Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.0(3203 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 calanthe on 10/24/2009 12:29:00 PM more reviews by calanthe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Yuck! Where to begin? I liked this foundation ok at first...I bought the lightest shade and it was still too dark, but it blended nicely and was matte and polished. But it never felt like it set, it just got greasier and heavier as the day wore on. Nevertheless, I persisted, and wore it most days for two or three weeks. By the end of that time my pores were rough and clogged, I had weird circular dry patches on my cheeks, and I had a dream that it was dissolving my skin off. I am going back to ColorStay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 GoddessLaura on 10/23/2009 4:33:00 PM more reviews by GoddessLaura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I tried this in Classic Ivory (Light 2) and I wore this every day for the better part of 6 months. At first I was thrilled simply because I was able to find a color match in a drug store brand foundation. I also really liked the way it felt on my skin. However, after a while of using it I noticed a couple of things that really bummed me out.
Firstly I started to find hard clumpy things in the pot. What were they...dried out foundation? bacteria? foreign debris? I don't know but it was gross and I realize that dipping my fingers into this pot every day for months isn't that hygenic.
Secondly I started to realize that this foundation was never sinking into my skin. The foundation lays on top and it was pretty obvious, especially on my nose. where the oil would cause it to drift and move around.
Anyways, I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Veedebee on 10/22/2009 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Veedebee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, I'm amazed at all the negative comments, especially from people with oily or combination skin. This is a super light foundation with light to medium coverage, it dries to an almost powder finish that doesn't transfer with me. It covers my enlarged pores and glides over fine lines, minor imperfections and even manages well over the deeper crease I have on my brow. Any spots can be covered by dabbing a little extra on after.
I think where people are going wrong here is with their application, these mousse foundations really need to be applied or blended out with a damp sponge to get a smooth and airbrushed finish, and if you use a clean sponge then there is nothing unsanitary about the pot at all. It stays on my oily T-zone with no problems at all, even without a primer - I love this foundation!
Downsides for me are that it does accentuate any flaky skin, so I can totally understand why those with very dry skin wouldn't get on with this. I also found that once you have applied it and it has 'dried' it really doesn't blend well, so cream bronzer or blush doesn't work so well, it just seems to move the foundation around or sit on top. I just use powder bronzer and blush when I wear this and it's not a problem.
The finish is very matte, that coupled with the fact that creme blushes don't work so well may be a nono for some, you definately won't get a dewy look with this - the benefit moonbeam does work for highlighting if you want some reflective qualities, I'm not convinced that it would work that well mixed with strobe cream though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktbeta on 10/21/2009 1:31:00 PM more reviews by ktbeta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I generally only buy high end foundations since drugstore brands tend to break me out. Unfortunately now that I've lost the tan I used to have, I am lighter than virtually all the high end brands offer!

PRO: I have very peachy NW5-10 skin and porcelain ivory is a great match! I love the light/medium coverage over a moisturizer. Feels very light and doesn't break me out. Great price if you can find it on sale!

CON: Pot form isn't very sanitary, would have much preferred a squeeze tube or a bottle with pump. Some creasing when used as undereye concealer unless I moisturize first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 briannebott on 10/20/2009 10:54:00 PM more reviews by briannebott

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation, I didn't find it greasy at all, and the colour matches my skin tone really well I find, no one ever thinks I'm wearing makeup. It may not cover blemishes too well, but I find if you wear concealer over them, it's fine. I've never noticed it come off on my clothes (whereas a lot of my friends' makeups tend to), can't feel it on my skin, and I don't feel oily like I have with every other foundation I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* morphinization on 10/20/2009 6:37:00 AM more reviews by morphinization

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't remember what color I had, but I loved this foundation! It was so soft, on and off of my skin, haha! It didn't do a very good job of covering up red spots, from what I remember, but it did give your face a beautiful soft dewy look, which I love! Just remember to use concealer over any spots it didn't cover.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xeebkiki on 10/20/2009 1:52:00 AM more reviews by xeebkiki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: I love the consistency of the foundation. I find it easy to apply and blend onto my face. It provides really good coverage for me.

Cons: It looks a little heavy on me...I would prefer something with lighter coverage. Although it is good coverage its just too heavy for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AshleyLovePeace on 10/19/2009 7:56:00 PM more reviews by AshleyLovePeace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love how smooth and creamy this foundation is. It feels so fluffy and light on my face and it covers really well. The only problem I had with it is that if you apply too much then it looks really cakey but most foundations do. I will be sticking to this foundation for awhile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Cyllan on 10/18/2009 3:40:00 PM more reviews by Cyllan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for about a year and a half, only because I got sick of experimenting with other concealers. Thankfully I'm going to move into mineral make-up when I find the right natural brand.
Dream Matte Mousse I find doesn't cover any blemishes and I have a hard time covering the red pigment on skin. When you first open it I find that if you use your fingers that it goes on too light and too actually get any benefit from it, it has to be pretty empty to get a good consistency across the face. The good thing about the mousse is that it feels like you're not wearing anything unless you touch your face and notice how easily your finger glides across the skin with the makeup coming off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tinaaki on 10/16/2009 6:47:00 PM more reviews by tinaaki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this product because it's sooo greasy. I looks so heavy on my skin even if it was advertised as a "light as air product" . The only reason I put 2 stars is for its fluffy feeling. I like it when I apply it because it goes on so smoothly but after a while my face looks cakey and heavy and it also emphasizes my pores (disgusting!!!) I definitely won't buy this product again. Such a waste of money.... :-(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products