Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 bangton on 8/14/2009 8:08:00 AM more reviews by bangton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Well, I have been having a bit of a love affair with Maybelline products recently so I decided to have a go with this mousse foundation too. I have been using the fairly new (UK) liquid mousse foundation and loving it. I didnt even remember buying this but I must have done and forgot about it because I had a new, unused pot in a handbag I havent used for a while. Well, once again I'm loving this foundation.
I like the mousse texture because it is so easy to apply. It took about 30 seconds to get the base perfect. I always let my foundation settle before applying the rest of my makeup. Usually I find that I need to add a little more foundation to my chin which has light acne scarring and round my nose. In this case after the usual 5 minute settling time my base looked perfect. My skin stays looking flawless for most of the day too. It was only when it came to gym time that I felt it slipping a little. Fine by me. I like the packaging, the pot is cute and I know its not the most hygenic way to package things but to be honest I'm not that bothered! I am always freshly showered when I use it so surely my hands are not that dirty!
Above all, what I really love about this foundation is that I feel comfortable and confident all day long in it...and since thats the sole reason I wear makeup - I'm onto a winner. The only problem I have now is deciding whether to wear this, the liquid mousse or the liquid mineral foundation - all by Maybelline. Hmmmmmm...this one is pipping the others just slightly...despite me giving them all 5 stars in my reviews!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pleia666 on 8/13/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by pleia666

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

For a lightweight foundation, this product impressed me. It is great if you have facial redness, but do not like to layer on foundation.

It does NOT work for:
-covering up acne
-people with dry skin
-medium to heavy coverage

It is great for:
-light facial redness
-evening out skin tone
-days when you do not want to wear heavy makeup (summertime)

My face breaks out on occasion, so I only use it when i'm trying to cover redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Sandrat42 on 8/13/2009 2:29:00 PM more reviews by Sandrat42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

this is my first foundation. I really like it the first time I wear it as it is very light and fun to use with the 'mousse' concept.

Pros:
Match my skin tone very well
Light weight doesn't feel heavy on skin
Nice texture
sper good coverage

Cons:
turns orange
transfer
throughout the hot day it tends to turn into spots of foundation under my eyes
it kinda fade but not all of them fade ...so my facelook like half with foundationa nd half not

gave it a 3 as f u use it with a brush,, like kabuki on stick, amazing flawless..... but maybe it would do u good for an aircon. place or somewhere not sweaty

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cmbailey07 on 8/12/2009 12:38:00 PM more reviews by cmbailey07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is so gross! It was the first foundation I ever tried (I was 18), and I didn't try foundation again for another few years because I hated it so much!

Reasons for all the hate from me:
- did not blend well
- streaky and orange
- both oily-looking and feeling
- my face felt gross when it was on

I dunno what else to say other than...it was gross. I was sucked in by the idea of it, but it definitely did not deliver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kar212 on 8/12/2009 12:31:00 PM more reviews by kar212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think this product is ok but i am not impressed, it not something that i think is so great that i would recommend it to anyone. It is very ver very drying, it makes my skin look dry and it doesnt last all day. By the end of the day this makeup is just gone, its terrible. This is one of my firest negative reviews, i think that i usually like mostly everything that i buy, but NOT this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 montreal1 on 8/12/2009 12:25:00 PM more reviews by montreal1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am surprised by the negatives reviews. For me, this is the foundation I reach for the most. Over my Bobby Brown foundation stick and Prescriptives Virtual Skin which I keep buying thinking these would be my HGs. Ironic considering the price difference.
I don't have perfect skin, I have blemishes during that time of the month, Oily T-zone and occasional flare-up of something (psoriasis or dermatatis) on my forehead.
Well this foundation takes care of all of that. Better than any other I've tried. I moisturize (Kiehl's moisturizer) and immediately apply this with a sponge. A little goes a long way. This cover any imperfections AND is the best at camouflaging my peeling red forehead (I stipple it on). I do put blush and powder over it all to set and am good for the day.
I found that both Bobby Brown and Prescriptives abd all othger ones accentuate my forehead dry spots while this sits on top.
For this, I decided that I should review it because it is worth a try.
I took off 1 lippie because I am not crazy about the container and I do admit that I wish they had better color selection although the lighter shade is an absolute perfect match for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 danipoops on 8/12/2009 11:45:00 AM more reviews by danipoops

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product is not very good for my skin type which gets very dry! This makes it even worse... it feels like I have nothing on my face when I put this on and then straight away I notice my skin looks very dull.
My dry skin just sucks all this product in and then it looks awful! Would not buy again :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anticheron on 8/12/2009 11:36:00 AM more reviews by anticheron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation. It just so happens to match my ultra pale skin, which is hard to do. It just looks natural and takes the pink away from my face. I don't really have much to cover up though, no acne or scars except for the one from my eyebrow piercing, and it covers that up great. It feels natural to me and my skin feels smooth and not cakey like with other foundations. The only real problem I have with it is when it get humid out it makes my face sweat a lot and my skin gets all spotty. Anyway, I would recommend this product, hands down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rubyella on 8/11/2009 2:37:00 PM more reviews by rubyella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this for a long time. I like the fact that it is easy to apply and unlike some liquid foundation it doesn't dry before you have spread it properly. I used to use ivory but moved to their most pale shade champagne when it came out, which is a really good match to my skin tone. Also a lot of liquid foundations look orangey, which this doesn't, and it never looks like i have applied it too thick, even if i have. The only big problem is it really clogs up my skin, so i have to spend a lot of time taking it off at the end of the day, but it is something i put up with because of the positive things about it. Also it covers my blotchy skin really well and when i have a few small spots they become barely noticible, however if i have a lot it doesn' cover them that well. It is only until recently that i stopped using this and started using a liquid foundation, simply beacuse it is the summer so i prefer to use a foundation that leaves my skin looking shimmery rather than matte.
One other problem with mousse foundation is that it never drys, so it comes all over my mobile phone screen every time i call someone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saga17 on 8/11/2009 11:18:00 AM more reviews by Saga17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

At first I liked this...but then...ACNE! It glides on well and feels nice and soft but it really clogs your pores :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products