Maybelline • Dream Matte Mousse • Foundations

rated 3.1(3236 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kimmieduff on 11/10/2009 4:24:00 PM more reviews by kimmieduff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

During Summer, this foundation gives me the best natural coverage while taking away the shine and keeping oiliness at bay. It feels so light on my face too, like I'm not wearing any foundation at all. It tends to last me the whole day through but for more staying power, I suggest you use a loose powder on top.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dazidoo on 11/9/2009 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Dazidoo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I quite like this foundation: I think it gives good coverage, it matches my skintone really well (I have 010 Ivory), it makes my skin feel quite smooth. I don't wear foundation every day, I usually only wear it on nights out, so I don't know if it is long lasting but it seems to ok by me. I use my fingers to apply the mousse
This product seems to get mixed results with different people so if it isn't overly priced, on sale or on offer then I recommend you try it, I bought this because there was a 3 for 10 on maybelline products and I had heard so much about this product so I thought I'd give it a go and I'm glad I tried it. I had previously tried the dream matte eyeshadows and was disappointed with the results and I didn't like the colours but this product is not too bad.
I don't know if I will buy this again, it is quite good but I will try other foundations because I don't think this is absolutely perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nliedel on 11/9/2009 9:00:00 AM more reviews by nliedel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've read a lot of complaints about this product and it works for me, so I'll share how I use it. I read the packaging and it contains tons of silicones. That's what makes it "mousse-like," in texture. If you use a face primer with this, you're sunk. It's adding silicone, to silicone and it will slide off your face, quick.

Instead, I tried a finger and no primer, other than oil-free mousteriszer. Ugh, too much. I tried again, this time using a makeup sponge-wedge and dampening it a little. I dabbed it twice into the pot, very lightly, dabbed it all over my face, then blended it in. It stayed and looked matt' e. To get a really matte look, I used my Bare Minerals "Mineral Veil," overtop. I'm picking up some MUFE powder in a week, or so and that's the HG of setting powders for many. I'll report back on that.

Overall, I'm happy enough to keep this in my foundation rotation (addict here). I am just very careful about application. It's not a grab, slap and go thing. You need to blend it out. Which you should be doing anyway. I don't think a stippling brush would work better than a latex-free cosmetic wedge. I got a very nice look from this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Roxyaiz on 11/8/2009 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Roxyaiz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation it glides on, its velvety soft, if gives good coverage with out feeling heavy and your skin will look beautiful in flash fotography. What else can i say i like it better than my channel, smashbox and shiseido foundations. Not that those dont work well, its just that matt mouse is so light- I feel as if I am not wearing anything!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bambie_Blonde on 11/8/2009 6:28:00 PM more reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I Love this foundation :) I do however use it a bit differently and I do love it for other things as well. Firstly it makes an amazing eyeshadow base! it make's my eyeshadows last all day without a single crease and it doesn't dry out my eyes like some other eye primers out there (*cough* Urban Decay primer potion) I cannot remember where I read that it could be used as a primer, but I thought I had nothing to lose and tried and have been hooked ever since- the key is to use the tiniest amount and it will work great at making your eyeshadow pop. As for an all over face foundation, I like it - but only if I mix it with another foundation that is liquid, otherwise I hate it. I love a matte finish, and mixing this with other foundations make's me need less powder to set my face with. I love mixing it with Revlon Colorstay ( my HG) Rimmel stay matte & Rimmel lasting finish- I just add a little on my foundation brush and dot it over my liquid foundation & both liquid and mousse blend like a dream! :) I really do love this product, and I'm glad its so versatile- I will and have repurchased this many times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 desi101 on 11/8/2009 3:07:00 PM more reviews by desi101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the way this stuff just glides on to your face but like the other gal said the after result is way bad.I myself rarely breakout but after using this for no more than three days and my skin was done.I have oily skin too so this stuff just dissapears after a while.Good luck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dandiberta on 11/8/2009 3:02:00 PM more reviews by dandiberta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The color i picked did not match my skin at all, but i noticed there was a huge difference between tones.

anyways, i didnt like the texture on my skin, it made me look flaky, probably cuz i have dry skin.
the coverage is really good though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* breesana on 11/7/2009 9:31:00 PM more reviews by breesana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this product when it first came out and when I didn't know a lot about makeup. It covered up my imperfections well, but left me looking very fake--the product caked horribly and if I didn't blend the edges very well, it looked as if I were wearing a mask. Then, half way through, the product dried up on me. Just felt like it was way too much work and not very good. I'll stay away from this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 buttfacehead on 11/7/2009 9:14:00 PM more reviews by buttfacehead

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The first time I tried this product, I loved it. The ease of application was incredible and it blended flawlessly with my skin tone. It did cake on dry areas, but was relatively easy to fix.

Two days later, my normally very clear skin was suffering the worst and most persistent breakout that I have ever experienced. Puberty couldn't even compete with this breakout. I'm not sure what about this product (perhaps the silicone base?) made my skin, which is not very sensitive, have such a terrible reaction.

Buyer beware!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lostea on 11/7/2009 7:41:00 PM more reviews by lostea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I have mixed feelings on this one. Since I have oily skin this DOES NOT work as a full foundation for me period because I cannot put it on my T-zone. It makes my skin greasy and looks very cakey. But it does work for an acceptional eye-shadow primer! It stayed on and never creased. But as a foundation it didn't stay on long at all and looked greasy.It did have good coverage if anything. It's glass bottle was durable but putting my finger in the pot felt...un-clean. I don't like this as a foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Foundations products