Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 11/3/2009 10:33:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my current HG...I like it even better than the liquid mousse version! This is the only foundation I have ever used that actually minimizes my pores and it makes my skin look super smooth.I figured out that a very little goes a long way, so I just lightly tap some product onto a sponge and blend, and I get a very beatiful matte finish. This doesn't even need to be set with powder! Honey Beige 4 is the perfect shade for my NC35 golden skin. Very lightweight feeling too. I have combo oily/dry skin and this does not highlight any dry areas, just smooths right over everything. Also, does not break out my very breakout prone skin! Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nativa2001 on 11/3/2009 7:34:00 PM more reviews by nativa2001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Great product! I saw this foundation on a friend and I decided to buy it.
I always buy expensive cosmetics from Department Stores. This foundation is great. It provides medium coverage and it is not too shiny ( I hate to look sweaty). Skin looks healthy and beautiful! It lets your skin breathe and it does not feel tight or cakey. Regarding some comments below, if you use too much of anything it will look cakey.
I say..definitely give it a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 greenbird on 11/2/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by greenbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product offers a lot of coverage. It covers sunspots/freckles, acne, acne scars, and dark circles with ease. But if you are not careful-this foundation can get very cakey. In low or indoor lighting, your skin will have a beautiful, luminous appearance from the smooth coverage. The texture is such that application is very smooth. But in daylight-if you are not careful, you will look overly made up. I use it more as a spot concealer than an overall foundation. The texture is a plus though-superior to liquid foundations I have tried, and less dry than powder foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blacklondon on 11/2/2009 3:09:00 PM more reviews by blacklondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think I just found my HG foundation and its under $10! I had heard a lot of bad reviews, but some good ones as well. So I decided to try my luck and buy it. It is a fairly cheap product so if I ended up hating it I wouldn't feel so bad.

But turns out I really LOVE it!! The first time I used it my skin got some little bumps but nothing serious, I figured it was my skin getting used to the foundation or possibly something else entirely. After a whole month of using it I am happy to say that it works wonderfully for me. I have no complaints whatsoever. But I really don't have acne or other skin issues so I wouldn't recommend this if you have problem skin.

I adore the packaging it comes it, because you can get every single last bit of the product out. I also apply the foundation with a damp makeup sponge, if you were wondering.

This paired with my L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Powder leaves my skin looking flawless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Camy03 on 11/2/2009 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Camy03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation so much.I'm NC35 in MAC and the color medium 0 is the perfect match for my medium yellow skin tone.I use my 187 brush to apply, which gives me a flawless matte coverage but if you use your fingers works really well too.
Is perfect for oily skin and I think this foundation isn't for dry skin because she is really matte.
The only thing I don't like she smudges off on everything.
But i will buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovekaygee on 11/2/2009 2:59:00 AM more reviews by lovekaygee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely LOVE this product. I tried it for the first time when it was released and i cant seem to find anything that compares. It has great value... mind you i have really combination skin, oil and dry. I have lots of trouble finding a foundation that fits the criteria of what my skin needs. I use it as an undercoat to my Mac studio fix powder n works amazing. I have tried to venture out to other products but I always seem to come back to the Mousse. i apply it with my fingers and just gives me great coverage. it feels sooooo light n for the price... nothing thus far has changed my mind.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 princessmimi on 11/2/2009 2:14:00 AM more reviews by princessmimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is by far the worst foundation i have ever used, not only does it rub off on everything i wear but it makes me turn completely red, i start off looking good and within a half an hour im as red as a tomoatoe. I would not recomment this product to anyone, after trying this I have been completely put off maybelline cosmetics, extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xSushiFlower on 11/1/2009 12:47:00 PM more reviews by xSushiFlower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I just have to say this first; I hate drugstore foundations because I always seem to get the wrong color even though it looks very close to my skin tone. Its a waste of money because you really cant use that foundation again. This is what happened to me with this foundation. Not only was this the wrong color, but it felt like I was applying frosting to my face! The coverage was too heavy for everyday use. Another thing I dislike is the fact that this foundation broke me out unlike any foundation i have ever tried before. I don't really like how the packaging is in jar form, being very unhygienic. The only thing i still use this foundation for is concealer under my eyes because of the peachy/orange color to cancel out dark circles. If you have a yellowy skin tone like me, i would skip over this Maybelline product line all together.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kellywilson0 on 11/1/2009 11:21:00 AM more reviews by kellywilson0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

For all of you fair-skinned girls out there considering this foundation, all I have to say is HOLY ORANGE FACE, BATMAN...not good :-(


I'll start with the Pro's: the consistency of this mousse is AMAZING. And blending this product is a dream (the mousse is a fabulous idea). I also LOVE the Dream Mousse Blush and the eye-shadow (although not sure if they make the eye-shadow anymore).


Con's: The color selection is not a good one for very fair-skinned ladies. I bought the lightest color (Light Ivory/Light 0), and my face was literally ORANGE due to the tone...like I mentioned before, blending this product was super easy, but unfortunately, no amount of blending was able to tone down the orange color. This one is a definite no for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lanlajolie on 10/31/2009 7:56:00 PM more reviews by lanlajolie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Cute jar, I will say that. As well as a good selection in colors. But none of the right colors for me. The undertone was did not suit me.

But other than that, it's very blotchy, did not blend very well, had this pink undertone that made me look like I got sunburned. It accentuated my existing pores and clogged some more, too. Made my dry patches more noticeable, and the coverage was very heavy. Playing with it was fun, the mousse texture is fabulous, but applying it on my face, it just looked like a layer of dirt rubbed on my face. Then it streaked and rubbed off on my clothes very easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products