out any cons there are. I will NEVER stop repurchasing.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2010 9:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the perfect eyeshadow base. I am dry/combination and it suits my skin perfectly. It doesn't make my lids go cakey at all and my eyeshadow always lasts 14+ hour work days flawlessly with this underneath. Great to cover up dark lids if you want a simple look with liner also.


on 9/18/2010 12:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this everyday and I love the yellow undertone because it takes the purpley tone out of my lids and my lower lash line. It makes my shadow stay on ALL day...even on the rare occasion that I sleep with my makeup on, i wake up in the morning and it looks as though I just put it there. It is amazing, best lid primer I have ever used. Love painterly too, but this tone is just better for me.


on 9/17/2010 4:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love using Soft Ochre as a base. The color is matte and will not alter eyeshadows on top but only enhance it. It is very light and has a yellow undertone so it actually kind of matches with my skin. Soft Ochre looks a bit like concealer so I can actually wear alone many times. If you are light skin you can get away with it too, however this paint pot is meant more as a base rather than wear it alone specially if you have darker skin. The texture seems a little less slick than Bare Study, more like a thick concealer and it can be a bit hard to spread. However, a brush is the best way to apply this, since with your fingers you might find a bit of tugging. Soft Orchre also has no glittler or shimmer whatsoever. It makes my eyeshadows last all day without any creasing at all. I love this paint pot and find myself reaching out for it all the time when I want a natural look or something to brighten up my eyes.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I cannot live with out my soft ochre paint pot! I have tried a million different eyeshadow bases, primers ...you name it! Nothing comes close to soft ochre. I've probably had my pot for almost a year and with every day use, it's neither empty or dry. I love how this makes my eyeshadow pop and keeps it on all day with absolutely no creasing. Love love love!




Back to Top