Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3232 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bambie_Blonde on 11/8/2009 6:28:00 PM more reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I Love this foundation :) I do however use it a bit differently and I do love it for other things as well. Firstly it makes an amazing eyeshadow base! it make's my eyeshadows last all day without a single crease and it doesn't dry out my eyes like some other eye primers out there (*cough* Urban Decay primer potion) I cannot remember where I read that it could be used as a primer, but I thought I had nothing to lose and tried and have been hooked ever since- the key is to use the tiniest amount and it will work great at making your eyeshadow pop. As for an all over face foundation, I like it - but only if I mix it with another foundation that is liquid, otherwise I hate it. I love a matte finish, and mixing this with other foundations make's me need less powder to set my face with. I love mixing it with Revlon Colorstay ( my HG) Rimmel stay matte & Rimmel lasting finish- I just add a little on my foundation brush and dot it over my liquid foundation & both liquid and mousse blend like a dream! :) I really do love this product, and I'm glad its so versatile- I will and have repurchased this many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 desi101 on 11/8/2009 3:07:00 PM more reviews by desi101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the way this stuff just glides on to your face but like the other gal said the after result is way bad.I myself rarely breakout but after using this for no more than three days and my skin was done.I have oily skin too so this stuff just dissapears after a while.Good luck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dandiberta on 11/8/2009 3:02:00 PM more reviews by dandiberta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The color i picked did not match my skin at all, but i noticed there was a huge difference between tones.

anyways, i didnt like the texture on my skin, it made me look flaky, probably cuz i have dry skin.
the coverage is really good though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* breesana on 11/7/2009 9:31:00 PM more reviews by breesana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this product when it first came out and when I didn't know a lot about makeup. It covered up my imperfections well, but left me looking very fake--the product caked horribly and if I didn't blend the edges very well, it looked as if I were wearing a mask. Then, half way through, the product dried up on me. Just felt like it was way too much work and not very good. I'll stay away from this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 buttfacehead on 11/7/2009 9:14:00 PM more reviews by buttfacehead

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The first time I tried this product, I loved it. The ease of application was incredible and it blended flawlessly with my skin tone. It did cake on dry areas, but was relatively easy to fix.

Two days later, my normally very clear skin was suffering the worst and most persistent breakout that I have ever experienced. Puberty couldn't even compete with this breakout. I'm not sure what about this product (perhaps the silicone base?) made my skin, which is not very sensitive, have such a terrible reaction.

Buyer beware!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lostea on 11/7/2009 7:41:00 PM more reviews by lostea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I have mixed feelings on this one. Since I have oily skin this DOES NOT work as a full foundation for me period because I cannot put it on my T-zone. It makes my skin greasy and looks very cakey. But it does work for an acceptional eye-shadow primer! It stayed on and never creased. But as a foundation it didn't stay on long at all and looked greasy.It did have good coverage if anything. It's glass bottle was durable but putting my finger in the pot felt...un-clean. I don't like this as a foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HannahBoBana on 11/7/2009 10:40:00 AM more reviews by HannahBoBana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a love hate relationship with this foundation. For just applying over your spots & imperfections it's ok, it covers redness well. When you apply it all over your face, you end up looking like a cakey mess. It is extremly matte, but if you have dry skin, beware, if you apply this to your whole face, you'll look powery and cakey. What I love about this foundation is that it is the perfect shade my my skintone, so I wear this when I don't want a full face of makeup. This is great for using as a conceler, and it isn't drying under my eyes. It's very dry on the cheek's, well in my case anyway. So maybelline, finally one of your foundations isn't too orange for my skin. Almost a winner; screw my dry skin!

EDIT- Four stars now. I've found a way too make this foundation finally work for me! My skin has cleared up alot, but it still looks cakey, the coverage is amazing though. Before applying it, apply an oilfree moisturiser, which will help if you have dry skin. Then once you have all of your makeup on (the foundation, blush, bronzer, eye makeup), spritz MAC fix+ over your whole face, let it dry naturally or get a hair dryer and slowly dry it. The hair dryer method makes my makeup stay put all day. This makes the powery effect of the foundation disappear and the FIX+ leaves my skin looking dewy. If you don't like this foundation & you own FIX+, it will honestly give this foundation a new lease of life.
hannah x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lk1119 on 11/6/2009 2:55:00 AM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually like this foundation a lot for a drugstore brand. I'm not too fond of liquid foundation and the powder ones always tend to look too flakey or powdery. So, I decided to try this one out. It really is a mousse and feels creamy and light to the touch. It can tend to look cakey if applied too many times. But overall it stays on pretty well throughout the day as long as you don't wipe your face which is a con to this product. Also, there's a lot of different colors to choose from so that's also an advantage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChristieCool on 11/4/2009 11:11:00 AM more reviews by ChristieCool

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a decent foundation. I would have given it 2.5 out of 5 rather than 3 but there wasn't that option. The colour is perfect. That is why I have bought 2 in the past. Also it gives a nice finish, matte just like it should. The coverage I would say is medium. But it comes off so easily as it just sits on the surface of your skin. That means that if you do alot of running around or sport then i would not recommend this foundation. I do trampolining and it only last me an hour before it loses most of it's coverage and shine starts to come through. It's horrible havig to re-touch every hour in a 5 hour training session. So for that it gets 3 lippies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CherryD on 11/3/2009 11:27:00 PM more reviews by CherryD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not big on liquid foundation or any foundation really. I use mineral on occasion. It's usually tinted moisturizer. But I needed something heavier for Halloween. So at my friend's suggestion I used this. I figured out that it's all in the application with how this looks. When I used my fingers it looked caked on and horrible. But with the #187 and a very small amount it looked flawless. It also felt and looked my DuWop Revolution Face. But less than half the price. I will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products