Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

3.0

3296 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Squalane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Silica, BHT, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, May Contain ( /-):, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica


on 1/7/2010 1:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Since I have oily skin, a foundation which claims to offer a matte finish sounded perfect for me. I was quite happy with the colour range (which includes quite a few shades for darker skin tones), although I did not find a perfect match (which happens very rarely anyway, considering my yellowy-pale skin). The foundation was very easy to apply and gave quite heavy coverage (which in fact proved to heavy for me giving me the undisired mask-effect).
However, after two hours it was not dreamy at all - my face looked like an oil slick, and my attempts to use powder over this foundation only added to the cakey effect. The shade, which seemed to blend in with my skin nicely at the beginning, has become darker and looked horrifically. I also would not reccomend using it on the skin in the eye area, as it creates dry patches, and causes irritation. After a few days the foundation caused breakouts, which finally made me discontinue using this foundation.
In addition I was not overimpressed with the packaging, which, although small and handy, is not very sanitary. Despite the price is very low, it is not suitable for oily skin (as it isn't oil-free), and may lead to breakouts. It is probably better for people with normal - combination skin, who preffer heavier coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/7/2010 7:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My sister loves this foundation and it really looks great on her. She has got a beautiful skin thou. I tried this foundation while staying at her place and I kind of like it. I even thought of buying it but after 2 days it broke me out so that was it.


on 1/7/2010 6:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a decent foundation. I tried it a few years ago and hated it...but that was back in the day when I was new to makeup and didn't prep my skin properly. I recently repurchased it again in hopes of making it work for me.


I have the shade sun bronze, which fits my NC40-44 tan yellow undertoned skin quite well. It's a bit too light but a bit of powder over it sorts everything out. The shade selection is extensive and I think most people would be able to find a shade that suits them okay.


The texture is obviously a mousse, and I actually like it. You have to apply this on moisturized skin otherwise it'll go on flaky and patchy. Ontop of moisturizer, it just glides on easily. I like using this ontop of a primer a lot of the time aswell. I have combo / oily skin and this leaves me looking nice and matte. When used ontop of primer and set with powder it doesn't oil up much on me at all. Lasting power is ok - it doesn't last ALL day but it lasts long enough for me to stay out for 6 hours or so without worrying if my foundation has faded.


Coverage is good - not heavy and thick, but not too sheer either. It looks pretty natural on me. The packaging isn't that sanitary but how else would you package mousse? Just make sure you wash your hands before dipping your fingers in there ;)


Overall I like this foundation and would probably repurchase.


on 1/3/2010 9:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok so i bought this thinking it would make my skin look clear and flawless.....WRONG. It made my skin look so dry! it sucks out every bit of moisture in your face and then it leaves you with these gross looking dry spots all over your face. Not a good foundation at all.


on 1/2/2010 5:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product expecting good things, but to be totally honest i was majorly dissapointed not only was the colour range limited, i hated the coverage as there wasn't any, and it is definently not suitable if you have dry skin.


on 1/2/2010 5:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

One of the worse foundations EVER!! It lasts for about 2 hrs. Defintely not suitable for dry skin. I had to top up three times during the day.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i like this product for the most part, i don't get why there's so many negative reviews on this. i got this because i thought the idea of mousse foundation was ingenious. i thought it would be easy to blend and not annoying to put on in the morning, and this exceeded my expectations. i love my revlon colorstay foundation but its so thick that its a pain to put on in the morning. i enjoy putting my foundation on now with this. gives decent coverage, not full but not sheer, good balance. it's relatively cheap, i believe i bought it for 7 something at walmart. the color i bought is great for me too!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I actually thought it was pretty expensive, but then again, I'm in Ireland. It costs 10 euro (about 15 dollars), I wouldn't have it if a friend hadn't given it to me. I really like the texture, but it's not good for people with wrinkles as it will sit in any creases on your face. I found it easy to blend and looked as though I wasn't wearing foundation. I wish there was more in the jar though, and that there was more coverage.


on 1/1/2010 12:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This product is generally great for it's price. It's slightly oil based, so it's perfect for me as I have really dry skin. It goes on smoothly onto my skin and can be built up for layers and heavy coverage!! Looks really natural from far and air brushed! Does not cake. However the down side of it is that there is barely any staying power for this product and it comes off easily as easily as it goes on..... Mousse...
But if you do not mind going to the toilet to patch up your makeup every once in a while then this could be a good product for the price! Think cheap makeup for casual use ^^ Does not give me any breakout too.
I think it might be a bit unhygenic to have in a jar though.


on 1/1/2010 11:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has been in my makeup rotation since it was first released! I'm an NW45 so besides MAC, it's almost impossible for me to find foundation that's close to my skin tone. This is great for winter because of the dimithicone (silicone that helps keep moisture in skin). My recommendation is to use this sparingly because it can be a pain to wash off (I usually apply with the MAC 187 brush). Cocoa (dark #3)tends to be a little red on me so I usually have to mix it with Caramel. I wish that Maybelline would expand their color choices a bit because there's a tends to be a huge gap between colors. I tend to use this product in the winter and MAC Mineralize Loose Foundation in Deep Dark in the warmer months.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAYBELLINE Dream Matte Mousse foundation review [has Cancer producing ingredient] by LifeThoughtsCamera



Back to Top