Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(325 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 jess54 on 7/1/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by jess54

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because I ran out of my Estee Lauder Double Wear camouflage makeup. With the Estee Lauder I am used to everything being covered up and not really even needing concealer. When I put on the TLC I was very disappointed. It doesn't cover anything! I might as well not wear foundation. If you have awesome skin and just want a sheer coverage this would probably be good for you. If you are wanting full coverage this is not it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iwuverzyou on 6/16/2011 10:42:00 PM more reviews by iwuverzyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation.
at first when i apply it.
its a little powdery looking
but after 20minutes of being
outside in the heat. it melts
a little and has a dewey appearance
but it stays in place. Coverage is amazing
i have BLOTCHY cheeks. i mean RED
and it covers them. the only thing is.
the color isnt exactly perfect. so i try
to use a powder with a lighter tone.
for winter i would suggest Urban Decay
Dew Me. it will give you that dewey look
and you can wear your fav foundation all
year long :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Flassie on 6/12/2011 2:01:00 PM more reviews by Flassie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a great foundation! I used to use colorstay which I had a love hate relationship with... but it was becoming more often then not hate, so I tried this! Its the perfect foundation for whatever coverage I need for the day!! If my skin looks good I can use less and get a lighter coverage, or on crappy skin days it can be easily built up to full coverage... very versitile foundation!!

It controls oil as well as colorstay, but without as much of the heavy/cakey (it can still become cakey if too much is applied) look and feel... plus it has a pump!! :)

CONS:
- I don't think this would be great for dry skin because it can make flakes look worse, but is perfect for normal/combo/oily skin.
- Might not be the best foundation for sensitive skin because it has lemon and some other natural ingredients that are supposed to subtly improve your complexion, which is awesome, but they make the foundation sting a little bit on my skin when I first apply it, but its not bad and lasts for all of 3 seconds or so.

But really...the ONLY thing keeping this foundation from being HG for me is that it's not a great color match... i have pale skin and am currently using the lightest color, but the undertones are a bit too pinkish for my yellow undertones, so I will keep looking for a slightly better color match, but this foundation was sooooo close to being perfection for me :( siiiiigh

anyways.. this is a great foundation for people without super dry/sensitive skin, who want a medium coverage that can go a bit lighter or heavier depending on what they want.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theresadactyl on 6/2/2011 1:58:00 PM more reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very impressed by this foundation. This is very similar to maybelline's superstay liquid but has less coverage. NC30-35 and Sand is an excellent match. Pump? Thank you, Almay. The consistency is weird and thick, I was suprised upon first pump. When applied with a flat top brush it goes on very nicely and blends like a dream. I've been wearing this for about a week and live in Texas - it's in the high 90's right now. I have an extremely oily face with weird dry patches (aw, come on, really??) and normally it looks awful mid-day. This foundation has held up and kept my face looking acceptable very well. I probably wouldn't use this in the winter because the formula dries very. well, dry and it accentuates any dryness and brings out the peach fuzz on your face. For summer it's perfect - its light to medium coverage, has SPF, and feels super natural. My face feels like skin right now which is more than I can say when I use other foundations. I use it with maybelline's dream matte powder and it looks pretty darn good. I'd say.. check this out if you want a tinted moisturizer with a little more "oomph"..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Michy1031 on 5/20/2011 1:25:00 AM more reviews by Michy1031

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have an EXTREMELY oily t-zone it's so ridiculous, after watching a couple reviews on youtube with oily skinned girls saying this was a great foundation for oily skin and their skin didn't get oily with this on. LIES! omg it was oily in like an hour. as it always is with any foundation i have tried. even with using milk of magnesia. Other than that, the coverage was definitely very light and it emphasized my dry flaky parts on my skin from using retin-a. and it did nothing to cover up my hyper-pigmentation from old acne scars or the slight redness in my t-zone. Idk overall i would have to say this foundation would be great for someone with normal skin who doesn't have very many flaws at all or discoloration and just wants a very light coverage. I did not find it buildable or color correcting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ivana01 on 5/16/2011 3:26:00 AM more reviews by ivana01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i was going to purchase this foundation today after reading some good reviews on here about it but lucky i tried it on my face before doing so! it is so thick that it literally freaked me out and i tried a bit on the side of my face and the coverage is so sheer and greasy looking that every imperfection came through and it accentuated dryness, flakiness and even those tiny facial hairs we have on our faces so much (i'm on roaccutane at the moment so i'm on the hunt for a foundation suitable for my really dry/flaky skin), it's also expensive for the brand that it is (AUD$32.95) and the huge list of ingredients is just scary, something with such a huge list of ingredients can't be right! the only good thing about this foundation is the pump bottle. i'm purchasing nude by nature next so a review for that will be up shortly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RebeccaMadisonW on 5/15/2011 1:18:00 PM more reviews by RebeccaMadisonW

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I loove this foundation!
I'm pretty light, NC15 is what I wear but its a bit too dark for me. I have dry skin that tends to make my foundation look nasty. And I have skin that tends to break out. None of these things were a problem!
The foundation's color, although there are not many options, is very forgiving and matches me perfectly. I love the texture it gives your skin, and it blends very well. I like to apply this with either my ELF flat top brush or my MAC 190. It has medium coverage that is buildable.
Absolutly beautiful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Donnz on 5/4/2011 9:06:00 PM more reviews by Donnz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation outperforms all of my high end ones. In buff it is a beautiful match for my light with yellow/beige undertones and that is so rare a find! It is slightly dewy once dry but matched with Almay's line perfecting powder it becomes perfect. It does contain skin goodies but because of the clear glass jar, they become irrelevant once exposed to light. It is a light to medium coverage with fingers and more with a brush. I am so happy that I finally no longer feel the need to shell out stupid amounts of money for a brand name foundation that doesn't look or wear this good! It also looks fantastic in photos in both natural light and flash. The lipsticks are off though for the feel on my face which is quite heavy. Other than that, job well done Almay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktb926 on 4/22/2011 11:56:00 PM more reviews by ktb926

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this because it does last a long time and at the end of the day I am not an oil slick, though that may be due to my primer and acne meds. The greatest thing about this foundation is that it doesn't break me out, which every other foundation that I have tried has done. That is a big plus. The other positive is that the packaging is a pump so it's very sanitary for those with problem skin. The only problem I have is the color; for african american women the color choices are limited. I am not dark by any means but I bought this in honey (the second darkest color available) and I go back and forth as to whether the color is too light. It is also a little thick for my taste. I usually mix it with a drop of rosewater to make it a better consistency. Overall, I don't think it's my HG foundation and I will keep searching for something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tour2win on 4/10/2011 3:08:00 PM more reviews by tour2win

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

After trying l'oreal, maybelline, rimmel, revlon and sally hansen liquids, I am probably going to settle down with Almay! I was impressed only after one use. This is an exact color match for me (medium beige), looked most natural after spending all day at work and required minimal powder touch-ups. I was at Walgreens to pick up my medicine and came by this sweet deal, only about $6 after using the instant coupon!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products