Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3228 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 lostea on 11/7/2009 7:41:00 PM more reviews by lostea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I have mixed feelings on this one. Since I have oily skin this DOES NOT work as a full foundation for me period because I cannot put it on my T-zone. It makes my skin greasy and looks very cakey. But it does work for an acceptional eye-shadow primer! It stayed on and never creased. But as a foundation it didn't stay on long at all and looked greasy.It did have good coverage if anything. It's glass bottle was durable but putting my finger in the pot felt...un-clean. I don't like this as a foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HannahBoBana on 11/7/2009 10:40:00 AM more reviews by HannahBoBana

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a love hate relationship with this foundation. For just applying over your spots & imperfections it's ok, it covers redness well. When you apply it all over your face, you end up looking like a cakey mess. It is extremly matte, but if you have dry skin, beware, if you apply this to your whole face, you'll look powery and cakey. What I love about this foundation is that it is the perfect shade my my skintone, so I wear this when I don't want a full face of makeup. This is great for using as a conceler, and it isn't drying under my eyes. It's very dry on the cheek's, well in my case anyway. So maybelline, finally one of your foundations isn't too orange for my skin. Almost a winner; screw my dry skin!

EDIT- Four stars now. I've found a way too make this foundation finally work for me! My skin has cleared up alot, but it still looks cakey, the coverage is amazing though. Before applying it, apply an oilfree moisturiser, which will help if you have dry skin. Then once you have all of your makeup on (the foundation, blush, bronzer, eye makeup), spritz MAC fix+ over your whole face, let it dry naturally or get a hair dryer and slowly dry it. The hair dryer method makes my makeup stay put all day. This makes the powery effect of the foundation disappear and the FIX+ leaves my skin looking dewy. If you don't like this foundation & you own FIX+, it will honestly give this foundation a new lease of life.
hannah x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lk1119 on 11/6/2009 2:55:00 AM more reviews by lk1119

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually like this foundation a lot for a drugstore brand. I'm not too fond of liquid foundation and the powder ones always tend to look too flakey or powdery. So, I decided to try this one out. It really is a mousse and feels creamy and light to the touch. It can tend to look cakey if applied too many times. But overall it stays on pretty well throughout the day as long as you don't wipe your face which is a con to this product. Also, there's a lot of different colors to choose from so that's also an advantage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChristieCool on 11/4/2009 11:11:00 AM more reviews by ChristieCool

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a decent foundation. I would have given it 2.5 out of 5 rather than 3 but there wasn't that option. The colour is perfect. That is why I have bought 2 in the past. Also it gives a nice finish, matte just like it should. The coverage I would say is medium. But it comes off so easily as it just sits on the surface of your skin. That means that if you do alot of running around or sport then i would not recommend this foundation. I do trampolining and it only last me an hour before it loses most of it's coverage and shine starts to come through. It's horrible havig to re-touch every hour in a 5 hour training session. So for that it gets 3 lippies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CherryD on 11/3/2009 11:27:00 PM more reviews by CherryD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not big on liquid foundation or any foundation really. I use mineral on occasion. It's usually tinted moisturizer. But I needed something heavier for Halloween. So at my friend's suggestion I used this. I figured out that it's all in the application with how this looks. When I used my fingers it looked caked on and horrible. But with the #187 and a very small amount it looked flawless. It also felt and looked my DuWop Revolution Face. But less than half the price. I will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HotCurry on 11/3/2009 10:33:00 PM more reviews by HotCurry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my current HG...I like it even better than the liquid mousse version! This is the only foundation I have ever used that actually minimizes my pores and it makes my skin look super smooth.I figured out that a very little goes a long way, so I just lightly tap some product onto a sponge and blend, and I get a very beatiful matte finish. This doesn't even need to be set with powder! Honey Beige 4 is the perfect shade for my NC35 golden skin. Very lightweight feeling too. I have combo oily/dry skin and this does not highlight any dry areas, just smooths right over everything. Also, does not break out my very breakout prone skin! Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nativa2001 on 11/3/2009 7:34:00 PM more reviews by nativa2001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Great product! I saw this foundation on a friend and I decided to buy it.
I always buy expensive cosmetics from Department Stores. This foundation is great. It provides medium coverage and it is not too shiny ( I hate to look sweaty). Skin looks healthy and beautiful! It lets your skin breathe and it does not feel tight or cakey. Regarding some comments below, if you use too much of anything it will look cakey.
I say..definitely give it a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 greenbird on 11/2/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by greenbird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product offers a lot of coverage. It covers sunspots/freckles, acne, acne scars, and dark circles with ease. But if you are not careful-this foundation can get very cakey. In low or indoor lighting, your skin will have a beautiful, luminous appearance from the smooth coverage. The texture is such that application is very smooth. But in daylight-if you are not careful, you will look overly made up. I use it more as a spot concealer than an overall foundation. The texture is a plus though-superior to liquid foundations I have tried, and less dry than powder foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blacklondon on 11/2/2009 3:09:00 PM more reviews by blacklondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think I just found my HG foundation and its under $10! I had heard a lot of bad reviews, but some good ones as well. So I decided to try my luck and buy it. It is a fairly cheap product so if I ended up hating it I wouldn't feel so bad.

But turns out I really LOVE it!! The first time I used it my skin got some little bumps but nothing serious, I figured it was my skin getting used to the foundation or possibly something else entirely. After a whole month of using it I am happy to say that it works wonderfully for me. I have no complaints whatsoever. But I really don't have acne or other skin issues so I wouldn't recommend this if you have problem skin.

I adore the packaging it comes it, because you can get every single last bit of the product out. I also apply the foundation with a damp makeup sponge, if you were wondering.

This paired with my L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Powder leaves my skin looking flawless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Camy03 on 11/2/2009 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Camy03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation so much.I'm NC35 in MAC and the color medium 0 is the perfect match for my medium yellow skin tone.I use my 187 brush to apply, which gives me a flawless matte coverage but if you use your fingers works really well too.
Is perfect for oily skin and I think this foundation isn't for dry skin because she is really matte.
The only thing I don't like she smudges off on everything.
But i will buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products