Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(329 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 AnnerNanner625 on 8/8/2011 3:28:00 PM more reviews by AnnerNanner625

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

When I selected this foundation, I wanted something long-wearing, nourishing and a product that won't clog my pores. Since it's oil free, I thought it'd be fine for my oily/combination skin. It didn't last because this product simply can't hold up to the oil. It's thick and slightly hard to blend. Coverage is light-medium. Color selection could be better. However, I feel this product would be great for normal/dry skin. It can blend to a natural finish and a pump is always a plus. Good product, just not for me. Oily skin beware!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kathylbell1 on 8/6/2011 8:34:00 AM more reviews by kathylbell1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have a drawer full of foundations, have tried almost every brand known throughout the years. This is the first one that does everything! I love the ease of application with the pump, it blends well, sets without settling in the lines, is transfer resistent and gives good coverage, and the color Beige matches my skin perfectly. My skin looks alive and fresh, like I'm not even wearing makeup. Although Almay TLC doesn't make any additional claims, I find my skin plumper and firmer looking, a nice added bonus. Definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cheapglamour on 7/13/2011 5:57:00 PM more reviews by cheapglamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i still have bad dreams about this foundation....
i think the smell got to me the most: a nauseatingly strong, chemical makeup-smell.
the coverage was pretty good, but the foundation overall looked like a mask. it left a white cast in all my photos.
not only did this foundation look like a mask, but it felt like a mask! very heavy and it caked up easily
gosh this does not even sum up how much i did not like this product. as much as it kills me to waste anything, i had to throw this away 3/4 full.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohwrite on 7/5/2011 11:15:00 AM more reviews by ohwrite

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT: This breaks me out if I wear it more than one day, so I had to ditch it.

This foundation is wonderful for me. It easily outperforms some high-end ones I have. I have dryish skin and this does not emphasize that. It also covers my redness (I have a lot) so I don't need to wear concealer. It lasts all day. Just perfect for me all around. I am NW20 and wear Naked, 160, and it's a perfect match.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jess54 on 7/1/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by jess54

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because I ran out of my Estee Lauder Double Wear camouflage makeup. With the Estee Lauder I am used to everything being covered up and not really even needing concealer. When I put on the TLC I was very disappointed. It doesn't cover anything! I might as well not wear foundation. If you have awesome skin and just want a sheer coverage this would probably be good for you. If you are wanting full coverage this is not it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iwuverzyou on 6/16/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by iwuverzyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation.
at first when i apply it.
its a little powdery looking
but after 20minutes of being
outside in the heat. it melts
a little and has a dewey appearance
but it stays in place. Coverage is amazing
i have BLOTCHY cheeks. i mean RED
and it covers them. the only thing is.
the color isnt exactly perfect. so i try
to use a powder with a lighter tone.
for winter i would suggest Urban Decay
Dew Me. it will give you that dewey look
and you can wear your fav foundation all
year long :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Flassie on 6/12/2011 2:01:00 PM more reviews by Flassie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a great foundation! I used to use colorstay which I had a love hate relationship with... but it was becoming more often then not hate, so I tried this! Its the perfect foundation for whatever coverage I need for the day!! If my skin looks good I can use less and get a lighter coverage, or on crappy skin days it can be easily built up to full coverage... very versitile foundation!!

It controls oil as well as colorstay, but without as much of the heavy/cakey (it can still become cakey if too much is applied) look and feel... plus it has a pump!! :)

CONS:
- I don't think this would be great for dry skin because it can make flakes look worse, but is perfect for normal/combo/oily skin.
- Might not be the best foundation for sensitive skin because it has lemon and some other natural ingredients that are supposed to subtly improve your complexion, which is awesome, but they make the foundation sting a little bit on my skin when I first apply it, but its not bad and lasts for all of 3 seconds or so.

But really...the ONLY thing keeping this foundation from being HG for me is that it's not a great color match... i have pale skin and am currently using the lightest color, but the undertones are a bit too pinkish for my yellow undertones, so I will keep looking for a slightly better color match, but this foundation was sooooo close to being perfection for me :( siiiiigh

anyways.. this is a great foundation for people without super dry/sensitive skin, who want a medium coverage that can go a bit lighter or heavier depending on what they want.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theresadactyl on 6/2/2011 1:58:00 PM more reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very impressed by this foundation. This is very similar to maybelline's superstay liquid but has less coverage. NC30-35 and Sand is an excellent match. Pump? Thank you, Almay. The consistency is weird and thick, I was suprised upon first pump. When applied with a flat top brush it goes on very nicely and blends like a dream. I've been wearing this for about a week and live in Texas - it's in the high 90's right now. I have an extremely oily face with weird dry patches (aw, come on, really??) and normally it looks awful mid-day. This foundation has held up and kept my face looking acceptable very well. I probably wouldn't use this in the winter because the formula dries very. well, dry and it accentuates any dryness and brings out the peach fuzz on your face. For summer it's perfect - its light to medium coverage, has SPF, and feels super natural. My face feels like skin right now which is more than I can say when I use other foundations. I use it with maybelline's dream matte powder and it looks pretty darn good. I'd say.. check this out if you want a tinted moisturizer with a little more "oomph"..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Michy1031 on 5/20/2011 1:25:00 AM more reviews by Michy1031

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have an EXTREMELY oily t-zone it's so ridiculous, after watching a couple reviews on youtube with oily skinned girls saying this was a great foundation for oily skin and their skin didn't get oily with this on. LIES! omg it was oily in like an hour. as it always is with any foundation i have tried. even with using milk of magnesia. Other than that, the coverage was definitely very light and it emphasized my dry flaky parts on my skin from using retin-a. and it did nothing to cover up my hyper-pigmentation from old acne scars or the slight redness in my t-zone. Idk overall i would have to say this foundation would be great for someone with normal skin who doesn't have very many flaws at all or discoloration and just wants a very light coverage. I did not find it buildable or color correcting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ivana01 on 5/16/2011 3:26:00 AM more reviews by ivana01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i was going to purchase this foundation today after reading some good reviews on here about it but lucky i tried it on my face before doing so! it is so thick that it literally freaked me out and i tried a bit on the side of my face and the coverage is so sheer and greasy looking that every imperfection came through and it accentuated dryness, flakiness and even those tiny facial hairs we have on our faces so much (i'm on roaccutane at the moment so i'm on the hunt for a foundation suitable for my really dry/flaky skin), it's also expensive for the brand that it is (AUD$32.95) and the huge list of ingredients is just scary, something with such a huge list of ingredients can't be right! the only good thing about this foundation is the pump bottle. i'm purchasing nude by nature next so a review for that will be up shortly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products