Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 x3lipglossaddictx3 on 8/20/2009 4:34:00 PM more reviews by x3lipglossaddictx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think for the price you pay compared to some products, this is great. I do, however, think it's only suitable for certain skin types. If you have a problem with oily skin or dry skin, I wouldn't suggest to use this. My skin ranges from normal to combination, and overall, I get a nice finish with this product. It covers well and blends easily for me. I also like how the line has a pretty decent range of shades. I find that it is best applied with clean fingers or a sponge. The negatives I found with this product, are that it really clings to dry skin, and throughout the day, I sometimes would feel extra oily in my T-zone after several hours of wear. I think this could probably be fixed with a good oil-absorbing primer and/or setting the product with a translucent powder(or even colored, if you prefer). The reason I did not give this product 5 lippies, is because of what I mentioned with the different skin types and because the shape of the jar makes it hard to get the last bit of product when you get low. No, this is not the best foundation I've ever used, but you get what you pay for. I'd even go as far to say that it works just as well[for me] as some higher-end foundations I've used. I'm not currently using this, but I've purchased it several times, and will most likely do so again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jjiyunlee on 8/20/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by jjiyunlee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I would recommend this product if you have a stippling brush. I originally tried applying this with my fingers and with a flat foundation brush, and I hated it - I thought this product had no lasting power on my face, made my dry skin very oily while making my dry patches look very flaky, was cakey, and even made me break out! Enter the studio tools skunk brush, which changed the whole thing. I get a medium-coverage semi-matte finish that stays on for a decent amount of time (~half a day), does not break me out, and does not accentuate dry patches!

Highly highly recommend a skunk brush for application in swirling motions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 girlwithdeepthoughts on 8/20/2009 2:26:00 PM more reviews by girlwithdeepthoughts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

1. Unbelievably cakey & chalky.
2. Rubs onto everything, clothes,hands, items, ect...
3. It showed imperfection that i didn't even know i had!
4. Brings out all the dry patches on your face.
5. Very hard to blend.

I honestly dont know how people can work with such a product on a daily basis, one of the worst foundation i've ever tried. When i first put it on you could see streaks & it looked chalky & powdery, i didnt even wear it out for a day it looked that bad!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 viviennnne on 8/19/2009 3:13:00 PM more reviews by viviennnne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It says "dream matte mousse", but it's not matte at all. It looks smooth and perfect once after u apply it, but after less than an hour, my skin feels so so so oily and greasy and cakey. It's a waste of money, so do NOT purchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NastyaKukla on 8/18/2009 9:02:00 PM more reviews by NastyaKukla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This product is nice if you have nice skin to start with- my sister tried this and looked flawless. I however suffer from oiliness and slight acne and found this foundation heavy and the consistency rather strange. It was disapointing that this foundation oils up so quickly- looks heavy and clogs pores really badly. I could not wait to take it off and it now lies hidden somewhere in my bathroom cupboard

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miserlymom on 8/17/2009 8:34:00 PM more reviews by miserlymom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

hated this. I bought it thinking it would be great because I am oily but want more than just a powder, so this was a happy medium...right? wrong! Horrid! Any dry patches you didn't know you had before, you certainly do after putting this on. It draws so much attention to them. And it just makes you look like you sprayed you face with a powder mist (not in a good way). I bought the lightest shade they have in the mousse (light 0) and it is too yellow for me and the next shade up is too dark. I like the idea of this, but didn't like the way it went on and looked on my skin. I also don't care for the fact that it is an open jar and not squeezed out..although I guess thats the only option for a mousse, unless they did more of a foam. It wasn't super expensive, but I also didn't purchase this as a bogo. I had higher hopes for this foundation. It just sits in the bottom of my case now and the only time I have used it is in a pinch or just lightly under the eyes just to get rid of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 teresa1083 on 8/17/2009 12:48:00 PM more reviews by teresa1083

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this product, but i cant say that i do. It was way to cakey, drying, and orange for my skin. Oh, well another one bites the dust!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeuploverx on 8/17/2009 12:35:00 PM more reviews by makeuploverx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I Actually Really like this Product, I know some People say Its Cakey, But I dont Find it cakey at All, I apply it Over Maybelline Mineral Liquid Foundation And it Looks really Nice, I also get Comments on how 'Flawless' My skin Looks, Which is Unusual for me As i have Really Red natural Cheeks.

I suppose This Foundation would be Better If it Lasted a Little Longer, But its Fine For what i Paid for it, (Five Pounds At Superdrug.)

I really Like the Packaging, Its Just about Perfect For me, I Only marked it Down On packaging, Because It can Feel a Little Heavy.

Over all, Really Good Drugstore Foundation in my Opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shannonbudden on 8/15/2009 4:46:00 PM more reviews by shannonbudden

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this! after reading everybody elses reviews i can see where they are coming from when they say that it has no staying power, and can look cakey. I wear this over my normal foundation, that may sound wierd but i use it insted of a pressed powder. When i use it like that it does give a very even and perfect finish, i am lucky not to have "problem" skin but this still works lovely for my best friend who has a little redness and unevenesss. I do completely agree with people who say this is bad as a foundation, i have worn this alone and it does not last!! You could always try using a foundation primer or a lockdown powder (the sort that locks in all your foundation for a long lasting finish) but as i have already said there are ways to use this product that can really make your skin look flawless! Go try it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ella2201 on 8/15/2009 11:04:00 AM more reviews by ella2201

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation on a weekend away when I forgot to pack my usual estee lauder foundation and just wanted a cheap one to use whilst I was away. My friend recommended it to me as its the only foundation shes ever used (!) Personally I found it lasted a ridiculously short amount of time before sliding all over my face, I was constantly having to remove it and reapply it just to maintain a decent complexion. It has quite a dulling effect on the skin tone, which meant I had to colour my face in concealer, bronzer, blusher, highlighter etc to stop my skin looking 'tired.' I think this product is low priced because its low quality. A far more superior well priced product is revlon colorstay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products