Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3181 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SamanthaKral on 9/13/2009 4:31:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaKral

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all let me say I have every foundation in my makeup collection. From Chanel to Laura mercier and even some avon and Mary Kay foundations. Well dream matte I can't say is my hg but it's darn good. I have some dry flaky spots in my face and my nose is super oily. The colors are kinda off but when you find one that works for you stick to it. Here are some steps to make this stuff work. Clean your face always then moisturize and then apply the foundation. You must apply a powder afterwards. On the powder don't use a sponge use a brush to dust over your face. The coverage is defintely medium to full.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ArBell on 9/13/2009 7:41:00 AM more reviews by ArBell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Price: Could get better for the price. The way my friends told me about it made me want to try it out,but yeah it wasn't worth it. The container is still more than 3/4 full somewhere in my bedroom.

Quality: Well,it does cover up quite well,but it makes your face feel like you have thick make up on. Cakey.
The main way to apply it is by using your fingers,which at the end leaves a smudgy effect,like layering cake,if you do not take your time to blend it.It doesn't look natural.

Packaging: Not really convenient the glass container huh?

Effectiveness: It doesn't cover up pores really effectively

EDIT: Going from a 3 to a 4!
Mattifies skin, by the end of the day it didn't make my skin oily, i can say that it made it LESS oily. Only a glow is left, a healthy one.
It does flake, so be careful to well exfoliate your skin before using it.
Decent coverage. Less than medium but more than light! Need concealing over but overall good product :)
Doesn't clog pores!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HMB25 on 9/13/2009 2:50:00 AM more reviews by HMB25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fairly decent foundation. I used it before I got into high end stuff so it was okay for the time.
I love the glass pot that it comes it, makes it feel...not cheap. The product itself is SO light and airy but at the same time, gives great coverage. They have a lot of colors to choose from but I've found that a lot of them can look very orange when you step out into natural light so you have to be careful what color you get. That was probably the hardest part about this foundation was color matching.
I don't have perfect skin at all but this stuff really seemed to even it out without feeling heavy or like it's clogging pores.
One big problem I had with it is it doesn't seem to last throughout the day. The first few hours, it looks great, then later on it seem to fade or something. I don't want to reapply it over my powder, blush, etc. so I'm stuck trying to gain back that coverage with just powder. :(
It can also look cakey if you're not super careful.
It's not the best product but it is still pretty decent and I just love the texture of it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OoBrittany on 9/10/2009 12:35:00 AM more reviews by OoBrittany

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I always come back to Dream Matte Mousse. I have combination/oily skin, and it kept my face matte yet natural looking all last winter. I could go the entire day without having to blot. Too heavy for the summer months, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shaebrixton on 9/8/2009 12:33:00 AM more reviews by shaebrixton

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first foundations that I bought. On the plus side, I love the texture and the way it feels on my skin. Also, it didn't break me out at all - my skin would sometimes even improve when I wore it (though it might just be by coincidence). I also loved the finish a lot, it looked airbrused and smooth. On the negative side, there isn't really a colour that matched my skin tone. Classic Ivory (light 3) was too light, Creamy Natural (light 5) was too dark, and Nude (light 4) was way too yellow for me, so I had to mix Classic Ivory and Creamy Natural together to get my skintone, which was a hassle. Also, it definitely isn't a long-wear foundation and would sweat off easily, especially if I was at a concert, party, or in gym class.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HY210 on 9/7/2009 2:15:00 PM more reviews by HY210

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first foundation I tried. I was excited at first because I really liked the airy and creamy texture. The coverage is the best I've had so far. Unfortunately, it breaks me out so badly, it takes days of masks and no make to clear up. So no, never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LetsTalkBeauty on 9/6/2009 8:18:00 AM more reviews by LetsTalkBeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two of these absoulutey ages ago as my first "proper" foundation at first i really liked it as it felt soft on my fingertips and gave a nice matte finish but it did cake in areas. But over time i began not to liek it as it didn't last, and it was little bit orange. It didn't make me break out though which is good because most foundations and powders do. It is okay and not the worst foundation i've tried its pretty average. I do like packaging though its alot more practical. As far as shades go they didn't have one quite light enough but the shade i bought was fine. Recommended for a first time drugstore foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nekochannie on 9/6/2009 5:25:00 AM more reviews by nekochannie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was the first foundation I ever got, and i didn't know alot about makeup back then.

First: They didn't have a shade light enough for me. (i'm very pale) So i got one that was too dark.
Second: The finish is nice, and it covers ok. But it feels SO heavy on my skin. It totally clogged my pores and caused me awful break outs.

Thumbs down. It wasn't even cheap. (at least not were I live. It was 135 kr, about $16)

I should mention that since this was my first foundation ever, It scared me from using any face makeup for more than 1 year. I thought that, since it had gotten such good reviews it should be good and I just didn't know any better. How pathetic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hannahkeeleyspelman on 9/4/2009 9:14:00 PM more reviews by hannahkeeleyspelman

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

eughh i hate, hate, hate this product so much its unbeleivable. i would rather go with no foundation than wear this cause its so hideous.

so first off, the price, the price is not bad - obviously it differs from where you buy it, but no... overall it was never problem for me.

i love the packaging, i think its super cute and i love the way that when you're finished with it you have a cute jar left behind.

but thats about as far as it goes. for the product itself? BLEURGH. so this was the first foundation i ever wore, and at first i loved it. it felt super light and creamy and matte, and then one day i looked in the mirror and i was just like "this. looks. disgusting" it was cracked EVERYWHERE and it was way WAY too orange considering i'd got the lightest shade (but what do you expect with maybelline... they clearly forget the fairer shades out there...) it was super drying on the skin and no matter how much moisturiser i put on (i have oily skin fgs :|) it was still uber cakey.

so no. its crap. it dried my skin out completely, brought on acne, and turned out pretty hard to blend.

i've never met anyone who it looks nice on.

its disgusting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sophieexx on 9/3/2009 9:05:00 AM more reviews by Sophieexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was once again spurred on by all the great reveiws and went out to buy this foundation for the SECOND time ( This a couple of years ago was my first foundation, i used it for a while, then i must have chucked it) I though i might try it again because skin changes, and when i first tried it i really had no clue about make up! Anywayy .....

I found it very drying and and made my face feel gross. It clogged up my pores. It clung to spots and made them more noticeable. I really didnt like the matte finish, it just made me look ill.
( i have now realised i dont like a 'matte' finish, and will stay away from 'matte' products)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products