Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3181 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 littlebitoflove on 9/23/2009 4:33:00 PM more reviews by littlebitoflove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I do use this product alot, as its a reasonable price and is a good little extra to have in case of emergency. i think it gives 'normal' skin a lovely finish, however when i was on holiday recently it was literally dripping off my face! Doesn't always give the best coverage of spots either but i still love it and it lasts me a long time i find :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kristikitten29 on 9/22/2009 7:09:00 PM more reviews by kristikitten29

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my go to foundation from as soon as it came out until just recently. I absolutely love the texture of this foundation. It is so soft and silky. It is more than a powder which I always felt made me look like chalk, but not as heavy as a liquid. The reality is this foundation doesn't give me the coverage that I need for my acne prone skin. This product also definitley isn't for dry skin as it would probably have a cakey tendency. But if you have good skin without breakouts and are looking for smooth, light coverage I would say to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Susie31 on 9/22/2009 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Susie31

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

(SEE PIC TITLED MAYBELLINE DREAM MATTE MOUSSE and feria chocolate cherry cuz im wearing it and by the way that was in the MORNING BEFORE washing face and AFTER sleeping in it!)very awesome! in classic ivory which is warm without being yellow and finally something pale enough for me! looks tearfully dark in container but goes on light and pale:) basically its actually a TRUE NEUTRAL finally!!! no yellow no pink!
lasts and lasts doesnt budge or "break up"
I even set it with dream matte powder and did this nothing to affect the integrity of the foundation:) it stayed perfect:)
I slept in it (I know bad) no break outs and looked GREAT in the morning, I was sooooo surprised it was still there
totally kept oilies at bay!!! and has a wonderful satin natural finish...
looked younger with it
total ease of application, you cant mess it up.
I am the most picky with foundations and hate most of them.. so much but this one is a keeper for SURE
covers under eye circles too did not accentuate any fine lines, is non drying, totally "flexible" didnt accentuate pores at all.
their 24 hour makeup was crap for me and classic ivory was too dark in that one.
AGE REWIND: their "age rewind" is AWESOME too, I am super oily, but age rewind puts "oil rebound" a bay... and is gel like consistency..not at all greasy
well it says its discontinued (the age rewind) so I thought id add tiny bit review here because they wont let me add a review there after discontinued which really sux of makeupalley)
BACK TO DREAM MATTE MOUSSE:anyway I highly reccomend this even if you PREFER LIQUID foundation cuz I totally prefer liquid and never had luck with mousses or powder cream foundations... yet as a liquid lover, I like THIS one only.(revlon colorstay powercreme/tube=yuck)
so....give it a try.
it passes that test beautifully..when all day everytime you look in the mirror youre pleasantly surprised and pleased:) it looked fresh and new all day, and the finish is what I love the most.. it does something for you rather than JUST cover... you get that satin smooth finish. and no way is it too "matte" not flat !
your face will have DIMENSION and clarity.and just be flawless.
also I find it much better than my beloved L'oreal cashmere perfecte.which is also a power creme in a tube. which I had to rub off of my nose everyday... that was horrible.
UODATE: I am in love with this in porcelain ivory! UNLIKE other maybelline porcelain ivories this is NOT TOO PINKY!!!! yayyyyy its paler than the classic so if classic is too dark for you and youre afraid porcelain will be pink, no worries!!!! I HATE ANY pink in my makeup and with this I dont notice yayayay..perfect! my HG right now.. keeps oily AWAY..I dunno why some people say it makes them ily, it does opposite for some , we all have different chemistry, doesnt break me out looks smooth and flawless and i look YOUNGER!!! NOT drying either and the staying power is GREAT, I touch up around nose thats normal. and dont always have to...love it love it love it i guessits discontinued,not in stores, stock up
UPDATE this was my HG but it doesnt last long and the anti oily effect wore off and now i get extremely oily with it! for the first few months it was GREAT oil control, superb, now it isnt.
bummer cuz porcelain was the most perfect color ive ever found

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 oumsker on 9/21/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by oumsker

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm not too fond of this product at all. When you put some kind of power of top of the mousse, they don't set on the surface well enough. And when there's humidity or sweat involved, it turns pretty ugly. You can see the mousse being washed away and some powder clogging on pores. Ugh. Instead of hiding my pores, does the opposite. Sorry. That's just my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancermary13 on 9/21/2009 7:45:00 PM more reviews by dancermary13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I could not find a good shade for my face. This really really made my dry spots noticeable, and my face was still oily and it does not blend well at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 inloversdreams on 9/20/2009 12:54:00 AM more reviews by inloversdreams

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite foundation. I've tried so many different foundations and none of them had good coverage and they all made my face feel really cakey. Every other foundation I tried never passed the test of the summer's humidity. They would make my makeup feel heavy and like it was melting off my face. When I put the dream matte mousse to the test it passed with flying colours. Even in the summer's humidity it felt like I wasn't wearing any makeup. It has really great coverage. Before I would apply concealer to my entire face because my face gets very red at times. But with the dream matte mousse, I only have to apply concealer to my dark under eyes. The mousse covered all of my redness and made my skin look very even. I really enjoy this foundation. I don't find that you have to apply a lot and you don't have to reapply. I've gone out for 16 hours with my makeup and it hasn't failed me yet. I also love the glass container it comes in. It makes it look nice and fancy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 carro1 on 9/16/2009 10:21:00 AM more reviews by carro1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

A bit too dry for me. Makes my face flake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ahraffarha on 9/15/2009 9:38:00 PM more reviews by ahraffarha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product does not have good staying power, otherwise I used to really like it.

I really enjoy the way it feels to apply it but it definitely requires touch ups every 2-3 hours, even after setting it.

The coverage is good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 charming5931 on 9/14/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by charming5931

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

when i first bought this foundation, i applied it with my fingers and didnt like it very much. it felt too thick and cakey. recently, somebody told me to try it with a wet sponge and i tried it and now i have problems with this foundation! it feels light, goes on smooth, and has decent coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mellybeerbelly on 9/13/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by mellybeerbelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Minimal coverage, and minimal staying power. It melts off my skin by mid day, so I only use when I'm not intending to wear it for long...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products